Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
28 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
24 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #40

Mar 102016

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger side air bag is bulging up till you can see a brown section inside what should I do not make noise, not moving, just does not look safe.

- Temple Terr, FL, USA

problem #39

Nov 052015

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Toyota Camry 2002- VIN: [xxx] passenger airbag is being exposed. ( images are attached ) thank you, information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #38

Oct 142015

Camry

  • 119,900 miles
I had an accident with my Toyota while my husband was driving on a city street and I was sitting beside him. We hit a car when it stopped suddenly. The seat belt and air bags did not protect me. My head strongly hit the windshield.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #37

Aug 062015

Camry

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the freeway the passenger side air bag started to pulsate and started to rip the air bag cover open, pulled the car over to the brake down lane and called a Toyota dealership. All they said was ther is no recall on that VIN # thanks for the concern Toyota! I am afraid that air bag will deploy wile car is in operation.

- North Providence, RI, USA

problem #36

Jan 072015

Camry

  • 155,000 miles
I had a wreck in Jan., 7th, 2005. I was traveling below the speed limit and the lady in front of me was dead stopped and I cold not stop my car. I hit her stopped car, doing 45 mph and my airbags did not deploy! now the airbag on the passenger side, is not right. It has moved and separated as if it is about to pop open, since the wreck and the people that did the service on my car to fix the front end (via my insurance co. - usaa) have had it looked at and they will not do anything about it. The cover has moved even more, since my wreck in Jan. 7th, 2015 and I am really scared. My 84 year old mother and my service dog ride in the passenger seat. Please help me before it deploys in her face!

- Franklin, TN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #35

Jan 042015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 230,000 miles
Aprox. Two years after purchasing the vehicle new..a small tear...started on the passenger front airbag..presently it has increased in size of the tear.. a lot worse..I'm concerned for the saftey of occupants.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #34

Dec 182014

Camry

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving southbound on lakeshore dr when with no warning of a turn signal a tow truck driver cut me off and slowed almost to a complete stop. I had no choice but to brace for impact as I stomped down on my brakes. The entire front end of my car was totaled as the front right end of my car made impact with the left rear end of his tow truck. After the dist settled I looked around and realized that no airbags deployed. I found this realization extremely alarming, not only for the chest pain that I was experiencing on my right side which I felt was from my chest hitting the steering wheel (even thought I was indeed wearing my seatbelt) but because earlier this year Toyota had come out with a recall list, and when I called to find out if my car was on the recall list I was told no. I don't know how my car was looked over but this is a situation that should be immediately rectified. Thank god my situation wasn't worse than it was and my 5 year old son was not in the car, but there are others on the road who may not meet the same outcome.

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #33

Sep 012014

Camry

  • miles
Passenger airbag is separating from dashboard. It's approximately 3" long. Brought vehicle into dealership but it's not currently listed on the recall list. Insurance company inspected and verified that it is a safety issue.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #32

Nov 042014

Camry

  • miles
I was on a ramp to I-520 at a speed between 45-50 miles.hr and the ramp is straight. Suddenly the car lost control and spinning - finally, I noticed the front passenger side tire is flat. The problem is the airbags were not deployed though the front (both left and right) hit the concrete wall badly and damaged badly. Also the ABS was not engaged.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

problem #31

May 312008

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
Driver of Toyota Camry 2002 had 3 spoke steering wheel air bag which had been subject of recall. Failed to inflate properly and face and neck of driver sprayed with metal fragments on face and all around eyes. Driver was on non-impact side of right front impact. Driver however suffered far worse facial injuries from exploding air bag canister than passenger that was killed on impact side of car from other injuries. Plastic surgeon picked metal fragments of all sizes out of face of Toyota driver for over 8 hours and said it was impossible to get it all. He compared her face to being shot by a shotgun several times full of metal fragments. Mri and ct scan confirm extensive metal still left in face of driver-- especially all around eyes, nose and forehead area. Pieces of metal in neck as well due to this driver can never have an mri again due to the metallic magnetic danger. Plastic surgeon commented-- worst facial damage he had ever seen on non impact side of accident. Suspected air bag defect and canister of charge for air bag exploded defectively-- sending hundreds of metal fragments into face and neck of driver.....updated 01/12/15..updated 05-27-15...updated 06-12-15 updated 6/11/2015

- Gainesville, VA, USA

problem #30

Jun 212013

Camry 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both front air bags did not deploy in a head on collision. Car was totaled and both passengers, belted in front seat were injured.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #29

May 232013

Camry

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while attempting a turn, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and caused the contact to lose control of the vehicle. The contact crashed into the curb and then a tree. The vehicle rolled over and the front driver and passenger side air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained severe injuries to the left arm, which was partially separated. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 60,000.

- Hagerstown , MD, USA

problem #28

Apr 232012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
I purchase a 2002 Toyota Camry in August 2003 from reinhart Toyota in montgomery, Alabama. The vehicle was certified used with only about 19000 on the odometer. Because it was certified used I assumed that the vehicle had been reviewed to ensure that it had all of its parts and they operated properly. I have driven the vehicle for almost nine years without any major issues. About a year or two ago, the airbag light would come on and stay on in the vehicle when the cabin of the vehicle got hot but I did not take in to have it looked at that time. Until recently when I took the vehicle to bob howard Toyota in edmond, Oklahoma to replace the driver side door handle (which was my third time replacing it) during this time I thought it was good idea to have the technician check out the airbag light also. After the technician conducted their review they informed me that my vehicle did not have a passenger side airbag. They installed resistors to keep the airbag light from coming on to warning me about the issue. This gave me a false sense of security by intentionally falsifying information about the vehicle in order to earn a profit, therefore endangering the lives of my family members. If the light would have come on before I bought the vehicle I would have asked about it but it did not. If they sell a certified used vehicle and they mention that it has dual-side airbags, the consumer should not have to worry about the company lying to them about it. I have driven the vehicle for about nine years with the assumption I had dual airbags in my vehicle to recently find out that I been lied to for the past nine years. Now, I am being held responsible for a defect that should have been corrected during the certification of the vehicle. This is unfair have the customer pay for someone elses mistake. They are now refusing to correct the mistake.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #27

Oct 302011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 135,600 miles
Air bags failed to deploy on a frontal crash that pushed dash into my knees and engine back about 1 ft. I don't think I was injured because I braced the impact. Just whiplash and soreness in arms and knees. The car is currently being stored at the insurance company lot but will be junked in the next few days.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #26

Mar 012010

Camry

  • miles
The contact owned a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately 10 mph when another vehicle crashed into the vehicle and the air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed and all three occupants of the vehicle were reported injured. The vehicle was destroyed and towed an insurance lot. The failure was not diagnosed. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was unavailable.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #25

May 112011

Camry 6-cyl

  • 117,908 miles
27 May 2011 1. events leading up to the failure: The car battery, incorrectly place directly over the left side air bag sensor normally leaked water and acid onto the wiring harness opening the circuit and causing the air bag light to go on and the car safety air bags to be disabled. The left side air bag sensor maybe moved so that it is not under the car battery or the sensor could be shielded, such as a splash guard. 2. the failure, how often it occurs, it consequences: This is a 2002 or 8 year old car; however, I would estimate this failure could occur within 6 months to four years. The consequences are that the air bags would always fail to deploy in an accident; making the safety system inoperable. 3. what was done to correct the failure; the main engine wiring harness was replaced; Toyota wanted $3,800 dollars at first. The two wires to the air bag sensor could have a disconnect, so that only the two wires to the air bag sensor could have needed too be replaced.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #24

Nov 022005

Camry

  • 40,003 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. A vehicle crashed into the contacts vehicle while he was at a traffic light pushing him into another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy and there were extensive damages to the front and rear of the vehicle. Two people were injured but did not go to the hospital. The vehicle was driven to the body shop and the vehicle was repaired. A police report is available. The dealer and manufacturer were not called. The failure mileage was 40,003.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #23

Feb 052009

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While driving 5 mph into a driveway her vehicle crashed into a brick retainer wall. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic who quoted a repair cost of $2000 to repair the damage to the front fender. The mechanic stated that he confirmed that there was no mechanical damage done to the vehicle. The air bags did not deploy and no one was injured. While parking the vehicle it unexpectedly accelerated and crashed into a beauty salon. The police was notified and a report is available. The police officer stated that the contact loss consciousness prior to the crash. The contact stated she was in complete control of the vehicle when it accelerated on its own on both occasions. The dealer stated that there were no problems with the vehicle when it was sold to her. The manufacturer stated that they would conduct a survey of the damages and check for a mechanical failure. The contact was not notified by the dealer if a representative has assessed the damages. The failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 11/13/09. Updated 11/16/09. See also ODI 10265717

- Kerrville, TX, USA

problem #22

Feb 112009

Camry

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle accelerated without warning. As a result, the contact crashed the vehicle into a wall. The vehicle was moderately damaged. One week later, the failure recurred and the vehicle crashed into a building. The vehicle was completely destroyed and none of the air bags deployed. The contact was not injured in either crash. A complaint was filed with the manufacturer and a representative concluded after inspection of the vehicle that nothing caused the spontaneous acceleration. A police report was filed. The failure mileage was 50,000 and current mileage was 60,000. See also 10286930

- Kerrville, TX, USA

problem #21

Jan 172007

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
My wife, amy S. jenson, rear ended another vehicle on S main St in findlay, oh. There was extensive damage to front end of her car. The engine was pushed back the best part of a foot because of the accident. The problem is that there was no airbag deployment of any sort from the accident. Isn't that what air bags are there for? as a result there is significant bruising of my wife's head where it hit the windshield and broke it. I would like to know if this defective air bag is common among her car type. She drives a 2002 Toyota Camry.

- Findlay, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?