Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,917 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #60

Mar 202016


  • 47,000 miles


The contact owned a 1998 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced unintended acceleration. The brakes did not function even when the brake pedal was depressed. As a result, the vehicle crashed between the contact's tree and a neighboring house. The vehicle was towed to a salvage yard where the vehicle was deemed destroyed. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 47,000.

- West Roxbury, MA, USA

problem #59

Jan 232015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 254,400 miles
I had used the coast on my cruise control to reduce my set speed from 78mph to 71mph, after about 50 yards, my cruise control sped up on its own to about 76mph before I tapped the brakes and cut the cruise control off. After about 3 minutes, I cut the cruise control back on and went to use the set button to set my speed at 71mph. When I pushed the set button, the cruise control did not 'lock in' to the 71mph but instead started to speed up beyond 71mph and at 75mph I tapped the brake and cut off the cruise control. The next day, the next three time I went to cut the cruise control on and went to push the set button to set it at the speed I was going, the car always took off beyond what I was wanting to set it at and causing me to tap the brakes and I was forced to cut it off because after I had tapped the brake and let off the brake it would start to increase speed again.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #58

Dec 262013


  • 153,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle would not accelerator. The contact stated that she had to depress the pedal a few times before the vehicle finally began to move. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 153,000.

- Louieville, KY, USA

problem #57

Oct 112013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 96,562 miles


When I was driving in a residential neighborhood and coming to a stop sight to make a right turn. All the sudden, the car sped up and the brake was failing. Luckily there was no car in the opposite side. I was able to pull the car to the curb. I checked the brake and was functioning. Later, I have the car towed to piercey Toyota to diagnosis and they could not find anything wrong.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #56

Oct 272011


  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while trying to accelerate, the vehicle would jerk forward abnormally. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic for inspection where they stated that the accelerator cable was sticking and binding. There was a recall for the failure under NHTSA campaign id number: 01V012000 (vehicle speed control) but the contact's vehicle was not included in the recall campaign. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the vehicle was not eligible for a recall repair. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #55

May 152012


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owned a 1998 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. The contact stated that he was unable to stop the vehicle when the brakes were applied. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a fence and dropped into a ditch. A police report was filed and the driver was suffering from back pain. The passenger sustained bruises, a contusion, chest pain, a broken rib, and skin damage. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 100,000.

- Los Angeles , CA, USA

problem #54

Dec 012010


  • 96,390 miles


The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Camry. The contact started the ignition when the vehicle suddenly accelerated up to 20 mph. The contact was able to slow down when the brake pedal was engaged. The failure occurrence was intermittent. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 01V012000 (vehicle speed control). The contact was in the process notifying the dealer to verify if the VIN was included in the recall defect. The failure mileage was 96,390.

- Weston , FL, USA

problem #53

May 132010

Camry 6-cyl

  • 161,000 miles
On May 13, 2010 approx 9:15 pm while driving a 1998 Toyota Camry le V6, car stalled/malfunctioned while being pulled over by chp which caused rear end collision spin out and 2 other car accidents, I have proof (video, photos, receipts, and service history) the car's throttle position sensor, idle speed control valve and or other systems caused the accident. Updated IVOQ 08/17/10 updated IVOQ 10/06/10 updated IVOQ 11/17/10 it was determined the throttle position sensor was faulty and needed to be replaced. Also, the outer door handle was replaced. Updated 01/12/11

- Chino, CA, USA

problem #52

Oct 022009


  • miles
1998 Toyota Camry. Consumer states sudden unintended acceleration the consumer was involved in an accident due to unwanted acceleration. The vehicle was totaled by the insurance company.

- Winter Park, FL, USA

problem #51

Nov 022008


  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that in November 2008 while driving at approximately 30 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. She applied her foot to the brake pedal and the vehicle "spun outward". no warning lights were illuminated. The failure occurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that her vehicle was not part of any recalls. The oil pump was replaced and the pedal system was cleaned at the contacts expense. The failure had not occurred since the vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 116,000. The current mileage was approximately 117,000.

- Wheeling , IL, USA

problem #50

Apr 122010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles


I own a 1998 Toyota Camry le. The accelerator had been sticking for the past three years all the times and progressively getting worst. I have to step onto the pedal hard very often from a full stop to un-stick the pedal on a routine basis. About two years ago, the cruise control race up and down, then not responsive for a brief period of time. Since the accelerator is a cable system, I have try to lubricate the cable link many times using different lubricant, but nothing work. Therefore, I am driving around with a sticking accelerator, and cannot be sure if it relates to the possible electronic problems. Once in a while the engine race up an down when the car is in idle. The failure is continuous. The mileage on this car is now about 157,000 miles.

- Randolph, MA, USA

problem #49

Apr 052010


  • 60,000 miles
We have a 1998 Toyota Camry in which the accelerator sometimes sticks after the vehicle has been driven and comes to a stop for a stop sign, red light, etc. The accelerator seems to be allowed to be depressed a very miniscule amount and then it stops or gets stuck. If you push down hard at this point it clicks, releases, and the accelerator is allowed to continue to be depressed as far as you wish. When it clicks it is as if it pops over whatever it was stuck on.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #48

Mar 042010


  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Camry.the contact stated that the vehicle does not respond when depressing the accelerator. The contact is concerned that if he needs to accelerate rapidly he can not because of the delay before the vehicle picks up speed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and they could not duplicate failure. The contact feels that the failure is due to a computer defect, because sometimes the vehicle is unresponsive while depressing the accelerator. He wrote a letter to the manufacturer in reference to the acceleration failure and they had not responded.. the approximate failure mileage was 100 and the current mileage was 15000. Updated 11/16/10.

- Newburgh, NY, USA

problem #47

Feb 162008


  • 70,600 miles
Undesired acceleration, not related with stick gas pedal. On February 16, 2008, I drove my Toyota Camry le 1998 home with all my family on board after shopping activities. I was driving at around 35 mph South on waltham street in lexington, MA. When we were passing an intersection of waltham/concord, I started to slow down the vehicle to around 20 mph as our home approaching. The car slowed down normally to around 20 mph and maintained at that speed for about 100 feet distance. At around 200-300 feet distance from the lexington drive (where our apartment located), the Toyota Camry suddenly accelerated by itself to around 50-60 mph, while my foot was still on the brake pedal. I was in a complete state of panic, as whole family was watching (and screaming) our car speeding toward the intersection of waltham St and lexington drive, where there was a truck almost right in front of us. I was almost standing on the brake pedal, and also very quickly pulled the parking brake, and moved the gear shifted to neutral. The car slowed down to around 40 mph. At this time, my car was already 30 feet from the intersection of waltham/lexington dr, where I supposed to turn right. With my Camry moving at around 40 mph, I did feel safe to make the right turn. And I couldn't?T move forward either with a truck now right in front of us (the truck was to make a left turn from lexington drive to waltham street). The only option for me was to crash my car into a street divide on lexington drive to avoid hitting the truck in front of us, or tip over by turning right at high speed. After crashed on the street divide, hit and destroyed a light pole on the street divide, my car came to a complete stop. No-one was injured physically (lots headache due to panic screaming). The car suffered quite damage under and at front. At this moment, my car was still drivable. Interestingly, the car was running normal again then. Conclusion: The undesired acceleration was not caused by sticking gas pedal.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #46

Oct 092009


  • miles
1998 Toyota Camry. Consumer states unintended acceleration causing a crash. The consumer stated in the seconds the vehicle left the street, it jumped the curb, ran over a small tree trunk, crossed two driveways and hit a 25 year old dogwood head-on. The vehicle was stopped by the tree being uprooted because the soil was saturated from the recent heavy rains. The tress and branches destroyed the front of the vehicle and its undercarriage. The vehicle came to rest after it hit the second dogwood tree. The windshield was intact, however, the air bags did not deploy. Updated 03/24/10.

- Carbondale, IL, USA

problem #45

Jun 012009


  • miles
Gas pedal sticks while driving or moving after a stop signal. It does everyday when I drive. Told the dealer, they said my vehicle year is not in recall by Toyota now. No repairs done now. Also lighting system it blows light bulb, always one has to be out or else it will blow out couple hours.

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #44

Feb 152003


  • 68,888 miles
While slowly exiting a drive through at 5mph the car suddenly accelerated, shot across a street, and did not stop until hitting a snow drift and fence. Braking had no effect. Damage to car and property. Driver had to crawl out passenger side window. The VIN began with a letter J.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #43

Mar 042010


  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Camry. While the contact was coming to a complete stop at 10 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning causing the contact to crash into the rear of the vehicle in front of him. No one was injured during the crash and a police report was filed for the incident. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 127000.

- Spencer, NY, USA

problem #42

Mar 052009


  • 110,000 miles
Over the last year or so, I have encountered an intermittent issue where the accelerator on my 98 Camry becomes hard to depress after sitting at a stop light/sign. Tapping the pedal multiple times finally allows the pedal to release. Have not been able to determine what circumstances cause the problem, but it is only after coming to a stop. I have not experienced issues with uncontrolled acceleration, but suspect that may be next.

- Golden Valley, MN, USA

problem #41

Dec 172009


  • 75,000 miles
Gas pedal sticks at a full stop and to accelerate the driver must press hard on the accelerator that causes jerking motion in vehicle. When vehicle is cold, an extra hard stomping of accelerator is required to get the gas pedal to work.

- Lawton, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?