Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2005 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2005 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2005 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,609 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Camry steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Nov 152011

Camry

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota dealer completed a 90,000 mile check and reported a leak on the rack and pinion with no other damage to the area. Dealer quoted approximately $1900 to repair. A independent mechanic replaced the rack and pinion and completed the alignment for approximately $900.

- Universal City, TX, USA

problem #39

Oct 132009

Camry

  • 49,000 miles
When driving on highway, there was some noise coming from the engine compartment, and suddenly I lost power steering and lights flashed on the front panel. I managed hard to pull off the vehicle from the highway, it was so hard make turns to the ramp. The engine temperature started to fluctuate. There was little smoking come out, I had to stop there. It was turned out there was a belt fell out and my alternator eventually died. My car is 4-cylinder, not 6.

- Towson, MD, USA

problem #38

Oct 052011

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
My power steering column has a leak. It was found by the dealership--conveniently one year out of warranty--the column costs $1100-1300 to fix. I have uncovered many postings online of Toyota owners with power steering column problems -- many -- and I think that this may indicate a serious problem that has gone unchecked.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #37

Sep 162011

Camry

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that there was a cluncking sound coming from the steering area. The dealer diagnosed that the steering column would need to be replaced. The manufacturer denied any assistance with repair to the defect. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 46,000.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #36

Sep 272011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 67,717 miles
There is a clunk, pop, or knock type noise when turning the steering wheel left or right. There is a tsb issued about this and Toyota refuses to fix it, said the warranty is off. The introduction, warranty information, parts information, and repair procedure sections have been updated to reflect removal, lubrication, and reinstallation of the steering intermediate shaft instead of replacement. Applicable warranty ¿¢ this repair is covered under the Toyota comprehensive warranty. This warranty is in effect for 36 months or 36,000 miles, whichever occurs first, from the vehicle¿'s in-service date. ¿¢ warranty application

- Dover, DE, USA

problem #35

Dec 182009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
The steering column generates a sound similar to ice and rocks sloshing around whenever the vehicle changes position--from stop to start, or acceleration or deceleration. I have taken it to Toyota dealership. Was told they could not hear this sound. Nothing done to repair or replace, but sound persists. The car has 48,000 miles on it now--sounds began around 35,000 miles. Subsequent email to Toyota.com to report problem. Was referred back to dealership.

- Coppell, TX, USA

problem #34

Sep 122010

Camry

  • 25,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Toyota Camry SE (25,000 miles) having intermittent problem where the car does not recover when coming out of a turn. The steering wheel appears to bind/lock and driver has to manually turn the wheel to make the care go straight. Problem seems to happen primarily when making a left onto a several lanes of traffic, not so much with sharp turns. Vehicle was taken to Toyota dealership for inspection and was told that steering is in proper working order. I did report another issue where a knocking/banging sound was coming from the steering column when going over uneven pavement at relatively slow speeds but dealer said this could most likely be resolved by greasing the assembly, an item that was covered by a previous tsb but since the car was over 3 years old, was no longer covered under warranty. If not repaired the, sound would get worse.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #33

Sep 222005

Camry

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact could hear a squeaking noise whenever he turned the steering wheel while driving at any speed. This failure began to recur intermittently so the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, on two occasions where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The failure continued so the vehicle was taken to another authorized dealer where it was repaired. After an unknown amount of time the failure began to recur and the vehicle was again taken to an authorized dealer where it was repaired. The failure continues to occur. The failure mileage was 11,000 and the current mileage was 58,000.

- Island Heights, NJ, USA

problem #32

Sep 102010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While attempting to shift into reverse the contact applied the brakes and noticed that the vehicle suddenly surged forward without warning. The failure was not diagnosed. The contact also noticed that while traveling 15 mph and turning in any direction the steering wheel would continue to turn in that same direction on its own. The failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 12/30/10. Updated 01/04/11

- Palm Springs , CA, USA

problem #31

Feb 092010

Camry

  • 37,257 miles
Knocking noise in steering when turning steering wheel, loud noise. Occurred every time turning steering wheel. Took to dealer and had to replace steering shaft assembly, part #45220-33270. Dealers invoice was for $503.51 and after stating my case they charge me $233.18 "goodwill adjustment" the old part has been discarded. The Camry had only 37,257 miles on it.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #30

Aug 242006

Camry 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the steering wheel shaft failed and caused the steering wheel to feel tight because of the wheel bearings. The dealer stated that the steering wheel could lock while driving. The steering column, steering assembly and the bearings were replaced at no cost to the owner. The failure and current mileages were approximately 38,000. Updated 8/25/10 updated 08/27/10 updated 08/30/10

- Edison , NJ, USA

problem #29

Jun 162010

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated the power steering would intermittently fail when attempting a turn in either direction. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer advised they had not received any similar complaints and would not provide any assistance. The VIN was not available. The current and failure mileages were 48,000. Updated 08/03/10. Updated 08/04/10.

- Kent, OH, USA

problem #28

May 072010

Camry

  • miles
I was getting on the freeway and I was merging to another freeway I was on the 5 merging to the 118 and that is where I noticed the gas pedal accelerated and I could not slow the vehicle down. I then lost control of the steering wheel. I was trying to get the steering wheel to straighten out the car and go with the curve and it wouldn't, I then hit he wall 3 times and flipped my car. I did notice this a month prior to the accident. But thought it was a grove in the freeway. This time I could not stop or control the car. I get on the same freeway everyday it was 5:30 in the morning on the 7th of March, I was going about 45 miles when I started to excel the pedal to continue on to the other freeway overpass. I have been going on this freeway to work for 7 years now and have never had an incident except for the month before. Again I thought it was a groove in the highway. I did hear on the news when I got home from the hospital that there was problems with the 2005 Toyota cars and the steering column snaps and loses control. Which was exactly what happened, I did contact Toyota and they said it didn't have anything to do with the gas pedal that it was the 2006 that was being recalled for the gas pedal. They said it was probably the floor mat that got stuck under the gas pedal. I had no recall on the floor mats. I feel it was very wrong for them to kind of cut me short. I did suffer injuries, cuts and bruises not to mention totaling my car. Insurance did pay off my car, but such a huge ordeal trying to get money together to buy another car. I am not trying to make myself a rich women I just want Toyota to know that it was a horrible thing that happened to me and thank god no one else was involved. Attorneys do not want to help me for some kind of compensation of the ordeal I went through physically and mentally. I am doing alot better now, but they did stop the doctor visits and therapy due to the fact that I may get nothing out of this and have to pay the bills myself.

- Mission Hills, CA, USA

problem #27

May 102010

Camry

  • 73,371 miles
This is a complaint about the premature failure of the "steering intermediate shaft" on a 2005 Toyota Camry xle. The car was taken to hogan and sons, a well respected local repair shop (leesburg, Virginia) with a complaint of front end noise. A Toyota trained technician diagnosed that this part needed to be immediately replaced as it was failing and would adversely impact steering and safety. The car could no longer be aligned with this failing part. The car has 73,371 miles on it and is used for personal use only. A visit to the local leesburg Toyota dealer revealed that they have had to replace this part on many Toyota, but they will only replace it during the three year warranty period. A claim made to Toyota and an arbitration request were both denied. This is addressed in tsb--ST001-06 and tsb--0296-08. It is our contention that a part like this should be wearing out so soon--in fact, it is one of those parts that any well designed and manufactured car should remain operational and safe until the car is junked for other reasons.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #26

Mar 152008

Camry

  • 10,000 miles
When parking the steering intermediate shaft has a clunking noise, the noise becomes more pronounced as the years go by.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #25

Feb 122010

Camry

  • 44,900 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). I have never had a car in which a part of the steering column"wore out" until this past February. During February I had to replace the intermediate shaft on my 2005 Camry le [xxx]; this car only had 44,950 miles on it when I noticed the problem (February 12, 2010). On Feb, 25, I brought the car to lexington Toyota, (MA 781-861-7400) and was told that there was no problem. I had to go in again the next day and physically sit next to the mechanic while he drove the car before he recognized a problem with the shaft. However, ironically, when I went back into the service department I was then told by the service manager that these 'intermediate shafts wear out all the time' if this is the case why didn't you issue a recall"?" I had to pay out of pocket $428.14 to replace this part. (a few day later my 1999 Camry developed an intermittent tightness, or very stiff steering wheel between 11' O'clock and the 2-3 O'clock positions in the steering wheel, the VIN number on this car is [xxx]; I'm still waiting to decide how or what to do to repair this problem that seriously effects the safe drive ability of the car.) like I stated, I have never had to replace a steering column on any other car I've owned, and I have owned many cars with over three even four times this mileage. I understand that your warranty only lasts 36,000 miles or 5 years, which ever comes first, but this is ridiculous; I think that you either didn't engineer the part properly or designed in to fail in order to get the replacement business; either case it ranges from negligent to criminally fraudulent. I just googled Camry intermediate shaft" complaints and got over 17,000 hits. Do you think that's too many? I don't think that Toyota needs any more bad publicity, but perhaps another story of Toyota's irresponsibility is justified. Why would the service manager, bruce, claim that they replace these ?intermediate shafts, all the time""

- Winchester, MA, USA

problem #24

Mar 172010

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles
Ltr fwd fm (wi) re Toyota service bulletin re intermediate steering shaft fm owner of a 2005 Toyota Camry, please respond directly to constituent & fwd response to DC ofc. The consumer stated a tsb had been issued regarding the intermediate steering shaft. As a cost effective fix, the shaft was being greased and not replaced.

- Jefferson, WI, USA

problem #23

Feb 272007

Camry

  • miles
My 2005 Toyota Camry sometimes has all of the sudden diverted hard to the right. I had the car checked many times at longo Toyota in los angeles but I was told nothing found. In fact, the problem exists for a few years that makes me drive my car anxiously. Recently, many problems have been found on Toyota vehicles and I request NHTSA should have an investigation. VIN: [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #22

Dec 302009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately 25mph and the vehicle surged forward. The contact depressed the brake while slowing down to complete a turn. The dealer was informed and they inspected the vehicle. The dealer did repair the vehicle but never informed the contact of what the failure was. The vehicle has not experienced any other failures since then. The approximate failure mileage was 55000 and the current mileage was 60000. The consumer also stated the vehicle had a steering problem and it would cost $500 to repair. Updated 03/22/10.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #21

May 012006

Camry

  • miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) during the years 2006-2007-2008 I leased and drove a 2005 Toyota Camry le. Shortly after I got the car I noticed the vehicle pulled to the right and I felt as though I had no control during speeds of 50 mph or over. When I reported this to the service dept of my local Toyota dealer during visits for oil changes, they took the car out, test drove it and told me they saw nothing wrong with the car. I was convinced there was something wrong with this vehicle, but no one believed me. I have since turned in the Camry at the end of the lease date and was very happy to do so. I have spoken with Toyota and relayed the above info recently. My concern is that something could be wrong with the Camry and that someone else might be driving it. I asked Toyota if they could find out who owns this vehicle and they should be alerted. I never had an accident; I only always felt scared to drive this vehicle on any major highway that would require me to travel at speeds higher than 50 mph. Hopefully someone could find out where this car is now. VIN# [xxx].

- Johnstown, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?