Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2005 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2005 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention. typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2005 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,153 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Camry wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Camry Owner Comments

problem #15

Aug 072015


  • 110,000 miles


This is concerning the Bridgestone Fusion touring tire 205/65R15-94H. We had driven our Camry to North Carolina from Florida and back in July or August 2015. It was very hot (in the 90's). I then drove in Florida from melbourne beach to tallahassee and back in the heat again in August. My car was vibrating at over 70 miles per hour. When I took the car to my mechanic, one of the tires had shredded. In late September 2015, we drove from Florida to hilton head and the car was vibrating again. We took it to a mechanic in hilton head and the belt in one of the tires had separated. Since two tires out of four have had structural problems I think these tires may have a defect or cannot withstand being driven in high temperatures and can be dangerous. I would like them looked at for recall.

- Melbourne Beach, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 262013


  • miles
I have a 2005 Toyota Camry le, I bought Goodyear assurance tires back in May 2010 as a set of 4 tires. These tires have a manufacturer warranty of 80000 miles though after driving for about 35000 miles the tire tread depth came down to below 2/32nd and the dealer denied taking the car out of dealership without a replacement or an assurance of immediate replacement. I had to replace the tire within 2 hrs after coming out of dealership as they didn't have a ready available tire from non-Goodyear brand. I am wondering how this tires got down to such a low tread depth so soon? I mostly drive in the city and only few time highway that too not more than 300 miles. This certainly is the worst tires. Goodyear denied providing the warranty coverage as to do so I have to take the vehicle to their authorized shop and the dealership is not one of their authorized shop, which is surprising. Since dealer told me to replace the tire immediately, my first priority was to get new tires and with such worst experience with Goodyear, I didn't wanted them again. And they will not accept their tire for warranty if they are not on the wheel. Very ridiculous rules that puts greedy profit before safety! my dealer also found this odd. I want money back for almost half of the total mileage promised by Goodyear but they are too corrupt and so they have NHTSA also on their side to bring anything against them.

- Grandville, MI, USA

problem #13

Nov 202011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 59,134 miles
Purchased 4 mastercraft glaciergrip tires 12/11/10. Drove 2451 miles and had regular tires put back on 3/17/11. Put mastercraft tires back on 11/17/11 and drove 134 miles when left front tire blew out. I was on I-81 South and had to drive on the tire to get off the highway. I was told be the dealer they would have to send the tire back to the company. They told me they would have to charge me for a replacement tire until he heard from the company. They never called me back. Five weeks later I called, for the third time, and was told it was denied. I drove on the tires another 2891 miles and the right front tire blew out. I went back to the dealer and they took that tire to send back to the company and asked if they could pull the back two tires to look at them. I said okay and I was told they were fine. I went directly to another tire installer, 8 miles away, to get the tires off and put the regular tires back on the car. When the installer pulled the left rear tire off, the same one that was just inspected, there was a huge bubble on it. He told me the tire was defective. I took it back to the dealer where I purchased the tires and was told they would have to send that tire back to the company as well. It's over two weeks and I have not been contacted.

- Clarks Summit, PW, USA

problem #12

Apr 112011


  • 19,999 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle had Continental touring tires, line size 205/65/R15 (N/a). The tires became completely worn within 10,000 miles. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that the failure was caused by the vehicle being out of alignment and the tire pressure was abnormal. The contact took the vehicle to a second dealer where the contact was advised there was nothing wrong with the vehicle and the failure was within the tires. The tire manufacturer was not contacted and the vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 19,999 and the current mileage 20,080.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #11

Oct 152008


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry with pacific coast retreaders, Inc., ling long L688 tires, size P225/40/18. The tires were replacements purchased in 2007. While driving 60-65 mph the front passenger side blew out. He pulled over to the side of the road and the tire was flat. The inside wall of the tire was also cracked. He replaced the tire with a spare. He also noticed that the other three tires began to leak. After adding air to the tires several times he checked the other three tires and they also had cracks on the inside of the wall. The three tires were replaced and appeared to be brand new. The failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 61,000.

- West Covina, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Jan 292009


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The contact stated the tires leaked air soon after purchase and after 6000 miles there was uneven wear. After 25000 miles the dealer indicated that new tires were needed. The failure mileage was 45000. The current mileage was 60000.

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

problem #9

Jul 162009


  • 62,000 miles


I found a flat tire on my 2005 Toyota Camry in July 2009 after the car sat overnight, same event occurred on Friday, Sept 9, 2009. These two events were the result of bad tire valve stems.

- Imperial, PA, USA

problem #8

Jun 172009


  • 41,927 miles
We were driving home from lancaster, ca to ventura, ca. While driving we heard a strange noise and then my husband (who was driving) said the car was difficult to steer. As quickly and safely as we could we got to an offramp. We had a flat on the left front tire. During my call to aaa, my husband decided he would change the tire so I cancelled the request for service. Getting back on the freeway we heard the same noise that we had heard earlier so we pulled off the freeway again and saw that we had another flat tire, this was on the rear right. I called aaa and they had to tow us to ventura (approximately 40 miles) since we used the spare tire for the 1st flat. When we got to the sears automotive center, they told us that there had been a recall on the tire valves on our tires which we had purchased from sears on July 18, 2007. One other comment - on May 6, 2009, the front right tire went flat at my work place; aaa put the spare on and then we brought it into sears to have it repaired. They said there was a nail in it - no mention of tire valve problems.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #7

Jul 122008


  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The vehicle has Continental touring LX tires, size P205/65R15. While driving 25 mph, the rear passenger side tire was punctured, which caused a slow leak. She took her vehicle to a tire store and was informed that the tire could not be repaired because it was dry rotted. The tire was replaced and the remaining three are going to be replaced because they are dry rotted as well. The dot number and VIN were unknown. The failure mileage was 13,000.

- Lanham, MD, USA

problem #6

Apr 012006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. The tires had to be replaced every 10,000 miles. The contact took the vehicle to a service station and was informed that the strut bolts needed to be replaced. The struts were replaced with a camber bolt kit. The vehicle has not been taken to the dealer. The current mileage was 31,000 and failure mileage was 10,000. Updated 5/5/08

- Decatur, IL, USA

problem #5

Aug 012005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles


The car started wandering and wearing tires about 5000 miles, I took it to the dealer and they said nothing was wrong with it. I got it lined up, the car started wandering again, the dealer says there is nothing wrong that they can see. But the car is wearing tires out on the inside front. The car is wandering from side to side pretty bad and if you hit a dip in the road it will follow it. If that is Toyota's answer to a good ride then I wont buy another one. I also have a gas pedal play problem.

- Hodgdon, ME, USA

problem #4

Apr 232007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,728 miles
I own a 2005 Toyota Camry 4 cyl. Le. this car came with Goodyear integrity tires. 205 65 R 15. The tires failed at 31,728 miles. One sidewall blew out a 3 inch hole and the other tire had tread separation. The sidewall was on the passenger side rear seat. The other tire was on the driver side front, and had tread separation. There was only one person in the vehicle at the time.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #3

Sep 152006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
: the contact stated while washing the vehicle, the tires were observed to be dry rotted with cracks on the outside of the tire wall. There was no warning prior to the incident. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer who determined the 5 tires were dry rotted and offered 1 free tire if the others were purchased. The manufacturer was notified. Tire manufacturers recommended 35 psi. At every other oil change the tires were rotated and the pressure was checked. There was no vibration while driving. There was also no abnormal bulging in tires. Make: Continental model: Touring contact, size: 20565R15.

- Somerset, MA, USA

problem #2

Aug 312006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,500 miles
: the contact stated the tire separated away from the rim while driving 35 mph. There were no problems with the steering prior to the incident. The dealership was notified. The tire was Continental. The contact did not have further information on the tire.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #1

Oct 012005


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Bridgestone tire blow out on freeway.

- Morgan Hill, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?