Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 28
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,773 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 5 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #88

Jul 112014

Camry

  • 129,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the ABS warning light illuminated intermittently. The contact also mentioned that the instrument panel failed causing the rpms, the speedometer, and the temperature gauges fail to display readings. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 129,000.

- Annandale, VA, USA

problem #87

Jul 142014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 105,238 miles
I was driving about 75 mph going wb on I-8 heading out of tucson July 14, 2014. I started to smell a faint burning, which I thought was the car in front of me. The smell became more intense and smelled like something electrical was frying. It is a very specific smell. I thought for a second that something was happening in my steering wheel but then noticed smoke coming up through my window control buttons. I immediately pulled over and turned off the car. The smoking stopped. I called a tow truck and a cop waited with me in 105 degree weather. I was towed back to tucson to a Toyota dealership. They told me there was an electrical shortage and that I would need to pay over $500 to repair it. I have not done that but instead, I had them cut power to my windows so I can continue to drive the car immediately. I feel that there was definitely a possibility of fire but thank goodness there wasn't. please reference NHTSA campaign number: 12V491000 from October from 2012. I feel like the same issue applies to me (and possibly the other cars manufactured with mine) and should be investigated further. Thank you so much.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #86

May 172014

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
My name is [xxx] and I am the third secretary of the embassy of the republic of turkey in lima. I own a Toyota Camry le 2007. The speedometer and tachometer will cease to indicate proper readings and drop to zero. The tachometer will then bounce between zero and what I can only assume is a close approximation of the actual engine RPM. At the same time, the ABS and parking brake warning lights illuminate and stay on for the duration of the "episode". these last anywhere from 10 seconds to 10 minutes. In the meantime, the car runs normally from what I can discern. I can be driving down the highway at 70 or sitting in the parking lot idling and these episodes occur. There are no other indications that something is amiss...no rough idling, no engine stalling, just the display. This is a 2007 Toyota Camry, 4 cyl, 5 spd automatic. I have inspected the transaxle input and output shaft sensors and they appear to be in good working order. There are no indications of oil buildup or broken/shorted wires. Connections all look good from what I can tell. Authorized Toyota dealers in peru do not accept to inspect and repair my car since it is a us model. I am waiting your response for this serious problem. When I browse the online forums. I have found that many people suffer the same problem. I am sending you a youtube link that exapmlifies my problem. Https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=rdtgabjrfds information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- New Heaven, CT, USA

problem #85

Oct 242013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had my rear brakes installed at hollywood Toyota in October of 2013. As I left the dealership once the job was complete, my ABS light, the brake light came on, my speed odometer stopped working along with my ac which started blowing hot air. I took the car back the following day and got the runaround. The Toyota mechanic said it was the alternator since it was new, and it was giving to much amps. I immediately took the car back to the place the alternator was put in. The problem still existed after going back and forth with the problem. My service tech [xxx] said I would have to pay to have a diagnostic test done on the car. Of course I got mad! when I bought the car in I had no problems with the vehicle. The Sunday before my last visit to hollywood Toyota, it started raining, which caused my windows to fog up inside and me driving in a ditch because of poor visibility. Not from the outside, but from the inside everything became fogging in the interior of the car, where I either had to make contact with a car in front of me or go off into the ditch to avoid an accident from whipping the window trying to see in front of me. When, I saw hollywood Toyota not wanting to except responsibility for the actions it has caused! I contacted Toyota corporate and they in turn allowed me to take the car in for another diagnostic without cost. After leaving the dealership, the problem was no better then I took it in. But in addition to me taking it in. I went online and saw I was not the only one who had problem with the ABS, brake light style coming on along with the speedometer not working. After dang near pulling what hair I have left out, I am reaching out to you to help eliminate this problem before a major accident occur and lives are lost, because someone else who's ac may not be working on the account of the electrical system failing would be a tragedy. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #84

Apr 262014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Stereo display gradually went blank in about 20min. Its a base model, and is the second time in the past two years. First time was covered by warranty. Speedometer stopped working two random times while driving. After the car was turned off and on again speedometer was fine.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #83

Jan 302014

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
While driving or idling, brake and ABS light get lit and speedometer is not working, odometer is jumping up and down and heat needle is intermittently going normal/cold. The mileage meter is not working and this all goes away when those lights either reset on their own or some other way not known to me how. While driving not knowing how fast is vehicle going its very dangerous and Toyota is not doing what they should do and announce recall because there are large number of people complaining about this issue and have problem with the same. I took car to the Toyota grossinger dealer in lincolnwood il and first time after over 4 hours there they said its only battery and positive terminal. After extensive complaining and filing the survey they decided to give another try and check again, this time took over 4 hours to find out but they did found that ABS actuator needs replacement and that would be well over $4000 which is absurd because this part breaks due to extreme winter temperatures of -10F and below. Known fact that in Chicago we had very hard winter this year, if not one of the strongest since we broke several records in temperature and wind chills and amount of snow fallen to the ground, with number of polar vortex weather that we couldn't control. Now we are left with faulty part that leaves us driving like that because its not easy and very possible to pay the sum of money like $4000 for one part for a car that already I paid almost $30,000. I wish that you guys give the push to fix this problem before it causes casualties all over country like other similar problems with Toyota Camry's happened in the past.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #82

Mar 062014

Camry

  • 132,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Initial burning smell coming from driver door. When the vehicle was turned on, there were visible flames appearing in the contol buttons of the driver's side power master switch.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #81

Mar 082014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 129,968 miles
This all started December 16, 2013, when I lost power while driving and my car broke down on the road. I had the master cylinder, alternator, battery, and air mass flow sensor replaced. Picked the car up drove it home and she still felt a little sluggish but I figured the car was cold. Went to have it inspected the next day and my brakes were locked! had it towed back to the shop and he replaced the master cylinder again. Pickedt it up drove it home and the car started shaking at 60 mph again I figured it was cold and made it home. Next day drove it to work, the car went to 50, 40, and then 30 mph and would not go faster than that! I had it towed back to the shop and my mechanic did some research and it appears this is a known issue with 2006 and 2007 models. It starts with the braked cylinder and as long as the brakes don"T get hot it runs fine. Once they get hot the brakes applies itself which forces your car to slow down! this is so dangerous! you basically have to replace you entire brake line and or check all the hoses, brake booster ext. Until you can pinpoint the problem. Is Toyota doing a recall on this"

- Staunton, VA, USA

problem #80

Oct 242013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 122,456 miles
When driving on the highway, all of the instrument panel gauges dropped to zero, the brake and ABS lights, illuminated, and the A/C stopped blowing cold air. Problem persisted for several minutes and the tachometer bounced around while the rest of the gauges remained at 0 or cold for the temperature gauge. This continues to be an intermittent problem that does not seem to be connected to travel speed, outside temperature fluctuation or any other external variations. Although currently this seems to be the now normal as it is in this state more often than it works properly. I do not know the speed that I am traveling. Defroster does not work when temperature needs to be cooler because A/C does not work during these episodes and entire windshield clouds up making it dangerous.had to drive with windows in a driving rainstorm. This problem has been on this website 6 times in last 6 months. Seems like a recurring problem.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #79

Jun 142013

Camry

  • 122,000 miles
When approaching a stop light all of the instrument panel gauges dropped to zero, the brake and ABS lights, illuminated, and the A/C stopped blowing cold air. Problem persisted for several minutes and the tachometer bounced around while the rest of the gauges remained at 0 or cold for the temperature gauge. This continues to be an intermittent problem that does not seem to be connected to travel speed, outside temperature fluctuation or any other external variations. Although currently this erratic state seems to be the new normal as it is in this state more often than it works properly. I do not know the speed that I am traveling nor do I know if my ABS braking system will work should I ever be in a situation where it would be needed since the warning light is on. This is very worrisome for me but I do not have $500 for Toyota to "try" and diagnose the problem as I have been quoted for their diagnostic time. I have taken it to an independent mechanic several times and they cannot seem to rectify the problem, additionally, I cannot smog my vehicle because the shops computer cannot communicate with my car.

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #78

Jul 042013

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ABS light, brake light comes on intermittently then speedometer and RPM gauges goes to zero and A/C if it is on blows warm air.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #77

Mar 052013

Camry 6-cyl

  • 172,000 miles
On March 5 as I was driving home from work on the fdr in NY I started to smell smoke and noticed that a fire was emerging from the compartment in front of the shift control area. I immediately pulled over and jumped out in time before my car was fully inflamed; the entire interior of the vehicle burned down. An inspection of my care revealed that it did not come from the engine (as it is still intact) and I believe it was electrical in nature (as I had an event in 2010 where the power control for the window caught on fire and melted-this caused the windows to not work, which is my reason in reporting the non functioning windows to Toyota). I had my car serviced by Toyota a week prior to this incident and I just don't understand how something like this could happen and now after the fact (I have contacted Toyota myself) there is no review for the safety/potential electrical fires/malfunctions for these cars. Although I escaped physically unharmed, the tragedy of the event is still fresh in my mind and it is my hope that this is something that can be looked into.

- Newburgh, NY, USA

problem #76

Aug 012008

Camry

  • 15,516 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the air conditioning compressor failed. When the air conditioning compressor was activated, it caused the vehicle to vibrate with force. The failure was experienced numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection. The air conditioning system was cleaned however, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,516 and the current mileage was 58,371.

- Oxford , GA, USA

problem #75

Aug 052013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 86,365 miles
I have a 2007 Toyota Camry and I purchased a extended warranty when I bought the car in 2007 that warranty expired August 1, 2013 a few days after it had expired my driver side visor will not stay up! I do not hang anything on it like cd holder or anything. It is driving me crazy because it makes it very hard to see the road when I am driving and I feel this should be recalled sense there has been multiple complaints for the 2007 Camry with this same situation and it is a safety problem for many Camry owners. The visor sometimes even hits me in the head when I try to get out of my car. I have had many issues with this car from day one and I am not very happy that this has not been recalled yet. Seems like Toyota does not care for the safety of their customers. Also on top of the visor my shock coil broke on the passenger side which the extended warranty did cover sense it happened before August 1st but now the strut is leaking oil on that same side, I brought it to the Toyota dealer in June 2013 and they told me they won't replace it because even though it is leaking oil it is not 100% broken yet and told me the warranty wont cover it until it completely blows! I told them I have a young child that I have to think of this safety along with mine and was shocked that even though it is leaking oil (which is not good) cause at any moment while driving it can bust that Toyota doesn't recognize it, its not like it will heal on its own so I feel it should have been replaced under my warranty that I paid almost $1000 for when I purchased the car! I hope Toyota will recall the visor issue for their customers. I am going to contact Toyota directly on Monday to see if I can get anywhere with this safety issue.

- Cicero, NY, USA

problem #74

Jul 132013

Camry

  • 128,300 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry le. The contact stated while driving approximately 25 mph the ABS and brake warning indicators illuminated and the instrument panel displayed zero. In addition, while driving, the vehicle began to vibrate and the failure recurred sporadically. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The alternator was replaced by the driver of the vehicle. The failure persisted after the vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 128,300.

- Meldourne, FL, USA

problem #73

Apr 052013

Camry

  • 120,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Camry is experiencing electrical problems. The speedometer goes to zero, the brake light and ABS light comes on and the gauges go haywire. The problem last for a few minutes at a time. This is dangerous as I can't tell how fast I'm driving. The tire pressure light stays on as well. No codes come up in the diagnostic testing. I have taken it to several mechanics and I've spent lots of time and money to find out what's wrong to no avail. I don't think I'll never buy another Toyota. It's funny the problem began as I am about to make the last payment.

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #72

Jun 202013

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Since I had my 2007 Toyota Camry, which I brought less then 4 years ago, I've had 4 call backs from Toyota. I've gotten two just yesterday.. one stated my car could result in a fire. I was getting my car check at a local mechanic a couple times this year, because my vehicle was lacking power & shaking. I thought it was just the alignment & needing a tune up, but after I gotten the alignment & tuneup my car still was shaking & lacking power. Also when I start my vehicle black smoke comes out the back. Ever since I had this vehicle piece by piece had breaking apart. My window visor want stay up, my lighter/charger doesn't work, even after oil change & changing my tires my car has black smoke around tires... after receiving so many call backs my kids & I do not feel safe in this vehicle. It's one thing after another. They need to just get rid of all these damage vehicles. Fix them before selling them.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #71

Dec 112012

Camry

  • 95,557 miles
I brought the car in to elmhurst Toyota, in elmhurst, il for a routing oil change and a recall remedy notice for the power window master switch. Immediately after they performed the remedy, the passenger-side rear window stopped operating. It took me a while to find out because I do not operate the windows in the winter. The dealership gave me the run around as to how the window motor may be burned out or the linkage fallen off. I took the car to an independent shop. The shop was able to operate the window without the master switch in the circuit. The fault was isolated to the master switch. The shop replaced the switch. Total cost: Switch for $302, labor $180, and tax $20 for a grand total of $502. Reported the damage through Toyota customer experience center, which quickly sided with elmhurst Toyota, I.e., there is no proof the dealership damaged the master switch and I should have brought it to their attention "faster." I believe both the dealership and Toyota are responsible for the damage occurred during performing the remedy maintenance. I kept the failed switch in case someone wants to perform a post failure analysis to it.

- Buffalo Grove, IL, USA

problem #70

Apr 122013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Kumho tire. Left front wheel. The tread separated and the treaded part broke causing extensive damage to the left fender, fender lining, left body panel below both doors, the front bumper, the left headlight electrical system and possibly other front end damage. Driver did not hit anything on the freeway and was able to come to a safe stop without hitting anything else. This, and the other three tires on the car were purchased from discount tire on 08/04/2010, and they only have about 41,000 miles on them.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #69

Mar 302013

Camry

  • 78,000 miles
When driving on the no 1 lane (by the carpool lane), an SUV crossed the double yellow lines and rear ended my left side at approximate 40mph. My passengers were shaken up while I was taken to the er. I did noticed that my airbags did not deploy. After the accident I did some searching and came to find out that airbags for this particular model do not deploy!!! not to mentioned that prior to this finding, I had taken my car back to the dealer for an accelerator issue. Also pending is the sun visor recall as well.

- Bakersfield , CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?