Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 28
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,773 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 8 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Feb 162010

Camry

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After putting the 2007 Camry on cruise control at 62 mph it went up to 85 mph. This happened twice in one day. I no longer use cruise control

- Loreto, 00, USA

problem #27

Apr 012009

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
S10 appropriate handling re Toyota problems fm owner of a 2007 Toyota Camry. When the consumer attempted to start the vehicle, it wouldn't start. The consumer checked the oil and discovered there was no oil on the dipstick. The dealer kept the vehicle for three days to replace the battery, alternator and cables. The dealer advised the consumer to check with another dealer about the vehicle burning oil. The oil was about 2.3 quarts low. The short block, gaskets and seals were replaced. A couple of week later, oil was on the garage floor. The consumer returned to the dealer and they replaced the seal again.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #26

Mar 012010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry. Consumer states unintended acceleration. The consumer stated in 2007 he reported to Toyota an accelerator problem. There was a hesitation when pressing the pedal. After stating nothing was wrong, Toyota provided an internal bulletin; not a public bulletin to germain Toyota of sarasota as a result the dealer used a computer to recalibrate the ECM. Updated 04/06/10. The consumer stated he received a recall notice in the mail regarding the sudden accelerated problem. The consumer believed the sudden acceleration problem was due to the ECM. Updated 04/21/10

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #25

Sep 172009

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2007 Toyota Camry I had a accident in the vehicle on September 17, 2009 in jackson, tn. I told the officers and the insurance company that I tried to stop but was unable to I also told them that something was wrong it would not stop until I went into a ditch. Two days later Toyota did a recall on the floor mats. I found out about the floor mats this year in February 2010. I contacted Toyota and found out that they had the wrong name as being the owner and said they would get me the recall information mailed to my home. The company did send me the information I called the local Toyota dealership her and they told me I could bring my vehicle in. It states on the papers that Toyota will replace the pedal with a new one if I wanted to wait for it in and that they would replace the older all weather floor mats and clean the carpet. This did not happen for me I now have the same dirty floor that I had before I took it to them and now I'm riding in a rental car because since they put the reinforcement bar on my car the check engine light has come on and I'm afraid even more to drive the car I took it to the dealership and they told corporate that I would have to pay them to check out the car and my manual says that if this light comes on that it is the electronic throttle, the dealership told me it could be up to 200 different things and that unless I pay for this they would not do anything to assist me I can write a letter to the claims department but there is no guarantee that they will reimburse me for my rental or for fixing the vehicle, also that my floor mats are now aftermarket mats and the will not do anything to them either nor my floor please do something they are not fixing these vehicles and are not standing by there word I can not afford to pay anymore money to get this vehicle fix and detailed and I have no other means of transportation. The people at corporate say they are sticking by the dealership and I need to pay to get this fixed!

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #24

Feb 072010

Camry

  • 30,000 miles
I have a 2007 Japanese-made Camry. I bought at a premium (well above invoice and above msrp because servco Hawaii does not give discounts) thinking I was paying for a reliable and well-made vehicle. I have had other Toyota but none with as many problems as this vehicle. And, with all the news of accelerator problems, I would like my problems checked and not be charged for it. I do not like the idea of having to pay $103 (1hr labor) X 3 different accelerator issues + another $103 to see why there is the smell of gasoline coming from the A/C vent. 1. when stepping on the accelerator, I will get no response... I continue to depress the gas, still no response. Then finally, the car will thrust forward violently. This has been mentioned to Toyota Hawaii dealer several times saying it was normal for drive by wire vehicle and that it will take some getting used to. 2. when accelerating slowly, the car will rev high without the automatic transmission upshifting.. I have to depress the gas more and the car will rev even higher before upshifting. 3. on 2 different times, the car has revved and jumped forward while not in gear. The first time was at an intersection. I shifted into neutral with the P-brake on and it felt as if someone hit my car from the rear. The car jumped into the busy crosswalk about 2 feet until I hit the brake pedal and shifted it back into drive. Another time was at the drive-thru window in park. The car didn't move but jerked violently. Both were on flat surfaces. 4. when under heavy acceleration, the car sometimes give off the smell of gasoline. It is not exhaust fumes but smells of raw gasoline. A/C in recirculate mode. I also have been having numerous other quality problems with excessive rattling of trim and door ajar alarm going off for no reason.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #23

Nov 232006

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry acceleration problem the consumer stated while driving on a two lane section of the highway, the vehicle accelerated out of control up to 90 mph and it didn't respond to any braking effort. Even after shifting the automatic transmission into neutral, the vehicle would simply not slow down, even with both feet on the brake. Finally, the consumer decided to turn off the key. Once the key was turned off, the vehicle finally began to slow down. The consumer stated the pedal was not trapped under the mat and he believed there was some type of computer or software problem, since the vehicle was put into neutral without any effect. Updated 03/29/10.

- Dayton, NV, USA

problem #22

Mar 032010

Camry

  • 21,234 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Camry hesitates when trying to accelerate from a standstill, and RPM keeps dropping from 2000 RPM to 1000 RPM for a second and back to 2000 RPM as I'm trying to maintain speed. It could make my car to slide on icy road because of this engine braking, and it happens every time I just touch gas pedal and let go RPM drops and goes back to cruising RPM all in 1 second. This happens as soon as I remove my foot of the gas pedal, causing like braking feeling. I told Toyota dealership in guelph, Ontario about this problem but their master service advisor craig allen says that is normal. I believe that there is electronic throttle issue.

- Guelph, 00, USA

problem #21

Feb 172010

Camry

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately between 30-35 mph on normal conditions. The "cruise control control" warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. There were several attempts of braking and the warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The failure occurred intermittent. In addition, there was an increase of acceleration unexpectedly. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 10V017000 (vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal). The vehicle was repaired for the recall defect. The technician was unable to locate the electrical malfunction with the warning indicator. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 69,000.

- Medway , MA, USA

problem #20

Apr 202008

Camry

  • 14,564 miles
On 7/31/2007, I purchased a brand new Toyota Camry SE from knoxville Toyota. On April 20, 2008, I was driving my Toyota Camry SE westbound on route 26 just West of columbia, SC, at a speed of 60mph. I then hit my cruise control to increase the speed to pass a vehicle, when my accelerator stuck and my speed went almost immediately to 105 mph. All efforts to unstick my accelerator failed me.( I am a 54 yr old retired fbi special agent who has often been in high speed pursuit- so I know how to handle vehicles at high speeds) traffic was relatively heavy, with a couple 18 wheelers, and several cars with families in front of me. I recalled there being a flyer of warning by Toyota on rubber mats, so I reached down, yanked the rubber mat off the floor and threw it into the back seat, all the while standing on the brake pedal, trying to get the car not to hit vehicles in front of me. Finally I put the car in neutral and coasted the car out of traffic. Smoke was coming out of my front brakes, and once on the right side median, I turned the car off. Let it cool down, then got back on rt 26. Less than five minutes later, while passing a slower vehicle, my accelerator stuck again, and the speed got to 95 mph before I put the car in neutral again and turned it off. I brought my car into the knoxville Toyota dealership 4/21/08 (complaint of 4/21/08 was documented at Toyota knoxville, po box 30069, knoxville tn.)and they put it on their machine and said "nothing was wrong." For the next year, I experienced shimming of my front tires when braking. On 5/5/09, I paid over $171 to repair warped rotors. When the re-call occurred, I reminded them of my event, which appears to have been an electronic issue involving my cruise control on the first event. They put my car in to have their "fix" done to my accelerator, however I am not convinced it fixed my issue. I am very concerned that Toyota has hidden this problem from its customers, and I am not convinced this vehicle is safe.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #19

Dec 192009

Camry

  • 7,800 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The push button starter failed to activate. The ignition failed to start after several attempts. However, the vehicle started after waiting for three to five minutes. The vehicle was able to continue in normal operation. The failure occurred intermittent which required a waiting period before an activation response. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. A new starter button was ordered. The vehicle has not been repaired due to the unavailability of the part. The failure mileage was 7,800. The VIN was unavailable.

- Ocean Side, CA, USA

problem #18

Feb 102010

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is more for your internal investigation of Toyota. I work in automotive supplier business for headliners. Starting in 2007 on Camry and other vehicles Toyota installed carbon fiber based headliners, which have been know to create electronic fields that interfere with unshielded car electronics...we used to joke that Toyota had to invest another $10-15 per car to fix electronic issues related to its already over-priced headliner, shortly after cars were introduced.

- Farmington, MI, USA

problem #17

Jan 012010

Camry

  • 0 miles
Since I purchased my 2007 Camry in June 2007, I have experienced an electrical problem where my console lights (dashboard, stereo, etc.) dim and brighten sporadically. I drive and the lights will suddenly brighten dramatically. It will repeat during the duration of my trip. It happens every time that I drive at night, from the first night I drove home with a new car. It is unrelated to acceleration/deceleration or anything I do mechanically. None of the dashboard controls change when the lights brighten and dim. It is only visible at night, although the problem likely occurs continuously. I am concerned that this indicates a deeper electrical problem that might be related to the ongoing problems with Toyota.

- Encinitas, CA, USA

problem #16

May 302007

Camry

  • 124 miles
We have a 2007 Camry xle and the car surges when the cruise control is on and going up a hill. If the cruise is set for 67mph the car has a about 2300 RPM. Going up a moderate hill, the car downshifts and goes to 3400 RPM. It then surges to 4700 RPM which puts the drivers head into the head rest. The issue has been going on since we bought the car in may of 2007. We called our local dealer(topsham, Maine lee Toyota), and they said it was what the computer was programmed to do. I asked again the 1st time I had it in for service and received the same response. It does only happen with the cruise control on, so we have learned to shut off the cruise control going up any hills. We have a 2nd issue with our 2007 Camry which Toyota refuses to fix. If the rear defrost is turned on while the radio is on, the radio goes dead. The radio antenna and defrost wires are in the same window, and one is shorting out the other. I was told that since no fire occurs to turn off the radio while the rear defrost is on. I have read many similar issues on the internet and told Toyota such.

- Topsham, ME, USA

problem #15

Sep 092009

Camry

  • miles
2007 Camry xle. Problems with hesitation when accelerating. The dealership just blew me off when I explained the problem. Acted as if this was never a problem with Camry. Also have had problems with steering column's radio controls - when pressing the appropriate buttons, nothing would happen or, when seeking stations that were programmed in, the down or up buttons would jump to other stations not programmed. Since this problem is erratic, nothing was done by dealer. Problems with the outdoor temperature gauge - at times, it would take 15-20 minutes before the temperature would change to the correct one. Example: It read 77 degrees when it was actually in the mid-90S. Dealership did repair this last summer but now, it is reading seven+ degrees off the actual outdoor temperature. The final problem with this car is that the paint is chipping off of the frame area below the doors of the car. This has never happened with any previous car I have owned. Dealer attributed it to the fact that this car is the sport version so it rides lower. First Toyota I have owned and it looks like it may be my last.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #14

Jan 252010

Camry

  • 29,325 miles
The vehicle is a 2007 Toyota Camry xle sedan. While driving locally, the electronic instrument cluster in front of the driver which contains all of the operational information about the vehicle (speedometer, tachometer, fuel and oil gauges, all safety monitoring indicators, odometer, etc.) had a total power failure. Everything went totally black and nothing was visible. About 5 seconds later, everything returned to normal operation. The failure is not reproducible for the car dealership to diagnose, so they do not know how to fix it or where to start looking. This would seem to represent a serious safety hazard where the driver is suddenly operating the vehicle "blind".

- Chesterbrook, PA, USA

problem #13

Sep 142009

Camry

  • 24,193 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. He stated that while driving 70 mph the gauges on the instrument panel failed; then the engine stalled. He was able to pull to the side of the road and restart the vehicle. As a consequence his risk for vehicle crash was increased. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for inspection. However because he would be charged for diagnostic testing the vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 24,193. The current mileage was 24,440. Updated 10/09/09 the consumer stated the dealer replaced the keys. The key case had a crack in it. Updated 10/16/09

- Gansevoort, NY, USA

problem #12

Mar 162009

Camry

  • 16,000 miles
The us federal trade commission has determined in its 2006 & 2007 reports that the Toyota Camry was the highest listed vehicle to be arbitrated. The failure I encountered was that the vehicle failed to move or react when you applied the gas pedal, this is due to a serious gap in response time due to the Toyota "drive by wire" process, software flash updates per the tsb-ECM are not solving the problem, which led to my accident, this problem may have the potential for causing serious injury or death as a result of not being able to accelerate out of harms way. I encourage Toyota Camry owners to return their vehicles per their states respective lemon laws or the federal magnuson-moss act. 2006 Toyota has the highest complaint rating, 286 complaints, totaling 83.9% of the complaints. Toyota has the top 3 spots for complaints on their vehicles the Toyota Camry was the most complained about vehicle from everyone in all groups 42 complaints, totaling 12.3% of all complaints. 2007 again Toyota took 85 complaints, totaling 84.2% the top 3 vehicles were from Toyota, the Camry again is in place number 3 12 total complaints, totaling 11.9%, the highest now 2 years in a row. The reports were obtained from www.ncdsusa.org.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #11

Mar 162009

Camry

  • 17,000 miles
I bought my Toyota Camry brand new from ed morse Toyota of delray beach Florida in Aug 2007, it was a brand new 2007 Camry le, six cylinder, I reported on numerous occasions at the dealership that the car would stop or hesitate, they never fixed the problem, today on 3/16/2008 at 11:02am the hesitation contributed to me having a severe accident and was reported to fhp report# fhpl090ff014673 I had brought in the vehicle for hesitation issues on 10/17/2007,11/28/2008, 2/25/2009.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #10

Aug 242008

Camry

  • 25,000 miles
It has been noticed that there is a battery issue which allows for acid to seep onto the battery cables and leaves acid on top of battery terminal and cables. I know of several other Toyota Camry owners that have this exact same problem that affects their vehicle. This acid is corrosive and has lead to damaged components in the engine compartment.

- Conway , SC, USA

problem #9

Apr 262008

Camry

  • 12,000 miles
Intermittently, the vehicle will not respond to the throttle. The problem happens frequently, particularly when I brake and decelerate from above 30mph, then make a turn, such as exiting an off ramp, at about 5-20 mph, I press the accelerator to accelerate out of the turn, and the throttle does not respond for about 3 to 15 seconds. I consider this a serious safety issue where I cannot depend on the vehicle responding to the throttle allowing me to control the vehicle. This problem happens under other circumstances, and is completely unpredictable, but the above scenario is the most consistent. I took the vehicle to Toyota for this issue for the second time and was told: ..that is the way it is.. and "..this is how the fly-by-wire system works in the Camry.." by the service tech of power Toyota irvine on Tuesday Apr 29. He acknowledged that it is a safety issue and encouraged me to speak with the tech robert who knows how to work around the issue by manipulating the throttle and recommended that I complain directly to Toyota. He also mentioned that if I bug Toyota, they will be motivated to .. fix the software, put a new computer in it, or take care of you some other way..

- Trabuco Canyon, CA, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?