Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2005 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2005 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention. typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2005 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
137 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
70 / 5
Average Mileage:
37,326 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #218

Oct 052013

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,261 miles


The contact owned a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while parking, the accelerator pedal became stuck, causing the vehicle to crash through a guardrail and land on its roof. The contact did not sustain any injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic but they were unable to duplicate the problem. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000. Updated 12/17/13

- West Linn , OR, USA

problem #217

Sep 152013


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while accelerating from a complete stop, the check engine warning light illuminated and then the vehicle would not respond to acceleration attempts. The engine was turned off and upon restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who stated that the throttle sensor would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #216

Aug 012011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
Car feels like its going to flip over when driving past 60. Had to have brakes changed twice. Car has accelerated while driving at least twice in a two year span when driving over 60 miles per hour. Biggest problems are the wheels which make the car ride seem unstable but only got tires rotated once; however, vehicle seems to run lop-sided?

- Randallstown, MD, USA

problem #215

Apr 192013

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the accelerator pedal dropped to the floor board when it was depressed lightly. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic for diagnosis. The mechanic stated the throttle control assembly would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 104,000.....updated 06/24/13 the consumer has since traded the vehicle. Updated 06/27/13

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #214

Apr 082013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that she was attempting to reverse out of parking space when the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into a building. The contact mentioned that after the crash, the vehicle accelerated forward and almost crashed into another building. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 75,000...updated 07-05-13 the consumer stated the vehicle came to a stop when it hit a waterpipe.the manufacturer stated the floor mat was the cause of the sudden acceleration. Updated 07/10/2013

- Brunswick, GA, USA

problem #213

Mar 012013


  • 44,000 miles
While operating vehicle on mass. Turnpike, accelerator pedal suddenly became unresponsive. Check engine light illuminated and vehicle began to decelerate rapidly. Operator narrowly avoided serious accident during unintended deceleration. Problem was diagnosed as a defective throttle body. Component design is deficient as a failure results in operator loosing ability maintain safe speed. Component design should provide for minimal function in the event of a failure. Current design does not. Recommend Toyota recall all affected vehicles and replace defective design.

- Orange, CT, USA

problem #212

Feb 282013


  • 150,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the driver was stopped with the brake pedal depressed when the vehicle independently accelerated and crashed into a residential garage door. The driver sustained injuries to the back and a rear passenger sustained additional injuries to the left hand, which was originally sprained. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised that an engineer would be sent to further inspect the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Fruitland Park, FL, USA

problem #211

Jan 062012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I pulled out of the driveway with my 91 yr grandmother.the engine shut off at the first stop light in traffic.I restarted the engine, slightly pushed on the gas pedal.the engine revved high on its own, the car violently shot forward, I managed to turn the corner then the engine died.a motorist pulled over and helped me push the car into a nearby school parking lot.after a few minutes I restated the car and it revved up itself, accelerated too fast and died.I had to call a tow truck to take it home and again on Monday to the repair shop.the mechanic determined it was a defective throttle body, it had frozen in a wide open position, not responding to the gas pedal..the solution was a brand new throttle body, part cost was well over $900 dollars.I still have the defective throttle body, the plate is still frozen in an open grandmother was well frightened.there was no police report. I believe this was a very dangerous design flaw and hope Toyota will reimburse me.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #210

Feb 052013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the accelerator pedal seized without warning. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle and crashed into another vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body and the accelerator pedal sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 80,000. Updated 5/9/13 updated 06/05/2013

- Bear, DE, USA

problem #209

Nov 222012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Car stopped to allow garage gate to raise/open at which time the car, which was initially in park, was put in drive with foot on brake - car then went completely out of control at a significant speed crashing into a cement pillar which is what stopped the car - the pillar. The airbags were deployed, the car was totaled as designated by the insurance attempt was made to stop the car with the emergency brake to no avail. Injuries of 3 passengers are very significant - 8 broken ribs of one passenger, 2 broken legs and removal of spleen to another passenger and the driver suffered a compound fracture of ankle. Recovery and rehabilitation are still pending and one passenger may not recover.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #208

Oct 142012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated the gear shifter was placed into park and the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated. The vehicle then jumped the curb and crashed into a nearby concrete lamp pole. A police report was not filed. There was no personal injury. The vehicle was driven from the scene. The manufacturer was notified of the unintended acceleration. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection who informed that the throttle pedal functioned as designed. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000...updated 03/18/13 updated 05/08/2013

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #207

Dec 292012


  • 43,360 miles
Defective throttle body...found out this is common with Camry. Over 1,000 to replace. Outrageous for a car with 43K miles and original owner. Thos should be a recall item by Toyota.

- Belmont, MA, USA

problem #206

Oct 032012


  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while attempting to park, the vehicle began to accelerate independently. The vehicle did not respond as the contact applied extreme pressure to the brakes and eventually crashed into another vehicle. The driver of the second vehicle was injured. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnosis where they were unable to replicate the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The VIN and failure mileage was unavailable.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #205

Jun 072012


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated the that while attempting to reverse in rainy weather conditions, the gear would not shift into reverse. The contact placed the gear into drive with the brakes depressed to release the gear shifter and the vehicle suddenly accelerated rapidly. The contact had to crash the vehicle into an electrical box to bring the vehicle to a stop. The contact received injuries to the leg. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure and the current mileage was 35,000.

- Gaithersburg , MD, USA

problem #204

Mar 312012


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While traveling 30 mph the contact attempted to accelerate and noticed that the vehicle shut off without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the throttle body was replaced. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileage was 60,000.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #203

Mar 182012

Camry 6-cyl

  • 18,450 miles
I was entering my parking spot. I was coming to a halt when suddenly the vehicle bolted forward at full acceleration, jumped the curb, sped across the grass, and crashed into a tree. The airbags did not deploy. I sustained neck and rib injuries. Toyota has the vehicle and will shortly send me the results of the edr data analysis.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #202

Dec 292011


  • 118,982 miles
I stopped my car at my mailbox at the foot of my 45% incline short driveway and put it in park with the engine running. After getting out to get my mail, I re-entered the car, put the car in drive, and touched the accelerator. The car engine "roared" more loudly than I had ever heard and lunged forward uphill towards my brick home. I slammed the brake pedal one time as hard as I could and the car stopped. I had not expected it to stop. There was no collision, but thank god I did not kill or injure some innocent person or myself. I now refuse to drive the car, which is a real problem for me and my family. I understand your Agency has failed to force Toyota to include the 2005 model in your recall to install new braking system override. This is unconscionable.

- Madison, MS, USA

problem #201

Nov 162011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 42,600 miles
I was pulling into a parking spot in front of a friend's townhouse when the car suddenly accelerated. I was able to stop the car by putting both feet on the brake. The car stopped about one foot before crashing into the front wall of the townhouse. Although I have not experienced the problem since this incident, I am now somewhat afraid to drive the car now, nor do I feel right about selling the car.

- Lake Oswego, OR, USA

problem #200

Oct 172011

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact was pulling into a parking space when the vehicle accelerated and crashed into the door of a store. The contact stated the failure occurred before in a similar situation, but the vehicle was not involved in a crash. The contact was concerned that this was a safety issue. The vehicle was towed to a collision repair shop where it had not been inspected. The failure and current mileage was 50,000. Updated 11/29/11 updated 12/07/11

- Forest Hills, NY, USA

problem #199

Aug 252011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
My 2005 Camry has 53000 on it, very well maintained. Was driving 25 mph on a traverse when the engine suddenly died. I tried to restart the car without success. Called a towing service, however, 10 minutes later I was able to start the car and drove home. The "service engine" light remained on. At first chance I drove my car to my local mechanic who told me it was the throttle body, but suggested to bring my car to the Toyota dealer because he had seen so many of Camry throttle malfunctions that he thought there might be a recall. I took his advice, brought it to the dealer who confirmed that my throttle body was bad and needed replacing. However he told me that he could not guarantee that the "service engine" light would not go off unless I had an engine flush and a full tune-up. This did not sit well with me, so I declined the services. I paid him $100 as a diagnostic fee. When he went to get my car, the engine would not turn on at all. I called a towing company who took it back to my mechanic. He replaced the throttle and reset the service light. The car is now running, but because of my mechanic's statement and many similar throttle complaints recorded on the internet, I strongly feel that the throttle issue should be investigated.

- New York, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?