Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,653 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Apr 222009


  • 40,000 miles


On April 22, 2009, an oil line part #15707-31030 ruptured on our 2007 Toyota Camry VIN very rapidly pumping oil from the engine and requiring immediate repair. Since April 2009, while investigating reimbursement for repair costs, several Toyota service representatives from local dealerships stated that Toyota has identified this model engine in avalon vehicles as having this same ruptured oil line defect as occurred on my vehicle. Since July 2009 while seeking reimbursement for engine repairs with Toyota customer service, I requested that this issue be pursued internal to identify this defect through technical bulletin or recall for Camry vehicles. On January 6, 2010, I spoke to miguel lopez, supervisor, Toyota customer experience, department WC10, Toyota motor sales, U.S.a., reference this issue and he stated very clearly that "no action or follow-up" phone calls or other communication would be taken by his office to investigate this safety issue with Camry?S. he stated that safety concerns would have to be taken through a local dealership. Mr. Lopez stated he was the senior supervisor and he would not connect me to any other supervisor or point of contact within Toyota.

- Cobden, IL, USA

problem #27

Nov 302009


  • miles
Toyota Camry 2007 - sudden acceleration in reverse. When I am backing up the car at slow speeds (such as backing out of my garage) the car often suddenly accelerates backwards. When backing up out of my garage I must keep my foot on the brake at all times and be ready to step hard on the brake to stop the sudden backwards acceleration. When driving forward, the engine often hesitates for several seconds when I step on the gas. This often happens when I am rapidly accelerating to enter a freeway. This is a dangerous situation as I need the car to accelerate to enter fast moving traffic but I cannot count on the engine to rapidly speed up. After several seconds of hesitation, the car then accelerates too rapidly. My Toyota dealer claims to have fixed the rapid acceleration when driving backwards, but the problem was not fixed. As for the acceleration hesitation, the Toyota dealer claimed that the problem I described did not exist.

- Tiburon, CA, USA

problem #26

Aug 012009


  • 107,000 miles
2007 Camry xle V6, this is my second car (lemon law replaced first Camry at 300 miles new) and 4th transmission, all covered by Toyota. Last week all oil drained from vehicle while driving.. oil spewed from underneath vehicle for miles. My girlfriend called me at work, asked me to check my car as she saw my trail of oil for 1/4 mile.. took car to my mechanic, found a rubber hose, a clamp on each end about 6 inches long, the clamps and hose had to be replaced, because oil spewed out of this part. If my girlfriend hadn't called me, my engine would have seized. As when I checked it at work a puddle of oil was under vehicle, and the dip stick showed no oil in vehicle. What if I was on vacation or traveling out of state, my car engine would have been destroyed. Engine would have seized due to no oil in engine. Big problem................................................

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #25

Jun 232009


  • 20,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 20 mph, the contact rear ended the preceding vehicle. He immediately noticed smoke coming from the front end and grill area of the vehicle. Five minutes later, flames appeared from the bottom of the front end of the vehicle. The entire front end became engulfed in flames. A police report was filed. There were no injuries. The current mileage was 20,000.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #24

Jun 202009

Camry 6-cyl

  • 56,335 miles
2007 Toyota Camry with 2gr-fe V-6 engine had a failed vvti pressure pipe assy. Major oil leak developed which caused a loss of engine oil. No warning lights came on. Dealer replaced with the same part number 15707-31030 with the rubber connection instead of the updated all metal part number 15772-31030. I had 56335 miles on the vehicle so it was under warranty but now I am concerned about this event occurring again after another 56000 miles. I went on the internet and now realize that this problem exist on many of the Toyota vehicles with this type engine. I feel there should be a recall issued by Toyota before someone gets hurt. (fire, broke down on the side of road and another vehicle crashes into you etc.)

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #23

Apr 282008


  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle shut off twice while driving various speeds. While the vehicle was stopped and about to make a left turn, the engine revved and the vehicle did not move. Suddenly, the transmission engaged and the speed drastically increased. The contact sped through a traffic light. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they reset the computer. A couple of weeks later, the vehicle revved up again and accelerated. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer once again and they rechecked the computer, but found no failures. The dealer could not duplicate the failure and offer further assistance. The failure mileage was 32,000.

- Torrington, CT, USA

problem #22

Mar 162009


  • 16,000 miles


The us federal trade commission has determined in its 2006 & 2007 reports that the Toyota Camry was the highest listed vehicle to be arbitrated. The failure I encountered was that the vehicle failed to move or react when you applied the gas pedal, this is due to a serious gap in response time due to the Toyota "drive by wire" process, software flash updates per the tsb-ECM are not solving the problem, which led to my accident, this problem may have the potential for causing serious injury or death as a result of not being able to accelerate out of harms way. I encourage Toyota Camry owners to return their vehicles per their states respective lemon laws or the federal magnuson-moss act. 2006 Toyota has the highest complaint rating, 286 complaints, totaling 83.9% of the complaints. Toyota has the top 3 spots for complaints on their vehicles the Toyota Camry was the most complained about vehicle from everyone in all groups 42 complaints, totaling 12.3% of all complaints. 2007 again Toyota took 85 complaints, totaling 84.2% the top 3 vehicles were from Toyota, the Camry again is in place number 3 12 total complaints, totaling 11.9%, the highest now 2 years in a row. The reports were obtained from

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #21

Mar 012009


  • 63,000 miles
Failure of vvti oil line causing complete engine failure. 2007 Toyota Camry V6. 63000 miles dealer said common problem. Defective oil line. Toyota paid zero. Dealer replaced engine at a discount.

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #20

Mar 132009


  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 35 mph, the variable valve timing oil supply hose ruptured. As a result, engine oil sprayed all over the exhaust system, engine, and down into the tail pipes. Both front wheel wells began to smoke. Upon further investigation, the contact found large puddles of engine oil. There were no warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they stated that it would take over five weeks to obtain the part (hose) needed to make the repairs due to a national back order. The current and failure mileages were less than 69,000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #19

Mar 132009


  • 62,000 miles
Without warning, the vvt oil supply hose ruptured, spraying engine oil all over the engine, undercarriage and hot exhaust of my vehicle. This is a 2007 Toyota Camry xle with the 3.5 litre engine. The vehicle lost almost all of it's engine oil in a very short period of time and no warning lights or indicators ever came on. Traveling at highway speeds and with the catalytic converter at peak operating temperatures, this poses a very serious fire hazard. After having my vehicle towed to the Toyota dealer, I was advised that the ruptured hose was on national backorder and would take at least 5 weeks to get. I contacted Toyota's corporate offices and was told that production of the hoses could not meet the demand for them and that it may take 5 weeks or more to get the part at my local dealer. I was informed by a very reliable source that at the present time, Toyota has approximately 1100 vehicles with this same issue across the country. The other problem is that the oil has covered all of the rubber suspension parts from the front of the vehicle all the way to the rear tailpipe tips. After sitting for several weeks, this can cause catastrophic damage to all of the rubber suspension parts. I feel that the Toyota corporation is trying to limit it's expense for these premature failures of this oil supply hose and this poses a serious threat to the safety of anyone riding in the vehicle. This should certainly warrant a look by the NHTSA as it appears that the problem is larger tan the ability of Toyota to fix. This also places an unwarranted burden on the customer who has to pay for a defective car that is out of service and also pay for rental transportation to remain gainfully employed.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #18

Mar 172009


  • 84,116 miles


Oil shooting from rear oil transfer hose at 84,116 even though car was recently serviced. Mechanic said Toyota is changing from mesh hose to steel hose and is aware of problem. No service bulletins or recall notices have been sent out. Car was repaired with new hose, oil, filter and engine was steam cleaned. Engine appeared ok but car could have seized on the freeway and caused an accident.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #17

Mar 162009


  • 17,000 miles
I bought my Toyota Camry brand new from ed morse Toyota of delray beach Florida in Aug 2007, it was a brand new 2007 Camry le, six cylinder, I reported on numerous occasions at the dealership that the car would stop or hesitate, they never fixed the problem, today on 3/16/2008 at 11:02am the hesitation contributed to me having a severe accident and was reported to fhp report# fhpl090ff014673 I had brought in the vehicle for hesitation issues on 10/17/2007,11/28/2008, 2/25/2009.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #16

Feb 242009


  • 63,000 miles
Vvti line in 2007 Toyota Camry with 63000 miles burst out of the blue. Engine oil everywhere. Part not in stock, will take 3 weeks for part to come in.

- Moultonboro, NH, USA

problem #15

Aug 012008


  • 9,000 miles
I purchased 2007 Toyota Camry le. I have had nothing but trouble with it. The car has put me and my family in danger every time we accelerate. It will not go. The car almost stalls out. Also when I make left turns the steering seems to lock up. I have to jerk the car back to the right to get the steering wheel to unstick. Brought it to the dealer and they tell me everything is okay. Of course they will say that. I think they train them in school to use that answer. I will be bringing the car back to them because this is getting scary. The car only has 12K miles on it. I have seen hundreds of complaints on this same thing so if they state does not do something, than they should be held liable if someone dies in an accident.

- Livingston, LA, USA

problem #14

Aug 152007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. Whenever the contact decelerates from 20 mph and then begins to accelerate, the vehicle stalls for 1-5 seconds before accelerating. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was informed that the failure was a characteristic of the vehicle and would repair itself over time. The failure still persists. The current mileage was 37,000 and failure mileage was 23,000. Updated 09/10/08. Updated 09/16/08.

- Abbeville, SC, USA

problem #13

Nov 262007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 600 miles
I bought a 2007 Toyota Camry xle 4cylinder in August 2006 and 4 times it has ran out of oil. The dealership does not know why this is happening and has me bringing in my car every 500 miles to check the oil levels.

- Waipahu, HI, USA

problem #12

Feb 012007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 250 miles
Car downshifts on small hills while using cruise control. Car hesitates at times and has poor acceleration as the transmission searches for a gear. This lasts for seconds, creating a safety hazard. The problems were resolved with a tsb issued 8/2/07 but the problem came back after a few days. It seemed Toyota's "learning" drivetrain re-learned all the problems.

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #11

Aug 282007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15 miles
My 2007 Camry xle 4 cyl/auto have 2 powertrain problems. 1) the engine has an excessive "oil consumption" problem. It burns a qt. Of oil every 1,000 miles. Twice in the last 10K miles a warning alarm came on, followed by a"low eng oil pressure" light. Each time we found almost 2 qt. Low-verified by dealer, who can't find any external leaks or smoke. After a lengthy 3rd visit to the dealer for extensive testing, they returned my car without finding the problem. Toyota-engineering has no idea how to fix this problem either, so the dealer can only check/add oil weekly-indefinitely. 2) the transmission does not respond when entering/merging freeways. I must endure near-misses almost daily because the car won't go whenever I stump on the accelerater, causing me to have nightmares of being rear-ended on the freeway. This car is not safe and the manufacturer can't fix it!

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #10

Dec 022006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 250 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While attempting to accelerate from a stop, the vehicle hesitated. When driving on an incline, the vehicle downshifted automatically without warning. The failure began one week after purchasing the vehicle. The dealer stated that the vehicle was operating normally. The speed was unknown. The failure mileage was 250 and current mileage was 6,300.

- Debary, FL, USA

problem #9

Oct 012006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 10-15 mph or at a stop, the vehicle stalls. The contact stated that the vehicle also hesitates as if it will stall, but dramatically decelerates instead. On one occasion, while driving approximately 30-35 mph, the vehicle pulled to the left. The vehicle has been to the dealer at least five times and they stated that the failure was caused by improper calibration. There was a service bulletin regarding this failure. Some dealers have refused to repair her vehicle and stated that it was designed to perform in that manner. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persists. The service bulletin number was unknown. The current mileage was 10,000 and failure mileage was 100.

- Lincontech, NC, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?