Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: How can we give the 2006 Camry our "Seal of Awesome" when the NHTSA data shows engine problems in the triple digits & multiple deaths/injuries/crashes etc?

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2006 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

In other words, it's our opinion that the 2 deaths & other injuries/fires/crashes reported to the NHTSA are significant, but (unfortunately) not out of the ordinary for any vehicle, once you factor in the effects of the extended national media coverage of Camry unintended acceleration issues.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2006 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
56 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
34 / 2
Average Mileage:
32,969 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #72

Feb 142012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was pulling into a parking space in a parking lot. My foot was on the brake pedal to slow down in order to turn into the parking space and stop in the space. I had already made a right turn and was most of the way into the parking space when my car suddenly accelerated jumping the curb, going down into a 8 ft. Deep ditch and coming half way up the other side.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #71

Nov 112006

Camry

  • miles
The contact rented a 2006 Toyota Camry from a rental facility. While the contact was attempting to enter a parking space, the vehicle exhibited a loud roar and independently accelerated. The contact crashed into a building and sustained a lacerated lip and whiplash to the neck and back. The contact was transported to the hospital for emergency oral surgery. A police report was available. The rental facility was contacted and they advised that the contact would not be held liable for the crash. No further assistance was offered. The current and failure mileages were unavailable. The VIN was unavailable.

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #70

May 182010

Camry

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the driver was attempting to park in a parking lot, when the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The vehicle jumped the curb, moved into the street, and the engine resumed the idle position. The vehicle was driven to its destination as there was no accident that resulted. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the dealer could not find anything wrong. The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that they could offer no assistance as there were no defects found. The current and failure mileages were approximately 53,000.

- Nipomo, CA, USA

problem #69

Sep 232010

Camry

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately 2 mph into a parking space. When the brake peal was applied a sudden unintended acceleration occurred causing the vehicle to crash into an unoccupied parked vehicle. The emergency brake was engaged following the crash. A police report was filed of the incident. There was no personal injury. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they informed that an inspector from the manufacturer would perform an investigation regarding the acceleration failure within a two weeks period. The failure mileage was approximately 87,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Hopkinsville, KY, USA

problem #68

Dec 012006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2006 Toyota Camry. Consumer states unintended acceleration the consumer stated the vehicle crashed through his garage, kitchen and dining room. The consumer stated there were two other incidents prior where the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into a wall.

- Johns Creek, GA, USA

problem #67

Sep 132010

Camry

  • 17,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving 5 mph and entering a park space when the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact crashed into two parked vehicles. The failure occurred at an alarming rate of speed and the contact stated she did not have ample time to brake. The contact was not injured. A police report was available. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was approximately 17,500.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #66

May 182010

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Toyota Camry. Consumer states unintended acceleration the consumers wife was in the process of pulling into a parking space. Suddenly, there was a loud roar and the vehicle accelerated out of control, jumped the curb and went airborne until she hit the bottom of a slope and entered the street. She managed to turn the wheel to the right to avoid hitting the opposite curb. The vehicle then returned to normal idle and she drove back into the parking lot and parked the vehicle. The consumer did not state if there was any damage to the vehicle. The consumer stated after many visits to the dealer and many letters to the dispute settlement program, his case was deemed not eligible. The consumer stated the vehicle was never repaired. Updated 10/20/11

- Nipomo, CA, USA

problem #65

Aug 192010

(reported on)

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Toyota Camry. Consumer states unintended acceleration the consumer stated while riding with her husband, a noise was heard that sounded like a click; similar to the sound of switching on a light that seemed to trigger the unwanted acceleration that immediately followed. Her husband reacted very quickly to get the vehicle under control. He had both feet on the brake pedal which had no effect on stopping the vehicle. The consumer then put the gear into neutral, but to no avail. The last effort was to use the emergency brake and put the vehicle into park. That, along with an uphill grade brought the vehicle to a stop with a ratcheting sound which was believed to be the result of the transmission already in park. Updated 10/20/11.

- North Versailles, PA, USA

problem #64

Aug 032010

Camry

  • 40,000 miles
TL-the driver owns a 2006 Toyota Camry. While driving at approximately 60 mph pressure was applied to the brake pedal and the vehicle surged forward resulting in a single car crash in which the vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed and the driver was reported injured. The vehicle was towed to a towing company lot and was not examined for the cause of failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 40,000. Sm.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #63

Apr 012010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Camry. While the contact was driving approximately 45 mph, a sudden increase in acceleration occurred. The brakes were applied and the vehicle continued to accelerate. The vehicle crashed into a cement block. There was a police report filed with no personal injury. The entire passenger side door sustained damages. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was repaired for the body damages. The contact feared driving the vehicle due to the safety hazard. The failure mileage was approximately 3,000. Updated 10/28/10. Updated 11/02/10

- Adams, MA, USA

problem #62

Jul 242010

Camry

  • 60,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hesitation problem in 2006 Toyota Camry. Happens frequently. Failure to be able to accelerate in these situations can result in a rear or side collision from oncoming vehicles, especially during a merge. It happens when backing off on the gas pedal, such as when the car is about to make a turn onto another street, or when gaining on slower traffic on the highway. The RPM go way down as the car slows (by backing off the gas pedal - no brakes applied) to deal with the situation. Once the turn is completed, or the traffic in front starts to pull ahead again, the car does not respond to applying the accelerator. It can take from a half second to two full seconds before the car "recognizes" that it is being told to speed up - for it to give more RPM and to pick the right gear to do it in. It seems to be trying to make up its mind which gear to use before it adds enough RPM to accelerate. It's like the RPM went down so low when backing off the gas pedal that the car doesn't know what to do when it's told to get back to work. When it finally responds, the engine usually kicks down one or two gears and starts racing to catch up - like the driver has floored it, without having floored it. The dealership has said they couldn't recreate the problem. Toyota denies the problem exists. Yet it happens every day. I believe both are covering up a problem.

- Eatontown, NJ, USA

problem #61

May 082010

Camry

  • 34,419 miles
I was driving my car under my carport. When touched the accelerator to slowly enter the carport, the car accelerated on its own. It jump and took off. I tried to put the car in park and it kept going. I feared it would keep going across my yard, so I prepared to jump out by opening the door and sticking my leg out. The open door hit a support pole on my carport and my leg was injured. Luckily my final attempt to brake stopped the vehicle.

- Weldon, NC, USA

problem #60

Jan 062010

Camry

  • 55,000 miles
TL * the contact owns a 2002 Toyota Camry. The contact stated as she attempted to apply the brakes, there was an unusual increase in engine rpms. The vehicle then abnormally accelerated to the right and crashed into a parked vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility where the body damage was repaired. On a separate occasion while attempting to pull into a parking space, the vehicle again abnormally accelerated and crashed into a steel bracket of a dumpster. The vehicle was towed to the dealer yet the dealer refused to inspect the vehicle and advised her to go through her insurance company, in which she did. The body damage was repaired. On the third instance of unintended acceleration, there was an unusual increase in engine rpms while braking. The vehicle proceeded to independently accelerate and crashed into a cement wall. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the failure would be investigated. The vehicle was never diagnosed at the dealer for the acceleration failure. The failure mileage was 55,000 and the current mileage was 59,000.

- Glenolden, PA, USA

problem #59

Mar 252010

Camry

  • miles
Driver took her 90 year-old mother for an eye injection at moore eye institute in springfield, Delaware county, pa. After the appointment, driver was backing slowly out of a parking space when her 2006 Toyota Camry suddenly accelerated hitting one vehicle, then going into a terrible reverse spin clockwise. Two vehicles were hit directly, and two indirectly before coming to a stop between two SUV's. there were five cars in total that sustained damage. The driver and her passenger were the only persons injured. The Camry was a total loss.

- Sharon Hill, PA, USA

problem #58

Apr 172007

Camry

  • 28,000 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) Toyota acceleration complaint March 24, 2010 ODI number 10321792. Safety issue - 2006 Toyota Camry le on going problem - the vehicle's engine will rev up and lurch forward while at a dead stop. Engine will accelerate and lurch forward on its own. Sensation appears as if there is another vehicle directly behind ours pushing it. Engine is specifications up to standards. It manifests at all speeds, but more noticeable at low speeds and at stops. My wife was stopped and idling at a traffic stop sign on East vestal facing eastbound at and the intersection of pleasanton road here in san antonio, Texas. She was waiting to make a right hand turn onto northbound pleasanton road. While she was stopped a northbound bicyclist traveling on the sidewalk to her left began crossing the street. He was riding upon his bike and when his bike was right in front of the vehicle the automobile lurched forward and knocked him down. My wife had her foot on the brake however; this incident occurred very quickly that she could not react fast enough to prevent the automobile from hitting the bicyclist. The bicyclist assured my wife that he was not injured. He had checked his bicycle and it was not damaged and that the police did not need to be called. The accident so upset my wife that she ended going back home and not going to work that day. The contacted the Toyota service technician assured us that this activity was normal for Toyota. This is why I am reporting this problem. This problem needs to be surfaced and addressed. I am sure that there are other Toyota Camry owners that are suffering from the same problem as we are. I have today contacted Toyota corporation here in the United States and the company has not addressed my concern or even acknowledges receiving my complaint. The bottom line is that I want this problems fixed. Thank you for your attention. [xxx]

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #57

Apr 022010

Camry

  • 28,273 miles
I was pulling slowly into a parking space in front of an office building. When I gently applied the brake, the car suddenly zoomed forward and struck the front of the building, shattering a large glass window and its frame and area around it. This stopped the car. I put it into reverse and backed into the parking space. The air bag did not inflate. Fortunately, the occupant of that office had just left. Otherwise she would have been hit by flying glass. I had never before had trouble of this kind with this Toyota. The damage was repaired, but I sold the car to the auto body shop.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #56

Apr 172010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while his foot on the brake pedal, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact continued to depress the brake pedal; however, the vehicle would not respond and proceeded to crash into a tractor trailer. He sustained minor injuries to his head and right foot. A police report was filed. The contact confirmed that he would not take the vehicle in to be repaired until an investigator inspected it to determine the cause of failure. He stated that the electronic throttle of the trailer he crashed into could potentially have interfered with the current of the electronic throttle in his vehicle. The approximate failure and current mileages were 17,000. Updated 11/03/10 the vehicle was totaled. Updated 11/04/10

- Manhattan Beach, CA, USA

problem #55

Apr 092010

Camry

  • miles
2006 Toyota Camry--accelerated out of control /serious injury. Oregonlic 992 cvq--Oregon state police investigated.

- Albany, OR, USA

problem #54

Nov 102009

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Camry. She stated when depressing the brake pedal, the brakes would hesitate to engage and would feel spongy causing her to use extreme force when braking. This would occur frequently and the vehicle was taken to the dealer where they confirmed that the brakes were not engaging as designed. The master cylinder was replaced under the factory warranty but did not correct the failure. The manufacturer sent a representative to investigate the vehicle and stated that there were no failures within the brake system. On a separate occasion, while driving at speeds of approximately 70 mph, the vehicle began to abnormally accelerate. She depressed the brakes and the vehicle immediately decreased in speed. The dealer was contacted and stated that her year, make and model were not associated with the recall. The failure persisted and no repairs were made to the vehicle. The failure mileage was unknown and the current was 95,000. Updated 6/21/10 when the consumer went to the dealer, they found air in the brake system. The second time she went for the same problem, they found the master cylinder was bad and replaced it. Updated 06/24/10.

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #53

Jan 022010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumers 2006 Toyota Camry accelerated driving over an island and hit a tree before brakes became responsive. The consumer was pulling out of a parking space and as he was about turn onto the road, the vehicle lunged forward over an island, knocking down a 6 inch diameter oak tree and leaving about 25 feet of skid marks on the roadway before the brakes kicked in. The consumer stated he had his foot on the brake the entire time.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?