Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
102 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
58 / 2
Average Mileage:
37,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 13 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #137

Aug 202009

Camry

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Toyota Camry faulty accelerator issue noticed that the accelerator had gotten stuck and I had to hit it a few times with my foot to get it unstuck. Luckily there was no traffic around me and I had no one else in the car with me.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #136

Mar 082007

Camry

  • 150 miles
I have a 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. I reported this issue to the dealership twice, once shortly after I got the in car in 2007 and again in 2008 when it went in for routine maintenance. The issue: On occasion, when I remove my foot from the accelerator pedal and depress the brake pedal the car will "surge" forward moving from an almost imperceivable amount up to about a foot. This is not a consistent problem and does not happen often. It seems to happen most often in the first few minutes of driving and I have noticed it more when the car is on an incline but it has happened at other times. This is not a floor mat issue - my floor mat has the locking mechanism to keep it from sliding and when checked it has never been under or around either the brake or accelerator. The initial response from the dealership was that the car could not, under any circumstances, move forward if the brake was depressed and that I probably just noticed the engine going from gas to hybrid and thought it moved. The second complaint received much the same reaction. I was shocked that the hybrids were not recalled with the accelerator issue but given prior complaints the dealership has agreed to check the car again.

- Edina, MN, USA

problem #135

Jan 312010

Camry

  • 20,000 miles
Problem with accelerator sticking at high speed (70 mph); considerable lag between removing foot from gas pedal and deceleration. Required hard braking to avoid hitting another vehicle.

- Newbury Park, CA, USA

problem #134

Sep 152009

Camry

  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that when driving at 60 mph when without any warning the accelerator petal hit the floor and the vehicle accelerated on its own. The contact applied the brakes with extreme pressure but the vehicle continued to accelerate. The contact put the vehicle in neutral and pulled to the side of the road and turned the vehicle off. After 5 minutes the contact restarted the vehicle and the failure occurred once again.the petal hit the floor traveling 70 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and was traded.the dealer stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. No repairs were done. The failure mileage was 17000.

- Woodingbell, WA, USA

problem #133

Jan 102010

Camry

  • 33,000 miles
This is in regards to my 2007 Toyota Camry accelerator. I first learned of this in September of 2009. I bought the car in may of 2009. Since having ownership I noticed that the car just wants to take off. Even when my foot is not on the accelerator. Last month when I was driving down the road I tried to miss a tire ice rut. That didn't happen. I lost control of the car and for some reason it sped up. When I stopped my foot was on the brake. I ended up in a snow bank and hit someone's fence. I ended up doing $800 in damage to my right fender and $50 to the fence. I paid the people for the fence but I have to save to get my car fixed.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #132

Sep 152007

Camry

  • 5,826 miles
While driving 2007 Camry on level roadway with cruise control on at 70 mph, transmission will suddenly downshift several gears causing car to accelerate aggressively and rocket forward. During one such instance my car lurched forward and almost drove under a tractor trailer that was traveling in front of us. This is an intermittent phenomenon. Was reported to Toyota on 10/01/07. An appointment was set up for local dealer to check out problem. After Toyota had the car for full day, they responded that they could not duplicate the problem. Upon picking up the car I found that they had not driven the car off the dealer lot. Upon questioning the service manager, how they expected to duplicate the problem without actually driving the car, he began screaming and was extremely rude. Finally, he agreed to an additional appointment with a 'tech person' the following week. The problem did not occur while the tech person was riding in the car. There was no further follow up testing by Toyota. I will no longer use the cruise control while driving this Camry. Note: This car had it's 'software' updated previously due to sluggish acceleration in traffic.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #131

Sep 012006

Camry

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The accelerator is very slow to respond to pedal action. At various times since purchasing the car new in September 2006, the car will not accelerate for 4 to 5 seconds after the pedal is pushed almost causing numerous accidents. The dealer replaced the valve body and reprogrammed the transmission, but the problem still remains. Dealer says they have done all that Toyota has allowed them to do.

- Gadsden, TN, USA

problem #130

Sep 102009

Camry

  • 24,000 miles
No crash and no injuries. You are investigating Toyota gas pedal problems. I own a 2007 Camry hy-brid and have noticed that on 3 separate occasions I was on the highway driving about 60 mph and had the car in 'cruise control' and the accelerator pedal went all the way to the floor and the car really accelerated very fast to increase by 10 - 15 mph. I do not know if that has any bearing on your investigation but thought I should pass it on to you.

- Ocean City, MD, USA

problem #129

Apr 182007

Camry

  • 0 miles
Purchased new 2007 Toyota Camry, soon after purchase realized there were a lot of issues with the car, one being a sticky gas pedal, that when accelerating from a slow speed, ( for example, a yellow light), the car bogs down the pedal feels sticky then kicks in real hard and the car accelerates forward very fast. This occurs about 2 times a week and we thought it was just how the vehicle was made. On 01/23/2009 we took the vehicle to a Toyota dealership for multiple items with one being the sticky pedal, and another happened to be a pinging noise during acceleration such as getting on a freeway with an incline. The correction for the sticky pedal was " unable to verify and advised the customer to have a throttle body and fuel injection service $99.95 + tax" the correction for the engine clatter noise was " performed a ECU memory reset/re programming. Transmission and engine is working per factory standards at this time". the ECU memory reset was the only work performed in which we paid $85. After leaving Toyota we found that the pedal pushed down very easy and smooth, within a 2 week period while this lasted we never had an accelerator issue. But after 2 weeks the pedal went back to being sticky and having accelerator issues again. We took the vehicle back to Toyota and told them that the ECU memory reset fixed our pedal and asked if they could look into it. They did not and we left with a sticky pedal still. Now with the information in the media about the sticking accelerators, the floor mats and now the worn pedal assembly, I became concerned because this started when my vehicle was brand new. I called Toyota customer service line and let them know of my problem and concerns, the rep told me to call the nearest dealer and make an appointment for them to look into this, and suggested that I do not drive the car. The dealer will only perform the recall work and when they get the training and parts.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #128

Jun 302007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,770 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving at speeds of 55 mph, the vehicle began to accelerate without warning. She could also feel the power of the vehicle pulling at speeds of 80 mph. She searched the floorboard of the vehicle and confirmed that there was nothing obstructing the accelerator pedal. She continued to depress the brake pedal to the floor board, to no avail. She was forced to take an off ramp and crashed into the side of a passing semi-truck due to the acceleration. The vehicle continued to accelerate after crashing into the truck. She crashed into a chain link fence in an attempt to stop the vehicle. The vehicle came to a stop once it became entangled into the fence. The consumer stated the floor mat was not obstructing the gas pedal. The consumer has since traded the vehicle. Updated 05/17/10.

- Northridge, CA, USA

problem #127

Aug 052007

Camry

  • 1,210 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2007 Toyota Camry that is defected. I filed a complaint with you 11-2-07. My confirmation number is 10207797. I want to know what our next step is in fixing this problem. I see several lawsuits have been filed. I want to be part of that. I still own this vehicle and am paying for it. Can you help me?

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #126

Jan 022010

Camry

  • 56,000 miles
On January 2, 2010 at approximately 1:30 I was traveling North on route 146. The weather conditions were poor and I was traveling at approximately 50mph. My car continued to accelerate and when I proceeded to hit the brake pedal it skipped and my car did not slow down at all. I believe that partially the icy weather conditions were to blame but in my opinion a 2007 vehicles breaks should not skip on a regular basis and the gas pedal should always work properly. I have called the dealership several time namely balise and they have not returned any of my phone calls regarding the recent recall. I understand that the call volume on this issue is probably gigantic yet when a customer, especially one having issues with their vehicle should be prioritize. Due to this my vehicle sustained over $9,000 in damages and I have over $5,000 in medical bills. In this incident I hit a guard rail to avoid hitting other cars and my opinion it could have been much worse. I truly believe Toyota are great vehicles and have always had a great reputation that is why I have only owned this make of vehicle.

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #125

Jun 262009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While the contact was driving 50 mph she applied the brakes and they failed to stop the vehicle which caused her to crash into a railing and a ditch. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership. The contact has experienced the identical failure on more than 5 occasions. The current and failure mileages were 56,000. Updated 05/04/10. Updated 07/14/10

- Sanger, TX, USA

problem #124

Nov 012006

Camry

  • miles
I made complaints (documented)about acceleration problems since I purchased this vehicle. 2007 Toyota Camry xle. I do not have the recalled floor mats. Dealer said new type of transmission etc. Etc. I am 62 have a great driving record. I know when a car is not performing correctly..

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #123

Dec 022008

Camry

  • miles
My accelerator pedal on my 2007 Toyota Camry became stuck while driving eastbound on the dulles airport access freeway. I was traveling about 55 mph when the car suddenly accelerated out of my control. I did not know what was causing the gas pedal to stick, but after approximately 30 seconds to a minute, it stopped sticking and I was able to drive at a normal speed again. Luckily, there were no other cars on the airport access freeway with me and the airport freeway is straight and isolated from the main freeway by a median. This was my first and only experience with the accelerator pedal sticking. It has not happened to me since.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #122

Mar 082009

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 20 mph his vehicle accelerated and crashed into a pedestrian and damaged a telephone pole. The contact sustained minor injuries but does not know if he loss consciousness or not. The vehicle was destroyed. The insurance and Toyota was contacted and they are investigating the failure. A police report is available if needed. The failure mileage was unknown. Udatedv04/05/10.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #121

Sep 172008

Camry

  • miles
Rug interfere with the gas pedal. And crash the car in front.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #120

Nov 152007

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated the throttle sticks and then began functioning properly. The failure is electrical within the computer in regards to the accelerator pedal. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer in November 2007. They replaced reprogrammed the computer shift points. Yet, the vehicle continued to malfunction. The contact wrote the Toyota manufacturer three times and has not received any response. The failure mileage was 200. The current mileage was 50,000. Updated 03/04/10 updated 05/17/10

- Leeport, PA, USA

problem #119

Apr 122008

Camry

  • miles
I was in my car waiting for the man in the van to shut his door. My foot was on the brake. All at once it took off and I was about 20 feet from the P.O. building. I hit the building. Smashed the front of the 2007 Camry. I was more shaken. Nobody hurt. The building not damage. The second incident happened in Nov. 2009. I had just made a right turn and started to accelerate when the car took off. I pushed the distress button, brake and tried to bring it to parking, neutral, downshift to no avail. I turned the ignition off. Very shaken, but started the car again. No damage this time. The first incident I did not report to the dealer as people were telling me that it could not happen the way I said it. The second incident, I went to get my car superglaze the last week of Nov. And I told them that at the time. They said that they checked it and saw nothing. Since then I have seen articles in the newspaper and on the internet about all the damage. I was told to take the rug out. The rug is in its hooks. I had a thin plastic on top, which never moved more than one inch. It was one of your plastic cover with grippers. Each time I got in the car, I would move the plastic to its original position. Never was more than one inch. I am very disappointed in this car. I bought a 1996 Toyota Tacoma and had it for 10 years w/O any problem.

- West Hills, CA, USA

problem #118

Nov 272009

Camry

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. She stated that while driving at 65 mph she using the cruises control and when turning it off, without putting her foot on the accelerator petal the vehicle accelerated on its own. She was able to slow down the vehicle then it drove fine. After that incident she hasn't driven the vehicle that much and hasn't experienced it anymore. The dealer was contacted and they stated that she should bring the vehicle in to have it diagnosed and so they can look at accelerator petal. The contact does not believe its the petal. The failure mileage was 5000 and current mileage was 6233. Updated 03/04/10.

- New Lebanon, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?