Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,364 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 8 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #42

Dec 102012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 95,862 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My check engine light came on and when I took it to the dealer, I had no oil in the car. However, I was well within the range before an oil change was due.they conducted an oil consumption test and found nothing was wrong. But every two months since then, I've had the same problem. I had another oil consumption test in January 2013. The results of each oil consumption test is said to be ok, but every two months an oil consumption test is required and my car keeps burning too much oil. Finally, the dealer told me that the engine needs to be overhauled. If this has been the problem all along, then this should have been done when I first made my complaint in December, before my warranty ran out. I was told that Toyota will not pay for my engine to be overhauled because my warranty is now expired. I'm forced to either pay $4,100 to overhaul the engine and hope that the problem will be fixed, or buy a new car. Toyota should be responsible for this since the problem began before my warranty ran out. Toyota has exclusively changed my oil for 6 years and was aware that the car was consuming too much oil. They should have suggested the engine overhaul during my warranty. It was faulty on their behalf not to mention the severity of this issue until after the warranty is expired. This prompted me to conducted research and I found that hundreds of people are having this issue. A recall on this engine should be made. Toyota offers no assistance in anytype of solution. If you can advise of any help I can get, please let me know. Thanks.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #41

Oct 312012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Extreme oil consumption-have to add 1 quart per week.

- Kibg, NC, USA

problem #40

Jun 172013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 108,906 miles
I went to world Toyota on 3/1/13 to get normal scheduled maintenance. I mentioned the check engine light came on while I was on the way to the dealership. A diagnostic test was performed and reported that I needed a R/R camshaft timing gear replaced.the check engine light was reset. I was told I didn't have to replace the part at that time, but would have to get it replaced when the light comes on again.the check engine light and maintenance req lights came on 6/11.I had a diagnostic run. I was told the camshaft gear needed to be replaced.I contacted world Toyota to have the part ordered and made an appt to come in on 6/21. On 6/17, I heard 2 loud popping noises. I checked the oil B/C there was smoke coming from the oil pan. I checked the dip stick twice and noticed it was dry. I placed 3 quarts of motor oil in the car.I started the engine. It started making a knocking sound. I parked and contacted world Toyota to explain the situation. I towed the car to the dealership on 6/19.the svc advisor told me the short block engine needed to be replaced; this was due to no fault of my own.there were no normal warning signs: Check oil light or black smoke. I got all the recommended svcs at the correct intervals. When I asked where the oil went, I was told it evaporated.the inspection report states I need refurbished engine or a new short block for $5,500 and $6,400. I was told those were the best prices that world Toyota could offer because the car is no longer under warranty. I called the Toyota cx exp ctr to voice my complaint and explained there are no recalls for this issue, but there are complaints for this same issue, oil consumption. I was told they could reimburse me $2,000 for replacing the engine or give me $1,000 off the purchase of a new or used Toyota vehicle once I submit an invoice stating I paid for the svc and that the engine was replaced by world Toyota.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #39

Jan 122013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle burned excessive oil. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis where it was advised that the piston assembly needed to replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximated failure mileage was 65,000.

- El Fegundo, CA, USA

problem #38

Feb 202013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle burned one quart of oil every 1,000 miles. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and it was confirmed that the vehicle was consuming oil but the dealer was unable to determine were the oil leak was coming from. The manufacturer told the contact that the vehicle is still within the tolerance of oil consumption. They manufacturer would not repair the vehicle under the extended warranty although it was related to the technical service bulletin. The oil and check engine light illuminated on the instrument panel whenever the failure occurred. The failure mileage was 67,000 and the current mileage was 70,000.

- Conway, AR, USA

problem #37

Jun 062013

Camry

  • 115,000 miles
My 2007 Camry is consuming around 3.5 quarts between 5000miles oil change intervals. This consumption is quite high by any standard. I believe that this is some sort of a manufacturing/design flaw which comes up once the vehicle comes out of warranty period. There are no leaks or visible signs of oil loss, I hate to say the engine is burning the oil and polluting the environment. Toyota should acknowledge and fix this problem for all Camry customers.

- Sandy Springs, GA, USA

problem #36

Sep 172011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While my fiancee was driving home from work on the freeway one evening in the month of September 2011, the low oil pressure light suddenly came on. When she arrived home I checked the oil level and found that it was approximately 3 quarts low (maximum capacity is 4.5 quarts). I had the vehicle inspected at a local facility, lexology, that specializes in Toyota/Lexus. The owner performed a diagnostic and told me it was a known excessive oil consumption with the 2az-F3 engines. He showed me the technical service bulletin (T-sb-0094-11), and informed me that it was a manufacturing defect that would eventually lead to collateral damage of the vehicle ignition and emission control system that would adversely affect the safety of the vehicle and increase its carbon footprint. I subsequently took the vehicle to the dealership where an inspection test was performed in accordance with the tsb and the excessive oil consumption problem was confirmed. I contacted Toyota and opened a case number (1202062104). There were several exchanges by phone and in writing with Toyota in attempt to get Toyota to take responsibility and ownership of the problem. The exchanges were unsuccessful and I filed a small claims suit (superior court of California case # 13S00672). The small claims suit was also unsuccessful and I am now taking any and all action within my power to bring the matter to the attention of others. I can see by other filed complaints that this is a widespread problem. Personal impact aside, this is a vehicle and environmental safety issue. I put almost as much oil in the car every week as I do gasoline. The additional emissions caused by the oil burning is being offset partially by the emission control system, but only partially, and eventually will fail to filter it out altogether. I urge NHTSA to take action and raise this to recall status and hold Toyota accountable.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #35

Jun 012010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 75,650 miles
I had gotten my oil changed and 2 weeks later it was 2 quarts low on oil. I took it back to see if there was a leak and they said no nothing was wrong, but from that time on I have had to add at least 2 quarts of oil every two weeks. I am afraid my motor will blow. The light doesn't come on to say it is low on oil, if I don't just check I will not know. I have heard similar complaints from others with the 2007 Camry. My sister also has a 2008 I believe it is Scion and she is having the same problems. I take it for the regular oil changes and a week after the oil is low and burning.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #34

Apr 292013

Camry

  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the piston and rings needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 133,000. The VIN number was not available.

- Mt. Ida, AR, USA

problem #33

Apr 242013

Camry

  • 66,200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the engine block needed to be replaced because it was burning oil. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 66,200.

- Fayetteville, AR, USA

problem #32

Feb 132012

Camry

  • 158,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was parked in a parking garage with the car running I was speaking on the phone via the vehicles bluetooth. Upon ending the call I exited the car to ensure it was parked properly between the lines and close enough to the wall in front of the parking space. I then retrieved my laptop bag, coat and hat from the drivers side backseat. I put my coat on closed it up, put on my hat and extended the arm on my laptop bag. I then closed the back door and turned to retrieve items from the front seat and turn off the vehicle. As I turned to return to return to the front seat door the car flew out of the parking space. As the car passed me and the car beside me the front door swung completely open. I ran and chased the car for fear it might hit someone and also assuming I did not place the car in park. Upon jumping into the moving car the first thing that hit me was the bright "P" lit up on the dash indicating the car was already in park. I attempted to apply the brakes and also constantly pushing the gear up. Finally both my actions and the cars acceleration were stopped by the slamming of the car into a cement wall. While I have no recollection of the actual impact the visible signs upon my body were a large red knot over my right eye as well as scraped and bloody knees. After finally turning the car off the car failed to start up again. The incident was reported by my husband to the car manufacturer the day of the incident and while they provided us with a 60 day maximum timeframe the time has lapsed and we still have heard nothing from the manufacturer. Note: Mileage is approximate.

- New Castle, DE, USA

problem #31

Apr 132013

Camry

  • 53,110 miles
For the past 8 months, I have been checking the engine oil level to find out that at around 1200 miles the car is burning oil, 1/2 quart to be exact. I think it is extremely unusual for a car with such low miles to burn that much oil. So far I replaced the PCV valve, thinking that will fix the problem but it did not work. I see no evidence of any leaks from oil pan or head gasket or oil cap. Today I had the dealer replace my water pump due to antifreeze leaking from it. I will have the dealer look into this but I feel I will get the same response that the others 07 Camry owners are getting. At this moment I feel there is an engine problem. I will do my part to rectify the problem but warranty is getting close to expire. Just like the other people here. I think Toyota is running around the problem.

- Massapequa, NY, USA

problem #30

Nov 182011

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
I have been having problems out of my 2007 Camry for over about a year and a half now. Probably after 2-3 months of getting my oil changed, I have having to put more oil in it between oil changing. I have been to 2 different dealerships and an automechanic shop in which no one has seen any oil leaks. What I have noticed when my oil light comes on, it is harder for me to stop my vehicle. When I check my oil, it's almost nothing in there. I have seen other complaints related to this and this may be something that Toyota need to look in to immediately. I did not have this problem with my 05 Camry and if there is no oil leak, there shouldn't be a reason I have to put oil in my car in between oil changing!

- Benton, AR, USA

problem #29

Feb 092013

Camry

  • 101,293 miles
There is excessive oil consumption for this vehicle. I got an oil and filter change on 2/9/13 because the low oil light was flashing. I drove my car back and forth to work and home as normal which is about 15 miles each way. My oil light is back on indicating low oil and the dipstick also indicates low oil. Today is 3/4/13. It has not even been 3000 miles since my last oil change. I am afraid to drive this car because I do not know if the engine will fail at any given moment. There are several complaints on the internet indicating other owners are also having this issue. This appears to be a defect with the car. Please address this issue with Toyota. It is not safe to have an oil change and not know at any time that your engine could be running on low/no oil.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #28

Mar 062012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 41,500 miles
My Toyota Camry 2007 burns oil excessively. When I first discovered the problem it was because the oil light flashed on, and then back off. Being on the safe side, I checked the oil level to make sure the light coming on briefly was not a fluke. To my surprise, my engine was nearly bone dry. If I hadn't checked the level, the engine could easily have seized. I brought it to my Toyota dealership, magic Toyota of edmonds, wa, who completed an "oil consumption check" and informed me that the car's burning of oil is within acceptable limits. A couple of days ago, I checked my oil level again. I had only put about 2900 miles on it since its last oil change and, once again, my dipstick showed the oil level to be below the bottom dot which indicates the oil is dangerously low. I again brought the car to magic Toyota where they proceeded to tell me that I didn't properly read the dipstick and that their technician found that the oil level was only 1/2 of a quart below full. They made a mark with a pen on a drawing of the dipstick to show me where the oil level had been. This was entirely untrue and fraudulent! I believe Toyota is covering up an oil burning problem in the 2007 Camry. Please help!

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #27

Feb 022013

Camry

  • 95,400 miles
My engine has a defect. It is burning oil. I burned 2 quarts, although I have serviced the car regular with scheduled maintenance interval.I went to dealership, bev smith Toyota in fort pierce, Florida on febuary 02, 2013. They said the vehicle engine lacked 2 quarts of oil, which they added. My contact on Saturday, February 02, 2013 was james badillo who is the customer relations manager at the facility advised me since the engine is burning oil, piston rings will needs to be replaced. This is not normal. There is a defect in one or more component of the engine which is causing oil leak internally that Toyota should find the cause and pay for the repair. Please make them issue a recall/cover cost of necessary repairs. I am not the only one, there are many 2007 Toyota Camry owners who have defective engine per my research online with the same issue of burning oil. I have followed recommended maintenance schedule on the vehicle through the lifetime of my ownership of this car since I purchased it new on August 07, 2007 from bev smith Toyota. I have done all the oil changes at recommended intervals. I have contacted Toyota national headquarters and they are refusing to cover repair bill because they said car is out of warranty. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fort Pierce, FL, USA

problem #26

Jul 012012

Camry

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that she noticed that the exhaust tail pipe was black and the oil was consumed prematurely. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 61,000 and the current mileage was 67,000.

- St Louis , MO, USA

problem #25

Sep 212011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
On or about September, 2011, and within warranty, my oil light came on. I immediately went to ira Toyota. I had two quarts of oil remaining in crankcase. They conducted an oil consumption test, one of three, and told me that the loss of one half quart per 1,000 miles was within specs. Rubbish. I then complained to Toyota motor sales, usa, Inc. They sent me their engineer who stated that Toyota would fix the problem. They performed another oil consumption test, of course. Never saw engineer again. Before engineer, ira Toyota offered to fix it. They claimed it was a $1,500 job and if I gave them $150, they would fix it. They "repaired auto" but it remained the same. And they kept the $150. They kept lying to me for a year. Then, they told me that they would not honor my complaint. Now, my auto uses one quart of oil per 600 miles. Toyota is a fraud. They have so many complaints that they cannot financially take care of all of them. Their vehicles are lemons and their warranties are worthless. (short version)

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #24

Jan 142013

Camry

  • 116,000 miles
Vehicle was purchased new and has performed well to this point but the other day the oil pressure light flashed a couple times. A check showed the level completely off the stick and took 2.5 quarts to fill. Engine oil had just been changed 2500 miles previous to this. Since filling to the mark, it has used an additional.5 quarts in the last 500 miles. Car is garaged when not being driven and does not appear to be leaking (no spots on garage floor). Some soot in tail pipe but is not smoking. I have owned ~9 different cars and never had one use oil like this. Information on Toyota's web site indicates this is normal. Vehicle should be recalled with defective engine.

- Wilcox, PA, USA

problem #23

Jan 092013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I was driving to work in the early morning, all of a sudden engine started making some wired noise and within next 2 min vehicle stopped in the middle of freeway (somehow managed to pull it out to shoulder) could have been fatal injury, then towed the vehicle to dealership, they found that engine sized because of waterpump breakdown, (it didn't give me no time to take that into dealer ) how this could happen for such a low miles and abt 5.5 years old and well maintained vehicle, was complained abt this to Toyota but didn't get a satisfactory answers.

- Dublin, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?