Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2004 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2004 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2004 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
111 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
49 / 3
Average Mileage:
44,355 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 5 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #125

May 152004

Camry

  • 19,915 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On May 15, 2004 I was involved in a 1 person auto accident in my 2003 Toyota Camry le. I had just purchased the vehicle less than 30 days from the time of the accident from a certified used Toyota dealership (stone mountain Toyota). My car spun out of control as I pressed the accelerator to pull out of a store parking lot. I was unable to stop the car by braking and ended up rolling over an embankment and on to railroad tracks. I was wearing my safety belt at the time. I was able to get out of the car and away from it as I feared it was going to blow up. I had no idea of what went wrong as it accelerated so fast. Obviously, I was terrified and remain emotionally and physically damaged from this event. I was transported to the er via ambulance and was evaluated for injuries. My main injuries were general body, head, neck, and back pain. Subsequently, a lumbar fracture was found years later on a scan for another medical issue. I still suffer from low back pain and the event haunts me. Especially since I told the police, ambulance workers, insurance company, and the managers at the dealership about what happened. No one investigated the accident further as if I was not making any sense. I also missed a few days of work and wages because I am an rn and couldn't perform my job due to the pain. I am really upset about the recalls because it doesn't include earlier Toyota models and I reported this incident 6 years ago when I had my accident and nothing was done. Thanks for your time..

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #124

Nov 162009

Camry 6-cyl

  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While the contact was driving approximately 5 mph attempting to stop, the brake pedal was engaged with an unexpected acceleration. The vehicle was able to stop with extreme pressure applied to the brake. The identical failure occurred on ten separate occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle has not been repaired at this time. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage was 74,197. Updated 5/10/10 updated 07/19/10

- Bowling Green, OH, USA

problem #123

Oct 262004

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2004 Toyota Camry. Consumer states rapid acceleration. The consumer stated as she slowly turned into a parking space and began to apply the brake, the vehicle suddenly lurched forward, sending the vehicle over a yellow concrete barrier and into a small retaining wall. The vehicle came to a stop when it hit the retaining wall. A few months later, the same thing happened. As the consumer was backing out of a parking space, the vehicle suddenly lurched backwards and started to go in a small spin. She applied the brake and the vehicle stopped. The third incident happened when the consumer was proceeding up a driveway to a hospital. As she was sitting waiting to proceed with her foot on the brake, the vehicle all of a sudden lurched forward. She immediately braked harder and the vehicle stopped after going about 3 or 4 feet forward.

- Granada Hills, CA, USA

problem #122

Jul 052008

Camry

  • 67,944 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On July 5 2008, I was driving my 2004 Toyota Camry with 67,000 miles on it on I95 in brevard co. Fl. as I accelerated a little to pass into the left lane, my car took off and proceeded to go faster even though I had taken my foot off of the accelerator. After about 30 seconds, my engine died. I managed to pull the car off the shoulder. After several attempts, I finally got the car started again and the engine light came on. Luckily there was an exit close by and I slowly drove my car off I95 and straight to mike erdman Toyota in merritt island. They diagnosed the problem as the throttle body. They told me I was "lucky" that my car chose to shut off as a lady in merritt island had the same thing happen to her but her car didn't stop until it ran into a bank! my total bill, parts and labor were $1048.26 plus another $99.64 for the rental car for a grand total of $1147.90. After this happened, I went onto the Toyota website and filed a complaint as I don't think a car with this low mileage should have this happen to it. (never heard from Toyota) I also did some internet research and found that 100's of other people had this happen to their Toyota's, mostly Camry's models from 2003 - 2006. Check out the throttle body topic on topix.com....lots of angry Camry owners with throttle body issues! this part should have been recalled....we want our repair money back!!!

- Titusville, FL, USA

problem #121

Dec 012009

Camry

  • miles
Ltr of thanks for the February 24th testimony before the house committee, which detailed NHTSA's supervision of several Toyota vehicle recalls; it is imperative that this issue be thoroughly assessed to determine the safety of all Toyota vehicles. When the consumer attempted to stop at a red light, the vehicle continued to accelerate. The consumer avoided a collision, by making a sharp right turn and within a few minutes the vehicle was back under her control. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer and they removed the driver's side floor mat and placed it on the passenger side. The inspected the vehicle, but couldn't find anything wrong. The consumer didn't experience another problem until January 15, 2010 she was leaving the service station, turned right onto the main street and the vehicle accelerated twice for a short period of time. The dealer checked the vehicle again, but to no avail.

- Conley, GA, USA

problem #120

Feb 282010

Camry

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While attempting to navigate into a park space, the vehicle abnormally accelerated without warning. He was unable to control the unintended acceleration and proceeded to crash into an embankment. The contact was not injured. The current and failure mileages were 49000.

- Wall, PA, USA

problem #119

Mar 112005

Camry

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota Camry 2004. I purchase Toyota Camry 2004 new and I have experience acceleration of car for two occasions. While I was driving the car around March 2005 in the morning and gas paddle went down by itself for a 30 sec or so. I did not had the control of the gas paddle. This happened twice around 2005. This happened for few seconds only (30-45 sec). I experience little increase in the speed for that brief period. I haven't shown the problem to dealer. This happened for a brief period so I thought something is my fault but now it seems like some other issue.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #118

Apr 102008

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,038 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The consumer stated she pulled into her driveway and activated the garage door opener. The door had opened about 2/3 when the vehicle suddenly accelerated while her foot was still on the brake. The garage door was knocked off the track and the vehicle hit a workbench. The consumer was not injured, but there was substantial damage to her vehicle. Updated 4/30/10 updated 06/25/10.

- Madison, CT, USA

problem #117

Mar 022010

Camry

  • 86,000 miles
2004 Toyota Camry gas pedal stopped working, the car went to idle and would not increase RPM. No consequences because I was in isolated rural area. Turned car off and restarted, it worked as normal.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #116

Jan 212010

Camry

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning which caused the vehicle to accelerate up to 50 mph and crash into a wall. The front passenger side of the vehicle was damaged. No one was injured during the crash. The contact towed the vehicle to a local mechanic and called the manufacturer. The manufacturer informed the contact to take the vehicle to the dealer. The contact could not take the vehicle to the dealer; therefore, it was towed to a body shop and repaired. The repairs have not been completed due to the availability of parts. The failure mileage was unknown. The contact stated that the crash was due to rapid acceleration.

- Forrest Hills, NY, USA

problem #115

Jun 102006

Camry

  • 27,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While attempting to accelerate my 2004 Toyota Camry le onto a parkway, my vehicle would not respond. I pressed the gas pedal all the way to the floor expecting that my vehicle would increase in speed. I wanted to increase my speed so I could match the speed of traffic already on the parkway, enabling me to get onto the parkway safely. Instead, my Camry remained stationary at idle speed for about 6 seconds. After the 6 seconds or so, the vehicle started to increase speed slowly. Fortunately the person behind me maintained a safe following distance avoiding a potential accident. On June 14, 2006, I brought my car into the dealer and told him what happened. On the dealership form it stated "we have inspected your vehicle and vehicle is operating within manufacturer guidelines. No repairs are needed." I have also filed a complaint on NHTSA web site (ODI # 10317412) concerning my 2004 Toyota in which the engine rapidly and exponentially accelerated on its own after I put my car in park position. My right foot was on the brake pedal (and only the brake pedal) while putting transmission in park.

- Jamaica, NY, USA

problem #114

Mar 062010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 43,512 miles
My 2004 Toyota Camry le had rapidly accelerated on its own shortly after placing gear selector in park. I was slowly backing up my Camry le on an incline. I had my left foot on the brake and lightly touched the gas pedal with my right foot. (N.B. I used both feet, because on two occasions while backing up with my body turned, my right foot twisted and got caught between the accelerator and brake pedals--which are the same height.) I barely got a few feet before I heard an odd noise--a sound that I can neither remember or describe --since I have no frame of reference for this sound. I believe the car was vibrating when this sound occurred. I put my right foot on the brake and moved the gear selector to the park position. Within about 3 seconds the engine raced so high--as if the car was traveling 120 miles +. I have never heard an engine accelerate as rapidly and as high as this. It was as if rocket fuel was suddenly added to the fuel line. If this vehicle was in drive, I would have been unable to stop. My relative is proficient in both computers and cars. He suggested that there could be several reasons for this problem including corrosion on computer parts, ic chips not seated properly, problems with the wiring harness, and the last suggestion, that the ECM (car computer) gave the wrong command to open up the throttle body, which caused the engine to race. After I turned the engine off and back on, the car worked normal--my relative said that the ECM could have reset itself. Even if Toyota could claim that the problem is in the gas pedal, its important to know that there is a sensor by gas pedal (wires attached) which I understand would tell the ECM where its [pedal] position is. Since there is no mechanical linkage (cable) that connects to the throttle body--the accelerator would have to be controlled electronically. Updated 03/30/10. The consumer what he experienced could never be explained away as a sticky gas pedal, foot entrapment, a floor mat issue, or operator error. There were 3 incidents of unwanted acceleration he experienced in his vehicle. Updated 01/14/14

- Jamaica, NY, USA

problem #113

Mar 022010

Camry

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. She stated that while she was pulling out of the drive way she noticed that the vehicle will not go faster than 10mph. She started to drive, but ended up pulling into a parking lot and parked. The vehicle was towed to a independent mechanic. The mechanic diagnosed the defect to be the wireless throttle body. The vehicle will be repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 52,000.

- Chelmfford, MA, USA

problem #112

Feb 152010

Camry

  • 50,000 miles
Contact owned a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated he was driving at about 5mph when he was turning in a parking lot trying to park. The vehicle took off and he hit a store front which was 7 feet from the parking lot. The contact stated he does not remember much, but he had glass shatter all over him. He was rushed to the hospital but was not injured at all. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure mileage was 50,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #111

Dec 152009

Camry

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While driving 10 mph with his foot on the brake pedal, the vehicle accelerated on its own over a concrete barrier, hit a vehicle and then hit a gas meter. He sustained minor back injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they were unable to diagnose the failure. A police report is available. The failure and current mileages were 46000.

- Wheeling, WV, USA

problem #110

Jun 202005

Camry

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. When he was stopped at a traffic light with his foot on the brake pedal, the vehicle accelerated and lunged forward suddenly. The failure occurred twice. He took the vehicle to the dealership and was told that there was nothing wrong with it. The failure also occurred in 2006. He took the vehicle back to the dealership and again, they were unable to diagnose or duplicate the failure. The failure recurred again in a parking lot which caused him to graze a light pole. There were no injuries. He was able to stop the vehicle by shifting into neutral gear when the failure occurred. He had not called the manufacturer to-date. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was approximately 49,000. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #109

Apr 192009

Camry

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact exited the driveway at approximately 2 mph. The gear shifter was placed into drive, followed by an unexpected acceleration. The vehicle crashed into the side of a house. There was no personal injury. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The current and failure mileages were 57,000.

- Forest Hill, MD, USA

problem #108

Sep 012006

Camry

  • 40,000 miles
My Toyota Camry accelerated twice. Once as I had backed out of my driveway and put the car into drive. Another incident was shortly after I had crossed a neighborhood street.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #107

Nov 282009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,650 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact started the ignition. The vehicle accelerated out of control. The vehicle was able to stop. The identical failure occurred on the next day. Currently, the vehicle is parked and not being driven due to the failure. The vehicle has not been repaired at this time. The current mileage was approximately 45,300. The failure mileage was 46.650. Updated 03/26/10. VRTC complaint vehicle. The consumer stated the vehicle was parked on wet muddy grass and when he applied the accelerator pedal the motor roared and the vehicle accelerated. Updated 09/28/10

- New York, NY, USA

problem #106

Mar 012010

Camry

  • miles
Sudden acceleration that so far has been controlled by applying the brakes. The surge is small but still noticeable. This has happened a few times but I have not complained before as I thought the problems were only with the 2007 and up models and figured I was imagining it do to the all of the recent recalls.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?