Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 1
Average Mileage:
36,919 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #55

May 152011


  • 79,000 miles


@79K miles, oil light came on. Added 1.5 qts of oil. Took car in for 80K service (all service up to date). Told dealer of low oil problem. Dealer advised 05/31/2011 driveability; customer states that oil light came on dash about 500 miles ago added 1 quart of oil saw a cloud of smoke from exhaust..note advised customer that tech did find oil low performed oil change and marked dip stick added dye to oil advised customer to return with in 500 miles to see if any dye residue coming from tail pipe E. returned car to dealer @ about 700 miles and dealer advised 06/30/2011 engine minor. Customer states that engine was burning oil we topped off oil and added dye check and advise, as pertom sinica that as per Toyota spec is every car is allowed to use 1qt of oil in 1200 miles. I called Toyota customer service and was given a case #, Toyota sent case back to dealer, dealer called me to tell me they can't do anything because car is running within specs. Toyota in my opinion is hiding behind their 2007 Camry owners manual in which they told me to check. I read the oil consumption page (pg 291) of the manual and it also states" a new engine consumes more oil, since its pistons, piston rings and cylinder walls have not become conditioned". to me that says there is a problem because I am burning more oil as the car gets older. I own another Toyota (2010). Just traded in a 2002 Camry with 203,000 miles (never had to add a drop of oil) and owned a 1986 Toyota supra died @ 246K miles never added a drop of oil. One other thing the 2007 Camry is under extended warranty not that it helps this problem. I am waiting for the dealer to get back to me again.

- North Plainfield , NJ, USA

problem #54

Jul 072011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
2007 Toyota Camry, 4cl high oil burning rate - car engine was making loud. Brought to dealership and was told that I had almost no oil in the engine. Damage was done to various parts including crank shaft, water pump.

- Toronto, On, Canada, 00, USA

problem #53

May 022011

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry. Consumer writes to express discontent regarding poor mileage and acceleration issues the consumer stated the engine idles very high and running hot. The consumer stated he recently hit another vehicle, when it accelerated out of control.

- New Hartford, NY, USA

problem #52

Mar 192011


  • 48,000 miles


We bought a 2007 Toyota Camry in October 06 and have been experiencing low oil levels for the past 3 years. On a couple of occasions, the oil level has gotten so low that the oil light came on. We have been reporting the problem to two separate Toyota dealerships and they've asked me to return the car for oil checks after 1000 miles, which show a lost of over a quart of oil. Our Toyota dealership has been telling us that it is normal for the Camry to consume over a quart of oil after 1000 to 3,000 miles and there is no problem to fix. I have an extended warranty through fidelity and a service specialist by the name of [xxx] at Toyota of orlando been giving me the run around about getting fidelity to give them the go ahead to resolve the issue. He said that he has called fidelity a couple of times to get authorization but they have not gotten back with him but will contact us when he gets the ok. It has been over two weeks since he said he has been trying to get the go ahead from fidelity, so we decided to call fidelity to find out why they were delaying giving the dealership the go ahead to fix the car, seeing that we have the platinum place. Fidelity informed us that no one from Toyota of orlando has ever contacted them at any time about our 2007 Camry. We then spoke with a service manager by the name of [xxx] and he has been giving me the same story about it is not unusual for the Camry to consume over a quart of oil between 1000 to 3000 miles, so there is nothing to fix. We have owned over 8 cars and has never had this type of problem. I have spoken to several mechanics and they informed me that this problem should not be happening to a newer model car like ours. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #51

Oct 072010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
2007 Toyota Camry 2.4L at 68,000 miles - water pump failure.

- Duncan, OK, USA

problem #50

May 022010


  • 23,992 miles
The contact owns a motor 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact was inspecting the vehicle and noticed that the engine oil was lower than normal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed as the oil sub-assembly container. The dealer replaced and sealed the oil sub-assembly container yet the failure did not persist. The failure mileage was 23,992 and the current mileage was 29,900.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #49

Jun 132010


  • 50,298 miles


2007 Toyota Camry - while slowing down in traffic from 30 mph, as I reached approximately 10 mph the engine "revved up"......I had to brake harder while the car was bucking as if it wanted to speed ahead....after 5 seconds, engine slowed abruptly so that we thought it had stalled but it was just back to the usual idling speed. The car was brought in to the Toyota dealership on June 16, 2010 right after this incident. They examined the car, found nothing wrong and charged us $96. This "revving up" has happened before but not as severe as this occurrence. Since the June 16 incident, it has happened six other times several of which were severe. The most recent severe incident was on August 21, 2010. We have notified the Toyota corporation but as of today, 8/25/2010, they have not advised us as to what to do. We are not driving the car until this is resolved and the car is found to be safe.

- Newtonville, MA, USA

problem #48

Aug 122010

(reported on)


  • 28,000 miles
2007 Toyota Camry. Consumer states problem with vehicle struts the consumer stated the check engine light illuminated and there was a slight leak coming the struts. The consumer was told the leaking was normal, but, they would monitor it every 5,000 miles. The consumer was unable to get back to the dealer within the 5,000 miles and by the time he did return, the struts were leaking past the lower spring seat. The quality of the ride; especially when going over bumps had worsened. All four struts were leaking and had to be replaced.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #47

Jun 082008


  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated the vehicle was consuming engine oil at an unusually rapid rate. The manufacturer advised that the oil consumption was normal. The dealer performed a diagnostic but was unable to produce any failure codes. The dealer advised that the vehicle could potentially stall or the engine could be destroyed because of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 25,000 and the current mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Worchester , MA, USA

problem #46

Apr 142010


  • 0 miles
I purchased a Toyota Camry 2007 about three years ago and my transmission went out despite the fact that I received the require maintenance on the vehicle. I am still paying a car note on this vehicle, but can not drive it because of this problem. I addressed my concerns to Toyota and initially jack taylors and dar cars of Toyota stated they could take 10% off the 4800 they quoted me. I felt disrespected and insulted because I have brought several cars from Toyota and never experienced any major a single mother and person that is still paying a car note, I did not have that kind of money. I then explored other alternatives, so that I can shop for the best possible price at other transmissions shop. The first shop I went you was A-1 transmission(suitland, md)and they indicated that this is a common problem in Toyota Camry regarding transmission issues. I then took it to cottman's transmission(waldorf, md) and mechanic indicated that this is common issue in Toyota. Reportedly, he stated that there are defects with some of the bolts and things they use. I decided to go with cottmans because of their reputation and price. Also, because they offered the best warranty( 3year). Toyota jack taylor, alexandira, va phoned me a couple days after, stating that they could give me 50% off theprice, however, it was being work on in the shop, so I ask if they could pay half the price that cottman's was giving me and they said "no". I feel like I am being penalized for Toyota's deficiencies. After getting my car fixed, it does not drive the same and literally I feel like I am paying for something that doesn't adequately supply my need(lemon) I use to work for NHTSA hotline and I wanted to report this issue because this has caused undue hardship and burden on my family. I a rent a car for about two weeks and can not pay my daughter's tuition for school. My daughter's school has extended grace to me. I would appreciate if you all would investigate this mat.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #45

Mar 092010


  • 60,000 miles


I own a 2007 Camry ce. Last month I noticed the oil lamp was on but my oil change wasn't due for another 2000 miles. I took it to Toyota and they topped off the oil and asked me to return at 1000 miles. I did and the oil was again low. They topped it off again and asked me to return at 500 miles-I did. I left the vehicle overnight at the dealer's request because the oil was being consumed at a certain rate and couldn't be explained. I received a call the next day to let me know that they don't know the problem and the only solution is to "rebuilt" the engine at a cost of $6900 plus tax. Unfortunately, my warranty ran out at 60K miles and I have 62K miles now. I had less than $61K miles when this all started so I'm only out of warranty by a few hundred miles! how is it possible to have this kind of repair for a vehicle I've taken care of with oil changes every 5K miles. I refuse to pay more than I owe on this vehicle and I will seek help from the media if Toyota refuses to do the right thing. Fix it w/O breaking the bank!

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #44

Apr 062010


  • 65,000 miles
Driving my Camry, stopped at a red light and my engine died. No problems with my car and no indication there was a problem.

- Brentwood, TN, USA

problem #43

Mar 072010


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact started the vehicle and noticed there was a loud knocking noise coming from the engine and that the engine had began to rev excessively, the contact also noticed a small amount of fluid leaking from the rear of the vehicle. The contact did notify the dealer of the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Great Nick , NY, USA

problem #42

Mar 032010


  • 23,000 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) on 2/18/2010 my 2007 Toyota Camry was recalled and repaired at prince Chevrolet in tifton, Georgia. (VIN [xxx]). car was purchase at inner state Nissan in tifton, ga>.all was supposed to be well. On 3/01/2010 my Camry accelerated at a high speed while approaching my home at [xxx] causing me to maneuver the vehicle into a ditch right in front of my house. For some reason I was not able to put the vehicle in reverse to back vehicle out of ditch in my drive way. By the tires constantly spinning an a high rate the entire vehicle became engulfed in flames. Everything is now gone. I contacted Toyota Corp and was issued a case number (ref # [xxx] ). what should I do" at this point any safe mode of transportation would do, for it is my wife that is terminally and need to be brought home under hospice care. How should handle this" [xxx]

- Fitzgerald, GA, USA

problem #41

Feb 032010


  • 20,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Camry xle was seen at our Toyota dealership and our local mechanic about 4 times during late 2008 and 2009 for frequent high revving of the engine and rpms. No "fix" ever occurred. The dealership said they could not find anything. I am very concerned now with the current recall, and I'm contacting the dealership again today.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #40

Jan 302010


  • 75,000 miles
I was driving on an interstate highway and without any warning the vvti line captured draining all the oil and subsequently causing a lot of damage to the engine.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #39

Dec 102007


  • miles
The engine often hesitates for several seconds when I step on the gas. This often happens when I am rapidly accelerating to enter a freewayor simply pulling away from a stop light. This is a dangerous situation as I need the car to accelerate to enter fast moving traffic but I cannot count on the engine to rapidly speed up. After several seconds of hesitation, the car then accelerates too rapidly. I have had an issue with this car since I have owned it and have been given every excuse in the world as to why the vehicle performs in this matter from the computer has to "learn " your driving style to that is how Toyota made the vehicle. They replaced the transmission and rebooted the computer and still the problem. I also had the vvti oil line break and dump oil and had been driving like that for over 100 miles-I had replaced the regular oil with synthetic oil -Toyota replaced the line and used the exact same kind of part that had failed when I requested they replace it with the upgraded part I was told that it was not a warranty part replacement for the failure and if I wanted them to put the other part on they would but the car would not be covered under warranty because of the non specified part being put on the car, lets hope it does not fail again. Two issues one ongoing one not fixed with the upgraded part--shame on Toyota!!

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #38

Dec 232009

Camry 6-cyl

  • 71,200 miles
I am not sure what led up to the problem, however on December 23, 2009 at about 0515 am pst I was notified by a co-worker that a large oil puddle was beneath the passenger side of the vehicle. The oil leak was sudden and began to drip oil from engine area causing a burning smell to emit from the engine. On that same day I took the vehicle to my local Toyota dealership for service to correct the problem. The dealer removed and replaced vvti oil line, timing chain cover, and drive belts. Would like to find out if a previous Toyota limited safety campaign lsc 90K should be expanded to include 2007 Toyota Camry V-6.

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #37

Jun 122008

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While idling at a stop sign, she heard a clunk noise. The vehicle was taken to a Toyota dealer for inspection. The technicians could not identify the failure. No repairs were made. The current mileage was 26000. The VIN number was not available. Updated 01/05/10. The consumer stated the noise was coming from the gas pedal. Updated 01/07/10.

- Springfield , OH, USA

problem #36

Jan 052008


  • 0 miles
Toyota has a repair for the hesitation problem in the 2007 Camry I know this because mine was repaired by my dealer and it only took 30-45 minutes I threatened with lawsuits to Toyota and my dealer took care of the problem so if your dealer tells you that the drive by wire is made to hesitate etc. They are feeding you a line.

- Stow, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?