Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
132 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
47 / 6
Average Mileage:
37,727 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 4 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #179

Mar 192010

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Toyota Camry le. Consumer states unintended acceleration. The consumer stated as she approached an intersection, she attempted to apply the brake, but the vehicle began to lurch forward and would not stop. In order to avoid going into a major intersection, the consumer steered toward a ditch. The second incident occurred when the consumer was approaching a light, once again the vehicle starting accelerating. The consumer was able to steer the vehicle toward a vacant field. The vehicle was inspected for a second time, but, the dealer was unable to duplicate the problem.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #178

Dec 192009

Camry

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While attempting to drive 5 mph into a parking space, the vehicle abnormally accelerated without driver intent. As a result, the vehicle was involved in a crash and was severely damaged. There was no mention of any injuries or if a police report was filed. The dealer was unable to duplicate or diagnose the failure. The manufacturer would provide no assistance. The failure and current mileages were 50,000.

- La Quinta, CA, USA

problem #177

May 212002

Camry

  • miles
This is in reference to the recently announced Toyota recall for increased unintended acceleration of the vehicle. I believe this is an issue dating back to 2002 Toyota model cars. I would like to add that I believe Toyota was aware of the potential problem. Let me explain: My mother purchased a new 2002 Toyota Camry in 2001, and within 3-6 months of driving the vehicle she experienced the unintended increased acceleration with complete braking failure problem more than once. I was a passenger on one incident, sitting in the back seat, and the car accelerated on it's own from 25mph to 45 mph, hand brake, pedal brake all failed when applied. Car kept moving. If I had not reached across from the back seat and jammed the car gear from drive into the park position, there would have been an accident with injuries or worse. My mom refused to drive the vehicle after this incident on May 21,2002. She tried to trade it in and get her money back from the dealer in dallas/ft.worth area, but the Toyota dealer refused. She had to go thru an official arbitration board hearing with the executives at Toyota because she did not want to drive the vehicle and wanted to return it. The Toyota board hearing outcome was not in her favor. Go figure. But on the way out of the hearing the lead Toyota mechanic took her aside and told her "off" the record "that this acceleration problem was going to be a big problem in the future" and that he was sorry. That same week my mom traded her new 2002 Toyota Camry in for a new Honda at the Honda dealer. My mom since has passed away. Anyway, I just thought that due to the importance of this issue I would share our story with you. In addition my sisters accompanied my mom to her arbitration hearing at Toyota in dallas ft worth area along with my brother in law who is a Ford mechanic, and I am sure they can provide more information regarding the hearing events if needed. We think further investigation may be warranted.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #176

Mar 142010

Camry

  • 41,238 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sudden acceleration fourth occurrence.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #175

Jun 062007

Camry

  • 80,000 miles
I was on a 150 mile trip. Was going down a hill in the country and lost speed control of my car. The car was going faster and faster and the brakes were doing nothing. We flew over a railroad crossing and through an intersection. I brought the car under control using the emergency brake.

- East Amherst, NY, USA

problem #174

Sep 182009

Camry 6-cyl

  • 188,000 miles
Since my purchase in December 2003 of a used Toyota Camry xle, six cylinder (VIN [xxx], there have been three (3) instances of unintended acceleration. Twice I was behind the wheel; once my wife was. In each case, circumstances were similar: The car was idling in neutral or park; the driver put his/her foot on the brake and shifted into drive; virtually simultaneously the engine accelerated rapidly. In each case the driver's foot on the brake prevented the car from moving forward with any speed, but it was necessary to press hard on the brake -- and even with that in at least one instance the car strained and bucked. The situations were resolved when the driver shifted. In two instances the shift was into park and the vehicle then stalled in each case. I do not recall clearly whether the shift in the third instance was into park or neutral or whether the vehicle stalled. We were at the time exiting a gas station and merging into traffic. In no instance was there a problem with the mat and in no case was the driver's foot on the accelerator. Rather the right foot was in each case on the brake. The approximate dates of the instances were fall 2006, June 2009, and September 2009. The first instance was reported to oaklawn Toyota, oaklawn, Illinois; the second to Toyota South, richmond, Kentucky. Each was the then servicing dealer with Toyota South also the dealer from whom the car was purchased. Neither dealer could find anything wrong with the car. The third instance was not reported. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Richmond, KY, USA

problem #173

Apr 252007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 112,377 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While driving at speeds of 60 mph in clear weather conditions, he placed his foot on the brake pedal and the vehicle abnormally accelerated. He was unable to maintain control of the unintended acceleration as the vehicle persisted to crash into another vehicle. The vehicle was destroyed. The current and failure mileages were 112377 5/10/2010 updated 05/14/10.

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #172

Mar 012010

Camry

  • 180,000 miles
I was rear-ended on the highway while driving my 2002 Toyota Camry. When I tried to slow down and move into the breakdown lane, the car accelerated. I ended up going down an embankment hitting several trees. The car was eventually spun around and crashed rear end into a tree. The car was totaled. My passenger and I experienced concussion syndrome along with muscle spasms in the neck, back, and ankle. We were taken by ambulance to the new britain general hospital where we were treated and released. We are both receiving follow-up medical care.

- Natick, MA, USA

problem #171

Mar 112010

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
The metropolitan police department investigated an automobile accident that involved a 2002 Toyota Camry w/ a V6 and cruise control. The operator claims the vehicle accelerated without pedal application causing the crash. He struck several trees and rolled over. If you have any questions or need more information, please call me at [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #170

Apr 152008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While the contact was driving 5 mph and attempting to make a turn the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning, the contact was able to stop the acceleration by applying extreme pressure to the brakes. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer and there were no prior warnings. The failure mileage was 20000 and the current mileage was 28000. Updated 4/26/10 the consumer stated when she pulled forward from her parking space, and turned left the vehicle suddenly accelerated. She stated she braked hard and was finally able to get the vehicle to slow down gradually. Updated 06/01/10.

- Chevy Chase, MD, USA

problem #169

Sep 052009

Camry

  • 17,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car suddenly accelerated forward while pulling into the driveway and crashed through the garage door crashing into a refrigerator. The crash also damaged a sewer line and many other items in the garage. The garage door was destroyed. Damage to the car was more then $5000 and property damage close to that. There were no injuries to people. There had been no acceleration issues with this car before this. We believe it may have had something to do with the sudden acceleration problems that some Toyota's have been having. Crash repairs to the car and the house have been completed but nothing regarding the possible acceleration issue since the 2002 Camry has not been recalled.

- Whitewater, CO, USA

problem #168

Mar 062010

Camry

  • 34,000 miles
Engine racing in 2002 Toyota Camry.

- Woodside , NY, USA

problem #167

Mar 082010

Camry

  • 86,657 miles
This is my second event and complaint concerning a sudden acceleration incident with my 2002 Toyota Camry. Please reference my first complaint ODI #10312684. Today (3/8/2010) while pulling up to my mailbox my Camry lurched forward at a high rate of speed. My foot was not on the accelerator pedal when this happened. It was on the brake pedal because I was stopping at my mailbox when this occurred. I immediately applied all of my body weight on the brake pedal and was able to stop the car after about 10 - 12 feet. Upon stopping I immediately placed the gearshift in park and turned the key off.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #166

Oct 122008

Camry

  • 35,000 miles
Twice on start-up I had the engine race, sounding like a jet revving up. Last time was as I parked in the garage after using the car it revved up sounding again like a jet starting up. I thought someone or some thing had come up behind me in driveway. Dates were approximately Oct. 2008 and Nov. 2009. Car has under 45,000 actual miles on it.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #165

Nov 202007

Camry 4-cyl

  • 35,125 miles
Sudden acceleration while backing out of driveway. Brought under control by intensive braking at the time it was thought to be an isolated incident - so no remedy was sought aprox. 5 mph. 9-26-08 sudden acceleration and brake failure when pulling out of gas station and making right hand turn within 100 feet of gas station-finally under control within 12" of home aprox. 15 mph. Diagnosis - ABS sensor failure complete braking system replaced. 5-21-09 sudden acceleration and brake failure while trying to slow down from 5 mph resulting in citation by MA state police for driving 87 mph. Court records available (I've never had a citation ever in 45 years of driving.) 8-31-09 sudden acceleration & brake failure aprox 15 mph. Brake failure - completely new brake system installed. Toyota doesn't return calls. Dealership says it's not on recall list so they refer me to Toyota. I have less than 59,000 miles on this car it is a 2002. We do not drive it much since the second incident on 9-26-08. Updated 04/28/10.

- West Roxbury, MA, USA

problem #164

Feb 082010

Camry

  • 89,000 miles
While entering a parking stall our perfectly maintained 2002 Toyota Camry seemed to go full-throttle and tossed us over a curb, a sidewalk, under a steel handrail, and down a 15 ft rockery, just missing trees and a building..totaling our car. We walked away sore and shaken, but uninjured. The investigating officer's report states "rear tires leaving visible drag marks on the sidewalk" indicating the brakes were engaged. This sidewalk is attached to the curb so the brakes were engaged during the entire incident. The car was totaled, and $3800 damage was done to the apartment complex property.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #163

Feb 062010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 152,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While the contact was driving 30mph, the vehicle suddenly began to accelerate without warning causing the vehicle to crash into an embankment and flipped over on top of its hood. No one was injured during the crash. A police report was filed for the incident. The vehicle had not been diagnosed by the dealership and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 152000. Updated 4/22/10 updated 08/11/10

- Michigan City, IN, USA

problem #162

Apr 012004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,375 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. On April 1, 2004 the contact was involved in an accident. While pulling out of a parking space, the vehicle surged forward, then backwards landing on top of another vehicle. The contact was injured. A police report was filed. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The manufacturer stated the contact stepped on the incorrect pedal. The contact stated the vehicle was destroyed. Updated 5/17/2010 * cn the consumer stated when the vehicle accelerated out of control, it kept going around in a circle in reverse even with her foot on the brake. The trunk of her vehicle landed N top of another vehicle when it finally stopped. Updated 09/16/10

- Wilkes Barre, PA, USA

problem #161

Nov 102004

Camry 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that his daughter was driving the vehicle and suddenly it went out of control. The vehicle went off the road, into a ditch and then overturned. She was killed due to the accident and the vehicle was totaled. The state trooper made a report but no one could figure out why the brakes were not applied or what the cause for the accident was. The contact had not spoken with the dealer or the manufacturer to-date. The contact stated that the current and failure mileages were 40,000. Updated 04/15/10. Updated 05/19/10 the deceased struck a tree and then overturned. Updated 05/20/10. Updated 09/30/10 updated 9/29/2011

- Hatchechubbee, AL, USA

problem #160

Feb 272010

Camry

  • 108,000 miles
While I was pulling my 2002 Toyota Camry into my driveway with foot on brake pedal (and brake lights on- my neighbor witnessed), the car surged forward despite me trying to jam brake even harder. This resulted in me crashing into my house and partly damaging the wall and garage. The impact was high enough to shift the stucco off the foundation. Surprisingly, the airbag did not go off. The impact dented the front fenders of my car quite badly though. In 8 years of driving this car, I have never experienced such surge in acceleration in such short distance (my driveway is about 20ft max). I turned off the ignition at the same time the impact occurred, which stopped the car. I have filed a complaint w/ Toyota.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?