Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2004 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2004 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2004 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,715 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Camry electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Aug 302014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 178,533 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota Camry driver-side window fire. During August of 2014, I went shopping in lithonia, ga. I parked my 2004 Toyota Camry in the shopping center parking lot. A short time later, I returned to my car and observed smoke billowing from the driver side window of my vehicle. I immediately drove across the street to nalley Toyota of stonecrest to have the vehicle checked out. I was not aware of any recall at this time, and asked the service advisor to check for one. She did so, and told me there was not a Toyota recall for my vehicle. I proceeded to pay them $967 in parts and labor to replace my entire master switch, the master switch assembly, and window motor in the driver-side door. After coming home, I proceeded to look for any information I could find on Toyota recalls of other 2004 Camry. I found the Toyota recall list online and saw that my car had the same problem as other Camry being recalled, yet had not been included. In may of the following year (2015), the motor I was sold failed again. I was unable to raise my driver side window, so I went back to nalley Toyota at stonecrest. I spoke with a service advisor who explained that even though the recall had been expanded to include more vehicles with this problem, my Toyota Camry was still not included. I proceeded to pay an additional $234.17 to have the window motor replaced again. Since that time, I have also experience the burning out of my car lighter. I have been waiting in vain for Toyota to include my model of Toyota Camry in the recall process. I am writing now to request that Toyota reimburse me for the money I have paid to have work done that would have been covered under the existing Toyota recall on window motors. Obviously, my car should have been included. I am attaching documentation of each transaction for your review. Thank you for your assistance.

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #33

Apr 022012

Camry

  • 21,000 miles
This vehicle had a transmission replaced.

- Wayne, NJ, USA

problem #32

Mar 292016

Camry 4-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 30 mph, the high beam headlights were activated and the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted. Also, when the turn signal and windshield wipers were engaged, the vehicle stalled. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 150,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 06/15/16

- Beards Town, IL, USA

problem #31

Jan 312016

Camry

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Camry SE car sitting for two days. Car caught fire. Fire department stated that it seemed no foul play involved. To me it look like the origin of the fire started by the battery and wiring was the issue. Interior in good shape no windows busted.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #30

Jun 232015

Camry

  • 157,000 miles
I was driving down the road from my home when my car stopped working. It died on me. It just stopped working completely without any notice whatsoever. I was able to maintain control of the steering wheel and I pulled over to the side of the road. At the time I was driving approximately 45 miles an hour (when the car engine stopped working). I turned the key in the ignition to the off position. When I turned the key in the ignition to start the car, the car started up immediately.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #29

Mar 082014

Camry

  • miles
For some reason car would not start and no one knows why.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #28

Jun 022014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 6/2/2014 I was on my way to work. As I pulled out my dirt road onto the main highway, my check engine light came on and my car automatically shut off. Mind you my car was still rolling, but I manage to pull on the side of the road and shut the car off. I try to step on gas peddle but car would not accelerate. So I waited a few mintues on side of road before attempting to re-start my car. Once I got it cranked, I drove 10 to 15 miles to get my car back in my yard. At this point in time, I cant drive it until it gets fix.

- Santee, SC, USA

problem #27

Jan 012012

Camry 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Ignition key can easily be removed from ignition while engine is still running. Extremely loose fit.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #26

Aug 012013

Camry

  • 59,100 miles
Automatic locks will not lock or unlock the back passenger door. All other door locks operate properly. Creates safety issues as door does no lock when shifted into drive, the driver can no longer lock the doors while in the driver seat or using the key fob. This is the second time this car has had the same issue. Last time, in 2009, Toyota dealer made all repairs (~$500).

- Berkeley Heights, NJ, USA

problem #25

May 142013

Camry

  • miles
When I check the rear lights of my Toyota, I perceived that one of the rear lights won't turn on when I turn it on. Then I check the same light from others 6 Toyota Camry 2004 and I perceive that all car have the same problem with that left rear side light.

- Calexico, CA, USA

problem #24

Dec 162007

Camry 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In parking garage I wanted to back up from post. I put car in reverse and had foot on brake. When I released brake slightly, the engine roared and the car lunged back and even with my foot mashing on the brake, the car jumped a curb in the garage and did not stop until it hit an SUV and knocked it into a brick wall. My passenger suffered a subdural hematoma and was hospitalized in portland, or during christmas vacation. She had to remain in portand 30 days until she had a clear ctscan. January 21, 2013 I was stopped for stop sign with foot on the brake, when same vehicle lunged forward at about 30 mph. I had a repeat when I was braking to slow down for a turn, and vehicle just lunged forward and it took me half a block to get the car to stop. On January 26, 2013 I had a repeat of the stop sign incident. I had foot on brake and was at a complete stop, when car lunged forward. Fortunately there were no cars coming and I safely made a left turn as it was a dead end street. Again it took me about half a block to get the car to come to a stop again. I do not feel safe to drive this car and have left it with a local Toyota dealer and had brakes repaired. I have spoken to service manager, rick, and at hq, [xxx], about my issues. Toyota has politely brushed me off like a piece of lint both for the accident in 2007 and my current issues. I have joined the class action suit against Toyota and am requesting the brake override as a stop-gas measure. I currently have 82,700 miles on vehicle and had planned to drive it for several more years. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #23

Jan 182013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 51,284 miles
After entering a parking lot my mother-in-law was turning into a spot when the car suddenly accelerated thru the spot and was heading for the concrete wall. She was able to turn it to the left, run over the curb and in to a snow bank. She was unable to back the car out and had to be towed out. There was damage to the front end, but the airbags did not deploy. The tow truck driver said that she could drive it home and she managed to do so, but she was scared to do so. It is now sitting in the driveway and will not be driven until we are satisfied with the repairs to the acceleration problem. I am still waiting to hear from the dealer?.

- Ogden, UT, USA

problem #22

Jan 012010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
This problem has to do with the power door actuator on the driver door. The malfunction started intermittently at certain temperatures. The door lock on driver side would not work when pressing the remote or pressing the power door lock button on driver door. As the problem progressed the interior door lock button and latch stopped functioning in manual mode. Not allowing the driver to exit the vehicle. The lock does not open anymore and does not override the malfunctioning door actuator. As a result, should I need to quickly egress the vehicle in an emergency such as a fire or otherwise I will not be able to do so. The only way to open the door at this time is to press the power door lock button back and forth until something catches on, and the button opens. However, this will likely not work in an emergency. I've requested that Toyota replace the faulty part, but was informed that given that the vehicle is out of warranty they are not responsible for it. I requested that they take my case to southeastern Toyota upper management to make a decision. According to the Toyota dealer I was at, the service manager for the entire southeastern United States did not agree with my complaint and did not think it was within their duties to replace the part. My investigation into the issue has revealed that this issue repeats with many other vehicles of the same model years 02-06. See the following links: www.toyotanation.com/forum/104-5th-6th-generation-2002-2006-2007-2011/144851-2003-Camry-door-lock-problem.html. it is apparent that this is an issue that Toyota must be aware of and refuses to deal with given that no fatalities have been reported (to the best of my knowledge). However, does someone need to get injured or possibly lose their life until this problem is resolved by the manufacturer? please address this issue.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #21

Jul 292011

Camry

  • 73,847 miles
All three passenger power door locks quit functioning properly. They will still "lock" but will not "open" door locks. Hanford Toyota told us the electrical motors became too weak to open the locks. But they all happened at the same time! car had approx 73847 miles on odometer. Repair/replacement cost is approx $300 per door. I feel there could become a dangerous fire potential and should be replaced under recall.

- Hanford, CA, USA

problem #20

Aug 042012

Camry

  • 103,000 miles
On August 4, 2012, I was driving on the highway when the throttle actuator control on my 2004 Camry broke. My car came to a complete and sudden stop, which I am very fortunate to have not been hit by another vehicle. I was not able to move the car and many cars were forced to swerve around me to avoid an accident. All of the lights on my dashboard were flashing. When I turned the car off and tried to restart it, the engine light stayed on. I was finally able to move the car after approximately 10 minutes, but was only able to drive at 10 mph. My mechanic checked the engine code & found the problem to be the throttle body actuator control. The price for the part was $900, not including labor. I purchased the car from lia Toyota of northampton, whom I have contacted & they will not assume any responsibility. I have also contacted the Toyota manufacturing of North America office in Kentucky and am waiting for a response. This problem needs to be addressed as it is extremely dangerous.

- Holyoke, MA, USA

problem #19

Aug 252012

Camry

  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while replacing the spark plug the connector to the ignition coil was abnormally dry. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the ignition coil connector was replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 121,000.

- North Salem, NY, USA

problem #18

Oct 292011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 37,700 miles
I recently bought a 2004 Toyota Camry with 35,000 miles when I bought it. I started having problems with the car stalling when accelerated, I took it to auto zone to have them check with a computer which it showed that it was a problem with the throtle. I called the Toyota dealer and I have been getting the run around, as days goes by the problem has increased, now the gas pedal doesnt need to be pressed for the car to take off, the RPM goes to 1500 even with the breaks on. I work 6 miles from the house and I had to start the car 8 times to be able to make it to work. I really think this is a safety issue that Toyota should acknowledge instead of ignoring people when complaining about their products. Does the same thing that happened in 2009 need to happen to me before I get a solution or an answer to my questions. Back then Toyota knew about the problem and as usual they swept it under the rug. I owe way too much money on that car. Do I have to spend thousands of dollars to get it fix." As a consumer dont I deserve to know why this vehicle is having this problem" I had an Altima & had to trade it in for this crap of so called car because of economical issues, and I regret it 100%. this is the second time I've got a Toyota and all I've had its nothing but problems and as usual Toyota ignores everything. I need a vehicle that is reliable and that I can trust my familsy to be safe in. I don't feel safe driving it, I can't put this vehicle on the road and jeopardize the live of inocent people. All I want is to have a safe drivable vehicler. Can somebody help before tragedy happens.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #17

Apr 302011

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,323 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact was reversing from a parking space when the vehicle abnormally accelerated to 45 mph and continued to drive in circles. The contact stated the vehicle did not stop until it crashed in several car on the left and the right. The force hit the other vehicles directly in the rear. The consumer hit a total of eight vehicles. The contact stated that the vehicle was towed by the police and was declared as destroyed. The vehicle was not inspected for the failure. The failure mileage was 64,323. Updated 11/01/11 the consumer stated three of the vehicle including hers was totaled. Prior to the accident, the consumer stated the vehicle suddenly accelerated and she discovered the floor mat was jammed under the accelerator pedal. The pedal jammed on several occasions. On several occasions, the consumer would experience a jolt while driving. Also, the horn would suddenly start going off for no apparent reason. Updated 06/22/12

- Salem, MA, USA

problem #16

Aug 102011

Camry

  • 100,000 miles
1. my car was stopped while driving 2. first time 3. problem with pedal sensor, diagnose code PO2121/2122.

- Rolling Hills Estates, CA, USA

problem #15

Feb 222011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 200,000 miles
1. there was no event the car went into a idle in the middle of the road. There was no acceleration. Took my car to the local Toyota dealer and they found a bad "throttle body". I'm finding out this is a coming problem for 2004 Toyota Camry's and what's amazing, the Toyota parts manager said this should be a recall item. Please note this item costs over $1000 to replace!! this is uncalled-for!! thousands of people on line are complaining. Something has to be done. 2. this problem only happen once (Feb. 22nd, 2011) 3. Toyota repaired the problem by replacing the throttle body. (dealer name: Bernardi Toyota in framingham, MA 508-766-2463).

- 01749, MA, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?