Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,377 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Jun 012011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 143,905 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It is 2002 Toyota Camry le with 2.4L 2az-fe engine. It happened while car was driven. Engine produced a loud bang and stalled. Did not started after cranking it. Before trip there was noticeable steam out of exhaust. After considering head gasket failure there was attempt to replace the gasket. During repair was found that several head bolts were loose due to striping from their sits. After digging in google it was found that was a common problem for this engines. It seems like it is a manufacturer design flow. All 2az-fe engines are prone to this because of inadequate heat dispersion at the back of the engine. Toyota customer service response is that they have nothing to do with it. This is a major design flow and there should be a recall. All engines from 2002 are prone to it.

- Kailua-Kona, HI, USA

problem #26

Oct 302010

Camry

  • 125,000 miles
My 2002 Toyota Camry had stalled-engine problem these years. Most of the problem happened when the car stopped at the traffic red light or stop sign. When I apply the brake to slow down and waiting at the traffic lights or at the stop sign, my Camry car engine abruptly ceases operating and stops turning. I have to turn the key and start the engine again. This problem happened a lot of times these years and give me a big trouble when a lot of other cars waiting behind me. It's not safe and be dangerous especially in heavy traffic. This stalled engine problem just happened this morning when I sent my son to the baseball game.

- Ocoee, FL, USA

problem #25

Sep 012009

Camry

  • 55,000 miles
2002 Toyota Camry SE V6 - around September 2009 I began to notice sudden surges in acceleration while driving between 40-45 mph. Without changing the position of the gas pedal, the vehicle would surge-hesitate-surge several times then suddenly stop the behavior. Since then, I notice it occurs at least once every 3 out of 4 times I'm driving the car. To me, this is not related to anything on the floor or the gas pedal itself. It appears to come from within the engine or other component. No repairs have been investigated or performed. I am considering a visit to the dealer.

- Canonsburg, PA, USA

problem #24

Sep 192009

Camry

  • 74,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry xle. While he was at a traffic light on an incline, there was a very loud roaring noise coming from the engine. The weather was not a factor. The vehicle responded as if it were going to take off at full speed but it didn't. the failure occurred a second time with her foot depressing the brake pedal. Neither the dealer nor manufacturer was contacted. The failure mileage was 74,800 and the current mileage was 75,474.

- Radnor, PA, USA

problem #23

Dec 122009

Camry

  • 103,000 miles
Toyota Camry 2002. The check light came on. Three bolts were strip from the engine. Toyota is aware of it and didn't do anything. It cost me approx $4,000 to fix. Toyota issued a tsb 2 years ago about this failure: Tsb 01507, NHTSA #10021542, dated April 6 2007. I found this in my research. My mechanic told me Toyota said to replace the head, head gasket and bolts. That the head had been redesigned since it was a know issue. It was alleged caused when Toyota changed building the head from cast iron to aluminum. I am not the only one with this issue. www.toyotanation.com/forum/printthread.php?T=274802&pp=40.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #22

Nov 282009

Camry

  • 153,000 miles
I kept hearing rushing water coming from somewhere but nothing seems to be wrong. So at the end of November my car ran hot I took it to the mechanic and was told the thermostat may need to be replaced. I replaced it¿.it ran hot again the next day. Was told I had a coolant leak. To make a long story short¿ I need an engine! stripped head bolts in the block, no not just a head gasket problem I was told the head bolts have let go from the block. I asked the mechanic for a write up of his findings: (paraphrased) ¿the only option left is to remove the head, which requires an extensive disassembly (R and R cylinder head). After loosening the bolts in sequence, I notice the head bolts in the back of the engine are loose. From my experience in the field, I can confidently conclude that this only means one of two things: The bolts were left loose at the factory, or the bolts are stripped. ( I commonly have seen stripped bolts in the aluminum Cadillac North star block discovered through leaking coolant.) next, I removed the head and sure enough, one bolt came out with aluminum in the thread...thus indicating a stripped bolt. My theory: The placement of the (insulation) foam rubber piece between the intake manifold and the engine block created an uneven dispersion of heat, creating "metal fatigue" in the aluminum block allowing the head bolt to strip.¿ I am very disappointed. Toyota is responsible, there's no preventative maintenance for this and my problem is not isolated... look it up!

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #21

Nov 292009

Camry

  • 252,934 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Loss of coolant. Took to auto repair. Told to replace head gasket. Upon replacement of head, discovered head bolts would not tighten because threads in aluminum block were stripped.

- Midway, KY, USA

problem #20

Apr 122009

Camry

  • 138,000 miles
2002 Camry xle V6...at 138,000 miles while waiting at a traffic signal during rush hour the engine stalls and after 4 attempts finally restarts. The car continued to not idle the rest of my trip home - stalling every time I slowed down to stop or turn a corner...very unsafe...didn't trust the car to make it to mechanic. Car was towed, mechanic could find nothing wrong. It happened again 3 more times within a week. Same scenario, towed to mechanic, found nothing wrong because the check engine light does not come on and therefore the computer does not register any issues. Mechanic cleaned all sensors, idle valve, dealership and independent mechanic find nothing wrong. Car was fine until July 4, weekend and did the same thing twice again. Mechanic finds nothing because it so random. Same situation in November while turning car stalled because it would not idle, lost power steering and brakes and almost hit another car while turning. 3 mechanics and no one can find anything wrong. Have also experienced the issues mentioned with brakes and rotors which have been replaced 3 times.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #19

Dec 062009

Camry 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
I own a 2002 Toyota Camry V6 le with a mileage reading of about 115000. I do regular oil changes and all necessary services. However off lately the car has randomly started to stall in the middle of road while being driven. This has started to be a big problem and I hesitate to drive the car for long distance. The car would suddenly die in the middle of road specially when I stop for a light or stop sign and then would refuse to start again. I have to keep the gas pedal depressed in order for the car to stay idle and not die. After about 5-10 mins the car would again start up and work normally. I've had this problem about three times this past 2 weeks and its scary now to even drive this car anywhere. I took it to a mechanic where I get all services done and he says everything is fine, but then I had two stalls after the visit. Problem is that it stalls randomly and when I take it to mechanic, it performs quiet well with no problems at all. I read today in motortrend website that NHTSA is enquiring about some Toyota vehicles regarding this same issue and was wondering if these incidents are related? thanks.

- Elk Grove Village, IL, USA

problem #18

Oct 212009

Camry

  • 72,500 miles
My 2002 Toyota Camry with 72,500 miles had the check light come on. I took it to a Toyota dealer in columbia, SC. I was told the engine had sludge and would soon stop working. I told the dealer I changed the oil regularly when needed but the dealer said it was my fault.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #17

Mar 242009

Camry

  • 147,363 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2002 Camry le check eng. Light came on from a coolant leak was told by the dealership I needed a new motor at the cost of $3,500 the car was only three years old it was a lease certified buy back also when I bought it the windshield washer went bad less then a month was told I had to fix on my own they the motor ran hot but the coolant gage never indicated the problem.

- Northolmsted, OH, USA

problem #16

Jan 152009

Camry

  • 45,000 miles
At subzero temperature (below 0) car starts with check engine light on (error code P1128), traction control and vsc disabled. Idle at 600-800 RPM. Engine does not respond to acceleration pedal, so car is not drivable. After warming engine up and erasing error code from ECU car drives normally.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #15

Mar 212008

Camry

  • 97,000 miles
3/21/2008 car stopped running while on expressway. Towed 50 miles into dealership alamo Toyota, san antonio, tx =not where purchased 100 miles from residence. Told engine mounting bolts sheered off into the engine block which caused crack. Engine had to be replaced. Dealer found salvage engine with 37000 miles on it. Owner did not receive proof of the mileage. Dealer kept used engine $4,000+. included used longblock, oil, oil filter coolant rear main seal, fipc, radiator cleaning. Owner rented at own expense rental vehicle. Told car was repaired. Picked car up drove off lot, turned around and went back into dealership. Car was misfiring. Had to leave car again. Additional $235 to replace 4 coils April 11,2008. On May 2 2008, A/C stopped cooling. Took car into champion Toyota, austin Texas. $613 for ac condenser, condenser assy, relay, warranty. Ac condenser leaking, probably damaged during radiator cleaning at alamo Toyota.

- Ausitn, TX, USA

problem #14

Jun 032008

Camry

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While driving 2 mph, she heard a grinding noise then the vehicle shut off without warning. The dealer stated that engine mounting bolts sheered off into the engine block, which caused the corner of the engine to crack. The dealer was unable to determine the cause of the failure. As of June 6, 2008, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were 92,000. The VIN was unavailable

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #13

Mar 202008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,630 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the engine light illuminated on the instrument panel. She stated that there was a faulty charcoal canister that needed to be replaced. The current and failure mileages were 82,630. Updated 07/15/08 updated 07/15/08

- Lake Forest, CA, USA

problem #12

Sep 212007

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles
At about 105,000 miles on my 2002 Camry V6, the car experienced hesitating driving while driven at speeds above 40 mph when removing slightly the foot from the throttle pedal. The car is bucking backward and forward for indefinite time until the throttle pedal is fully depressed or fully pressed. This is an unsafe situation since on the highway the speed cannot be decreased or increased any time. Notified dealer and told that this cannot be identified since there is no error code generated (no check engine light on). Replaced all spark plugs at 108,000 miles on Aug 24, 2007. Problem not solved. Spouse noticed increased bucking while driving down hill. Went back to the dealer. Performed test drive with technician in the car and the diagnose system hooked to the car's computer. Detected some misfires on cylinders 5 and 6. replaced solenoid ignition packs for cylinder 5 & 6 and test drove again. Problem not solved. Technician concluded that fuel injectors are clogged. Performed fuel injectors purge (cleaning). Problem not solved. Technician recommended to replace all fuel injectors and solenoid ignition packs. Car was maintained properly during the ownership. Oil & filter changed every 3000 miles, replaced air filter every 30,000 miles, replaced timing belt and belt tensioners at 87,000 miles, replaced water pump at 87,000 miles, flushed transmission fluid at 87,000 miles. From reading various customers complaints, it appears to be a transmission problem but dealer did not mention anything about it.

- Hackettstown, NJ, USA

problem #11

Nov 222006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I purchased my car in 2001, used with 17K miles, form Toyota of durham. I have 105K miles now on it. I kept the routine oil change and had sluggish oil problems every time I got my oil changed. There was no documented oil sluggish problem from Toyota. My vehicle is clicking with a strange sound. I had it looked at and the mechanic determined the timing belt is going. But he advised me to take it to the dealership where I purchased it. I did and they told me that it was the engine. I need a new engine. A new engine, no way. How is it that a Toyota Camry with barely 100K miles need a new engine and nothing is said to be wrong with this vehicle. I have owned Toyota and Lexus models for a long time now and have yet to deal with such shame in their models. I am really disappointed at this mess of a car. Surely, we know that there are something that need to be done at a certain time but why is it that a new engine would be required? I am really not going to be the best person promoting Toyota cars in the future. I had plans on looking into the Toyota sienna for my family. But the Odyssey is looking much better now.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #10

Sep 282006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was sitting at a red light waiting to turn left. I suddenly heard my engine rev and looked at the dash. The RPM's were all the way over to the right. My car lurched forward, hard, and hit a Lincoln Navigator in front of me. I pressed the brake as hard as I could, with both feet, to try and stop, but ultimately had to turn the car off to stop it from moving forward. I am now waiting for an investigation, which they have told me could take up to 30 days. I was told that if they determined that it was a mechanical failure, they have another 30 days to fix it. I am in sales and use my car all day, every day. They weren't very concerned about it.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #9

Nov 092004

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,800 miles
During a regular maintenance check, it was discovered the engine had a crack in the engine block. The consumer made contact with the manufacturer and they will be replacing the engine.. Toyota has corrected the problem in the new models of Camry.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #8

Mar 032004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Driver side window did not roll smoothly. Squeaked but was only fixed after taking the car a dealer a third time. Sputtering/rattling sound seems to be coming from the engine when the car is idle or upon cold start. Sound gets progressively louder. Dealer claims that no sounds were heard. Car also hesitates when responding to acceleration. In researching for answers, I found that the driver's side airbag has a recall. I was in disbelief when I found that no efforts were made in contacting me about an airbag recall! I feel utterly disappointed. I'd come from a "Honda" family and decided to give Toyota a try. I have learnt my lesson now that buying a brand new Toyota means having to check up on recalls and problems.

- San Jose, CA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?