Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
132 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
47 / 6
Average Mileage:
37,727 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 12 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Jul 112003

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Three times consumer went to Toyota to tell them that something was wrong with my brakes. The first time, (May 3,03) was braking slowly and 2002 Camry jumped ahead, the brakes did not work. The second time(May 28,03) I consumerwent in, told them brake pedal went slowly down to the floor when stopping for a light. 1993 Camry never did that. Also no ohter car I had did that. They tested, said nothing was wrong. The third timeon July 3, consumertold them, do not tell me nothing was wrong with brakes, did not want to hear it! he drove the car and said nothing was wrong. Now on July 11, 2003, while parked at macy's mall at cross county, I am backing up slowly out of my space, and all of a sudden, consumer's vehicle jumped ahead flying and hit two parked cars facing her. All the vehicles had damage. Consumer will never drive that car again, could have killed someone.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #18

Mar 242003

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
2002 Toyota Camry SE: While car was being backed down a driveway at 2-3 mph with driver's foot on brake backing out of the driveway, the car accelerated suddenly and uncontrollably backward for about 66 feet and crashed into a tree. The car then somehow surged forward for about 132 feet. Car was totaled. Updated 7/2/12 updated 07/17/12

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #17

May 092003

Camry

  • miles
While attempting to park with foot applied to brake pedal vehicle suddenly accelerated, crashing into a tree.

- Far Hills, NJ, USA

problem #16

May 292003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,451 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The driver shifted the vehicle into drive and the vehicle immediately accelerated up to about 20 mph. The vehicle hit a car and a tree before it stopped. Updated 7/2/12

- Farmingdale, NY, USA

problem #15

Apr 152003

Camry

  • miles
The throttle stuck in the idle position upon acceleration. The dealer was notified.

- Watertown, CT, USA

problem #14

Mar 242003

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles
The speedometer was inoperative. The dealer stated there was nothing they could do. Scc

- Hampton, IA, USA

problem #13

Feb 062003

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The throttle sticks never had it happen at highway speeds yet. Like when you pull up to a light to stop it sticks but if you hold on to the brake it goes down to nomal. Since I've owned this car it has happened 5 times. The last time as I was pulling into the drive. Hard to lay your hands on to what to do.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #12

Jan 142003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,600 miles
The consumer experienced sudden acceleration with this vehicle and a newly purchased 2003 Camry. Scc the consumer stated that he applied the brakes and the vehicle continued to travel forward. The consumer cut off the ignition and the vehicle finally came to a stop.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #11

Oct 212002

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Unintended acceleration. While pulling into a parking space, my wife's vehicle accelerated to maximum speed. The car jumped over the parking curb and she swerved to miss a building. She clipped two cars in passing them, swerved again into an empy parkilng spot and the vehicle tipped over. Car was totaled. No one was hurt, but my wife sustained some bruises and glass shards in the eyes. Local Toyota dealer looked at the wreck, ran some electronic diagnostics, but said they were unable to find any malfunction.

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #10

Jan 152003

Camry 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Consumer called complaining while driving the vehicle at low speed when suffer a sudden acceleration causing a damage to the vehicle. Dealer has been notified.

- Forest Hills, NY, USA

problem #9

Dec 102002

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Consumer stated while pulling into a parking space and without any indication, the vehicle accelerated, jumping over a parking block and knocking down a tree. The dealer and manufactured had been contacted. Updated 7/2/12 updated 07/12/12

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 172002

Camry

  • 2,000 miles
Consumer was parking the vehicle with her foot on the brake when the vehicle accelerated. This resulted in an accident. The dealership cannot locate the cause of the problem.

- Lakewood, NJ, USA

problem #7

Nov 112002

Camry

  • miles
Consumer states was driving on highway with cruise control engaged. Attempted to disengage by depressing brake pedal to no avail. Consumer had to swerve vehicle through traffic to avoid a collision. As a result the front passenger wheel came off slowing car down enough for consumer to downshift gears.

- Maple Heights, OH, USA

problem #6

Jul 072002

Camry

  • miles
Vehicle would intermittently accelerate when applying brakes. Dealer was notified, and unable to duplicate the problem. Feel free to provide any further information.

- North Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #5

May 252002

Camry

  • miles
While driving thorttle got stuck and consumer could not stop vehicle. Consumer had an accident. Contacted dealer, and the dealer was not willing to do anything.

- Long View, TX, USA

problem #4

Mar 112002

Camry

  • miles
I was backing out and turning 90 degrees from a parking space at my apartment when the engine in my 2002 Camry began to surge. I could not stop my Camry by applying the brakes, and it backed into a GMC somona pickup truck.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #3

May 242002

Camry

  • miles
No summary listed for above vehicle. 9/7/2005 - on three occasions the engine speed increased while the vehicle was stopped and in a stationary state. The operator applied the brakes to keep the vehicle stationary. The engine returned to a normal state after the brake was released. Each incident lasted only a few seconds. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer and a representative of the manufacturer. No faults were detected, no repairs were made. All three incidents occurred within the first 3,000 miles of operation. The vehicle now has 22,000 miles and has not had another incident as of this date.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #2

Dec 112001

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While backing up, vehicle suddenly surged and engine revved. Consumer applied brake and emergency/parking brake, but could not stop vehicle. The vehicle hit a tree, consumer suffered minor injuries.the vehicle was totaled. 07/10/2012 cw updated 07/12/12

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #1

Nov 192001

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving at very slow speeds with brake applied, the vehicle will surge. The only way to stop vehicle is to put it in park and shut off the engine. Vehicle has been taken to the dealer 7 times in 2 weeks, and they cannot find a problem. Lead technician informed consumer when the wheels are turned at a slow speed (I.e. parking manuevers) the engine can surge slightly, consumer has not had any problems since the vehicle has been returned.

- Jenkenstown, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?