Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
132 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
47 / 6
Average Mileage:
37,727 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 9 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #79

Jan 172005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While pulling into a pet store parking lot, the vehicle suddenly accelerated uncontrollably causing me to crash into a retaining wall in front of the store. There were previous incidents involving the acceleration of the vehicle in the hour immediately before the crash occurred.

- Little Elm, TX, USA

problem #78

Nov 192004

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,100 miles
The consumer experienced sudden acceleration. The brakes failed to work causing an accident. The consumer's vehicle collided with another vehicle at a stop sign. The air bags did not deploy.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #77

Apr 182003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
Intermittently during braking, the vehicle commenced to accelerate. This condition occurred on three separate occasions. The vehicle has been to the dealer on three separate occasions and they were unable to duplicate the problem.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #76

Jul 072004

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Saturday, July 7, 2004, I drove the 2002 Toyota Camry in bowie, Maryland heading South on route 197, laurel-bowie road. While going up a hill, at approximately 65 mph, I pressed on the accelerator pedal. Immediately, I lost control of the car, as it swerved first to the left. However, a car was to my left, and to avoid hitting it, I steered the car right, towards the curb. Fortunately I did not hit the car. As I steered towards the right, the car sped ahead of me, and I tried steering back towards the left to avoid the curb. To create friction to stop the car, I made a big arc and crossed four lanes to the left, with the car finally facing northbound. After making sure no cars were coming in either direction of the road, I made a U-turn and headed straight to my house (~2 miles away).

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #75

Aug 132004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,972 miles
Ongoing problem with aplplication of brakes and car accelerating forward. Incidents on 7/9/04 & 8/13/04.incidents have been reported before to NHTSA on 4/23/04 reference#10071432.took car to dealer Toyota rep and serviceman cound not find problem. Has offered O take car in for 1 week and have techs drive.this is 5 incident asked Toyota to swap car for or trade for other car was informed my car had problem and was not possible at this time.this car has problem with ets and it is time for Toyota to do something.iam not in this for gain just want the problem solved or car swapped for eqivalent.I have exhausted all means for a resolution and feel I need arbitraction from Toyota.hearing that this car has no problem is old and would appreciate any assistance in this matter.

- Whiting, NJ, USA

problem #74

Aug 092004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,800 miles
While parking the vehicle suddenly accelerated. When the vehicle was finally parked and the consumer's foot was off the accelerator and on the brake the vehicle jumped over parking bump and hit a post. The driver had no control on the vehicle. Dealership was notified. The vehicle sustained front end damage.

- Paris, KY, USA

problem #73

Oct 272002

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While stopping at a traffic light the engine revved, followed by sudden acceleration. The consumer proceeded to slam on the brake pedal to stop the acceleration, but it failed to do so. Vehicle stopped accelerating by itself. Dealership was contacted, but provided no assistance because they weren't able to duplicate the failure.

- Mount Sinai, NY, USA

problem #72

May 142004

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
The consumer had an accident, when the vehicle accelerated on its own, struck 5 vehicles head on and the air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they told him that there were no defects with the air bags or vehicle accelerator. Toyota has accepted a claim in will reimburse the consumer for all damages; however, the consumer shows concern that there is no recall. See voq 10065132.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #71

Jul 122004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,780 miles
While stopped in traffic the vehicle made a loud roaring nose and surged forward. The vehicle collided with the vehicle in front, that vehicle in turn struck another vehicle. There were no injuries involved in the incident. Police arrived, but no report was made due to no injuries.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #70

Jun 292004

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While approaching a red light and attempting to slow down vehicle surged while applying the brakes. The brakes had to be depressed with great force. See voq 10074340.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #69

Jun 282004

Camry 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While parking vehicle lunged forward. Then, vehicle hit two vehicles in parking lot. The dealership was informed. See 10066756. Updated 7/5/12

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #68

Jun 212004

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When driving into the garage vehicle surged forward. This caused the consumer to lose control of the vehicle, and it hit the back wall of the garage head on. Upon impact, both frontal air bags did not deploy. Consumer will have the vehicle inspected.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #67

Aug 142002

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
While driving, the vehicle suddenly accelerated uncontrollably. The consumer was able to maintain control of the vehicle and drove it to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic was not able to duplicate or resolve the problem. The brake pedal would go lower than the gas pedal. The consumers right foot would hit the gas pedal before the brake pedal and the motor would race.

- Monroe Township, NJ, USA

problem #66

Apr 022004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,920 miles
While driving at 25 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The brakes were applied, but failed to stop the vehicle. The consumer turned the steering wheel to the right to avoid rear ending another vehicle, however the consumer's vehicle jumped a curb onto a grass surface. The vehicle retained the same speed, but didn't slow down, and drove 700 feet before hitting a sign and two trees. When the vehicle impacted the second tree, the impact catapulted the vehicle back onto the street and the vehicle finally stopped. The vehicle was totaled by the insurance company. Updated 7/5/12 the vehicle has since been sold for salvage. Updated 08/13/12

- Kenner, LA, USA

problem #65

Jun 012004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,602 miles
1). soon after purchase of car, probably in may or June of 2002, I began to park in space at target on sawmill road in columbus, Ohio, with foot on brake pedal. Car suddenly surged foward and struck the rear bumper of pickup truck. No personal injuries or damage to car or truck. 2.) on 5-9-04 surge occurred while driving slowly, looking at condominiums, with foot on brake pedal. No crash, no injuries, no damages to car. 3.) on 6-1-04, I entered parking space on side of cvs pharmacy, 1885 w henderson rd., upper arlington, oh 43220, with foot on brake pedal. Car suddenly surged forward even with brake applied and struck concrete column. No injuries or mechanical damage, but front bumper was dented and scratched. Took car to tansky sawmill Toyota, but they could not find or duplicate the surge. They checked the brakes, and there were no problems. See voq 10074942 (duplicate).

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #64

May 282004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,800 miles
While driving the vehicle suddenly accelerated while the consumer was approaching a stop sign and lunged forward into an intersection.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #63

Jun 012004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,602 miles
1.) soon after purchase of car, probably in may or June of 2002, I began to park in space at target on sawmill road in columbus Ohio, with foot on brake pedal. Car suddenly surged forward and struck rear bumper of pickup truck. No personal injuries or damage to car or truck. 2.) on 5-9-04 surge occurred while driving slowly, looking at condominiums, with foot on brake pedal. No crash, no injuries, no damages to car. 3.) on 6-1-04, I entered parking space on side of cvs pharmacy,1885 w henderson rd., upper arlington, oh 43220, with foot on brake pedal. Car suddenly surged forward even with brake applied and struck concrete column. No injuries or mechanical damage, but front bumper was dented and scratched. Took car to tansky sawmill Toyota, but they could not find or duplcate the surge. They checked brakes, and there were no problems. See voq 10075107 (duplicate).

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #62

May 282004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
Toyota Camry 2002 was parked. When I put the gear into drive, w/ foot only on brake, it surged forward, crashing the car through the common garage wall which separates two patio homes. I was thrown forward as the car went through the wall, hitting the car in the other garage which was pushed backwards into the other garage door. Both cars had to repaired, a new garage wall and garage door will need to be replaced. Luckily, no one was killed. I haven't taken the car to my Toyota dealer as it had to be towed away and I am sure they will not find any fault in the car even though ntsa has supported that this car make and model has had incidents of this surging occurring. The cost of the repair will be 50% of what the blue book states it will be worth when I sell it. I need information and your support in this cause.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #61

May 122004

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
While at a stop, the vehicle jerked forward. The consumer was a T a red light, when the light turned green, upon acceleration the engine made a roaring sound and lurched forward.

- East Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #60

Apr 092004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,849 miles
Vehicle accelerated upon parking near a stop with foot off accelerator and on brake pedal. Please provide any additional information. Vehicle hit an unoccupied vehicle.

- Columbia, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?