Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2003 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2003 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2003 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
149 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
51 / 4
Average Mileage:
37,070 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 8 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #83

Jan 042006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the vehicle surges forward while the accelerator pedal is barely being touched. This is an intermittent problem and occurs when the vehicle is accelerating from a stopped position. The dealership is unable to duplicate the problem. The consumer stated when on a level highway, with the cruise control engaged, it will activate and deactivate on its own. Updated 02/07/06.

- La Conner, WA, USA

problem #82

Mar 012005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Camry was involved in 2 accidents in which the vehicle surged forward. The electronic part for the accelerator was replaced at the dealer after each accident.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #81

Oct 142005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact stated when placing foot on the brake pedal the vehicle accelerated. It became airborne and did not stop until it crashed into an embankment. Both the driver and passenger have fractured vertebrae's. a police report was taken at the scene, and the vehicle was totaled. Updated 12/27/05.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #80

Nov 052005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,030 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact was putting the vehicle into park and the vehicle suddenly accelerated. It went from 2 mph, to being out of control. The vehicle surged and crashed into a wooden retaining wall. The contact was not injured in the crash. There was property damage to the wall. The vehicle was not totaled. She contacted the manufacturer, and they said they would investigate the incident. There has not been any representative from the manufacturer in touch with the contact. A police report was taken.

- Chelsea, MA, USA

problem #79

Sep 212005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
Car surges to maximum revolutions on tachometer when moving gear shift from park to reverse. Has happened 2 times in the last 3 months. At the time of both incidents, car was idling with air conditioner on. Application of brake controlled situation but I am worried about severe accident if this occurs. There are 2 other drivers in the family, of which one is a teenager and a fourth will start driving in 6 months. This is the same as the current defect investigation NHTSA action number DP05002. My complaint is against the manufacturer, not the dealer. The dealer did a diagnosis after the first incident and detected no problem. There needs to be a diagnosis for this issue and a national recall on this problem.

- Needham, MA, USA

problem #78

Sep 082003

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Toyota Camry developed numerous problems.** answer required***. the vehicle pulled to the left when the brakes were applied, it required 2 or 3 attempts to start the vehicle, the radio was replaced, the power door locks did not work, the engine light stayed on and the gauges were erratic, the right rear strut and mount were broken. The brake light was inoperative. The hood release latch was reconnected, because the consumer heard a rattle noise. The exhaust converter was replaced. Updated 03/04/10 the consumer stated he experienced sudden acceleration twice. Updated 06/28/10

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #77

Aug 122005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stalled in the middle of the road on August 12, 2005. Took the vehicle to the dealer and they could not find anything wrong and sent the consumer home with the invoice. There was no for warning. About 6 weeks before when pushing on the accelerator pedal it seemed like it took a few seconds for the vehicle to accelerate.

- Dewey, AZ, USA

problem #76

Apr 202005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
Consumer states that the vehicle takes off by itself. This can happen while at a traffic light with foot on brake. At one time consumer was putting the car on planks to change oil and the vehicle accelerated, and hit consumer's spouse, who sustained injuries.

- Gresham, OR, USA

problem #75

May 082005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
As I put car on drive, it just accelarated out of control..brakes did not work, emergency brake neither, thanks to curb I did not run thru a fence that separates supermarket's parking lot and housing's playground full of kids and parents enjoying mother's day.

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #74

Apr 122005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,710 miles
I pulled into a business parking lot and came to a complete stop, shifted into reverse, took my foot off the brake, slightly touched the accelerator, removed my foot from the accelerator and the car suddenly accelerated rapidly on its own. I firmly applied the brake to stop but the car continued to accelerate. The action of the brakes left a long patch of rubber, but did not slow the car. After striking an SUV, moving it out of the way and into another car, the car continued to accelerate until it was stopped by a metal light pole. The car has yet to be examined by a Toyota dealership.

- Grandville , MI, USA

problem #73

Mar 162005

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,350 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the consumer's vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. The consumer hit the brake pedal but it went down tot he floor and the vehicle did not stop. Just as quickly as the vehicle started accelerating it stopped. The vehicle was towed tot eh dealer but hey were unable to find anything wrong.

- El Cerrito, CA, USA

problem #72

Dec 122003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My mother bertha sussman was driving at a slow speed when she approached the gate of her community. She stepped on the brake and the car accelerated. She hit a tree as the car picked up speed. She has spent the last year in the hospital, hospice, and nursing home.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #71

Oct 252003

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,579 miles
While driving, the vehicle accelerated. The consumer could not stop the vehicle even though her feet was on the brake. The vehicle surged. The consumer stated it seemed like a computer problem. An accident did occur, however there were no injuries. The consumer had to make the vehicle spin before she could stop it.

- Richmond Hill, GA, USA

problem #70

Jan 132005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
When disengaging the vehicle from park the vehicle accelerates without warning. No impact reported. The cause has yet to be determined. Please provide additional information.

- New Berlin, WI, USA

problem #69

Dec 072004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
While pulling into a parking space the consumer heard a loud noise coming from her vehicle. The vehicle accelerated and the consumer crashed into a brick wall. No injuries were reported. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the problem could not be determined. Jb updated 03/04/10 updated 04/12/10. Updated 08/26/10.

- Fairview Park, OH, USA

problem #68

Jan 012004

Camry

  • miles
Unexplainable sudden surge caused $5,389.95 in damages to my Toyota Camry. No answer required - see response to congressional correspondence (ccmmercury ref. No. ES04-009988, ODI ref. No. 10101790) the surging was an intermittent problem. The vehicle surged forward and hit a concrete wall. The consumer requested reimbursement.

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #67

Nov 122004

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,500 miles
The vehicle surged backwards with inappropriate speed, shot through a parking space behind me, into next row of parked cars, and hit a parked vehicle, totaling it.

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #66

Jan 012004

Camry

  • miles
Owner of 2003 Toyota Camry experienced sudden acceleration suggest NHTSA initiate investigation. While the consumer was parking the vehicle it sudden surged forward hitting a concrete wall. As a result the consumer sustained some bruises. The accident caused $5000 worth of damage to the vehicle. This incident was followed by two more similar occurrences. No answer required - duplicate of ODI ref. No. 10101616. See also 10063095 (sipek).

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #65

Nov 012004

Camry

  • miles
Ower of 2003 Toyota Camry experienced sudden acceleration suggest NHTSA initiate investigation. The vehicle suddenly surged forward and had run into a concrete wall and occurred on two more occasions. See ODI 10063095 (sipek). Duplicate of 10101790.

- Clarendon Hills, IL, USA

problem #64

Nov 212004

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While backing out of a driveway and shifting from reverse into drive vehicle suddenly accelerated out-of-control into adjacent neighbor's yard. Immediate and continual application of brakes did nothing -- engine continued to rev and I narrowly avoided striking a house. Instead, I was forced to strike a row of trees to stop run-away vehicle. Frontal air bags failed to deploy on either sides. Had it not been for the trees, I would've struck a 500 gallon propane tank, 2 parked pickup trucks, and the original house from which I was departing from. My lone passenger and I will be emotionally scarred forever by this incident. Please force Toyota to issue a recall here! please don't wait for a death... please!!!

- Apalachin, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?