Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
102 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
58 / 2
Average Mileage:
37,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 11 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #177

Nov 102007


  • 30,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 35 mph the vehicle would suddenly accelerate. The failure has occurred several times. The contact has taken the vehicle to the dealer but the dealer stated that the vehicle did not have the gas pedal that was associated with the recall. The contact stated that his vehicle should be a part of the recall. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #176

May 222007

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 20 mph and attempting to stop the vehicle, it accelerated on its own. The contact applied the brake pedal and the vehicle began to respond normally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The acceleration occurred once again and once again the vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosis indicated that the code needed to be reset for the transmission. The vehicle no longer accelerates on its own. The failure mileage was 4000 and the current mileage was 10000. Updated 3/16/10 updated 06.01.10.

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #175

Jan 222008


  • 30,025 miles
The gas pedal automatically engaged itself causing the car to accelerate and hit the side concrete curb causing about $14500 damage.

- Lombard, IL, USA

problem #174

Dec 202009

Camry 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,465 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 40 mph the vehicle accelerated suddenly, lunged forward into the right lane and crashed into a tree. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact sustained minor injuries. A police report was filed. There were no prior warnings. The insurance company took possession of the vehicle but no one inspected it to find out why it suddenly accelerated. He had not spoken with the manufacturer or the dealer to-date. The current and failure mileages were 32,465. Updated 3/24/10 updated 07/14/10.

- Cheswick, PA, USA

problem #173

Nov 052008


  • 11,000 miles
On November 5, 2008 I was leaving my son's soccer practice and my accelerator became stuck on my 2007 Toyota Camry. I hit a school and went through a 100 foot fence when my car became entangled in the fence and the fence became caught underneath my car. My car was still accelerating full force and my tires were burning rubber. I was able to finally slam my stickshift into neutral and the car stopped. Toyota was contacted shortly after the accident and sent someone out to look at the vehicle at the body shop. They sent me a letter stating there was nothing wrong with my car.

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #172

Jan 012010


  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While reversing out of the drive way and attempting stop, the brake failed. The vehicle hit a trucks rear bumper. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer gave the vehicle back and did not inform the contact of the diagnosis of the vehicle.. the manufacturer took a report number 1001143929. The current and the failure mileage were 33,000.

- Montebello , CA, USA

problem #171

Feb 032010


  • 20,000 miles


I lease a 2007 Toyota Camry. I experienced sudden acceleration when driving up a hill. Because I was on a hill I gave the car a lot of gas. However, the gas pedal seemed to go further than I intended and the car began to accelerate. I placed the car in neutral and hit the breaks, which stopped the car without incident. I had to tap the gas pedal a few times to get it to disengage. Toyota applied the gas pedal recall 'fix' a few days later. However, I am concerned that they have not correctly diagnosed the problem. It seems to me that the gas pedal went down further than I pressed it, meaning there may be some electronic or other problem rather than 'sticking.' I know you have many such complaints, but I think it is important to determine if Toyota's remedy is adequate. Thank you.

- Hartsdale, NY, USA

problem #170

Apr 152007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
My 2007 Camry on several occasions during the first few months of operation in April and May 2007 surged or lunged without cause. There were no injuries and no repair, no incidents occurred in the past two years. One incident occurred when starting up from a stop sign beside school children waiting at a bus stop. Another incident occurred when I slowly maneuvered to park in a tight space between two cars. Both driving instances required fine control and very little gas. Both instances occurred on cold mornings, a short distance and a short time after starting to drive in the morning. The car unexpectedly revved loudly and lunged forward, I braked hard, then it sort of stalled and became unresponsive and lagged before returning to normal control. These incidents were scary, could have caused personal or property injury and occurred without any known cause. The car seemed confused. The other predominant driver of the car had similar experiences. My car is subject to recalls. I have removed the floor mat but not taken it for the accelerator pedal repair. I believe the problem is a computer glitch and not the floor mat or the gas pedal. I received a floor mat recall notice early in ownership, on my first maintenance visit to Toyota I was told that my floor mat was not the defective one. Subsequent letters have said to remove the mat and stated that no repair is ready, they will contact me. I tried to call the dealer two weeks ago to ask about a repair after news reports and further recalls. My call was placed on hold for so long, I hung up and haven't called back. I think my car has a potential dangerous problem but I do not believe that Toyota is cable or will address that problem at this time. My VIN number does not indicate my car is eliminated from the recall. The consumer also experienced an intermittent erratic problem with the instrument control panel; the ABS and emergency brake lights illuminated and the tachometer, thermostat and other gauges bounced up and down. Also, the ac stopped working. The dealer stated the ABS actuator needed to be replaced. Updated 09/14/15.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #169

Feb 192010


  • 43,000 miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Camry and was involved in an auto accident today. A pickup truck broadsided me. As soon as the truck hit me I hit the brakes. The Camry did not stop and instead quickly accelerated and fish tailed out of control. I finally gained control of the steering but ended up three lanes across from where I was hit and into a gas station having to drive between the gas pumps hoping to avoid an explosion. I hit a parked car at the pump and kept going about 5 to 10 more feet and the car finally just stopped like nothing happen. I could have died today! it felt like I was driving on ice or like someone floored the gas pedal. I had no control of the car. I do know for certainty I had my foot on the brake the entire time all this was happening.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #168

Feb 162006


  • 40,000 miles
2007 Toyota Camry has on going acceleration hesitation problem. When accelerating car does not respond, RPM red lines at 6K car slows down. Other times driving at 40 mph and it slows down, shifts by itself with out pos or neg acceleration or braking.

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #167

Feb 082010


  • 6,000 miles


I own a 2007 Toyota Camry. On many separate occasions, I have experienced not a sudden acceleration but a subtle increase in speed, while on level road. The impression I had was that the cruise control was operating when it was not even turned on. I was able to maintain control of the car. I have taken the car to the dealer and explained what it was doing but was told I must have had the cruise control activated. They did try to recreate the problem but could not. The vehicle has since had the "accelerator pedal fixed" as a result of Toyota's most recent recall. However, the car continues to randomly "accelerate". I do not believe the pedal was ever the problem and in light of the current number of reported incidents, I have lost all confidence in driving this vehicle. I feel it is important to report these incidents because I believe this is the same as the more critical reports and that the cause of the problem is still unknown and the nature of my incident is probably happening to alot of drivers but they either don't realize it or think it is not important enough to report.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #166

Dec 052007


  • 3,000 miles
We bought 2007 Camry in July of 2007. My wife drove it to work and got an accident on 12/5/07. When she exited highway, she used gas then used brake to reduce the speed. The brake did not work. The car sped out of control and hit the side of hill. The car was roll over to one side and totaled. My wife was badly injured and was sent to hospital emergency room. She got some cuts in her head by the broken window and she had to stay at home for about 2 weeks before going back to work.we believed something wrong with the car brake or gas pedal. And when the car hit the side of hill, none of car safety air bags came out. The car was totaled and paid by our insurance. But this accident gave her a long time fear and bad feeling when she passed that place. We hope we can join the Toyota class action lawsuit. Please give us some suggestions. Thanks!

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #165

Aug 152007


  • miles
Cruise control acceleration. My Toyota cruise control speed will increase up to 3-4 mph when going up a incline, this requires braking or running into the car in front of you. I have use many cruise controls but this is the first one that has every gone over the actual speed setting. On a flat road the cruise control perform the way it should.

- ;Uxbridge, MA, USA

problem #164

Apr 242009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,366 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry le. While driving with the cruise control set at 80 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated to 86 mph. She was able to turn the cruise control off and gain control of the vehicle. The dealer stated they could not make any repairs since they were not able to duplicate the failure. She should not be forced to use the automatic resume on the cruise control. She also stated that the computer headboard was previously reset. She has experienced the failure twice. The failure mileage was 11,366. The current mileage was 12,271. Updated 03/24/10 updated 07/14/10

- Chapel Hill , NC, USA

problem #163

Mar 272007


  • 5,146 miles
I as pulling into a parking space, car accelerated - jumped a curb, hitting a tree and broke my nose, and damaged the whole front of my car.. on June 27, 2009 I was pulling into a parking space again, Camry accelerated hitting the SUV in front of my car. Took it in to pauly Toyota in crystal lake, il and they sent me away saying there is nothing wrong with my 2007 Camry. I also had two very near accidents, but I was able to stop in time. I am deathly afraid to drive this car. I don't know when it will accelerate again. And the dealer refuses to help me out. Please help me!

- Huntley, IL, USA

problem #162

Nov 202008


  • 17,000 miles
When on a long distance trip I used the cruise control--it was set to around 75 mph. I applied the brakes, but when I went to resume my cruise control speed, the car's speed surged past the 75 mph that I had set and started going above 80 mph. I realized it and applied the brake and then just set the speed again. This happened at least separate 3 times. I no longer use the resume function of the cruise control and I have not had other problems since (but I have not used the cruise control much either).

- Smyrna, TN, USA

problem #161

Jun 212009


  • 0 miles
The contact has a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact had a severe crash do to an unexpected acceleration. The vehicle was going down a straight road and the vehicle began accelerating. The vehicle was traveling 55mph when the vehicle accelerated. The contact lost control of the vehicle and crossed over the median and hit an oncoming vehicle head on.the contact was blinded by the crash. This is the only time this failure occurred. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Sugarland , TX, USA

problem #160

Nov 032008


  • 25,480 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. When she entered the express way and accelerated 60 to 65 mph she stopped accelerating and the vehicle suddenly accelerated over 65mph on its own. As she started to apply the break the vehicle slow down when it hit an hard object on the road. She took the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer stated the damage was under the vehicle and she could continue to drive the vehicle however she hears noise coming from the engine. She took the vehicle back to the dealer. The dealer will replace the accelerator pedal but will not repair the damage under the vehicle. She is not sure if the oil container or muffler was damaged. The manufacturer took a report 100211885. The failure mileage was 25,480 and the current mileage was 53,000.

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #159

Jan 112009


  • 18,500 miles
I was driving my 2007 Toyota Camry on central express way East bound in around mountain view and sunnyvale (California) area, the car suddenly sped up and did not respond to braking. I kept stepping on the brake and fumbling with shift stick, and finally stopped after it blew through 2 red lights. Luckily, it was Sunday early morning and there were almost no cars on that road and thus I didn't hit any cars. The week next, I took it to the Toyota dealer repair shot at palo alto for repair because it was still under warranty. The people at the dealer repair shop told me that it must have been the floor mat and told me there was nothing to repair.

- Los Altos, CA, USA

problem #158

Feb 062010


  • 94,000 miles
Tomorrow will be the 3rd time I have taken my 2007 Toyota Camry in for vsc problems. Luckily I purchased an extended warranty. I picked up my car from the dealership on Friday 2-12-2010 and within one hour the vsc, check engine light was on. The dealer has been responsive but given all of the problems with this model I thought I should file a complaint.

- Rio Vista, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?