Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
89,201 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Sep 292014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our 2007 Toyota Camry all of a sudden started having what appears to be electrical issues. Brake and ABS lights come on while the tachometer and speedometer bounce up and down uncontrollably and the ac cuts in and out while this is happening. It will correct itself for a few minutes and then start acting up again. I am reading many other similar complaints online and feel Toyota should definitely do something to correct this issue.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #22

Sep 052014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 67,730 miles
ABS and brake light came on while driving also my speedometer needle does not move, and RPM gauge starts fluctuating. This occurs intermittently. I took it to the Toyota dealer they told me I have to replace the brake actuator assembly (skid control ECU) a total cost of $3,453 to fix. :( my car has only 67,750 miles. I do know the 2007 Camry hybrid is having the same problem and those are being recalled.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #21

Aug 022014

Camry

  • 96,000 miles
Several warning lights on the dash illuminated, including the stability control and brake lights, along with a warning on the dic that said "check vsc." There was also an intermittent loss of braking ability/brake pedal pressure.

- Franklin, WI, USA

problem #20

Jul 022014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I actually just bought a used 2007 hybrid Camry last Monday. There were no indicators on the dash and it looked great. 2 days later the check vsc system and ABS lights come on the dash. I took to the dealer immediately and the problem is the same as everyone else here, failure in brake accumulator. The technician was very adamant about me parking the car immediately until repairs are completed. He said the brakes can go out at any time, vehicle is unsafe to drive. The repairs are going cost over $1500.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #19

Jun 052014

Camry 6-cyl

  • 108,763 miles
On June 5, 2014 I was driving my 07 Camry at approximately 40 mph when the ABS, brake and vsc warning lights came on. It took more effort to engage the brakes in the car and I drove the car to keyes Toyota. The vehicle was checked and several codes were identified. C012 rear speed sensor rh circuit, C0215 rear speed sensor LH circuit, C1331 open circuit in left front circuit, U0073 control module bus off. Service writer found that the ABS actuator was shorting out intermittently and advised that the vehicle may not be safe to drive. He advised that the vehicle was not covered under warranty and that the repair would cost approximately $2,750 plus tax. I was not able to pay for the repair at this time. On 6-9-14 contact was made to Toyota and they advised that there were no recalls or tsb's for the ABS system on non hybrid 07 Camry even though the symptoms experienced and the repair codes were similar. Toyota declined assistance and advised that if they did do a recall I could submit for possible reimbursement of the repair. In researching this I found over 125 ABS related complaints reported to NHTSA. In addition there are numerous complaints on the internet with persons who have experienced the very same symptoms some of which have almost been involved in collisions. This seems to be the very same issue that the 07 hybrid Camry was recalled for and yet nothing is being done for the non hybrid version. This to me is a safety concern that should be recalled.

- Panorama City, CA, USA

problem #18

May 292014

Camry

  • 84,000 miles
ABS and brake lights came suddenly on and the speedometer stopped working. I tested the break and I had to push hard to make it work. I was on the highway and at 65 mph. I got really scared and after a while everything came back to normal. It happened again today and happening frequently.

- Midvale, UT, USA

problem #17

Jan 012014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Times and mileage are approximate because we did not know at the beginning that this would be a persistent problem. Around January 1, 2014, when we started the Camry after leaving the grocery store, four dash warning lights and a message display went on and stayed on (brake system (red), brake system (yellow), master warning (red), anti-lock brake system (yellow), and "check vsc system" (in display)). During this time the vehicle had no power assist brakes, no anti-lock brakes, and as best we can determine - no vehicle stability control system; it had only manual hydraulic brakes that were hard to push and slow to stop the car. We drove the car home carefully and parked it. When we next started the Camry the lights were not lit, and all systems worked. When the same problem occurred at a later date we took the car to a local Toyota dealer. The lights were still on when we dropped off the car. The dealership reported that there were no warning lights lit when they investigated the problem; no diagnostic codes were recorded by the vehicle's electrical system. We agreed that upon the next occurrence we would drive the Camry to the dealer without turning it off. Unfortunately, at the next occurrence the lights illuminated, the brake assist systems were inactive, but the condition reversed itself as we drove to the dealer (without turning off any systems). The dealer found no codes upon testing for this occurrence. We agreed the dealer would come to the car at the next occurrence. Unfortunately that happened in the middle of the night on the highway (65 mph) and the dealer was not available. This brings us current to 4/28/14. We are concerned about driving the car without ABS or vsc systems, and we believe that the manufacturer should have information about how these conditions have been corrected in other vehicles even with no diagnostic codes.

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #16

Mar 032014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
While my son was traveling to school the vsc light came on the warning panel. At that time the brakes were hard to operate and took a few seconds to reengage and the brakes locked up bringing the car to a skidding stop. After a minute the lights went off and he was able to travel again, but the same incident happened again the next morning taking my other kids to school when the roads were icy! this is a situation where someone will be killed behind faulty equipment being ignored by Toyota on the 2007 Camry hybrids.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #15

Feb 052014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 96,479 miles
Customer states ABS light on, (dealer) diagnostic code C1391, abnormal leak in accumulator. Recommend replacement of accumulator and brake flush. $3642 Inc. Tax. Part is described as accumulator/hydraulic control/ECU assembly, part number 44050-30660, by dealer. (foregoing provided by service invoice at date/time of diagnosis, 02/05/2014). (awaiting possible action by NHTSA as a safety related matter).

- West Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #14

Oct 012013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
ABS light, brake light comes on intermittently then speedometer and RPM gauges goes to zero and A/C if it is on blows warm air.

- Texas City, TX, USA

problem #13

Aug 162013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 89,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

About two days ago, I was driving and my instrument panel started doing some crazy stuff. The brake light and ABS light came on, and my temp gauge, RPM, and odometer started fluctuating. This lasted about 30-45 seconds the first time. Since then it happens intermittently every time IM driving and it lasts a couple of minutes each time. I was already scheduled to go in for an oil change today, so I had the service department at my local dealer check out this problem also. The tech first quoted a $53 diagnostic fee, but called me back a couple of hours later to say that they need a more extensive diagnostic process, which would increase the fee to $99. She also said that I needed brakes and a battery ($202 front brakes+$118 battery+$89 brake fluid replace). About an hour later, she called me back and gave me the devastating news that my ABS actuator/skid control computer needed to be replaced. The cost was $1686 for the part, and the total with labor would be $2035. This did not include my $40 oil change, battery, and breaks. Nevertheless, I opted to wait on the $2000 ABS issue. I went to pick up my car and was actually charged $148 for the diagnostic fee. Essentially, I paid $199 for an oil change and for them to diagnose a problem that they already knew to be a common Camry problem. I would have never purchased a Toyota if I had known that this was a common problem. Also this is a Toyota specific part, so it's not like you can shop around for a deal. I have to pay this ridiculous amount of money because I don't want my children riding in an unsafe car. I'm so disgusted right now.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #12

Aug 072013

Camry

  • 63,400 miles
Vsc warning on dash, check engine light, traction control light, and general warning (triangle with exclamation). Acceleration seemed stiffer than normal, thought smelled something burning. At dealer for diagnostics. Have reported need to replace transmission computer ($872.09 total) and possibly the engine computer (trans. + engine = $2233.35 total). 2007 Camry xle, approx. 64,000 mi. Purchased 10/18/2006. There have been at least three recalls for the 2007 Camry line. Should these repairs be covered by Toyota" should I have the car evaluated by transmission specialist, such as aamco"

- Owings Mills, MD, USA

problem #11

Jul 112013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 128,385 miles
For several months, car steering wheel, and at times, car as a whole vibrates; then, upon driving around corner, going only 25 mph on 07/11/2013, suddenly, speedometer, RPM gauge, oil gauge all began jumping erratically, all at times going to zero, then the ABS and brakes lights came on. (just had oil change done 3 weeks ago, with tire rotation of brand new tires (first rotation), and all 4 brakes pads replaced 2 weeks ago.). happened for few seconds, was aware, but didn't think about it anymore. Next day, driving only 40mph, same thing again, but also this time, speedometer went and stayed at 0, as well as RPM and oil the same way, and car felt like it was going to fall apart underneath. I pulled off road, checked book, and said to go right to dealer. Went to an advanced auto store for diagnosis. Battery checked out good, thought was possibly the alternator may need replacing, though check pretty normal. Same day, drove to auto repair where they know me, and they wanted $235 to order a part to fix the ABS system. Said it would cost me $825 there, versus about $2000 at dealer. This was all after their diagnosis that battery and alternator appeared fine. They told me this is very serious, life/death situ. They said if someone pulled out in front of me, my car would probably not stop, only skid/slide. Later that day, on a stretch of road near home, I tried driving about 45-50mph, and then braked suddenly to see what it would do.(did this 4X). It did not stop suddenly, but skidded/slid to a stop, and underneath, it sounded as if car was going to fall apart! all kinds of noises! had alternator replaced 2 days ago, but is still happening; even driving on interstate yesterday, speedometer went to zero twice, gauges all erratic. Was supposed to drive to mi from fl today, but don't even feel safe locally! online, have found many with same problems (2007 Camry)!

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #10

Jun 052013

Camry

  • 116,000 miles
As I was driving my 2007 Toyota Camry over 60 mph on the expressway, my brake light and ABS light both came on. The speedometer went down to 0 speed and the RPM & temperature gauge were bouncing up & down. The ac fan also shut off. I tried the emergency brake on a parking lot and they do not work when the above mentioned happens!! I took it to Toyota dealership and they said it "seems" to be the brake actuator assembly and that repairing it will be $2500+. they did tell me that they have seen this problem before and that it is nothing I did wrong- just a "defective" part that Toyota has not recalled "yet". I foresee class-action suits/cases regarding this issue in the near future!! I am extremely disappointed at Toyota's unreliability and lack of customer satisfaction.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #9

Dec 102010

Camry

  • 59,000 miles
At 59,000 miles, the check vs system light came on, as well as check engine light. I took the car to the Toyota dealer. At the time, I still had the extended warranty. They replaced "bank 2" ignition coil and charged me $100 deductible. At 70,528 miles the exact same thing happened. Check vsc system and check engine light came on. At the time, still under extended warranty. It was diagnosed with bad # 6 coil. They charged me the $100 deductible. At 90,000 miles (now) the exact same symptoms. I am assuming it is another bad ignition coil. There should be a recall on the 2007 Camry's ignition coils. I cannot afford to keep replacing ignition coils by a Toyota dealership, especially now that my car is not under the extended warranty. I also had Toyota replace clips on the air bag cover on passenger side in 2008. The part still sags. It is defective. It is in the Toyota dealership computer system that I brought it in at least twice for the sagging air bag cover. The new clips did not fix it.

- Fairview, TN, USA

problem #8

Aug 252011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 36,416 miles
Sudden unintended acceleration on August 25th 2011 at approximately 1:00 pm, my dad was driving to garvey ranch park located at (781 S orange ave, monterey park, ca 91755) as part of his daily routine. He had already pulled into the parking lot and was getting ready to park his car facing North bound. All of a sudden the car accelerated out of nowhere and hoped the parking curb still facing northbound. In order to avoid any casualties and prevent hitting any of the children near the playground, he was able to steer the car and made a U-turn at about 150 degrees. At this point he was facing South bound of the parking lot and the car continued to accelerate at high speeds. His car then hopped the curb on the South side of the parking lot. Once the car hopped the parking curb on the South side, it continued to hop over a couple of raised concrete blocks that delineate a path onto the hillside just South of the parking lot. Due to the steepness of the hill, it prevented the car from going any further and the car crashed in between two trees located on the hillside. We had already taken the car to longo Toyota due to the acceleration recall back on March 13 2010. I couldn't believe the car still had mechanical issues after we had it serviced it for the recall and was glad that my dad did not sustain a very serious injury. The car is available for inspection if an NHTSA official would like to inspect the car.

- Monterey Park, CA, USA

problem #7

Jun 232010

Camry

  • 60,000 miles
I have a Toyota hybrid 07, I turned on car made horrible load noise the speedometer went up to 100 mph in seconds the two front tires were shaking horribly like the car wanted to take off the car keep making laud noise I honestly though the car was going to blow up. I thank god that I wasn't in road when it happened, am very afraid to get into car there is no way I will be able to drive that car again I value my life too much and its sad that Toyota just thinks about money and not lives of people. I say this because they said "well bring it in if it happens again" yeah right and what if it does but am dead, or critically injured.

- San Jacinto, CA, USA

problem #6

Jun 042010

Camry

  • miles
My car was in the recall list and they have changed the bad piece 3 times and im still having problems and I called Toyota and they told me they could not do anything about it. Any way you could help call [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Dunkiek, NY, USA

problem #5

Feb 032010

Camry

  • miles
While driving my car to work it would accelerate. My car had two recalls. The dealership had my car during most of the month of February. They called me and indicated the car was repaired. Drove car to work and car accelerated again. Took car back to dealership and they put in a new drive shaft. At that point I was too scared to get back in car. I had no confidence that the problem was fixed and I don't really think they knew what was wrong with the car as it was still unsafe to drive. I could not get back in that car nor could I afford to go to another dealership to purchase a new one. I qualified for their 0% financing on a 2010 new production with no recall and free two year maintenance agreement. I felt trapped with no choice but to buy the car as I had put $11,000 on the 2007 which was a loss. I have been driving over 30 years and never had an accident or ticket until I bought this car.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #4

Sep 172009

Camry

  • miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Camry I had a accident in the vehicle on September 17, 2009 in jackson, tn. I told the officers and the insurance company that I tried to stop but was unable to I also told them that something was wrong it would not stop until I went into a ditch. Two days later Toyota did a recall on the floor mats. I found out about the floor mats this year in February 2010. I contacted Toyota and found out that they had the wrong name as being the owner and said they would get me the recall information mailed to my home. The company did send me the information I called the local Toyota dealership her and they told me I could bring my vehicle in. It states on the papers that Toyota will replace the pedal with a new one if I wanted to wait for it in and that they would replace the older all weather floor mats and clean the carpet. This did not happen for me I now have the same dirty floor that I had before I took it to them and now I'm riding in a rental car because since they put the reinforcement bar on my car the check engine light has come on and I'm afraid even more to drive the car I took it to the dealership and they told corporate that I would have to pay them to check out the car and my manual says that if this light comes on that it is the electronic throttle, the dealership told me it could be up to 200 different things and that unless I pay for this they would not do anything to assist me I can write a letter to the claims department but there is no guarantee that they will reimburse me for my rental or for fixing the vehicle, also that my floor mats are now aftermarket mats and the will not do anything to them either nor my floor please do something they are not fixing these vehicles and are not standing by there word I can not afford to pay anymore money to get this vehicle fix and detailed and I have no other means of transportation. The people at corporate say they are sticking by the dealership and I need to pay to get this fixed!

- Jackson, TN, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?