Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 2
Average Mileage:
17,972 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Mar 182010

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Toyota Camry. Consumer states sudden acceleration. The consumer pulled into a garage. The turn into the garage was tight, so it required her to back up and then pull forward in order to execute the turn. She backed up and turned the steering wheel hard to the right. She had her foot on the brake and shifted from reverse to forward when all of a sudden, the vehicle accelerated out of control and crashed into the house, doing several thousand dollars of damage to the house and the vehicle. Several weeks later the same situation occurred. Fortunately, the consumer's foot was on the brake when she shifted, so the vehicle only shot forward a few feet before she was able to stop it. Updated 03/30/10 second document was sent in as a congressional letter. Updated 06/02/10

- Suffern, NY, USA

problem #29

Jul 302008

Camry 4-cyl

  • 35,935 miles
1. the was no prior notice of defect. 2. the fuel pedal assembly failed generating a check engine light, and the car became unable to drive safely. The car became very erratic and would not operate unless running over 20 mph. 3. the car was taken to the dealer where the fuel pedal assembly was found defective and replaced. Updated 01/06/11

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #28

Jul 062008

Camry 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
My 2002 Camry 4 cylinder experienced a speed control problem a couple years ago. I was able to get to the dealer and have repairs made without any accident, however. The problem required replacement of the accelerator pedal sensor at a cost of $567 to me.. invoices received. Updated IVOQ 02/16/11

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #27

Jul 012005

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter request status of his two petitions re sudden unintended accelerations in his 2002 Camry xle; ref ES05-006490 was due 11/28/05 and ES05-007354 was due 12/27/05 both assigned to nvs-200. The consumer had an accident as result of sudden acceleration. When the consumer put the gear into reverse, while on a residential driveway with his foot on the brake, the vehicle then accelerated at an extraordinary and increased rate, turned around and ended up on an adjacent driveway crashing into a utility box. The seat belt prevented the consumer from being injured.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #26

Dec 012003

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
S10 appropriate handling fwd email re Toyota recent recall notices, owner of a 2002 Camry experienced sudden acceleration and would like NHTSA press release to reflect that my not listed in the Toyota recall notice may experience similar problems.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #25

Mar 022010

(reported on)

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Toyota Camry delayed acceleration the consumer stated the problem was delayed acceleration when the pedal was depressed. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer and was told at the time, the problem was due to the vehicle's computer program and there was nothing they could do. Updated 03/08/10

- Bala Cynwyd, PA, USA

problem #24

Nov 092002

Camry

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2002 Toyota Camry. While driving on the highway at 50 mph, the driver stated that she switched lanes and the accelerator pedal became stuck and accelerated on its own. The vehicle made a U-turn on its own and the driver crashed into 2 guard rails. The vehicle was destroyed. The driver was also injured and taken by ambulance to the hospital. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 2,000.

- Waltham, MA, USA

problem #23

Dec 082009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
On 12/8/09, on my way to the clinic my check engine light came on and staid on. Leaving the clinic my check engine light remained on and the gas pedal became rigid. It was hard to depress and did not want to move freely. The car moved at a couple mph. When I attempted to depress the pedal to make the car go faster the wheels would spin. I was driving my 2002 Toyota Camry le with about 60,000 miles on it when this occurred. My mechanic replaced the gas pedal with a sensor on the reverse end. I am worried that this might happen again and cause an accident. It sounds as if it was acting like the recalled vehicles. Updated 03/19/10 updated 03/24/10.

- Mobridge, SD, USA

problem #22

Feb 092007

Camry 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while starting the vehicle up and while having his foot on the brake the vehicle accelerated on its own. After he shifted the vehicle into neutral and then to park and turned it off, there was smoke coming through hood from the engine. The dealer was contacted and they stated that it was impossible for this to happen. The dealer diagnosed the vehicle and failure could not duplicated. There have been no repairs done to the vehicle. The failure was 35,000. Updated 03/04/10. The consumer stated the pedal became stuck. The consumer stated he experienced the same problem with a second Camry. Updated 09/16/10

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #21

Nov 272009

Camry

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. Immediately after starting the vehicle, the RPM's increased to 5,000. The engine was turned off and towed to an authorized dealer for inspection. The technician stated that the failure was contributed to the accelerator pedal warning sensor. The vehicle is in the process of being repaired. The contact had concerns of the safety risk involved. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileages were 112,000.

- Appleton , WI, USA

problem #20

Nov 302001

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while traveling 10 to 15 mph the vehicle accelerated to 30 mph. The issue was intermittent. The service dealer was not unable to determine the problem with the vehicle.

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #19

Sep 132005

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,360 miles
I was driving with my family South bound on I-5 when we exited the freeway and pulled into the tillicum chevron station. The cruise control was on but disengaged. I turned right into a parking spot at a low rate of speed (3 to 5 mph). I was almost at a complete stop and had just enough time to realize that I could not stop!!! I could hear the car's engine roar and a moment later found that I had driven over a concrete curb, up a two foot concrete retaining wall, and through a chain-link fence. I don't know how a car could do this!! the total space for this to happen was only about 3 linear feet!! I was not pushing the accelerator!! there was indeed an acceleration surge in my 2002 Camry V6. The car stopped, straddling the concrete wall, the front drive wheels were off the ground. I got out of the car and asked the mechanic on-site if there were any recalls on the 2002 Camry. I swear this is the very first thing I said because I knew that I did not cause the accident. The accident was caused by a defect in the Toyota Camry. A tow truck removed my vehicle form the retaining wall. I then drove the car directly to the titus-will Toyota dealership. They could not duplicate the problem with the vehicle and indicated it was safe to drive. Damage to the car included the front bumper, several major scratches, and several small dents. I explained that we were very concerned about safety and asked about recalls. They indicated that there were none for my vehicle. They did admit after some questioning that they would not know how many times this has happened in the past due to the fact that the dealerships do not share information and Toyota corporate does not share this information with the dealerships. The young lady (employee) at the payment desk volunteered that she had also had unexpected acceleration with her Toyota Camry. I request that a formal investigation be launched and a recall placed for 2002 Toyota Camry's.

- South Jordan, UT, USA

problem #18

Apr 022005

Camry

  • miles
I was turining into the parking area at my complex I attempted to slow down and applied the brakes as I normall would to turn into my parking space. As I started to brake, the car started to accelerate. I made a conscious effort to lift my foot off both pedals to be sure I was not pressing the accelerator instead of the brake. The vehicle kept accelerating. I immediately started to apply the brake, which did not slow the vehicle. When I realized that I was not slowing down, I aborted the turn into the parking space and straightened out the vehicle to avoid hitting other park cars and to give more time and distance to safely brake. The vehcile would not slow, and kept accelerating, causing it to go up and over the concrete curb/sidewalk, and right into a set of stairs at the complex. No one was injured, myself included, but the staircase, needless to say, is demolished, as is the entire front end of my Camry. Vehicle is at body shop as of now, no assessment has been done. I did, however, earlier this evening simply log onto google where I typed in "Toyota Camry accelerator sticking" and came up with the following link: subscript.bna.com/samples/pld.nsf/0/33A2947408D24D5185256E5300035cac?opendocument. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #17

Nov 192004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
Consumer was driving about 65 mph and the accelerator pedal became stuck. Driver had to turn off the ignition in order to get the vehicle to stop. Updated 03/29/10.

- Livingston, NJ, USA

problem #16

Oct 052004

Camry 4-cyl

  • 15,500 miles
While parking the vehicle, the brakes failed and the vehicle proceeded forward until it hit a building. The frontal air bags did not deploy. The sheriff stated by the position of the wheels he knew the brakes failed. Before the accident, the consumer complained to Toyota about the brake going to the floor when it was applied. The consumer stated she was sure that the high acceleration that occurred with her vehicle was the result of the gas pedal sticking. The consumer stated she knocked down a 4 foot metal parking light, proceeded and hit one wall, ran over numerous shrubbery, a tree and hit the entrance of a brick wall at a bank. Updated 04/19/10

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #15

May 202004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving 20 mph vehicle accelerated uncontrollably. Consumer applied the brake pedal and vehicle continued to accelerate. Consumer was unable to maintain control of the vehicle, and it hit a lady, who sustained major injuries, and was transported to the hospital by ambulance. Vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection, and mechanic could not duplicate the problem. Consumer was involved in five different accidents due to sudden acceleration.

- Prairieville, LA, USA

problem #14

Oct 262004

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,846 miles
The consumer stated that while pulling into a parking space she suddenly found herself and child in the store. She pulled into a parking space, applied brakes, and then suddenly the vehicle accelerated and crashed into the store front. The consumer was sure that she did not put her foot on the accelerator instead of the brake pedal. The consumer went on line and found that dot was investigating the same type of problem.

- Cincinati, OH, USA

problem #13

Oct 022003

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
While applying the brake pedal vehicle accelerated uncontrollably. Consumer was able to maintain control of the vehicle, and pulled over. Vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection twice. However, the mechanic could not duplicate the problem.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #12

Sep 092004

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,982 miles
The accelerator on the vehicle became stuck. The pedal left the foot and the brake was not responding. The consumer then tried to the accelerator became stuck leaving foot when lightly pressed going to the floor as driver approached busy intersection neither brake nor gearshift would respond.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #11

Jan 292004

Camry 6-cyl

  • 12,777 miles
Vehicle suddenly accelerated and brakes didn't respond when pressed. (nar) updated 7/5/12 updated 07/12/12.

- Rohnert Park, CA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?