Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2003 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2003 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2003 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
149 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
51 / 4
Average Mileage:
37,070 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 7 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #103

Jul 202008

Camry

  • 30,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Wife turned into our driveway which slopes down (10 - 20 degrees) as she has been doing for the last 20+ years with her foot on the brake. The pavement was dry. The brakes failed to stopped the car. She veered left to avoid going over a 20 foot embankment at the end of our driveway and crashed into a stone wall. Based on the angle of impact the car rolled over onto its roof. Air bags did not inflate. My wife remained suspended by the seat belt upside down until emergency forces arrived. She sustained multiple bruises and chest pains attributed to the seat belt. If she had gone over the embankment only god knows what the extent of her injuries would have been. New tires had been installed on the car (front wheels) during June 2008 at which time the front brakes were also checked for wear by an auto mechanic. The car was "totaled" as a result of the accident. Subsequently I checked the brake fluid in the car (after the accident); the brake cylinder was full. Further, the Toyota Camry is equipped with brake wear indicators. No indication (sound) of excess wear was given prior to the accident. My wife is adamant she had her foot on the brake pedal. I surmise two things could have happened: 1. the brakes failed completely and gravity acceleration down the driveway contributed to the car's speed and subsequent impact; or 2. the car surged due to a failure of the electronic throttle control (etc) in which application of the brakes was inadequate to stopped the car. Based on prior NHTSA complaints/actions (ref NHTSA action numbers PE04021; DP05002; and DP06003) and the similarity of circumstances, I believe the etc failed. I recommend the NHTSA and Toyota take action to remedy this unsafe situation.

- Rockaway, NJ, USA

problem #102

Jun 052008

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Camry. While backing into a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and caused the contact to crash into another vehicle. He attempted to apply the brakes, but the vehicle would not stop. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed from the scene to a local repair shop and is only being repaired for body damage. The failure has occurred approximately ten times. The speed was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 20,000. Updated 07/16/08.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #101

Jan 312008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,390 miles
My wife was pulling into a parking lot the car accelerated on its own out of control. My wife was able to get stopped without hitting anything but she is so shook up she won't drive it anymore. Nothing has been done about fixing the problem it just happened today.

- Cambridge, OH, USA

problem #100

Aug 252007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Camry. While pulling into a parking space between 3-5 mph, the engine began to rev. The vehicle surged forward when the contact applied more pressure to the brake pedal. The vehicle crashed into a concrete wall and the air bags failed to deploy. Her knees were badly bruised. The hood and front bumper were damaged, but the majority of the damage was on the passenger side of the vehicle. The side panels were moved and misaligned, which impacts the opening and closing of the doors. The purchase date was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 58,500.

- Falls Church, VA, USA

problem #99

Feb 272007

Camry

  • miles
2003 Toyota Camry faulty acceleration customer states vehicle accelerated out of control and caused her to hit another car and a house* see also 10183782

- Stony Point, NY, USA

problem #98

Jun 192007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle accelerated automatically to 45 mph as she was pulling into a parking space. There were no warning indicators. The vehicle struck a cement block. The air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle sustained front end damage and was towed away. The body damage must be repaired before the dealer can attempt to diagnose the cause of failure. The current and failure mileages were 24,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #97

Jun 272007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Delayed response of engine and forward motion of the car when applying acceleration. For lack of better words, it seems to create a revving or surge in the engine...like something is out of synch. Other issues relate to persistent problems with the hydraulic brake and grinding in the steering column that have been dismissed by the dealership that works on my car. As of today, I cannot safely drive my car because I am not confident I will be able to stop the car. I am scheduled to bring the car in this week, but will need to expedite it given the rapid change in brake response in the last few days.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #96

Feb 282007

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles
2003 Toyota Camry. The consumer stated when she placed the vehicle in drive with her foot on the brake, the vehicle suddenly surged forward.** see also 10181803.

- 999, DC, USA

problem #95

Feb 272007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Toyota Camry accelerated out of control and rear ended second vehicle and then a building before stopping. Operator attempted to stop the vehicle by fully depressing brakes, pumping brakes and shifting to neutral to no avail. Vehicle was brought to dealer for problem in 06/06 and again in 02/07. In 06/06 dealer stated there was a computer problem and an adjustment was made. In 02/07 dealer stated they could not find any problem. Operator state he had four failures before servicing in 2006 and only one failure before bringing it in in 2007. There was direct frontal impact that caused extensive damage, neither air bag deployed. See also 10196913

- Stony Point, NY, USA

problem #94

Feb 182007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,155 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Camry. The contact put the vehicle in reverse and it accelerated on its own without warning. The contact stated that his foot remained on the brake pedal and the vehicle continued to accelerate, it lunged forward over a curb and hit a tree. The rear axles were damaged. The vehicle was towed. There were no injuries. A police report was taken, and the contact had photos of the vehicle. The vehicle has not been diagnosed at this time. The vehicle lunged in reverse, onto a manin street, jumped the curb and hit a tree. Updated 03/19/07.

- Fairlawn, NJ, USA

problem #93

Feb 032007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,950 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sudden acceleration of 2003 Camry with 27,000 miles on it. I was parked, had foot on brake, turned car on. Put car in drive while foot still on brake and car surged forward. This was so frightening as a mom and child were walking in front of my car. I smashed my foot on the brake, put car in park and turned motor off to make it stop. See also 10184772.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #92

Oct 312006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,610 miles
: the contact stated on three separate occasions the vehicle accelerated without warning when placed into gear. The vehicle was driven to the dealer both times however the problem could not be duplicated. Updated 01/30/07.

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #91

Jun 192006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,235 miles
: the contact stated that the brake pedal and the accelerator were too close together, and the brake pedal moves down too far. The position of the brake pedal and accelerator caused a collision while backing out of a parking spot. The accelerator was accidentally depressed causing the vehicle to increase in speed and collide with another parked vehicle which subsequently pushed that vehicle into a third. There were no injuries. A police report was filed, and there were no mechanics consulted.

- Potomac, MD, USA

problem #90

Jun 092006

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,200 miles
: the contact stated while driving 7 mph in heavy stop and go traffic with the brakes applied, the vehicle accelerated into the rear of another vehicle. The contact was wearing a seat belt and no injuries were sustained. Minor damage was sustained to the vehicle. The police were on the scene and a report was taken. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer. Updated 7/13/2006 - this acceleration problem occurred 6-7 time prior to this accident.

- Niles, IL, USA

problem #89

May 092006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,805 miles
: the contact stated while driving slowly at 1 mph wit foot on the brake pedal, the vehicle accelerated suddenly causing an accident. The vehicle crashed into three other vehicle's causing property damage. The seat belts were in use at the time. The air bags did not deploy. There were no problems prior to this accident. The vehicle was towed to local dealership where they were unable to duplicate the problem. The vehicle has been inspected by Toyota. The police were alerted to the scene and a report was filed. Updated 6/19/2006 -

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #88

Apr 302006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
I was driving into the automatic car wash, slowed to go up slight ramp to top. Gave the car a little gas and it started reving, did not stop when brake pedal pushed, jumped the track and hit the side of the car wash. The car was able to be moved to outside carwash, still reving but was able to stop and turn off the engine. The front bumper and driver's side front fender were replaced, and suspension damage repaired.

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #87

Apr 282006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,824 miles
: the contact stated while driving 25 mph depressing the brake pedal the vehicle accelerated. This occurred four times. The first 3 times the vehicle was stopped with excessive pressure to the brake pedal. The last time the vehicle struck a pole. There was a police report taken at the scene of the accident. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop for body repairs caused by the crash. When the vehicle was inspected the first three times diagnostic testing did not identify any codes. Also, while carrying 125 pounds of bird seed in the trunk, the vehicle began to veer to the left on a slushy road. When the bird seed was moved to the front passenger seat the vehicle operated normally. The manufacturer was alerted. Updated 7/11/2006 - the consumer reported these incidents to the dealer but they told the consumer that nothing was wrong.

- South Russell, OH, USA

problem #86

Apr 032006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,157 miles
I was parked in a strip mall where I had just picked up some dry cleaning. I entered my car, a 2003 Toyota Camry xle, and started the engine. I then put the car in reverse gear, and removed my foot from the brake. The car suddenly accelerated in reverse, ,and went totally out of control, hitting another car parked across from mine and continued in a somewhat circular path until I was able to apply the brake and come to a stop. I have called NHTSA today and was told that there have been 83 previous complaints for this vehicle under "vehicle speed control, " and 15 complaints under "vehicle speed control, accelerator pedal." I have also called Toyota motor sales (1 800 331-4331) and was told that they would make an appointment with a nearby Toyota dealer to have my car inspected for any defects. I have also gone to a auto body shop where the damages to my car have been estimated at $3,879.13. In addition, the police arrived at the scene and I was cited for "careless driving, " and paid a fine of $107.70. I am also been required to attend a 4 hour traffic school where the fee is $35.95. I wish to have this matter investigated.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #85

Mar 272006

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles
2003 Camry accelerated out of control causing consumer to crash into a wall. The consumer wanted to know if any action will be taken regarding her complaint.

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #84

Jan 212006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,600 miles
My car is a 2003 Toyota Camry le with 4 cylinder engine, automatic transmission, cruise control and ABS. The accident occurred on January 21, 2006 in New York city in broad daylight and in clear weather. The accident occurred as I entered gas station to pump gas. I lost control with sudden acceleration. I hit another car parked to pump gas..

- Woodside, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?