Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2005 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2005 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2005 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
137 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
70 / 5
Average Mileage:
37,326 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 5 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #158

Apr 192010

Camry

  • 25,138 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly began to rev in the park position when she started it up. The vehicle was turned off and restarted but the problem persisted. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealership but the dealer stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The problem had not occurred again at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were 25,138.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #157

Apr 152010

Camry

  • 29,000 miles
Having returned home in the early evening, my mother was backing her 2005 Toyota Camry into her driveway (this was a normal routine as this is how she parks her car). Her driveway is flat and straight and she lives alone so no other cars were in the driveway. Shortly after her car began moving in reverse, her car suddenly, unexpectedly accelerated and swerved out of control. The car traveled in reverse thru the grass and the landscaped area of her front lawn, crashing into the front porch of her house, spinning to a stop startling the stairs of her front porch in a perpendicular position. The car was heavily damaged in the rear, passenger side and drivers side of the vehicle. The railings on her front porch were also destroyed. Heretofore, she had not reported any acceleration problems with her vehicle which she owned for 4.5 years.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #156

Apr 152010

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles
2005 Toyota Camry. Consumer states discontent with Toyota dealership. The consumer stated he was in a parking lot, when suddenly the vehicle accelerated on its own at a high speed. He pressed hard on the brakes and finally the vehicle slowed down.

- Coopersburg, PA, USA

problem #155

Apr 072010

Camry

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driver was turning my 2005 Toyota Camry into a parking space in a private lot at 5mph and applying brake lightly. The vehicle suddenly accelerated, struck and went over the stop-curb, and 15 ft across a lawn, striking the corner of a house and heavy shrubbery, before stopping. Police responded but made no determination of cause. The car was towed from the site with extensive front-end damage. Air bags did not deploy. There was moderate damage to the house.

- Parkersburg, WV, USA

problem #154

Mar 262010

Camry

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately 5 mph when the brake pedal was engaged, and the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into a garage. The contact suffered a minor injury from a bump to the head. The front end of the vehicle was damaged. A police report was filed. The failure and current mileages were 46,000.

- West Wyoming, PA, USA

problem #153

Apr 062010

Camry

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 2 mph and depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and drove onto the curb. The vehicle also crashed into a building. The police arrived at the scene but no report was taken because the officer stated that the building was private property. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the failure but was told that his vehicle was not included in any recalls. The VIN was unavailable when the complaint was filed. The current and failure mileages were approximately 58,000. Updated 05/18/10.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #152

Apr 052010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 22,422 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph on an off ramp, the vehicle would not slow down when she depressed the brake pedal. The contact had to pump the brake pedal and shift into neutral in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The dealer also informed the contact that the vehicle had no open recalls. The contact stated that the failure occurred again while pulling into the driveway. The failure mileage was 22,422. The current mileage was approximately 23,000. Updated 05/25/10 updated 05/27/10

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #151

Dec 072006

Camry

  • 25,847 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle crashed into a wall because the vehicle did not slow down when the brakes were engaged. There were no injuries and no police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to a local body shop where the damage was repaired. The failure mileage was 25,847. The current mileage was approximately 57,000.

- Eden Prairie , MN, USA

problem #150

Apr 032010

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Toyota Camry 2005 le V4. I was in the kfc parking lot and ready to park the car. The car suddenly accelerated on it's own. I pushed my foot hard on the brake but the car was still going, crushing a row of brushes that were made as a low fence. It then stopped about ten yards away from the parking spot where I intended to park. It was in the middle of the street. It was lucky that there was no cars passing at that time. I was scared to death. I've owned this car for 5.5 years with 39,000 miles. This is the first time the incident happened to me.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #149

Jul 122002

Camry

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving at an approximate speed of 5 mph, the vehicle abnormally accelerated without warning. She attempted to depress the brake pedal but the vehicle would not stop. The vehicle then proceeded to crash into a truck. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact was injured. A police report was filed. The approximate failure mileage was 14,000 and the current mileage was 14,000.

- Manhattan Beach, CA, USA

problem #148

Sep 172009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving at speeds of 6 mph and attempting to make a turn, the vehicle abnormally accelerated without warning. The vehicle accelerated up to speeds of 40 mph, made a loud and unusual noise in the engine. He was able to stop the vehicle by utilizing the emergency brake. The dealer made repairs to the electronic assembly and the throttle. The manufacturer was not called. The updated 05/27/10

- Santa Diego, CA, USA

problem #147

Jan 122010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,372 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving an unknown speed when the brake pedal was engaged, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. She depressed the brake pedal with extreme force; however, the vehicle continued to accelerate. She did not remove her foot from the brake until it decreased in speed and came to a stop. The manufacturer advised her to take the vehicle into a local dealer. The dealer stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. No repairs or modifications were made to the vehicle and there were no recalls. The failure and current mileages were under 40,372. Updated 5/10/10 updated 5/12/10 updated 05/14/10.

- Marietta, OH, USA

problem #146

Mar 232010

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles
2005 Toyota Camry. Consumer states repeated unexplained throttle acceleration. The consumer stated on several occasions, the vehicle accelerated at full throttle. Once the consumers wife was backing up and the vehicle almost crashed into a storefront. On another occasion, the vehicle accelerated at full throttle, but luckily, the consumer had his foot on the brake and was able to shut the vehicle off.

- Jackson, CA, USA

problem #145

Sep 172005

Camry

  • 5,000 miles
Since I bought a 2005 Toyota Camry SE in August of 2005, I have experienced about 30 incidents of rapid acceleration.

- Pelham, MA, USA

problem #144

Jan 252010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 22,574 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving at speeds of 10 mph, the contact depressed the brake pedal in an attempt to make a right turn. The vehicle suddenly accelerated. She attempted to stop the vehicle by depressing the brake pedal with both feet but the vehicle would not respond. The consumer then hit a cement block and flew into the air and came landed down hard on the sidewalk.. the contact was uninjured. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 22,574 and the current mileage was 22,580. Updated 5/6/10 the consumers handwriting was illegible. Updated 06/11/10.

- Redding , CA, USA

problem #143

Mar 032003

Camry

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While pulling into a parking space at speeds of 5 mph, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into a parked vehicle. The contact attempted to abruptly depress the brakes to no avail. The vehicle was taken to an auto body repair shop for repairs. The VIN was not available at the time of the complaint. The failure and current mileages were 60,000....updated 06-19-13

- Florence, MA, USA

problem #142

Apr 052005

Camry

  • 2,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 5 mph into the driveway, the vehicle accelerated and crashed into pellets of stone. There was no personal injury. The front passenger fender sustained damages. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and repaired for the body damage. The technician stated the failure was contributed to driver error associated to an accidental engagement of the accelerator pedal. Additionally, the vehicle alarm system activated without assistance spontaneously causing the power doors not to lock. The authorized dealer was unable to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failures, and the contact was waiting a response. The failure mileage was 2,000. The current mileage was 20,000. The VIN was unknown.

- Newport Coast, CA, USA

problem #141

Jun 232006

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Ltr fm (MA) re Toyota braking and sudden unintended acceleration, owner of a 2005 Toyota Camry le. As the consumer started to park, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. She tried to brake, but the vehicle lurched forward and crashed into a building. No one was injured, but there was extensive damage to the front of the store as well as the vehicle.

- Wakefield, MA, USA

problem #140

Oct 092009

Camry

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving 5 mph the contact was attempting to park and the vehicle suddenly accelerated while the contact was still depressing the brake pedal. The sudden acceleration caused the vehicle to crash into a nearby traffic sign, the driver and passenger received minor injuries. A police report was filed for the incident. The vehicle was towed to the dealership where the contact was informed that no failure could be found.the failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 49,000.

- Montrose, PA, USA

problem #139

Mar 032009

Camry

  • 10,000 miles
I have a 2005 Camry. I know it is not part of the recall, but for the past 2-3 years I have had this sporadic problem. When I am stopped at a stop light sometimes it surges forward...not always a lot, but sometimes quite hard. I started keeping track and it doesn't matter if it is cold engine or warm engine. Then just the other day my radio shut off and the interior lights while I was driving, and came back on within a few seconds. Because it is so sporadic, like it will do it for 2-3 days and then not for 2-3 days, to have someone check it they said I would have to leave it in the shop and I need a car to go to work. To have it checked involves a lot of time and money according to the dealership. I don't know what the problem is, but it seems like it must be electrical...how do I know"??"

- Tigard, OR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?