Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
100,724 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #104

Jul 152015

Camry

  • 39,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

4T1be46K07U678126 my 2007 Toyota Camry le four door automatic sedan has intermittent erratic problems with the instrument control panel: The ABS and emergency brake lights come on and the tachometer, thermometer and other gauges bounce up and down the events last for a few seconds to ten minutes, episodes occur sporadically and the car continues to drive normally during the events. I called Toyota (800) 331-4331 and asked for a warranty extension to repair the problem, denied by Toyota. I was instructed to take it to a dealer to identify the problem. On July 1, 2015, central Florida Toyota in orlando, Florida tried to charge me $59, I refused to pay and they eventually proceeded to determine the problem without charge. The repair estimate given to me says, "$2,217.05 for ABS actuator assy., R&R.? the mechanic said this is serious; the brakes can lock up while I am driving. There are numerous identical complaints on the internet but Toyota corporate said this problem is not subject to a recall or a reported problem. (just google, "2007 Toyota Camry ABS and brake light on". consumer complainants allege that the Bosch ABS ECU has a flaw in circuit board design.) this is very expensive problem and so common as to indicate that it is a manufacturer's defect and should be repaired free by Toyota. I am the original owner. Updated 9/15/15 updated 09/17/15

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #103

Jul 062015

Camry

  • 42,025 miles
Suddenly no power brakes. Very low brake fluid. Reservoir appeared empty. Power brake booster had failed. Replacement parts hard to find and expensive.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #102

Jun 292015

Camry

  • 39,328 miles
My 2007 Toyota Camry le four door automatic sedan has intermittent erratic problems with the instrument control panel: The ABS and emergency brake lights come on and the tachometer, thermometer and other gauges bounce up and down this problem started two days ago, the events last for a few seconds to ten minutes, episodes occur sporadically and the car continues to drive normally during the events. I called Toyota (800) 331-4331 and asked for a warranty extension to repair the problem. I was instructed to take it to a dealer to identify the problem. On July 1, 2015, central Florida Toyota in orlando, Florida tried to charge me $59, I refused to pay and they eventually proceeded to determine the problem without charge. The repair estimate given to me says, "$2,217.05 for ABS actuator assy., R&R." the mechanic said this is serious; the brakes can lock up while I am driving. There are numerous identical complaints on the internet but Toyota corporate said this problem is not subject to a recall or a reported problem. (just google, "2007 Toyota Camry ABS and brake light on". consumer complainants allege that the Bosch ABS ECU has a flaw in circuit board design.) this is very expensive problem and so common as to indicate that it is a manufacturer's defect and should be repaired free by Toyota. I am the original owner. See sample web sites regarding the exact problem: www.camryforums.com/forum/general-tech-8/2007-Camry-instrumentation-ghost-39934/ https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=rdtgabjrfds

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #101

Jun 292015

Camry

  • 39,328 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Toyota Camry le four door automatic sedan has intermittent erratic problems with the instrument control panel: The ABS and emergency brake lights come on and the tachometer, thermometer and other gauges bounce up and down this problem started two days ago, the events last for a few seconds to ten minutes, episodes occur sporadically and the car continues to drive normally during the events. I called Toyota (800) 331-4331 and asked for a warranty extension to repair the problem. I was instructed to take it to a dealer to identify the problem. On July 1, 2015, central Florida Toyota in orlando, Florida tried to charge me $59, I refused to pay and they eventually proceeded to determine the problem without charge. The repair estimate given to me says, "$2,217.05 for ABS actuator assy., R&R." the mechanic said this is serious; the brakes can lock up while I am driving. There are numerous identical complaints on the internet but Toyota corporate said this problem is not subject to a recall or a reported problem. (just google, "2007 Toyota Camry ABS and brake light on". consumer complainants allege that the Bosch ABS ECU has a flaw in circuit board design.) this is very expensive problem and so common as to indicate that it is a manufacturer's defect and should be repaired free by Toyota. I am the original owner. See sample web sites regarding the exact problem: www.camryforums.com/forum/general-tech-8/2007-Camry-instrumentation-ghost-39934/ https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=rdtgabjrfds

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #100

Jun 142015

Camry

  • 93,368 miles
When driving downhill with foot depressed on brake the vehicle was trying to accelerate, ABS light game on and brake light simultaneously, speedometer stopped working, tach went crazy and car began to idle roughly and try to surge forward with foot on brakes

- Rancho Santa Margarita, CA, USA

problem #99

Jun 072015

Camry

  • 75,792 miles
On April 1, 2015, I reported that brake and ABS lights came on frequently and the air conditioner goes off. Since that time, I have also noted increased stopping distances when having to stop fast. I am concerned that in an emergency stopping situation, the ABS will not work properly which will cause a crash. As I reported previously, the dealership indicates they have no knowledge of the problem, but this is hard to believe in light of all the entries on the internet. Also, there has been a recall for the Camry hybrid for the same issue.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #98

Nov 212012

Camry

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has intermittent electric problems with the gauges and ABS module does not engage when braking.. red ABS and brake light light on, and all gauges do not function except temperature and gas gauge.

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #97

May 132015

Camry

  • 102,000 miles
5/13/2015: 2007 Toyota Camry. Vsc (vehicle stability control) light came on (5/9/2015). It was very difficult to stop the vehicle. Had to floor the brakes in order to stop the vehicle. The steering was all over the place, not tight with the steering wheel movements. Brought it to the dealership (new country Toyota of clifton park, NY) where we bought it 9 months ago and they said this is a common part that fails. If this is true, there should be a recall...this is a huge safety issue. I am thankful that my son didn't get in an accident. They now want $2500 to repair it. When we purchased this vehicle for our son 9 months ago, they said that we can get 250,000 miles out of it, it was a very safe car for our son to be in....I beg to differ!!! I see lots of complaints listed for this electronic stability contol and hope there will be a recall.

- Waterford, NY, USA

problem #96

Apr 102014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I have a 2007 Camry le and in 2013 I noticed the ABS and break lights on the dashboard come on intermittently, tachometer bounces up and down and speedometer shows 0. this kept happening intermittently. This is a huge safety issue, since when driving on the highway, if it doesn't show the correct reading on the speedo meter and the breaks may not function as expected which might lead to accidents. I got it checked(diagnostics test) at a Toyota dealership and they indicated that the ABS actuator unit is faulty and needs to be replaced and the cost would be around $2000. I called Toyota to complain since this is an electrical/electronic component and nothing really related to ware and tear, they indicated there are no recalls for ABS actuator assembly. I looked online and found that Camry hybrids 2007 have the same problem and Toyota is providing "warranty extension" for owners who experienced this problem. I believe the same warranty extension for ABS actuator should apply to 2007 Camry non hybrid models also. Seeking NHTSA help in this regard.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #95

May 212014

Camry

  • 42,000 miles
The problem started around 40K miles with my Toyota Camry 2007, while driving the break light warning would come on as well as the ABS & parking warning light. The odometer & RPM gauges go to zero. While this is happening the breaks take harder and longer to engage. The car shakes as well with minimal breaking efficiency. Intermittently the steering wheels also becomes hard to turn and shakes vigorously, which would cause my wrist to hurt. Toyota dealer indicated that new break actuator is required to fix the problem. They asked me to contact the manufacturer. The manufacturer indicated that they have not heard of the break actuator problem. I followed up with another letter to the executive at Toyota, abbass saddat, vp. Danica with executive office contact me back. She started by brushing me off initially. When I indicated that the same problem was addressed by Toyota for the same year for the hybrid version, she indicated that ok, so it is not for our gas model. I indicated that the when you contact Toyota dealer parts department, it is the same part for both gas and hybrid. So when she heard that, she said, ohh ok, let me investigate the problem. She made it evident that her job was to brush me off, without actually looking into the problem or wanting to know anything about it. It is very obvious that Toyota will not take initiative unless a member of the public dies or gets seriously injured. So far I am still waiting for he R contacting me confirm he dealers finding or address the problem. This a serious public safety issue. Further more, the Toyota dealer indicated the car is worth $7200. It doesn't make sense to replace a ABS break actuator to be close to the half of the price of the car either.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #94

Feb 052015

Camry

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 10 mph, the ability to brake seized. The contact had to maneuver to the side of the road to a complete stop. The ABS and the check engine warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was driven to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #93

Apr 012015

Camry 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
The car speedometer stopped working while I was driving. The needle went to zero, the tachometer fluctuates out of control up and down, the ABS and brake lights come on, the lights that indicate what gear you are in turned off, the gas gauge appears to still work okay, but the mileage stops calculating although the digital display is still on just not counting mileage. I have no way to know how fast I am going or if my car will either not stop due to brake lights being on or just cut off since there seems to be some electrical malfunction. The air conditioning also stopped working. This happened the first time for about 10 minutes, then as quickly as it stopped, it started working again. It has now done this each day at multiple times during each trip for the past 3 days since the problem first started. Not knowing how fast you are going is a real safety issue and sounds like this issue has come up before with other Toyota owners and should be recalled.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #92

Mar 182015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
As I was driving and came to the stop my speedometer dropped down to zero, my tachometer keeps going up and down, the ABS and brake signals light up, and my A/C seems to stop working. I researched this online and noticed that hundreds of consumers are experiencing this problem. Seems to be something to do with the ABS modulator/sensor corroding. I contacted my local Toyota dealership in clovis and they said they had to start with a basic diagnosis of $129 and that this was not a recall issue. How can this not be a recall of there are hundreds of complaints!? I have a tomtom that can keep track of my speed so I'll just use this until a recall is made and this issue can be fixed free of charge.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #91

Mar 102015

Camry

  • 141,000 miles
While driving down the road at around 45mph. All of a sudden. My ABS and brake light indicators light up. My speedometer dropped down to 0. my gauges jumping around. My speed in actuality didn't go down to 0. and, my car didn't stall or cut off. But, if it had. I could have been ran over by a semi truck or another vehicle. Prior to this happening, my tire sensor light was on. I took to the dealership, and they said once the tire sensor was fixed, the other would go away. I had tire sensor fixed. The lights went off for a brief period. But, back on again at interval times. The car also seems to want to cut off when idling at red lights. When I googled the problems online. It seem Toyota cars of all makes and years are having the same exact problem. I am taking back to the dealership once again.

- Rock Hill, SC, USA

problem #90

Mar 152015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
For the second time in less than a year, the brake and ABS lights came on the dashboard. The lights went out shortly after, but the ABS engaged when they shouldn't, causing my stopping distance to be dramatically increased. I nearly crashed, and was forced to swerve to avoid the car ahead. Toyota has a service bulletin on this problem--it has been diagnosed, two years running, at a Toyota dealership as a corroded ABS sensor. Toyota refuse to pay for labor, or create a part that is better shielded. This is dangerous. Who knows when it will go out again? I am deeply concerned for my safety.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #89

Aug 302007

Camry

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving at an unknown speed, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle failed to accelerate. In addition, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle failed to stop. The contact stated that the lights on the instrument panel dimmed. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 5,000.

- Johnson City, TN, USA

problem #88

Feb 262015

Camry

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the brakes hesitated on the vehicle, the ABS light illuminated, and the braking system seemed to not be fully operational. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure occurred just after the vehicle underwent a 100,000 mile service check-up at the dealer. The contact discovered that Toyota performed repairs to the same model year Toyota Camry hybrid. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #87

Mar 022015

Camry

  • 97,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Camry xle lost control of steering, brakes and stability control. The car surged left, right, left the went off the road to the right. The brakes were applied but did not seem to have any function. Massive damage was caused to the body from hitting 2 trees. No airbag deployment.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #86

Mar 222014

Camry

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving at an unknown speed, the emergency brake and ABS light illuminated. The speedometer and the air system failed to operate properly. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The contact was notified of a manufacturer service bulletin that might correct the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Lathrop, CA, USA

problem #85

Feb 192015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 63,823 miles
Started car and the brake and ABS lights stayed on and did not go off. Then while driving to my daughters school, and the shop I was going to take the car to, my engine light came on. I picked up my daughter then went to the shop and had vehicle checked. There were had 5 codes that come up. Then went out with the mechanic to see if the speedometer was working as he asked if I noticed if it was or was not working. We took car for a quick drive to see how car was driving. The first thing I noticed was that the speedometer was not moving from zero. The lights all stayed on and the brakes were working. The RPM gauge was still going up and down. I did not have the money to do any fixing as of yet so I decided to bring the car home and park it until I can get it fixed as my mechanic said it was not safe to drive. After this I did some research on line and have found that this is a common problem on the 2007 Toyota Camry and that the hybrid model has a recall for this problem, but as of yet they have not recalled the 4 cyl or the 6 cyl which is not right as the codes are the same and the issues are the same. The right thing to do would be to recall all 2007 models before this issue causes a fatal car accident.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?