Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2005 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2005 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2005 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
137 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
70 / 5
Average Mileage:
37,326 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 3 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #198

Jun 102011

Camry

  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Wife was returning from work when 2005 Camry decelerated from 50 mph to almost dying. When restarted, car would only drive 20 mph for the 13 mile trip home. Luckily, as the car almost died, the vehicles behind were able to brake and allow her to pull into a driveway. Throttle body was replaced. No "service engine" lights gave any advanced warning to the sudden loss of power.

- New Richmond, IN, USA

problem #197

Jun 082011

Camry

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle began to decelerate. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the technicians advised that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and a complaint was filed. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 56,000.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #196

Jul 092011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 78,550 miles
I have been an extremely safe driver for 21 years. Two incidents of unintended acceleration occurred within one hour yesterday afternoon with my 2005 Camry 2005 le. Until this time, the car behaved and drove perfectly for 6 years. It was a dry and hot (93F) day, and the road condition was perfect in both cases. The first time was during a 30-mph cruising along a side street when the car suddenly accelerated by itself and jerked toward one side. I immediately corrected the problem by braking and steering. The second time was at a stop sign on a side street. I was waiting for the other car to pass before I could turn left when the car suddenly tried to accelerated by itself even though my foot was firmly pressing the brake. During this brief struggle between me and the car, the engine made some low, grinding noise, and the car was able to move forward twice, about 6 inches each time, despite my hard foot braking. No accident was resulted in either case. I reported these two incidents to Toyota customer care immediately and was directed to a local Toyota dealership for investigation. The car is currently being examined by a local dealer for potential causes. I am afraid to drive this car if the defect is not repaired.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #195

Jun 302011

Camry

  • 83,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle (parked in 8th or 9th slot) was going reverse at 5 mph(towards ne) in a parking lot of an L-shaped shopping center located on nw corner of intersecting streets at which the driver having pressed on gas pedal lightly causing car unintentionally accelerated, lurching towards ne spinning twice leaving skid marks on pavement uncontrolled, hitting spare tire of Jeep SUV parked in same row of cars towards ne and bolting backwards to tree on parking island next row ne at which tree was uprooted falling on 3rd car parked on second slot of that row, 1992 Camry, damaging slightly front fender when tree limbs hit it; some tree limbs fell on roof of vehicle with slight damage.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #194

Feb 162011

Camry

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact applied the brakes but the vehicle did not decelerate. The contact was unable to control the vehicle as it accelerated into oncoming traffic and crashed head-on into a vehicle. The air bags did not deploy and the contact was transported to the hospital for treatment of a head injury. The vehicle was destroyed. The dealer and the manufacturer was both notified but no assistance was offered to the contact. The failure and current mileage was 50,000.

- Temple Hills, MD, USA

problem #193

Apr 232011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Throttle body failure caused the car to "die" while accelerating. Throttle body had to be replaced. The 2005 Camry SE, 4 cyl, had approx. 62,000 miles at the time.

- Pa, PA, USA

problem #192

May 212011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

May 21, 2011 after picking up grandkids from school the car was accelerated and lost power when entering I-35 South bound. The engine light on the on the instrument panel was on also. The car had to be pulled over to the shoulder, put in park and restarted. This happened two more times before getting home. May 22, the same thing happened again, so we took the car to auto zone and have diagnostics ran. The message shown related to the throttle control being stuck and the codes were AA1, AA2 and AA3, all relating to faulty throttle control parts. May 23, called Toyota to file a complaint and hopefully get assistance. We were denied assistance since our we do not maintain service through a Toyota dealer and the car is 10,000 miles out of power train warranty. Fowler Toyota charged us $1061 to diagnose, and repair the electronic throttle control system. Our car is a 2005, Toyota Camry. VIN[xxx]. the problems occurred each time the accelerator was depressed. The car would just lose power and die, the engine light was illuminated on the instrument panel. Car would have to be put in the park position and restarted. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Moore, OK, USA

problem #191

May 102011

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated when he stopped at a traffic light with his foot on the brakes the rpms increased excessively; he then thrust the gear into neutral. Approximately four seconds later the vehicle returned to normal. The manufacturer informed him to contact another division within Toyota who inspects the accelerator failure; however, they were not notified. The failure mileage was 77,000. Updated 6/8/11 updated 06/15/11

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #190

May 052011

Camry 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 2 mph and attempting to park, the vehicle suddenly accelerated independently. The contact depressed the brake pedal but the vehicle would not slow down until the vehicle was shifted into park yet the vehicle crashed into a wall in the parking lot. The contact was uninjured. The vehicle was then towed to an auto body center where the technicians were unable to diagnose the cause of the sudden acceleration. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000. Updated 07/08/11 the consumer suffered minor injuried. 07/22/11

- Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA

problem #189

Oct 012010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving at any speed, the contact noticed that the vehicle would suddenly stall without warning. The failure began October 2010. The dealer was notified who informed the contact that there were no related recalls. The contact did not inform the manufacturer. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they replaced the electronic accelerator. The current mileages were 106,000. The failure mileages were 100,000. Updated 3/1/11 updated 07/01/11

- David City , NE, USA

problem #188

Jan 082011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 59,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Jan 8, 2011 I made a 2-hour round trip on a federal highway. I used cruise control on my 2005 Toyota Camry at speeds between 65 & 70 miles per hour, depending on posted speeds. I thought I was safe using cruise control because 2005 models are not among vehicles recalled in recent years...as I approached my exit ramp at the end of my trip I stepped on the brakes, but the brakes did not work. Not only did the brakes not work, but my car lurched forward & accelerated toward the car in front of mine, as if I had hit the "resume" feature after having hit the "cancel" feature. But I had not touched those buttons. In fact, I do not use those buttons. I use the brakes or the "on/off" button to turn off set speeds because using those features allows me to keep my eyes on the road. I prefer to use the "set" feature to engage cruise control each time rather than the "resume" choice because the "set" feature provides smoother rides than the "resume" feature...I barely missed striking the car in front of mine as I downshifted to slow the 2005 Camry. I called the Toyota dealership from which I bought the car & spoke to a manager of the service department. He told me my experience could not have happened. I took my car to the dealership & explained the problem to a different person. The manager of the service department appeared and insisted I agree to pay $100 for Toyota to look at the car because the car was out of warranty. The same representative then suggested I was trying to get free service from Toyota. I refused to pay for an inspection, asked to speak to his supervisor & only then did the rep relent to inspect the car without payment. The local reps reported they could not duplicate the problem & concluded the systems were operating as designed. The dealer kept the car 2 more days so an inspector traveling from DC could examine the car. The expert reached the same conclusions as local folks. I do not know if Toyota has reported this incident. Updated 01/31/12 updated VIN. Updated IVOQ 02/24/12

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #187

Oct 262010

Camry

  • miles
2005 Toyota Camry. Consumer states sudden unintended acceleration the consumer stated as she backed out of a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated in reverse and crashed into two unoccupied parked vehicles. The consumer stated she applied the brake and shifted into drive. The accelerator remained stuck and the vehicle then shot forward and went over a berm at the edge of the parking lot. She careened 25 feet down a steep embankment and struck a tree. The tree stopped her vehicle from rolling over for 50 more feet to the bottom of a ravine. The vehicle was totaled. Updated 01/20/11

- Auburn, MA, USA

problem #186

Dec 162010

Camry

  • miles
The driver owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. When the brakes were applied, the vehicle surged forward and crashed. A police report was filed. The driver was taken to the hospital via ambulance due to the injuries sustained. The vehicle was towed to an insurance lot and the contact was unsure if the vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was not examined to determine the cause of failure and it was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were unknown.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #185

Oct 212010

Camry

  • 48,857 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While the contact was driving into her garage, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed through the center of the garage wall. The vehicle stopped when it crashed into a stock of woods. The air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries. The contact called the manufacturer who took her complaint and stated that an engineer would be in contact with her. The current and failure mileages were 48,857.

- Webster City , IA, USA

problem #184

Oct 132010

Camry

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 40 mph, the contact engaged the accelerator pedal and there was no power response. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic and they reset a code within the computerized system under advisement of the dealer. The failure reoccured on a separate occasion and the vehicle was towed to the dealer where the throttle body assembly would be replaced when the part became available. The repair would be at the owner's expense. There was a technical service bulletin number 0187-09, issued that pertained to the defect. The failure mileage was approximately 35,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Lynnwood, WA, USA

problem #183

Sep 102010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While attempting to shift into reverse the contact applied the brakes and noticed that the vehicle suddenly surged forward without warning. The failure was not diagnosed. The contact also noticed that while traveling 15 mph and turning in any direction the steering wheel would continue to turn in that same direction on its own. The failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 12/30/10. Updated 01/04/11

- Palm Springs , CA, USA

problem #182

Aug 272010

Camry

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving into a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated causing the vehicle to crash into a concrete barrier and a pool. The pool feel onto another vehicle next to the parking lot. No one was injured during the crash. A police report was filed. The contact stated the crash could have caused major damage to other if the vehicle did not crash into the pool. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #181

Jul 292010

Camry

  • 27,000 miles
Driving down hill--popping noise and then car went to full throttle on its own ( first occurrence ) car spun in circles 5 to 7 times before crashing into a tree---car was deemed a total wreck.

- Belmont, MA, USA

problem #180

Aug 242010

Camry

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while the vehicle was idle it would shut off without warning. The contact was also driving 60 mph and the vehicle suddenly shut off without warning. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer after a diagnostic test. The dealer found a faulty accelerator assembly which caused the vehicle to shut off. The dealer replaced the accelerator assembly and the failure had not recurred. The failure mileage was 101,000.

- David City, NE, USA

problem #179

Jul 232009

Camry

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph the vehicle accelerated up to 80 mph through an intersection and crashed into a vehicle. The vehicle was destroyed and three people including the contact were injured. The contact suffered injuries to the head, neck, and shoulders. During the crash the contact was denied medical attention because the officers suspected the contact was under the influence. The contact could not pass the sobriety test because the contact had a head injury. The police officers arrested the contact. The contact's blood work did not show any signs of her being under the influence. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle when the brakes were applied. The contact stated that the brakes were making a bumping sound while the vehicle was accelerating. The contact did not call the manufacturer regarding the failure. The failure mileage was 64,000.

- Oak Hurst, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?