Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
132 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
47 / 6
Average Mileage:
37,727 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 7 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #119

Oct 062009


  • miles


I am writing this letter on behalf of my mother. She drives a 2002 Toyota Camry. Last week she informed me that her car ┐did it again┐ and that she is afraid to drive the car. Well, I didn┐T fully understand when she said her car would sometimes accelerate in bursts until I saw nightline last night regarding the Toyota run-away car issue. Here are the incidences that have happened to my mom: 1)on the morning of September 3, 2009, she was backing out of her space at a supermarket parking lot and ┐the car back out really fast┐. she was so afraid that she was going to hit someone. Luckily, no one was behind her so no one got hurt. She tried applying the brakes to no avail and then tried moving the gears and eventually the car stopped. 2)on September 20, 2009, she was backing out from her home and the car ┐took off and went back really fast and then spun around and then hit a tree across the street┐ in the neighbor's swell. She hit the brake pedal but the car did not stop. She then turned the ignition off and the car eventually stopped. 3)on October 6, 2009, she was backing out from getting her hair done and ┐the car accelerated, turned around and went towards the house across the street and then went straight into the backyard of the house---hitting the side of the house along the way┐. the car was out of control. The brakes didn┐T work. The car broke down the clothes line. Thank god that neither she, the passenger, nor the owner of the house got hurt. The owner of the house was under a car - fixing it in the backyard. Had he not been under the car, she felt sure that the car would have hit him. 4)on October 27, 2009 she was driving about 40 miles per hour when the car ┐just took off going really fast┐. she took her feet off of the gas pedal and tried to use the brakes. That's when she told me that she was so scared and didn┐T want to drive the vehicle anymore.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #118

Aug 092009


  • 40,945 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While pulling to the valvoline service station to get an oil change the vehicle accelerated unintentionally and drove through the service bay, the gas station, and then onto a side street. The vehicle eventually came to a complete stop. The dealer nor the manufacture were contacted. She was parking her vehicle when the second failure occurred. Consequently she crashed into several vehicles. The failure mileage was 40945.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #117

Oct 222009


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. On October 22, 2009 she attempted to drive out of a parking space and suddenly the vehicle accelerated and caused her to crash into two parked vehicles. She was forced to crash into the parked vehicles or a wall in order to bring the vehicle to a stop to and avoid a tragedy. The driver and passenger sustained injuries. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer stated that the sudden acceleration was due to the floor mat; however, the hooks on the floor mat have an additional cover and was not touching the accelerator pedal. The air bag did not deploy when she crashed into the third vehicle. The dealer stated the air bag sensor is located in the middle and that the crash occurred on the right side of the vehicle which is why the air bag did not deploy. The honolulu police report number 09383098. The vehicle will be repaired. The failure and current mileage were 30,000.

- Kaneohe, HI, USA

problem #116

Feb 052009


  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While driving 5 mph into a driveway her vehicle crashed into a brick retainer wall. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic who quoted a repair cost of $2000 to repair the damage to the front fender. The mechanic stated that he confirmed that there was no mechanical damage done to the vehicle. The air bags did not deploy and no one was injured. While parking the vehicle it unexpectedly accelerated and crashed into a beauty salon. The police was notified and a report is available. The police officer stated that the contact loss consciousness prior to the crash. The contact stated she was in complete control of the vehicle when it accelerated on its own on both occasions. The dealer stated that there were no problems with the vehicle when it was sold to her. The manufacturer stated that they would conduct a survey of the damages and check for a mechanical failure. The contact was not notified by the dealer if a representative has assessed the damages. The failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 11/13/09. Updated 11/16/09. See also ODI 10265717

- Kerrville, TX, USA

problem #115

Jun 052009


  • 39,000 miles
While my wife (driver for 40 years) was backing out of the driveway the car accelerated at full throttle, shot across the street and into the neighbors' yard and crashed into a tree which prevented the car from crashing into the house.

- Minnetonka, MN, USA

problem #114

Feb 112009


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle accelerated without warning. As a result, the contact crashed the vehicle into a wall. The vehicle was moderately damaged. One week later, the failure recurred and the vehicle crashed into a building. The vehicle was completely destroyed and none of the air bags deployed. The contact was not injured in either crash. A complaint was filed with the manufacturer and a representative concluded after inspection of the vehicle that nothing caused the spontaneous acceleration. A police report was filed. The failure mileage was 50,000 and current mileage was 60,000. See also 10286930

- Kerrville, TX, USA

problem #113

Jan 082006


  • 85,000 miles


I have a 2002 Camry. In 2006 I started having problems with the acceleration of the car. I would be driving and the car would start to stall, I have taken the car to Toyota on 6 different occasions. Everytime I was told they could not duplicate the problem.. so there was nothing that they could do. I notice the problem when I can not accelerate between 30-50 mph in the first 5 -10 min of driving. The car will then start to stall. All lights come on and I have to pull over to the side of the road. If I let the car sit for a minute or two what ever the problem is resets its self. I am afraid one day there will be nowhere to pull off the road and I will get hurt very badly. I've taken the car to two different dealers and no one seems to know what the problem is or how to fix it. Recently my vsc light and traction control light came on, I took it to dealer to be fixed and rep told me it was safe to drive and not a big deal. When the road is wet the car does not seem to get the traction control. I am going to have to get dealer to reset.

- Ponte Vedra, FL, USA

problem #112

Feb 082008


  • 47,000 miles
Prior to the accident on 2/8/2008 at 8:55pm there were 2-3 episodes within a 6 year period when ana lopez felt the vehicle mildly accelerate on its own for only a few seconds. The episodes were so mild that she questioned herself whether the car truly accelerated and so she never had the car inspected. However, on 2/8/2008 at 8:55pm while driving home heading South on the veterans expressway in tampa she experienced what she describes as the most frightening event in her life. The first sign that something was going wrong was the dash lights began to flicker on and off so she made an attempt to pull over so she could call her husband and make him aware of how the car was performing. As she began slowing down and veering off the road on the outside lane, which was witnessed, the vehicle mad a very powerful acceleration accompanied by a loud acceleration sound and loss of steering ability as the car began to steer to the left going back into traffic lanes. She felt as though the vehicle was now controlling itself and shortly after began to spin out of control. The vehicle struck the barrier wall and came to a final rest on the right southbound lane. Ana lopez suffered multiple fractures to her right leg and spent 2 months in the hospital and rehab unit where she suffered greatly with pain and continues to suffer from pain and debilitation. The vehicle was inspected by a professional inspector at her home and nothing was found wrong with the vehicle. But the inspection was a preliminary inspection and she feared that a more through inspection would be too costly for her. Her story about the incident has never changed and still is traumatizing to her. This complaint was translated and written by alberto lopez, her son.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #111

Dec 152008


  • 103 miles
Failure to accelerate properly ( 1 or 2 second hesitation) I took the car to the Toyota dealer for 2 years and they reset the computer each time but that fix only lasted about 1200 miles each time. Dealer says engine falls within specifications and refused to do any more to fix the car under warranty - I have now 34,000 miles and I get scared when I pull out into traffic and the car temporary stalls the slow acceleration.

- Port Orchard, WA, USA

problem #110

Dec 022008


  • miles
After backing out of a parking space and switching the car from reverse to drive, the car accelerated quickly forward crashing into two parked cars and finally stopping after hitting a concrete structure. Applying the brake would not stop the car. The car has been declared a total loss by the insurance company. Unexplained acceleration events have occurred before with this car.

- Sanford, NC, USA

problem #109

Apr 032008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles


Backing out of my driveway, I put the car in reverse, a 2002 Toyota Camry and it took off at full speed and did not stop until it went across the street and hit a tree even though I was trying to brake.

- Miller Place , NY, USA

problem #108

Feb 182007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
Toyota Camry le 2.4 L winter weather cause to vvt on auto to fail and stall engine. Stalled engine caused lost of controls, steering, brakes, replaced were oxygen sensors, cat.convertor, etc.. the vvt is variable valve timing control along with ocm, PCM, throttle sensor, mass air sensor which regulates the engine performance.

- Mckeesport, PA, USA

problem #107

Dec 302006

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,200 miles
- while backing up out of a parking lot the 2002 Toyota Camry suddenly accelerated. The contact applied the brake with full force in order to stop vehicle from accelerating into a wall. The contact took vehicle into the local mechanic and the mechanic replaced the accelerator position sensor. The current mileage is 21265 and the failure mileage is 21200. Consumer has included the repair order and wants to be reimbursed. Update/17tr

- Mountain Home, AR, USA

problem #106

Dec 082006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,158 miles
We own a 2002 Toyota Camry last night my wife, son and a friend were sitting at a stop light behind another car. With my wife's foot on the brake, the car revved up and lunged into the back of the car in front of her. Immediately after hitting her once, the engine revved up even higher and accelerated into the car again. Had she been first in line at the light, she would have been thrown into the middle of a busy four lane intersection and might possibly not be here today. If you have any more info on this, could you please send it to me or tell me where it could be found.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #105

Nov 012006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,990 miles
: the contact stated while parking the vehicle on the upper level of a multi-level parking garage, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle surged forward, breaking through the safety cable and damaging the body of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer, where the dealer was unable to duplicate or determine the cause of the problem. Updated 12/5/2006 -

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #104

Oct 162006

(reported on)


  • miles
Ltr fm (ca) re the 2002-2005 Toyota Camry, solora, and Lexus automobiles, request NHTSA do a full investigation on these vehicle re sudden acceleration. While drivng the vehicle accelerated suddenly and resulted in an accident.

- San Juan Capistrano, CA, USA

problem #103

Sep 212006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
Driver concluded business at a drive through atm at a local shopping mall. Vehicle was shifted into 'drive' and at that instant the engine started racing at high speed and the vehicle accelerated rapidly. The driver depressed the brake pedal, but the vehicle would not stop. The engine was still racing at top speed and the vehicle was picking up momentum. The driver pumped the brakes several times, but no feedback response could be felt. The rapid, unintended acceleration caused the vehicle to travel across the centerline and into the opposite direction of traffic. With opposing traffic approaching the driver turned the vehicle sharply to the right in an effort to avoid a collision. Seeing a number of cars stopped at the approaching intersection to the main road, the driver continued to steer the car hard to the right. The vehicle then went over an embankment and struck a steel light pole resulting in total loss of the vehicle and significant injuries to the driver. Total travel distance of the vehicle from acceleration to impact was approximately 300 feet. Total incident time and final speed are uncertain.

- Mcmurray, PA, USA

problem #102

Sep 192006

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 10 mph in a parking lot and attempting to maneuver into a parking space the vehicle accelerated to 30 mph without warning crashing into a pole and causing damage to a fence. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was taken and the dealer was notified. The vehicle was totaled by the insurance company. Updated 10/13/06.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #101

Jun 062006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,513 miles
: the contact stated after starting the vehicle, it immediately accelerated and subsequently crashed into a house. Updated 10/06/06.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #100

Jan 242006


  • miles
Response to letter received from claims administrator, for Toyota, alleging that all systems were functioning properly for 2002 Toyota Camry. The manufacturer claimed that all systems were functioning properly when the consumer's vehicle suddenly accelerated and ended up inside a travel Agency. Several months before the accident, the battery went completely dead. The consumer was informed the battery would not hold a charge and a new battery was needed. Updated 02/23/10

- Lincoln, RI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?