Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
20 / 2
Average Mileage:
38,746 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Avalon engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #62

Nov 072016

Avalon

  • 168,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that the vehicle accelerated without warning and crashed into a tree. The failure occurred numerous times. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed. The contact sustained severe injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to the contact's home. The failure mileage was 168,000.

- Bridgeport, CT, USA

problem #61

Jul 112016

Avalon

  • 140,000 miles
I have experienced on several occasions the transmission slipping so that when I accelerate the car does not move, then suddenly jerks real hard. This has left me in the middle of the street and almost caused several accidents. It has become progressively7 worse. Now it is becoming a safety problem in that the car could suddenly fail to move once you get in the middle of a cross road then suddenly drive off.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #60

Sep 072015

Avalon

  • 149,000 miles
When driving North on I-95, my car began to slow down even though I had not released pressure on the gas peddle, so I accelerated. As soon as I accelerated, the car then began to run extremely rough, the RPM monitor fluctuated back and forth, and the began to slow down even more. I looked in the rear view mirror to check traffic as I prepared to pull off the interstate and saw smoke coming from the rear of the car. When I stopped and exited the car, smoke was then bellowing profusely from the front right side of the hood and upper right tire rim, so much so that I thought the engine was about to explode. It should also be noted that the check engine light never came on. A tow truck was called and now I'm waiting for my local Toyota dealership to open so that I can find out what is wrong with my car. A similar energy surge and rough driving occurred approximately one year ago and my car was towed in, but no problem could be detected. The problem stopped as mysteriously as it appeared, with no serious reoccurrences until yesterday, 9/7/15. In 2014, the mechanic chalked the problem up to possibly bad or cheap gas.

- Florence, SC, USA

problem #59

Apr 082015

Avalon

  • 11,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. While making a U turn at approximately 10 mph, the vehicle experienced unintended acceleration, jumped a curb, and traveled across the sidewalk. The vehicle then crashed into a brick retaining wall. The vehicle turned over and landed on the driver side. The driver suffered minor pain and lacerations from the seat belt. There was no medical attention required. A police and a fire report were filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for inspection. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 11,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 6/26/15

- Dana Point, CA, USA

problem #58

Dec 232013

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota Avalon. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle acceleration issues. The consumer stated on two separate occasions, she experienced sudden acceleration, in which the first incident resulted in an accident. The consumer stated the first incident happened on December 23, 2013. As she was pulling into a parking space, the vehicle lost momentum and as she pressed the accelerator to finish parking, the vehicle shot forward. The vehicle jumped the curb of the sidewalk next to the wall of the building hitting the wall of a store, the air bags did not deploy. The consumer stated the vehicle was on the recalled list, and the vehicle was taken to the dealer, but she did not know what was done to the vehicle at the time. The consumer has since traded the vehicle.

- Bellingham, WA, USA

problem #57

Feb 052014

Avalon

  • 90,000 miles
Car stalling out, engine light coming on, speed fluctuates, , timing belt change is due. But suspect engine coil pack is failing again. This will be 3 times replaced in 7 years.

- Riverton, UT, USA

problem #56

Jan 272011

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 52,496 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine light on car having engine trouble power does not stay even, sometimes stalls out, took back tofor service due to engine prblems, tune up performed, and coil pack had to be replaced on a previous service in 2008 coil pack for cylinder 6 was replaced. Repair shop did not list which cylinder. But coil pack was replaced.

- Riverton, UT, USA

problem #55

Sep 232008

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 67,025 miles
Car was misfiring 1 year after purchase this car was supposedly a fleet car, with know previous problems. But coil pack was malfunctioning. And needed to be replaced.

- Riverton, UT, USA

problem #54

May 272013

Avalon

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated independently. As a result, the vehicle crashed into three other vehicles and the engine caught fire. The contact was taken to the hospital where she sustained both hand and neck injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate current and failure mileage was 120,000.

- Madison Heights , VA, USA

problem #53

May 282013

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
Was driving downhill, it felt like it started going faster even though the brake was pressed. Brakes seem not to respond & speed kept on increasing. Unable to stop it crashed into a wall, went throw down hill inside the property & end up inside a pool. 3 people were injure, one adult, 2 children. Adult has broken bones.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

problem #52

Dec 202012

Avalon

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that when they tried to park the vehicle, it suddenly accelerated. The vehicle accelerated over the concrete speed bump and into the concrete wall just on the other side. The contact was not injured but the vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle had not been inspected. The failure and current mileages were 54,000.

- Philidelphia, PA, USA

problem #51

Jun 262012

Avalon

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that he shifted into reverse and the vehicle accelerated on its own. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a wall. The contact stated that the brakes were applied when the failure occured. There were no injuries. The contact took the vehicle the dealer for an inspection and the dealer stated that the failure was unknown. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #50

Jun 082011

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while parking, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 78,000. Updated 03/05/12 updated 03/08/12

- Wooster, OH, USA

problem #49

Jan 042012

Avalon

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph, he applied the brakes and there was an increase in the engine rpms. The contact applied extreme force to the brake pedal in order to control the vehicle. The vehicle came to a stop after placing it in neutral. The contact and a nearby police officer inspected the floor mats, but found no evidence of them interfering with the accelerator pedal. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and referred the contact to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The contact also stated that prior to the failure, the vehicle was taken to the dealer to be repaired under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V388000 (vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 66,000. The VIN was not available.

- Flourtown, PA, USA

problem #48

Feb 112011

Avalon

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated the vehicle was previously repaired for NHTSA campaign id number: 09V388000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). The vehicle had since surged forward on numerous occasions while the brake pedal was depressed. During one of the failures the vehicle was traveling approximately 69 mph with the cruise control engaged, and accelerated to a speed of 80 mph. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 35,800 and the current mileage was 37,800.

- Middleton , MA, USA

problem #47

May 022011

Avalon

  • miles
While pulling into a parking place, as I lifted my foot from the accelerator to begin braking, my 2007 Toyota Avalon, which had already had the recall fix performed last year, suddenly accelerated and leapt forward running into the building wall that was about 5 feet in front of the parking slot. The car came to an abrupt stop, at which time my foot was clearly on the brake. I just sat still for a few minutes, sort of in a slight shock of wondering "what the H... just happened?" my left knee, elbow and right shoulder immediately became painful, but nothing seemed too bad so I put the car in reverse and backed away from the wall into the proper position in the parking slot. The car appeared to run okay, I ran through all the gears with no problems, checked the brakes, then turned off the engine and got out. I was expecting to find serious front end damage, but the only thing besides paint scratches was a bent license plate frame. I checked for leaks under the hood, and finding nothing appearing damaged there I drove slowly home, (about 5 miles). Twice I felt a slight shutter when moving my foot from accelerator to brake when preparing to stop. My husband took the car to the dealership the next day; he felt the same "shutter" on the way to the dealership(20 miles). The mechanic was unable to find anything wrong, any evidence of an incident in the sensors and I was told by the service dept. Asst. Manager that nothing could be done until it happens again. So, basically, Toyota says I have to have a major accident before they can do anything about this.I am not apparently seriously injured at this time, but the past 3 days I've been very uncomfortable and I've gone through dangerous amounts of tylenol. We'll see what the next few days brings. I have a doctor's appointment next week for a regular checkup just in case. I do not want to drive this car again. My husband will probably be brave enough to do it, but I doubt that I will.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #46

Apr 132011

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,350 miles
The driver owned a 2007 Toyota Avalon. While driving approximately 5 mph the vehicle accelerated and crashed into a building. The police arrived and a report was filed. The vehicle was towed; yet, the contact does not know what facility it was towed to. The driver was transported to the hospital. Someone inside the building was also injured. The manufacturer was not contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 24,350 updated 05/13/11 updated 08/19/11

- Central Islip, NY, USA

problem #45

Oct 262010

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,697 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. While driving at an unknown speed with his foot on the brake pedal the vehicle attempted to surge forward. The engine began to rev and the contact had to apply heavy pressure to the brake pedal to keep the vehicle from surging forward. The failure has since recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on several occasions where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 38,697 and the current mileage was 41,000. Updated 6/8/11 the consumer stated the brake pedal seemed low. The dealer inspected the brakes and stated the brakes were in proper working condition. On one of several occasions, the consumer was unable to stop the vehicle as he approached a red light and consequently he rear ended a truck. The only damaged was to his license plate bracket. Updated 06/23/11 updated 01/05/2012

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #44

Nov 262010

Avalon

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. While driving 35 mph the accelerator pedal was stuck and the vehicle suddenly accelerated. A passenger had to reach down and pull the pedal back into position. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that there were no failures. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact replaced the vehicle. The failure mileage was 38,000.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #43

Nov 302010

Avalon

  • 63,138 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Avalon. The contact was involved in a crash. While driving approximately 5 mph, the contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning, causing her to crash into a building. The contact sustained multiple contusions and was being treated by a physician. The dealer was contacted and offered no assistance. The contact did not inform the manufacturer. The vehicle was destroyed. The current and failure mileages were approximately 63,138. A police report was filed.

- Web City, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?