Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 1
Average Mileage:
36,919 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #95

Aug 072015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Toyota Camry is blowing white powder (aluminum oxide) when the air conditioning/heat is coming out of the vents. Online research points out to the anti-mold, experimental coding that Toyota put on the evaporator fans, and this is what is causing the issue. However, Toyota does not want to admit this coding was put on the vehicles in 2007, and there is no official recall about this issue. At the same time, the long-term exposure to aluminum oxide could lead to lung damage. I was wondering what can be done in a case like this. Please advise. Toyota said that since my vehicle is not under warranty of any kind, all repairs would have to be covered by me. Thank you for your advice and thought on the issue. My case number with the Toyota is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #94

May 062014

Camry

  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry caught fire spontaneously. The vehicle was a total loss.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #93

Sep 072014

Camry

  • 123,785 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 65 mph, the ABS and emergency warning indicators illuminated. The air conditioner produced hot air, the engine sputtered, and the speed rapidly decreased. The contact had to pull the vehicle over, place it into park and then back into drive in order for it to operate normally. The dealer stated that the ABS actuator had internal failure and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 123,785.

- Bellflower, CA, USA

problem #92

Jul 112013

Camry

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

White powder or dust blowing out of air vents of my heating vents in winter and ac vents in summer. Due to that car also smell like dusty etc.. this problem is occurring since last summer, problem persist last summer, winter and now this summer. First time my kids (4 and 3 years old) was riding in my car to grocery store 3 miles from home, they had problem breathing and they are coughing, so I have open my all window, so kids can breathe. I am exhaling that white powder inside me, I am not sure what that powder is, and how it will effect my health in long term. I took my care to 3 different Toyota dealerships and everyone said without open my car that this is known issue with this model.

- Blaine, MN, USA

problem #91

Feb 172014

Camry

  • 55,980 miles
1st repair: 2/17/2014: Check engine light/smoking/stalling: Replace water pump and drive belt $539. 2nd repair: 4/07/2014: Check engine light/rough idle: Replace spark plugs and #2 coil, air filter $540. 3rd repair: 4/04/2014: Check engine light/rough idle/overheated: Cracked head gasket, replace thermostat, oil valve, coolant, coil plug clips found broken from previous repair $1811 (occurred while on a trip -stranded, 2 weeks w/O car due to location of repair shop due to being on vacation) 4th repair: 5/23/2014: Check engine light/stalling: Found oil leaking into spark plug tube shorting coil; replaced valve cover gasket, sealed spark plug tubes $560 total repair from 2/17 to 5/23/2014 grand total: $3450 we purchased vehicle on the pretense of a very reliable/low maintenance. Very disappointed and not very likely to ever recommend Toyota to anyone. Our question remains............................can we get any reimbursement. The toyotat service advisor was surprised that the water pump, which started this fiasco, failed with such low mileage.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #90

Feb 172014

Camry

  • 55,980 miles
1st repair: 2/17/2014: Check engine light/smoking/stalling: Replace water pump and drive belt $539. 2nd repair: 4/07/2014: Check engine light/rough idle: Replace spark plugs and #2 coil, air filter $540. 3rd repair: 4/04/2014: Check engine light/rough idle/overheated: Cracked head gasket, replace thermostat, oil valve, coolant, coil plug clips found broken from previous repair $1811 (occurred while on a trip -stranded, 2 weeks w/O car due to location of repair shop due to being on vacation) 4th repair: 5/23/2014: Check engine light/stalling: Found oil leaking into spark plug tube shorting coil; replaced valve cover gasket, sealed spark plug tubes $560 total repair from 2/17 to 5/23/2014 grand total: $3450 we purchased vehicle on the pretense of a very reliable/low maintenance. Very disappointed and not very likely to ever recommend Toyota to anyone. Our question remains............................can we get any reimbursement. The toyotat service advisor was surprised that the water pump, which started this fiasco, failed with such low mileage.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #89

Feb 172014

Camry

  • 55,980 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1st repair: 2/17/2014: Check engine light/smoking/stalling: Replace water pump and drive belt $539. 2nd repair: 4/07/2014: Check engine light/rough idle: Replace spark plugs and #2 coil, air filter $540. 3rd repair: 4/04/2014: Check engine light/rough idle/overheated: Cracked head gasket, replace thermostat, oil valve, coolant, coil plug clips found broken from previous repair $1811 (occurred while on a trip -stranded, 2 weeks w/O car due to location of repair shop due to being on vacation) 4th repair: 5/23/2014: Check engine light/stalling: Found oil leaking into spark plug tube shorting coil; replaced valve cover gasket, sealed spark plug tubes $560 total repair from 2/17 to 5/23/2014 grand total: $3450 we purchased vehicle on the pretense of a very reliable/low maintenance. Very disappointed and not very likely to ever recommend Toyota to anyone. Our question remains............................can we get any reimbursement. The toyotat service advisor was surprised that the water pump, which started this fiasco, failed with such low mileage.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #88

Jun 052009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
I bought this car brand new in 2007 and have been having issues with it since 2009 with the car burning oil. I took it to the Toyota dealership ( not the one I bought the car from) on several occasions and they had no explanation for it. I would get my scheduled oil changes and before it was due to get the next, the oil light would come on signaling the oil was low. When I would go to check my oil, sure enough, there was little to no oil in my car.. each oil change the mechanic was mind boggled that there was no oil in my car. Of course, I was alarmed as I know I do not drive my car much and I could not for the life of me understand where the oil was going since I did not have a leak.. after my last oil change, I found out the engine must be burning the oil. This is beyond unsafe. Had I not looked for similar situations online, I would have not had any idea that this is a common issue with my car. We should have been notified that they are aware of this. It should not take someone losing their life or getting hurt as a result of this issue for them to do something about it. These cars need to be recalled.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #87

Jul 092013

Camry

  • 44,018 miles
During replacement of the tires on this vehicle, the mechanic observed oil leaks on both of the front struts on this car. Although this is the first time this condition was observed, the leaks must have been present for some time because this condition probably contributed to the deterioration of the tires. One of the tires actually showed areas where the steel belts of the tire were exposed - potentially a very dangerous situation.

- Mashpee, MA, USA

problem #86

Jan 102013

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
When turning on A/C a mildewy like smell would occur but disappear. Then only one half of car would cool. Vents on the drivers side produced hot air; vents on passenger side produced cool air. This progressed to a strange chemical gassy type smell, not a fuel gas smell, incomparable to anything I have smelled before. While trying to allow the passenger to remain cool, this gas entered the car cabin and begins to make you sleepy. After experiencing this several times, I no longer use the air conditioner as I had become too sleepy to drive on one occasion. I took my car to a local repair shop. I was informed there was an issue with the evaporator. I took my vehicle to a Toyota dealership and was told there was nothing wrong with my evaporator. When I asked about the tje chemical gassy smell, I was told it was nothing.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #85

Jan 132013

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Toyota Camry. Consumer writes in regards to problems with engine stalling. The consumer stated the last time the vehicle stalled, it would not re-start and the vehicle had to be towed to the dealer. The dealer informed the consumer, the engine needed to be replaced. The dealer blamed the consumer for having the vehicle tuned-up at a service station, where they may have used green anti-freeze fluid, instead of pink anti-freeze that Toyota used. The consumer was informed green anti-freeze would corrode the tank. The consumer was informed a re-built engine would cost $ $7287.66. The consumer agreed to the price and finally picked the vehicle up on February 11, 2013. The next day, when the consumer started the vehicle, the engine was leaking fluids. The vehicle was towed back to the dealer. The dealer stated they tightened up some loose areas and the vehicle was returned to the consumer.

- Saint Albans, NY, USA

problem #84

Nov 102012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 49,200 miles
Started hearing some weird sound at a small turn from home to work. Within a minute of the sound, found the steering totally locked and didnot move left or right and need to apply force to pull over to the side to stop on the highway. Called allstate roadside assistance to tow the vehicle to pep boys and found the water pump broken. Replaced it by them and it is running fine now.

- Raritan, NJ, USA

problem #83

Jun 292012

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,600 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that he heard an abnormal noise from under the hood. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the radiator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the contact was also advised that there was a bolt that detached and became lodged inside of the engine. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 74,600. Updated 01/29/13 updated 01/30/13

- Chicago Ridge, IL, USA

problem #82

Dec 212011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 14,337 miles
2007 Toyota Camry. Consumer states problem with noise from engine due to water pump leaking. The consumer stated the water pump should not have failed, with such low mileage.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #81

Apr 252008

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Consumes about 3 quarts of oil at 3000 miles at oil change.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #80

Feb 152012

Camry

  • 144,000 miles
2,000 miles after an oil change I noticed that my oil light would come on sporadically. I checked the oil and it was three quarts low. The car only hold four quarts of oil, so this was especially concerning. A mechanic checked out my car and said that there were no leaks, everything was still factory sealed, and he didn't know why it was consuming so much oil. I had an oil change 1000 miles later, and 2000 miles after that I was low on oil again! according to things I've read, this car consumes roughly 1 quart of oil every 1,200 miles it is driven. This should be fixed by Toyota.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #79

Apr 192010

Camry

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving 35 mph and smelled burning oil. The contact inspected the vehicle and found that there was no oil in the engine. The vehicle was consuming oil at an unusually rapid pace and was changed every 5,000 miles. The dealer was not notified of the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted and the VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 76,000.

- Grants Pass, OR, USA

problem #78

Sep 142011

Camry

  • 90,000 miles
My car is consuming oil out of normal. The dealer put me on oil consumption test last year. I was told that the oil consumption is ok. Now I have the same issue again. I was very low on oil almost I qt left in the engine. I checked the engine oil because the oil pressure light keeps popping up when I apply brakes. I went to the dealer again yesterday and they put me on oil consumption test again. I was reading the forums and everyone has the same issue. There is no solution recommended by Toyota. We are told to keep coming back to the workshop every 1200 miles without a fix. Please help.

- Clarksburg, MD, USA

problem #77

Mar 292012

Camry

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated the vehicle was burning more oil than normal. While driving 25 mph, the oil warning light illuminated. The contact checked the oil and noticed there was no oil in the vehicle. The contact stated that the oil was changed 4,700 miles prior to the failure. The contact added one quart of oil to the vehicle and then took the vehicle to a local mechanic. An oil change was performed however, six days later the check engine light was illuminated. The vehicle was then taken to the dealer who inspected the vehicle and advised that there were no oil leaks. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 62,000.

- Valdos , GA, USA

problem #76

Apr 042012

Camry

  • 90,000 miles
Car is burning excessive oil and per the dealership, they can't find anything wrong. From what I see online, this appears to be a widespread problem.

- Limerick, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?