Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: How can we give the 2006 Camry our "Seal of Awesome" when the NHTSA data shows engine problems in the triple digits & multiple deaths/injuries/crashes etc?

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2006 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about Toyota unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

In other words, it's our opinion that the 2 deaths & other injuries/fires/crashes reported to the NHTSA are significant, but (unfortunately) not out of the ordinary for any vehicle, once you factor in the effects of the extended national media coverage of Camry unintended acceleration issues.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2006 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,482 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Camry wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Camry Owner Comments

problem #10

May 302016

Camry

  • 124,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tire ply separation on 4 tires - kumho solus KR21 215/60 R16 94T E4-0268050 dot 4tl1 yp6V tires purchased April 2014. All 4 tires failed from May 31 through June 11, 2016. Vehicle had 95K+ miles on it on date of tire purchase. Vehicle had 124K+ miles on it yesterday (June 11) when I had to replace the remaining two kumhos. Issue initially presented with strong pull to the right and within 100 miles there was significant vibration at any speed above 20 mph. First tire replaced 5/31/2016 in jacksonville, fl after experiencing pull and vibration on May 30 while driving on I-4 in central fl. Strong pull to the right was still occurring after tire replacement so I returned to auto repair shop and was told of same issue with a second tire. Second tire replaced 6/9/2016. During drive from fl to nc on 6/11/2016, car started to pull hard to the left with some vibration. I was able to safely exit in florence, SC, and Firestone identified tire separation was occurring with the two kumho tires still on the car. ---- I have one of the tires that was replaced 6/11/2016. ---- please advise if you would like to have someone from NHTSA inspect this tire. --- I routinely have my car serviced every 5,000 miles per the manufacturer's recommended servicing interval, and have had these tires rotated at each routine maintenance service appointment. ---- these are very dangerous tires. I consider myself very fortunate that I was not in an accident due to the failure of these tires.

- Atlantic Beach, FL, USA

problem #9

May 192013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 155,800 miles
Traveling East on interstate 10 West of tonopah, AZ, felt vibration and pulled to the side of the road. The right rear tire suffered a partial tread separation. Tire was replaced with spare and trip continued for another 30 miles when the left front tire suffered a complete tread separation causing nearly $1600 dollars damage in and around the wheel well. Tires were Firestone FR380 P215/60R16 with less than 25,000 miles. Subsequent check of tires indicated that the tires were properly inflated. Tires had been rotated and checked on a regular basis with oil changes.

- Queen Creek, AZ, USA

problem #8

Mar 302013

Camry 6-cyl

  • 62,021 miles
Belts separating on tire. Normal in-city driving at 30 mph, the tire started to make very loud noise while driving, started to bounce, and car wouldn't drive straight and pushing my car into the right lane almost hitting every car passing on the right as I was trying to slow down. The belts were separating from the tire located on the right rear of the tire. This tire is an anomaly from the other tires as it had made a lot of tire noise for a few months, and had excessive wear, but Firestone said it was normal and would not do anything about the tire. Note, the tires were in perfect four wheel alignment. Now that the belts are separated, Firestone will not replace the manufacturing defective tire.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #7

Jun 122011

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Toyota Camry. Unit #1 was traveling East on IR80 the Ohio turnpike at milepost 208.3. unit #1 left front tire blew out causing unit #1 to move to the left striking the median wall. (Ohio traffic crash report # 10-0429-91) updated 9/20/11 updated 2/21/12

- Carnegie, PA, USA

problem #6

Apr 272010

Camry

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Camry equipped with Goodyear integrity tires, P205/65/R15, dot N6urb3jr. While driving at approximately 45 mph, the tread delaminated and separated, causing the front passenger tire to go flat. The remaining tread depth was inch. The contact stated that he had not drive over any potholes or anything that could have caused the tire to become flat. The mileage on the vehicle when it was purchased was 65,326. The current mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Leesville, SC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Feb 202010

Camry

  • 1,000 miles
I have Toyota Camry 2006 in which there are good year integrity tires with defects. It seems that a little of water on the roads the tires make the car to loose control.

- Bear, DE, USA

problem #4

Aug 242009

Camry

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The entire outer tread separated from the tire, leaving the sidewalls intact. Occurred while driving 65 mph at 6am on freeway. The tire pressure slowly leaked out while driving off of freeway. Steelbelts do not appear to be damaged and are the only thing left in tread area. When tread separated, a loud noise occurred and rear fender area was moderately damaged.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #3

Apr 012006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
- the contact stated that the Bridgestone tires on the 2006 Toyota Camry did not provide traction when it rained or snowed. When the vehicle was at a stop and pressed on the accelerator pedal the car would vibrate and make a noise. This was not a problem in dry conditions. There were no warning indicators.

- Vernon Hils, IL, USA

problem #2

Aug 272006

Camry

  • miles
My 2006 Toyota Camry le seems to have a front end problem. I've tried to have the dealership fix the alignment and balance the tires twice, but nothing has improved. The car doesn't track very well and it tends to vibrate above 60 mph. I don't feel safe driving this vehicle often because it requires constant attention to stay in a straight line. Did Toyota design or assemble something improperly?

- Brattleboro, VT, USA

problem #1

Mar 192006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
2006 Camry, only 5 thousand miles, back right Continental brand tire unexpectedly and suddenly blew out and was completely obliterated, at 75 mph, ruined the rim, and caused vehicle to loose stability and ruined the rim. Vehicle spun around several times on the freeway, hit the median on the left side, causing the front left tire and rim to also be ruined, as well as damaging the drive train. No other cars were involved, but passengers could've been killed and were extremely shaken. We believe the Continental tires are defective and inferior. The vehicle was undrivable and towed to a Toyota dealership where vehicle was repaired at owner's expense. According to research on this website, Continental tires have been investigated for this same occurrence previously. We believe Toyota used an inferior brand of tire on the 2006 Camry. They also did not help pay to repair any damages to the car resulting from this tire failure.

- Burbank, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?