Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,837 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Toyota Avalon electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments

problem #17

Oct 242016

Avalon

  • 38,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Key fob will not open all doors. Inside master window assemby will not open all doors. Master assembly replaced by Toyota 5/28/15 at 25,941 miles. Problem has returned on or about 10/24/16 at 38,000+miles. Problem is now intermittent and the dealer could not duplicate.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #16

Nov 252015

Avalon

  • miles
Purchased certified Avalon 01/03/2015. November 24, 2015 front passenger and both rear door locks cease working. They cannot be opened with the fob nor the door lock switch on the drivers side door. Vehicle is taken to dealership, lithia Toyota of odessa, on November 30, 2015. Explain problem to service advisor and he replies that he has never seen this problem. They reprogram system and it works for three days. Car is taken back to shop on December 5, 2015 for issue again. They finally call around 4 that afternoon saying car is ready. We meet service manager, advisor and tech that performed the work to verify that everything was working fine. Never given explanation as to what was done. June 25, 2016 problem arises again with the same three doors. Back in the shop, finally I am told that the power door lock actuators have failed and the reason given is the use of "clip on air fresheners which I and the advisor have a hard time believing. Apparently somehow the vapors from these air fresheners supposedly permeate into the door and coat the actuators with a film of silicone thereby making them none functional. No explanation from Toyota as to why this does not affect the drivers door. Apparently after research this is happening to some newer models. Not covered by warranty unless new or you have purchased extended comprehensive warranty. Safety is definitely an issue if you have an emergency and need quick access only driver will have the ability to access vehicle. Apparently this has been an issue with this particular model year Avalon. On 04/23/13 this exact same issue was submitted to NHTSA id number 10509389, by another consumer. At that time dealer had no answer for problem. Now we are bring told it's due to air fresheners. Were is the public service announcement from Toyota if air fresheners cause this costly repair. Possible defect?

- Odessa, TX, USA

problem #15

Jan 282015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V047000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Laurel, MS, USA

problem #14

May 262015

Avalon

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Avalon. After briefly tapping the accelerator pedal, the vehicle made a loud abnormal noise and experienced a brief period of unintended acceleration. As a result, the contact struck a palm tree at 5 mph. There were no warning indicators illuminated prior to or after the failure. The vehicle had to be towed from the scene of the crash and taken to the dealer where it could not be diagnosed. An independent mechanic repaired the vehicle. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 15,000.

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #13

Jun 172015

Avalon

  • 50,000 miles
The passenger and rear door locks do not open with the remote key nor with the door-lock switch on the driver's door. The passengers could not enter the car. Their door had to be unlocked manually from inside the vehicle. This is a safety issue if the passenger doors need to be opened quickly from the outside. The problem disappeared after about one week. The problem started again late last month. The Toyota dealer diagnosed the problem as an open circuit in the junction block and replaced the block. They stated that the full cost of the repair was over $1000, but only charged me $120.

- Cary, IL, USA

problem #12

Mar 052015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 15V047000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The technician disconnected the subwoofer as a temporary remedy. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Cudahy, WI, USA

problem #11

Jul 142015

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V047000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Neosho, MO, USA

problem #10

Jan 252015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:15V047000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not provided.

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #9

Apr 132015

Avalon

  • 26,000 miles
I brought my vehicle into a Toyota garage on 4/13/15 for the safety recall on the rear sub-roofer. At that time, no replacement parts. Subsequently, I had the sub-roofer disconnected. I just called 7/9/15, almost 3 months later and still no replacement parts. Lousy customer service on the part of Toyota motor sales.

- Milford, NH, USA

problem #8

Jun 222015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V047000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to a dealer who disconnected the sub woofer as a temporary remedy due to the part not being available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Farmington, MI, USA

problem #7

Feb 272015

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V047000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceed a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Naples , FL, USA

problem #6

Oct 172011

Avalon

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Avalon. While at a stop light, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle accelerated and lost power. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to multiple dealers who were unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V047000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The failure mileage was 15,000.

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #5

Mar 252015

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 79,023 miles
On 3/25/15 the front passenger door locked and could not be unlocked with fob or switch on drivers door. After about 5-10 minutes it unlocked. Since then they same thing has happened to both rear doors at same time. When hitting the unlock button on fob the door beeps several times, but does not unlock. I gave up trying to unlock it and went to my next destination. After coming out, the rear door unlocked normally. I never know now when the doors will unlock, and am afraid I will get totally locked in or out at some point. I have an appt. On Thursday at Toyota to have it checked out. Hopefully they can find the cause. I have read online that it could be a fuse, bad relay or wiring issue. We shall see what they say.

- Almond, NC, USA

problem #4

Sep 022013

Avalon

  • 45,000 miles
Occasionally, the vehicle will not lock when I use the fob or use the drivers manual locking switch on the door. This is happening when I exit the vehicle. I hit the fob lock button and the car beeps once, but the front drivers door does not lock, and the door lock does not move to a locking position, it stays in the unlocked position. When I hit the lock button on the fob, the car beeps 8 times and still does not lock. In order to lock the car, I have to enter the front passenger door and manually lock the front drivers door. The problem occurs about once per week. It started about a year ago.

- Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #3

Feb 252014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 15,610 miles
February 25, 2014, I arrived for my 2 P.M. doctor's appt and drove very slowly into a parking space. I was constantly braking because the Toyota Avalon sport 2011 has lots of low trim in the front of the car and I did not want to scratch the car. I kept my foot on the brake, stopped the car, then opened the door to check the white line to see if I was in my parking space. Then, the motor began accelerating very rapidly. Before I could turn the engine off, the car lunged forward and I felt like I was airborne. Within seconds, the car hit the very tall heavy metal and glass doors of the doctor's office and stopped. The car was covered with glass. The metal doors of the office were damaged. Please note, the airbags did not deploy. The entire front of the car: Grill, headlights, fenders and hood were damaged. Thankfully no one was injured.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #2

Apr 232013

Avalon

  • 34,500 miles
The passenger and rear door locks do not open with the remote key nor with the door-lock switch on the driver's door. The passengers could not enter the car. Their door had to be unlocked manually from inside the vehicle. This is a serious personal safety issue if you have an emergency and need quick entry for any reason...storm, fire, explosion, personal attack. The Toyota dealer could not find a cause.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #1

Dec 152010

Avalon

  • 1,300 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Lexus RX350 (na). The contact stated that when the rear door was opened, the chime did not indicate that door was open while the contact was reversing out of the garage; the vehicle door crashed into the garage door and was damaged. The dealer stated that the vehicle was not equipped with a warning chime. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that someone from the design department would contact him. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 1,300.

- Dallas, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?