Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2004 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2004 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention. typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2004 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
111 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
49 / 3
Average Mileage:
43,769 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 8 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #64

Mar 092009


  • 73,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While driving 40 mph the contact tried to slow the vehicle down by applying the brakes. The vehicle would not slow down and crashed into another vehicle. The vehicle was totaled and the contact was injured by the air bag. The contact feels the accelerator pedal was sticking and that cause the crash. The contact did not called the manufacturer regarding this issue. The failure mileage was 73,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #63

Dec 262009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
A 2004 Toyota Camry on 26 December 2009 traveling at approximately 5 miles per hour into a parking space in front of the us post office had an un-commanded acceleration. Within a span of four feet into the parking spot, the car accelerated and the brake could not stop the forward movement. The car jumped the sidewalk and drove into the window and corner of the building while the engine continued to race with only the building holding the car as it tried to raced further. Moving the transmission lever from drive to park the doors did not automatically unlock. Turning the ignition key to off position was the only solution to stopping the racing engine. The floor mat was checked on exiting the car and was not to be anywhere near the accelerator pedal..the car was totaled and no life treating injury was sustained. The consumer experienced neck and back pain. Updated 03/17/10

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #62

Jul 272009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Acceleration on my 2004 Toyota Camry began to fluctuate wildly while I was driving down the road. Car would suddenly accelerate, then decelerate almost non-stop. I shut engine off, called Toyota and had the car towed in. I was told that the engine control module (ECM) was defective and would be replaced under a federally mandated warranty - car had 76,000 miles, and warranty was good to 80,000 miles. However they also told me that the accelerator pedal assembly had simultaneously failed. That would cost me $681. Toyota's own technician said that the ECM failure caused the accelerator pedal assembly to fail. Toyota corporate, however, told me that the two incidents were unrelated. After reading about the "accelerator pedal sticking" problem in the news lately, I wonder if my problem is not part of a much larger problem involving the ECM on Toyota cars. If I was not wise enough to shut off my engine when the problem occurred, a serious accident could easily have occurred. Please continue to investigate the ECM problem, as I believe that Toyota is not forthcoming with the full story here. The consumer also stated there weas an engine knock coming from the vehicle. The dealer repalced the tensioner, and belt. The water pump was wearing prematurely, there was a noise coming from the steering column when turning the wheel. The dealer replaced the intermediate steering shaft. The check engine light was on all the time. The dealer replaced the catalytic converter. The ECM and accelerator pedal were replaced. Updated IVOQ 04/15/11

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #61

Jan 282004


  • 4,000 miles


1/28/04, I was pulling head on, at a low rate of speed, almost a crawl, into a parking space, in front of a business and the car "jumped" or surged forward. My foot was off the brake and the accelerator when this occurred. The car hit the building. 8/11/05, I was pulling head on into a parking space in a parking lot, at a low rate of speed, when the car "jumped" or surged forward. The car hit a tree in front of me.

- Sea Girt, NJ, USA

problem #60

Jun 272007

Camry 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. She stated that while driving not more than 5 mph the vehicle accelerated on its own while her foot was on the brake pedal. The vehicle crashed into her garage and a tree. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact sustained minor injuries after she hit the steering wheel during the crash. She was transported to a hospital. The air bags did not deploy. The dealer was contacted; however, the recording made it impossible for to speak with someone. No repairs were made. The insurance company was notified. The failure and current mileage were 45000. Updated 01/27/10. Updated 01/28/10

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #59

Dec 272009


  • miles
Driving home from work this morning, my 2004 Camry suddenly accelerated to more than 80 miles/hour. I was very scared. Brakes would not work. I stopped the car by changing gears to neutral.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #58

Jun 132008


  • 55,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While idling in traffic, she applied pressure to the accelerator pedal, but the vehicle would not accelerate. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection. The technician replaced the entire accelerated pedal assembly. However the driver-side seat belt will not retract properly. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Lynnhaven, FL, USA

problem #57

Oct 282009

Camry 6-cyl

  • 85,300 miles
Car was exiting a medium right turn when the car accelerated rapidly went thru a fence and hit a tree. Updated 02/02/10 corrected VIN at the consumers request. Updated 02/02/10

- Indian Valley, VA, USA

problem #56

Jun 062004

Camry 6-cyl

  • 26,835 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While approaching a stop light at 35 mph, the vehicle lurched forward. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on four separate occasions for the identical failures. The transmission was replaced on two separate occasions, and the computer system was reset. None of the repairs have remedied the failure. The current mileage was unknown the failure mileage was 26,835. The vehicle identification number was unavailable. Updated 1/14/10 updated 01/15/10

- West Port , CT, USA

problem #55

Nov 112008


  • 49,604 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While making a right turn the vehicle accelerated and crashed into a vehicle. He was forced to turn the engine off to stop vehicle from accelerating. He was treated at an emergency room for injuries to the back, head, and around the chest/shoulder area. The vehicle was severely damaged. The current mileage was unknown. The failure mileage was 49,604. See also ODI 10312469

- Queensbury, NY, USA

problem #54

Aug 072009


  • 143,905 miles


Project: NHTSA hotline center case: Toyota accelerators case number: 202302 date: 11/04/2009 time: 17:57:22 creation date: 11/04/2009 creation time: 09:48:50 from: Adrienne witherspoon comments: I own a 2004 Toyota Camry and there is another accelerator safety problem that needs to be investigated also. Within the last 6 months, I paid nearly $700 to replace the accelerator sensor in my car because while driving the accelerator would not allow me to control the speed. I would try to increase speed and could not. You can check my repair record at mark jacobson Toyota in durham, nc. I have a friend with a 2005 Toyota who recently paid over $1,000 to replace her accelerator at the Toyota dealership in charleston, SC. For the same reason, a stiff or non-responsive accelerator while driving.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #53

Mar 192009


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While approaching a parking space, the vehicle accelerated without intention. Consequently the vehicle crashed into a wall. The accelerator pedal was stuck, so the engine continued to rev. The bumper and the front-end of vehicle was damaged. The warranty company towed the vehicle to the dealer for inspection. The technician concluded that the floor-mats caused the failure. He then added that this was a common failure with his model type. However he speculated that the technician incorrectly diagnosed the vehicle, because the floor-mats were very far away from the accelerator pedal. The vehicle was then towed to his mechanic, and repaired at an expense of $1200.the failure mileage was 55000. The current mileage was unknown.

- Sayreville, NJ, USA

problem #52

Sep 012009


  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While driving the vehicle stalled four times without any prior warnings. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer stated that the throttle body assembly failed. The dealer replaced the throttle body assembly. The failure and current mileages were 32,000.

- Salina, KS, USA

problem #51

May 202007


  • 31,000 miles
Two (2) separate incidents: Both times, accelerator stuck and car had to be put into neutral and brake pedal and parking brake used to stop vehicle. Definitely nothing stuck on/under accelerator either time. Had to turn off the engine asap to stop the engine from racing to very high rpms. 1. happened first when parallel parking the car. Speed < 5mph. Approx may, 2007. Clear weather. Approx 60 degrees. Happened again when car was restarted immediately. Car was parked for several hours. Started and operated ok when restarted after this break. 2. happened again when approaching a stop sign from about 45 mph. Approx Sept, 2008. Partly cloudy weather. No rain. Approx 60 degrees. Car was then parked for several hours. Operated ok when restarted after this break. Not sure of exact dates but it could be reconstructed from dealer records, if necessary. Took to two separate Toyota dealers and was told by each: "...nothing wrong with car". "can't duplicate the problem." "keep an eye on it..."

- Lake Villa, IL, USA

problem #50

Aug 052009


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact was traveling in a parking lot at less than 1 mph. There was slight pressure applied to the accelerator pedal; followed by an unintended increase in acceleration. After a few minutes pressure was applied to the brake pedal with force and the vehicle failed to slow down and crashed into a tree. The police and ambulance were not notified. The driver sustained injury to the left knee. The contact was able to drive the vehicle from the scene with caution. An auto body collision mechanic stated that there were damages to the front end of the vehicle with an estimated repair cost of $500. The contact had concerns of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 30,000. The current mileages was 43,000.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #49

Aug 152007


  • miles
Driving 2004 toytoa Camry when sudden acceleration occurred and vehicle ran into a senior center building. No one was killed, but the car has major damage.

- Kent, WA, USA

problem #48

Aug 162009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry 4-cylinder vehicle which was purchased in 2004. While driving speeds of less than 2 mph there was an unexpected surge at 3,000 rpms, the vehicle rapidly accelerated and the contact almost crashed into the garage. An independent mechanic stated that there was a faulty computer chip in the gas pedal. The computer chip was replaced at the owner's expense for $750. The manufacturer advised the contact that they would call him back after they spoke with management. The failure and current mileages were approximately 26,000. The consumer stated during testing of the vehicle to determine the cause of the unintended acceleration, the drivers floor mat was in the trunk of the vehicle. The entire gas pedal assembly was replaced as a unit with the computer chip/sensor attached. Updated 10/23/09

- Monrovia, CA, USA

problem #47

May 222009


  • 45,960 miles
2004 Camry VIN experienced unintended acceleration (surging) after applying brake to come to full stop. I examined the position of my feet after stopping, and turning off ignition to cancel surging. Left foot was on footrest in driver footwell. Right foot was on brake. This is the second instance of unintended acceleration in approximately three months. Mileage was 45960. No parts have been replaced yet. I will contact a dealer to determine if there is a recall. Previous experience with intermittent problems have led to "no diagnosis" by dealerships.

- Suffern, NY, USA

problem #46

Oct 172008


  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact depressed the accelerator pedal lightly and the vehicle accelerated abnormally. Three months later, the failure recurred and the contact crashed into another vehicle. The vehicle sustained moderate damage, but there were no injuries. A police report was filed. The dealer stated that the sensor on the accelerator pedal was the cause of the failure. The sensor was replaced. The manufacturer offered a verbal apology, but no further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 54,000 and current mileage was 63,000. Updated 03-30-09 updated 03/31/09

- Pleasant Prairie, WI, USA

problem #45

Sep 042008


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While driving 2 mph, the vehicle suddenly lunged forward when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle crashed into the curb and a wall. The vehicle was moderately damaged. The contact called the manufacturer and is waiting to have the vehicle inspected to determine the cause of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 40,000.

- Aliso Viejp, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?