Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,415 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #60

Jul 072014

Camry

  • 133,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving brake and ABS light comes on and speedometer goes to 0 mph also ac stop working.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #59

Jul 282014

Camry

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. When the contact depressed the brake pedal, the vehicle shook and vibrated. The contact had to depress the brake pedal to the floorboard in order to stop the vehicle. The stopping distance also increased. An independent mechanic stated that air was leaking from the brake booster. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Perrysburg, OH, USA

problem #58

Apr 142014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 93,855 miles
As I was approaching a pedestrian crossing, the ABS light and check vsc light and brake light came on. When I tried to apply the brakes to stop, I realized that the brakes were not responsive. The car did not go into limp home mode. The ABS had completely failed. Updated 05/12/14

- Lower Gwynedd, PA, USA

problem #57

Mar 032014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While my son was traveling to school the vsc light came on the warning panel. At that time the brakes were hard to operate and took a few seconds to reengage and the brakes locked up bringing the car to a skidding stop. After a minute the lights went off and he was able to travel again, but the same incident happened again the next morning taking my other kids to school when the roads were icy! this is a situation where someone will be killed behind faulty equipment being ignored by Toyota on the 2007 Camry hybrids.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #56

Apr 012011

Camry

  • 69,000 miles
I noticed when applying sudden brakes low engine oil light came on but it went away when brakes were released. I thought it may be time for oil change and got oil change done shortly. That problem didn't came back till few months later. I had my oil change done from the dealer and the service was not due yet so I went to the nearby auto shop and they told me it didn't show any oil in the dipstick so they did the oil change and filled it up(no visible problem noticed). I thought I will get it inspected with the dealer on my next visit. Next time when I went to dealer I mentioned it and they were too busy to check that but they did visual inspection and didn't see any problem or leaks. Again after same issue they told me to come after 1200 miles after oil change but they didn't find any problem. I had to carry the oil with me just in case as the nearby auto place told me it was abnormal. I had to top it up again shortly as the dip stick showed no oil. I complained to the dealer again and they told me to come back after 2500 miles and they sealed the knob with silicon or something so it cannot be tampered with and they told me to come on weekday so they can talk to the Toyota engineer. When I returned they tested it and found normal consumption and no problem found. I am still facing that problem and I called Toyota hotline and they told me that they would go by the dealers opinion on that and there was no known problem on the vehicle. When I read these posts on this website then it definitely seems like a problem and now my vehicle is not under warranty either. My engine is still fine, only problem is I have to change oil too frequently. If something happens to engine in future I definitely hope Toyota will cover it since they haven't identified any problem on my engine after so many visits.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #55

Apr 072012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 127,500 miles
I bought this car new and have had nothing but trouble since leaving the lot. Biggest issue being in April 2012 began having issues with car burning/loosing oil. Car would loose 1 quart or more with in 200 miles. Have taken it to mechanicsville Toyota on different occasions and had a oil consumption test done only to be told I need to replace the motor and it is not covered under warranty not only due to mileage but not being a loyal customer and not having my service work done there. My husband is a mechanic and has done all the service work by the book. My issues happen at various speeds where the car will jerk, shake, accelerate and decelerate while the ABS light, traction control light comes on and the check engine light comes on and will blink well over 20 times before staying lit. I had to drive around with a case of oil in my car never knowing when I would need to add. I have had to borrow a car from my family as I no longer feel safe driving this one. It can at any given moment leave me or just stall while driving. I have kept detailed notes from going back and forth to the dealer. As you can see by the other complaints this is a know problem with Toyota with the piston rings/seals, etc. Even though I know my ar is no longer covered under warranty, I feel Toyota being such a well known company and harping about safety should step up and do something with or without government assistance, and do something about this. I know I will never buy another Toyota vehicle as they do not stand behind them.

- Warsaw, VA, USA

problem #54

Aug 142012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry SE. While driving approximately 5 mph, the brake was engaged and there was no response. The contact intentionally crashed into a cement parking block in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer who advised that the brake booster would need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer assisted by offering the contact $400 toward the repair expenses. The approximate failure mileage was 92,000. Updated 10/10/12

- Sandston, VA, USA

problem #53

Jun 012012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 29,200 miles
2007 Toyota Camry. Consumer writes in regards to struts repairs when the consumer took the vehicle for a regular maintenance check-up, he was informed the struts were leaking and needed to be replaced. The cost for the struts along with the alignment of the struts was $1100. The consumer for over three years about the brakes squeaking constantly and how bumpy the drive was.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #52

Mar 082012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
I took the 2007 Camry with about 67,000 miles to the repair shop because of a squealing noise: The rear rotors were worn out completely and the rear brakes had to be replaced at a cost of $459. After the repairs, the car began to shake violently when the brakes were applied. Sometimes it would pull to the right and it would be difficult to move the steering wheel back to the left. On April 5, I took the car to a dealership where the front rotors had to be machined at a cost of $85. The front brakes were okay.

- Alexandria, Al, AL, USA

problem #51

May 012010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for routine maintenance when she was informed that the front and rear struts were leaking. In addition, the sun visors would not remain upright and was impairing the contact's view of the roadway. The dealer advised the contact to replace the struts. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue but failed to offer any assistance. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 40,000 and the failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 04/19/12 the consumer also stated the brakes would squeal when they were applied. The dealer found the front rotors were glazed. Updated 04/25/12

- River Ridge, LA, USA

problem #50

Jun 282007

Camry

  • 20,470 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle would shake when braking. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was determined that the shaking was coming from the brake pads scratching the rotor. The brake pads were not worn however. The contact stated that the rotors were previously replaced twice. The failure mileage was 20,470 and the current mileage was 67,000.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #49

Oct 122011

Camry

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while driving 60 mph he attempted to slow down and the brakes failed when they were applied. The brake warning light illuminated while the failure occurred. The dealer performed a diagnostic test that located the failure was caused by contaminated brake fluid. The dealer replaced the brake fluid, and flushed the brake lines. The vehicle was not repaired, because the dealer could not explain why the brake fluid was contaminated. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 117,000.

- Conway , AR, USA

problem #48

Sep 062011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 46,550 miles
I would like to request that the NHTSA to investigate a serious failure associated with the brake systems on 2007 Toyota Camry cars. On Tuesday 9/6/11, the brake pedal on our Camry went to the floor and the car did not slow down while my wife was driving it. She had to hit the brakes again when the pedal came back up in order to stop the car before hitting the car in front of her. This has been a frightening experience for her and we can not figure out what has gone wrong. When I checked the level of the brake fluid in the reservoir it was at its normal level between min and max. Out of safety concern for my wife and son, I took the car to the Toyota dealership so that the could identify the root cause of the problem and fix it I felt that they would be the best choice. I did not want to take a any chances by taking it to a lower cost repair shop. After having the car at the service center of the dealership for the whole day, I was told that they could not find anything wrong with the brake system. They said that the brake pads are fine and that they still have 60% life remaining on them, there is no brake fluid leakage anywhere and that they have driven it and they can not make the same failure to happen again. The service advisor's input was that in case the same problem happens again just apply the emergency brake. I picked up the car from the Toyota dealership on Wednesday night, and I drove it myself for a few miles and I did not notice any problems with the brakes either. This incident has left me and my wife puzzled, concerned, frightened and worried that the same failure could happen again with an unpleasant results and that other Toyota Camry users may experience a similar problem. Please conduct a full investigation of this problem and advise as to what the root cause might be. We are the first owners of this vehicle and it has never been in an accident.

- Mossville, IL, USA

problem #47

Aug 252011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 36,416 miles
Sudden unintended acceleration on August 25th 2011 at approximately 1:00 pm, my dad was driving to garvey ranch park located at (781 S orange ave, monterey park, ca 91755) as part of his daily routine. He had already pulled into the parking lot and was getting ready to park his car facing North bound. All of a sudden the car accelerated out of nowhere and hoped the parking curb still facing northbound. In order to avoid any casualties and prevent hitting any of the children near the playground, he was able to steer the car and made a U-turn at about 150 degrees. At this point he was facing South bound of the parking lot and the car continued to accelerate at high speeds. His car then hopped the curb on the South side of the parking lot. Once the car hopped the parking curb on the South side, it continued to hop over a couple of raised concrete blocks that delineate a path onto the hillside just South of the parking lot. Due to the steepness of the hill, it prevented the car from going any further and the car crashed in between two trees located on the hillside. We had already taken the car to longo Toyota due to the acceleration recall back on March 13 2010. I couldn't believe the car still had mechanical issues after we had it serviced it for the recall and was glad that my dad did not sustain a very serious injury. The car is available for inspection if an NHTSA official would like to inspect the car.

- Monterey Park, CA, USA

problem #46

Jul 012008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds and engaging the brakes, the vehicle jerked when the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who diagnosed that the failure occurred because the vehicle was driven through water and in order to repair the failure, the front rotary brakes needed to be shaved. The vehicle was repaired. Six months later, the failure occurred again, the vehicle was taken to a local repair shop, who decided to replace the rotors. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that they would call him back at a later date. The failure mileage was 32,000 and the current mileage was 80,000. Owner contacted district service manger and district sales manger. Updated 10/05/2011

- Rayne , LA, USA

problem #45

Jun 072011

Camry

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while driving 35 mph the speedometer, air conditioner, and the brakes all malfunctioned. The contact took the vehicle who was unable to diagnose the failure. He contact took the vehicle to a second dealer who stated the brake actuator had malfunctioned and caused other electrical components to fail. The contact stated this was a major safety issue that could have caused a crash. The vehicle was currently at the dealership. The failure mileage was 102,000.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #44

Apr 012011

Camry

  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry. Consumer states vehicle has a very loud screech from the rear brake on the passenger side the dealer informed the consumer there was trash on the brake shoe and it would eventually wear off. The consumer stated it has been 4 1/2 years and the noise is still present.

- Plaucheville, LA, USA

problem #43

Mar 052011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
I owned a 2007 Camry le. On 3/05/11 my brakes failed while on the highway. I careened across the highway and then the car started flipping. The car flipped at least 3 times before hitting an exit sign. The exit sign then pierced the roof of the car and landed between my legs. Thank god I wasn't seriously hurt. But through all the flipping across the concrete, my airbags did not deploy. My complaint is brake failure and lack of airbag deployment.

- Ct, CT, USA

problem #42

Jan 152011

Camry

  • 46,000 miles
Drove slowly at around 25mph in a very cold day (16 degree). When I stepped on the brake to stop the car the brake was in a locked position (can't pressed it down) and my car hit the car in front and there was nothing else I could do.

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #41

Sep 012010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
Toyota Camry 2007 - persistent vibration steering at highway speed - not being resolved by a series of attempts such as balancing, tire replacement, alignment, brake component replacement. The steering vibration was part of a Toyota service bulletin but despite the specific instruction on how to fix the problem, the vibration was never eliminated. Lately, vehicle also showing vibration when braking - also at highway speeds. Brake repaired at dealer without results. Toyota dealer has provided no further resolution option. The concern is if this is a result of the original steering vibration with the vehicle showing further deterioration.

- Novi, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?