Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2005 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2005 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention. typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2005 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
137 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
70 / 5
Average Mileage:
37,326 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 12)

problem #238

Jul 132005


  • 30 miles


A driveability concern where the operator intentionally applies the throttle pedal, in expectation that the vehicle will accelerate, and then experiences a delay or hesitation in vehicle response. I reported the hesitation the next day after purchasing the Toyota and the sales person said it just needed some item to warm up. This is the first time I have read anyone else having problems with hesitation. Most people say the car takes off fast on it's own. Mine almost got my family killed several times not getting on the fwy when needed and caused angry mortorest because they almost ran into us. I or my husband would step on the gas to pull out into traffic or get on the fwy in ca. We bought the car new in 2005, just read the other persons comment and decided to report it also. Just my word no records showing it but maybe you can drive it and see for yourself. Happens anytime, sometimes, not all the time. Has been happening off and on since 2005 to 2016

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #237

Jan 152006


  • 15,000 miles
2005 Camry purchased used as a program car in Nov 2005 with 12K miles on it. When starting up vehicle, then driving at less than 10 mph in reverse (to back up out of a driveway or parking space), applying the brake and then putting car into drive, the car will accelerate intermittently on its own before driver depresses the gas pedal. Driver always has had to continue to apply the brake for sefveral seconds, to be certain the vehicle will not surge forward, esp if approaching a corner less than 100 ft away. The dealer was informed of this phenomena in early 2006, while vehicle was still under warranty. Dealer examined the vehicle but could not replicate the problem. Owner has "learned to live with" the safety defect. Driver never knows when event will happen. Most recent occurence was 4/10/16. No one but owner is allowed to drive the car. Vehicle now has 120K miles on it, and has otherwise been reliable.

- Geneva, NY, USA

problem #236

Feb 292016


  • miles
The contact owned a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle accelerated independently and caused the vehicle to crash into a building. The air bags deployed. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to the right leg, chest, neck, and shoulders that needed medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a towing facility. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Fort Washington, MD, USA

problem #235

Feb 182016


  • 111,000 miles


On 12/4/2015, experienced sluggish response when pressing accelerator, then sudden unintended acceleration and surging forward at high speed, causing speed of car to be totally unpredictable with a steady foot on the accelerator. Braking did slow and stop the car. Took car immediately to Toyota dealer. They replaced the ECU (electronic control unit) at a cost of $900. About 10 weeks later, the exact same thing happened again. Driving to work on the freeway that day, acceleration was sluggish and unpredictable. Parked car at work, and then after backing up in the parking area to leave, the car again was sluggish on acceleration, and then began to surge forward unpredictably, out of my control, with no increase in pressure on the accelerator. Again, the brakes functioned to slow or stop the car. I pulled over and called the Toyota dealer, who advised I could bring it in that evening. No surging was noticed when car was in park. I had a harrowing drive to the dealership during rush hour, keeping a long distance behind the cars in front of me to avoid hitting anyone. Acceleration was very sluggish when merging or starting up again after a red light turned green, and once I began moving ahead, the unpredictable surging and slowing began again and continued until I stopped at the next light, etc. They have had the car ten days and have been unable to replicate the problem. I now need to return the loaner, and drive the defective car again. No floor mats were in place. I can only hope my husband, children or I are not involved in a serious accident in the event this happens again, which I fully expect. How can Toyota and NHTSA determine there is no problem with these cars when there are hundreds of complaints in this record, and people have been killed and injured as a result of problems with unintended acceleration in these vehicles?

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #234

Feb 082016


  • 52,195 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While pulling into a parking space at approximately 5 mph, the vehicle accelerated without warning. The front passenger side of the contact's vehicle crashed into the front driver side of another vehicle. The contact's vehicle then crashed into a block of cement. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The air bags did not deploy. There were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was towed and assessed by the insurance company who decided that the vehicle would be repaired. The vehicle was taken to body shop, but not repaired. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not included in any recall. The approximate failure mileage was 52,195.

- Sherman Oaks, CA, USA

problem #233

Jan 012016

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2005 Toyota Camry. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle acceleration problems. The consumer stated when he was a stop, the vehicle would unexpectedly accelerate. Two weeks later, as the consumer was about to back out of a parking space, the vehicle accelerated.

- New Bedford, MA, USA

problem #232

Aug 132015

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles


The contact owned a 2005 Toyota Camry. While pulling into a parking space at 1 mph, the accelerator pedal became stuck and the vehicle crashed over a 36 inch wall at the end of a parking area. The vehicle accelerated over the 36 inch wall down the sidewalk and onto the street. The contact stopped the vehicle by applying the brakes. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to the independent mechanic and the vehicle was totaled by the insurance company. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000. Update 01/15/16 MA updated 01/28/16.

- Alexandria, MN, USA

problem #231

Oct 142015


  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While reversing into a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. As a result, the vehicle crashed into two different vehicles and the curb. The contact mentioned that the transmission became stuck into second gear and the brakes failed. A police report was filed and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 118,000.

- Leavenworth, KS, USA

problem #230

Mar 242015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The hesitate to accelerate I.e. after accelerating a bit, it slows down or rather do not accelerate. So it causes difficult to merge and the drivers behind the car may hit.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #229

Sep 112014


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that after the vehicle was started and shifted into drive, the vehicle unintentionally accelerated. In addition, the brake pedal was depressed and failed to respond. As a result, the contact crashed into other vehicles and the air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained a head injury that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed however, the body damage was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000. The VIN was not available.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #228

Oct 102013


  • 86,000 miles


This is a delayed response, as I was not aware that Toyota finally accepted responsibility for spontaneous accelerations. I was in slow, stop and go traffic and my car suddenly accelerated. I recall looking down as I pressed the brake as hard as I could because the car was not stopping or decelerating. I thought that my foot must have been inadvertently on the gas pedal but it was firmly planted on the brake. The brake worked as there were definite skid marks. I slammed into the back of a Tahoe, totaling my car and causing a pulled shoulder, whip lash, and a deviated septum in my nose from the airbag deployment. I was afraid that the policeman would not even believe my account of the accident so I did not report the incident as clearly as it occurred (though I definitely accepted responsibility). I just received a check for approximately $23 a few weeks ago for a class action lawsuit settlement. I am furious that I lost an otherwise (paid for) great car, sustained injuries and more important, endangered people around me. I also now have an "accident" on my insurance record. The financial, physical and emotional toll this has taken can certainly not be "bought out" with $23. I wish that I had told my experience to the officer as I clearly perceived it, regardless of how implausible it seemed. Now, I have foolishly already purchased another Camry, and, once again they have a major safety recall. At least they have openly acknowledged this one. However, I cannot get them to return my calls with an appointment for a repair. What am I supposed to do in the meantime" wait until another "accident" happens? how can I get in to get a repair" please let me know. I am afraid to drive it but cannot afford to rent a car indefinitely. I am grateful to have found this site. Thank you.

- Hartwell, GA, USA

problem #227

Nov 072014


  • 89,495 miles
At around 3:00 pm, I was in my car, driving at a very low rate of speed, approximately a couple of miles per hour, to move into a line of cars at a gas station. Suddenly, without warning and on its own my car surged forward and accelerated. As my car sped forward, the engine seemed to rev higher, making a loud noise. I tried to stop the car with the brake, but the car did not stop. During this awful event, my car crashed into two different cars, one of which was occupied, and one of which was parked with no occupant. Finally, my car came to a stop. The air bags in my car did not deploy. Paramedics and police came to the scene. There was a police report. I was taken to the hospital and checked. My understanding from my insurance company is that there is a claim for injury by one of the individuals in the occupied car. My car was impounded. My insurance company has informed me that my car is a total loss, and has been branded non-repair. I have been informed by my insurance company that they and Toyota will conduct a joint investigation of the car. Note: As I read and understand the website (powered by NHTSA), it appears that as of this date, there are 625 complaints regarding the 2005 Toyota Camry, with apparently 249 of them almost 40% reported in the vehicle speed control category. The reports list numerous injuries and even deaths. I request that NHTSA investigate the matter of unintended acceleration in the 2005 Toyota Camry. I believe that all 2005 Toyota Camry should be recalled. It is my hope that other such accidents can be prevented in the future, and that injury, death and property damage can be averted.

- Encino, CA, USA

problem #226

Oct 092014


  • 93,500 miles
I was trying to park my vehicle, suddenly gas pedal got stuck and I hit another vehicle and ran in to the bushes, my car has a body damage and also I accidentally hit another car as well. The core reason for this issue is gas pedal getting locked, this is the first time I experience this in the vehicle which I bought by 2011.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #225

May 072014


  • 0 miles
While the car was in park, before turning off, it accelerated rapidly out of control. Driver was not immediately able to stop. A concrete slab and fence were crashed by the out of control automobile.

- Leonia, NJ, USA

problem #224

Apr 152014


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while entering a parking space at unknown speeds, she shifted into drive from reverse and the vehicle erroneously accelerated. The contact went over two concrete barriers and crashed into a ravine. There were no injuries. The vehicle was completely destroyed. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Russell, KY, USA

problem #223

Mar 052014


  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 120,000. Updated 06/17/14

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #222

Dec 182013

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Backing out of a parking spot at wal-mart car surged and I had to slam on the brake. My foot was on the brake when backing up and I turned around to go forward when car was still backing up so I slammed on the brake. Of course I panicked and could not understand what was happening. The car was moving backward and my foot was not on the gas. This was the second time the same thing happened in October while backing up. It also had surge forward before after going back and forth out of a parking space. I still have the dent on the front bumper.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #221

Oct 192013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 6,158 miles
I was backing up on grass when the car accelerated backwards. I panicked because I thought I had my foot on the brake and then I was confused reaching for the brake pedal and then gas pedal. My foot was going back and forth. I slammed on the brake to stop but hit a fence pole destroyed bumper. The car seemed to be moving on its own and I may have hit the gas pedal by accident then slammed on the brake. No one was hurt but shook up. It happened again on December 18, 2013. I was backing up again in wal-marts parking lot and for some reason it accelerated again and I remember saying not again. That time I know my right foot was not on the gas pedal at all. I panicked again and slammed on the brake hitting another vehicle behind me. This car jerks a lot and it had accelerated going forward twice, once in a parking garage and damaged my front bumper, then again I almost went over the rail road tracks parking by a business. I do not feel safe in this car. Toyota is investigating my claim no.[xxx]. investigator will look at my car next week. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #220

Nov 092013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
November 9th 2013 - as I pulled into a parking space with my foot on the brake, the car took off like a rocket and hit a small tree. When I put the car in reverse, again with my foot on the brake, it shot backward into a parked car. November 25th 2013 - again, pulling into a parking spot with my foot on the brake, the car shot forward, this time, it went right into a brick wall. Approximately 40 bricks rained down on the hood of the vehicle, the front end is smashed in, but this time, I had a passenger that was injured and kept overnight in the hospital. The airbags never deployed. The police that responded were shocked.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #219

Oct 252013

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Car accelerated from stop at would not stop. Hit two parked cars.

- Tustin, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?