Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
102 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
58 / 2
Average Mileage:
37,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 18 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #37

Aug 012007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Near miss: 2007 Camry SE when using cruise control regardless if adequate distance between cars is established, when going up an incline the car gains 5 mph. This causes it to rapidly overtake the car in front. If brakes are not applied a collision would ensue. This was reported to the manufacturer, the car checked with no error codes. *updated 12/12/07 Toyota claimed the vehicle downshifted to gain more power. Updated 12/12/07

- New City, NY, USA

problem #36

Mar 212007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. A few days after purchasing the vehicle, the contact realized that the vehicle will not accelerate past 20 mph when merging into traffic. The engine rpms are high and then the vehicle unexpectedly accelerates. She must depress the accelerator pedal all the way to the floor in order to merge properly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer six times, but they cannot duplicate the failure. The dealer stated that the vehicle was designed to perform in that manner. The failure mileage was 200 and current mileage was 11,000. Updated 01-16-08.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #35

Jun 012006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While attempting to accelerate from a stop, the engine revved and the vehicle accelerated after three seconds. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle would decelerate or accelerate on its own. The dealer stated that they are aware of the failure, however, there was no remedy. The current mileage was 13,000 and failure mileage was 500.

- Chester , NJ, USA

problem #34

Jul 262007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 3 mph, the vehicle lost power, but the engine continued to run. The dealer was unable to repair the vehicle and found nothing wrong with its computer. The vehicle only accelerates when the accelerator pedal is almost depressed to the floor. The current mileage was 3771 and failure mileage was 1,000. Updated 02/01/08. The consumer stated the vehicle would hesitate.

- Ft Myers, FL, USA

problem #33

Jul 252007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles
Our 2007 Camry le 4-cyl automatic exhibits a 2-4 second hesitation when accelerating form a stop. This problem is intermittent, unpredictable and potentially very dangerous. Sometime you press on the accelerator pedal a lot and the car does not move and other times you barely put your foot on the pedal and the car lunges forward. It has gotten to the point that the car is rarely driven because it feels so unsafe.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #32

Mar 012007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 20 mph, the vehicle would hesitate when he depressed the accelerator pedal. The vehicle would then surge forward after approximately 50-80 feet without warning. The dealer stated that this was a normal occurrence. The failure mileage was 150 and the current mileage was 14,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Pageland, SC, USA

problem #31

Dec 282006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the computer that controls the transmission prevents the vehicle from moving when the accelerator is depressed. Occasionally, the vehicle surges to high speeds when the accelerator pedal is depressed. She stated that she was almost involved in numerous crashes due to the failure. Toyota stated that they are aware of the failure and are working on a solution. However, they cannot assist the contact until that time. She stated that the cruise control surges 5-10 mph over the limit in which it is set. The failure causes her to lose control of the vehicle. The VIN and engine size were unknown. The current mileage is 7,000 and failure mileage was 1,000. The consumer stated the vehicle accelerates erratically, either barely engaging or surging forward. The consumer also stated when the cruise control is set, the vehicle surges 5-10 mph above the set limit. Updated 09/05/07.

- Cottekill, NY, USA

problem #30

May 182007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle's power is weak and the accelerator pedal must be depressed to the floor. There are no warning indicators present when the failure occurs. The vehicle lunges forward and the gears are difficult to shift. The dealer diagnosed the vehicle as having software failure, which they reprogrammed. The purchase date and a valid VIN were unknown. However, the failure still persists. The current mileage is 1,920 and failure mileage was 13.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #29

Feb 072007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
I purchased a 2007 Camry le/2.4 liter 4 cylinder automatic transmission on October 28 2006. Noticed some hesitation on acceleration at 5000 miles on odometer. Hesitation was apparent when depressing accelerator for quick pick up, such as merging onto highway. Seemed to be just a nuisance, now but after reading other complaints I am becoming concerned, especially when most dealerships could not fix the problem. What was my recourse if this became a bigger problem.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #28

May 012007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 20 mph or greater, the vehicle hesitated and failed to accelerate. The dealer acknowledged the failure, but was unable to diagnose the cause of failure. The contact stated that the failure was more prevalent when driving uphill. The VIN and engine size were unknown. The current mileage is 4,000 and failure mileage was 200.

- Leominster, MA, USA

problem #27

Jun 132007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,150 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I slowed down the car at the end of an interstate exit ramp to check for traffic and thinking I had enough time to cross the intersection I gave it gas and got very little acceleration. When I pushed the gas to the floor I still got no more acceleration. I wrote the Toyota service department to make an appointment to bring it in and received the response that they were aware of the problem, but at this time there was no solution so do not bring the car in. If there had been more traffic in that situation it would have caused a wreck. Acceleration is also very erratic when using cruise control, going up a slight hill will cause the motor to race. Also, it requires quite a lot of force to stop the car.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #26

Jun 152006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When trying to start from a stopped position there is hesitation that lasts 3-5 seconds. This has become very dangerous because you expect to move and you don't. I was almost struck because of the hesitation. This also occurs when accelerating to merge onto an interstate or to pass.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #25

May 202006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
The 2007 Toyota Camry le 4cyl automatic sedan experienced hesitation, unintended acceleration and complete lack of response to the depression of the accelerator pedal; two times creatiing situations that easily could have caused an accident. The first time I was trying to merge onto a high-speed lane of a highway. I pushed the accelerator pedal and the car did absolutely nothing, then roared to life, but too late. I had to brake because I didn't have enough time to make it. Then, about a year later the accelerator stuck and the engine revved to 6000 rpms, and would not come down. I was forced to pull over and shut it down. Both of these times I brought it to the local Toyota dealer and they couldn't find anything. The most recent time, after the stuck accelerator pedal incident, they had it all day and sent it home with a service man who could not duplicate the situation. I seriously fear bodily injury or death in the future if this isn't fixed and fixed right.

- Danvers, MA, USA

problem #24

Jan 272007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Camry xle 4-cylinder purchased in April 2006. Car unpredictably hesitated and jerked upon acceleration. Sometimes the hesitation lasted a second, while other times it lasted at least three seconds. Occurred most often when accelerating from coasting, while changing lanes, or while accelerating through a turn. Cruise control was jerky, and constantly revved the engine before engaging. In January and February. I had two safety related incidents. While proceeding through a left turn on hard packed snow I attempted to accelerate through the end of the turn and the car hesitated then grabbed, causing the front wheels to spin and loose traction. I stopped the car in the far left oncoming lane of traffic. A similar incident occurred while decelerating in a left turn lane and approaching a red light at a large intersection. While approaching, the light turned green. I accelerated and began the turn and the engine revved and engagement was delayed, causing the front wheels to lose traction. In both cases I was moving slowly, and had a left turn arrow so there was no oncoming traffic and no accident occurred. At present, I am careful when making turns with oncoming traffic, accelerating, changing lanes or passing slower vehicles. I have attempted to adjust the acceleration so as not to increase the rpms so much that the car will jerk forward when the transmission engaged. However, it was impossible to compensate for this problem. I have spoken with the dealership by phone. In February I was told that they were not familiar with any such problem. Also, they stated that some hesitation was normal. I was advised that I should wait until a better solution has been devised. In March I requested that they make a note of this problem, and was told that they could not document my complaint over the phone. I must leave it with them to let someone else take it for a drive.

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #23

Jan 272007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Camry xle 4-cylinder purchased in April 2006. Car unpredictably hesitates and jerked upon acceleration. Sometimes the hesitation lasted a second, while other times it lasted at least three. Seconds. Occurred most often when accelerating from coasting, while changing lanes, or while accelerating through a turn. Cruise control was jerky and constantly revved the engine before engaging. In January and February I had two safety related incidents. While proceeding through a left-turn on hard packed snow I attempted to accelerate through the end of the turn and the car hesitated then grabbed, causing the front wheels to spin and lose traction. I stopped the car in the far left oncoming lane of traffic. A similar incident occurred while decelerating in a left-turn lane and approaching a red light at a large intersection. While approaching the light turned green. I accelerated and began the turn. The engine revved, and engagement was delayed, causing the front wheels to lose traction. In both cases, I was moving slowly, and had a left turn arrow so there was no oncoming traffic and no accident occurred. At present, I am careful when making turns with oncoming traffic, accelerating, changing lanes or passing slower vehicles. I have attempted to adjust acceleration so as not to increase the rpms so much that the car will jerk forward when the transmission engaged. However, it was impossible to compensate for this problem. I have spoken with the dealership by phone. In February I was told that they were not familiar with any such problem. They advised that some hesitation was normal. I was advised that I should wait until a better solution has been devised. In March I requested that they make a note of this problem, and was told that they could not document my complaint over the phone. They said I must leave it with them to let someone else take it for a drive.

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #22

May 032007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Camry SE.the transmission lags behind the engine sometimes & then desperately tries to catch up by aggressively downshifting to high RPM's(around 4000 to 4500).when making turns the car loses power and then shifts erratically to return to speed. When going up a slight hill the pedal has to be pushed to the floor to make the car get up to speed, and then takes off like a rocket. I am not an aggressive driver but this power train wants you to drive like one. I had the car back to the dealer twice with no correction, all they say is sorry that's the way it is designed. I feel this is a safety hazard due to the fact that it bogs down when you don't want it to & then lurches forward to complicate matters. I can't understand Toyota engineers designed & marketed a power train that is a potential hazard to the public and the drivers who own these cars.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #21

Apr 232007

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 30 mph the transmission engaged and accelerated without warning. The failure mileage was 100. When changing lanes the vehicle slowed down and attempted to shut off. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. However, they were unable to diagnose it. The current mileage was 9,000. The consumer stated that the vehicle has since been fixed by the dealership. Updated 06/08/07

- Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #20

Mar 152007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1 miles
2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. Speedometer off exactly 3 mph;. dealer verified, Toyota has no fix. Odometer reads incorrectly, logs 1.8% more mileage.

- Hastings, MN, USA

problem #19

Dec 292006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Hesitation at lower speeds with subsequent sudden lurching. Software upgrade to fix this"known"problem by the dealership didn't fix it -- still a problem. I feel that this car is unsafe as I have already had an incident were, instead of accelerating, it appeared to coast while I attempting to cross oncoming traffic to make a left-hand turn. Normally there was plenty of time, but oncoming traffic came uncomfortably close before the car lurched forward out of their path.

- Ringoes, NJ, USA

problem #18

Oct 252006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
When car is accelerated from dead stop, as car passes 20 mph, the car surges, hunts for gear, up shifts and downshifts wildly and sporadically, lurching and over-revving to 5,000 RPM or higher. Car cannot be safely driven. When placing car in park the car jumps forward. I am concerned about the safety of the vehicle for my family. Toyota said this issue is normal and the car has to get used to the way we drive it. Car going back into the shop.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?