Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
102 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
58 / 2
Average Mileage:
37,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 7 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #257

Mar 152010

Camry

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Toyota Camry was repaired pursuant to letters from Toyota about a recall. Approximately one week after the "repair" the car accelerated into the wall of a business in albany, Georgia. Fortunately no one was injured, but there was damage to the business and the vehicle.

- Albany, GA, USA

problem #256

Feb 032010

Camry

  • miles
While driving my car to work it would accelerate. My car had two recalls. The dealership had my car during most of the month of February. They called me and indicated the car was repaired. Drove car to work and car accelerated again. Took car back to dealership and they put in a new drive shaft. At that point I was too scared to get back in car. I had no confidence that the problem was fixed and I don't really think they knew what was wrong with the car as it was still unsafe to drive. I could not get back in that car nor could I afford to go to another dealership to purchase a new one. I qualified for their 0% financing on a 2010 new production with no recall and free two year maintenance agreement. I felt trapped with no choice but to buy the car as I had put $11,000 on the 2007 which was a loss. I have been driving over 30 years and never had an accident or ticket until I bought this car.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #255

Apr 022010

Camry

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that when removing her foot from the brake pedal, the vehicle would abnormally accelerate without driver intent. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The dealer could not duplicate the failure. There were no repairs made to the vehicle. The approximate current and failure mileages were 45,000.

- Middleburg, PA, USA

problem #254

Aug 012008

Camry 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I wanted to share my experience with my Toyota Camry re. The acceleration problem, for you to share with your engineers. I leased my 2007 Camry in August 2007 (VIN [xxx]), a 4 cylinder model. Approximately a year later, I was on the freeway passing a car when I needed a sudden burst of speed, so I floored the accelerator hard. (I was used to a 6 cylinder which reacts instantly.) the accelerator seemed to stick and I experienced a racing engine that would not slow down. I was able to safely stop the car by putting it in neutral and braking (needless to say, a little shaken). After I turned it off, I immediately restarted the engine and again it raced. I turned it off again and let it sit for several minutes. After restarting it, it reacted normally. I carefully drove to the dealership, where I was given the floor mat explanation which I accepted. I did in fact have my floor mats loose and not in the pegs. I have never experienced a recurrence. My perception is that the problem was caused when I stomped on the accelerator, and after turning off the engine for several minutes and restarting without incident, I am speculating that the ignition system was able to reset itself. That's why I suspect the problem may be electrical or the vehicle computer, and not mechanical. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #253

Sep 052009

Camry

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving at approximately 55 mph, the driver side floor mat became wedged under the accelerator pedal. It was difficult to stop the vehicle at the speed the contact was travelling but no accidents occurred. There were no prior failures related to the floor mat and accelerator pedal. The vehicle was taken to the dealership on three different occasions to be repaired for the recall remedy but the vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 62,000.

- Los Angelos, CA, USA

problem #252

Mar 132010

Camry

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While the contact was attempting to reverse out of a parking spot, the vehicle suddenly accelerated causing the contact to crash into a nearby dumpster. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealership but the dealer could not duplicate the failure. The current and failure mileages were approximately 73,000.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #251

Feb 202010

Camry

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Toyota Camry accelerated on its own. Brakes were applied and it would not stop my car. I then struck the car ahead of me.

- Arlington, MA, USA

problem #250

Sep 132009

Camry

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving at speeds of 50 mph the cruise control activated and within a few minutes, the vehicle accelerated. The contact immediately placed the vehicle into neutral gear and was able to stop the vehicle. The contact spoke with the dealer and was advised that there were no recalls on the vehicle. The current mileage was 156,817 and the failure mileage was unknown. Updated 05/11/10.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #249

Mar 232010

(reported on)

Camry 2-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry. Consumer states acceleration and brake problems. The cosnumer stated the sudden acceleration caused over use of the brakes.

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #248

Feb 102010

Camry

  • 42,000 miles
In 2007 we leased a new Camry along with another new Toyota product on the same day. My wife has had the accelerator stick on her and she had to use the emergency brake to stop the car and ran off the road. She narrowly avoided having a terrible accident in the car while my four year old daughter was in the car with her. The dealership picked up the car and attempted to fix it. The first time my wife drove the car the accelerator stuck again. They have since came and picked it up again and have had it for almost two weeks with no progress or solutions offered. The car is unsafe and they have no solutions to fix it. They tell us they're waiting on Toyota engineers to come but have no date or time that will happen. My wife is terrified of the car and rightfully so. There are only 15 months left on the lease and we just want them to purchase the car back. It is leased through Toyota financial. This has been going on for too long for them to have no solutions for a repair.

- Alexander City, AL, USA

problem #247

Feb 272010

Camry

  • 56,254 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While at a complete stop at a red light the vehicle accelerated. He stated he engaged the brake, and turned off the ignition and restarted the vehicle, it started as normal. He then drove home and the vehicle was towed to the dealer for repairs. The failure and the current mileages were 56,254.

- Staen Island, NY, USA

problem #246

Mar 192010

Camry

  • 44,000 miles
I have a 2007 Toyota Camry. My Camry has accelerated on many occasions, hundreds of time, often times, daily. It has never caused an override problem, but the rpms do go up immensely. It is not the gas pedal, I can assure you, because I keep my foot on the pedal to see if that is the problem. My brother in law, a car mechanic guru assured me it was the new motor synchronization, so I never reported the problem to my local dealer. I had a 2005 Camry, this never happened to that vehicle. There has never been an accident, but almost daily, it does accelerate. These people that have the acceleration problem, it is real, as far as taking over their vehicle, could be.

- West Chazy, NY, USA

problem #245

Mar 172010

Camry

  • 7,869 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 5 mph she attempted to park the vehicle, she engaged the brakes and the vehicle accelerated. She then engaged the brake with additional force, however she crashed into a concrete block. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer.the vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure and current mileage were 7,869.

- Freemont, OH, USA

problem #244

Mar 102010

Camry

  • 38,721 miles
Attn: Defects investigations office. 2007 Toyota Camry with 38721 miles that is owned by and used as an undercover police vehicle accelerated without explanation on March 10, 2010. The operator, who is a sworn officer, advises that his foot was not on the accelerator and the vehicle increased in speed and engine revolutions without explanation. The event occurred over the course of approximately 1/10th of a mile reaching speeds just over 60 mph. The acceleration event corrected itself. There was no injury or crash associated with the event. The vehicle in question had completed a Toyota recall service program # ssc90L to address acceleration issues with this model vehicle on March 2, 2010. The vehicle was returned to the henrico police on March 3, 2010. The extremely short period of time between the recall service and this sudden unanticipated acceleration event gives reason to believe that the recall service was not effective in correcting the acceleration issues associated with Toyota brand vehicles. The vehicle was parked shortly after the event and is currently secured by the henrico police. The vehicle has not been driven or examined by any parties since the occurrence of this acceleration event. In light of the fact that this vehicle had recently completed the required acceleration recall service and has been secured since the date of the occurrence, this Agency believes that this vehicle is an ideal candidate for examination by the Office Of Defects Investigation to determine the origin of this unanticipated acceleration event. The vehicle in question is outfitted with Toyota brand floor mats which are tethered to anchors in the floorboard of the vehicle.

- Richmond , VA, USA

problem #243

Mar 082010

Camry

  • 14,386 miles
Was driving East. Began braking to turn North on crossroad. Initiated turn and the car experienced uncommanded acceleration. The car accelerated suddenly and strongly. Driver pushed gear shift lever into neutral and braked harder but the car hit a light pole. The damage totaled the car and the driver suffered a broken leg, thumb and ribs.

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #242

Feb 252009

Camry

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. While traveling at 35 mph the contact noticed that the vehicles speed would remain constant even when the accelerator pedal was not depressed. The contact has noticed for the past year that the vehicle has had periodic acceleration problems. The failure mileage was 50000 and the current mileage was 79000.

- Dennis, MA, USA

problem #241

Feb 262010

Camry

  • 6,200 miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Camry le. I reported this problem to the dealer in redding, ca about the cruise control system within a month of ownership; however, they said it is normal operation. I doubt it very much, how the cruise control resumes back to the set speed almost instantly by raising the RPM over 5000, which will make you feel the car is going out of control. I have been driving cars for over 30 years and own many makes and models but none of them behaved in this way. This was my first Toyota car, I strongly believe the car maker should look in to the cruise control systems that might give them clues about accidental acceleration problems that I am hearing regularly.

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #240

May 102007

Camry

  • 314 miles
Car with only 314 miles. Brand new. Exited highway and came to a stop at end of cloverleaf. Upon acceleration forward for a right turn onto cross street the car surged to full speed causing driver to make a very sharp (15 ft) right turn into the sidewalk of the overpass bridge. High curb destroyed front end but saved drivers life from crashing through guard rail and falling to the highway surface. Toyota claimed driver error. Driver has perfect driving record. Police report notes probable mechanical failure of some sort. Car repaired and returned to service. Driver is now fearful to drive the $30,000 car. Car was a 2007 Toyota Camry. Has been recalled and repaired, but no confidence now. Should be added to the data base.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #239

Sep 172009

Camry

  • miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Camry I had a accident in the vehicle on September 17, 2009 in jackson, tn. I told the officers and the insurance company that I tried to stop but was unable to I also told them that something was wrong it would not stop until I went into a ditch. Two days later Toyota did a recall on the floor mats. I found out about the floor mats this year in February 2010. I contacted Toyota and found out that they had the wrong name as being the owner and said they would get me the recall information mailed to my home. The company did send me the information I called the local Toyota dealership her and they told me I could bring my vehicle in. It states on the papers that Toyota will replace the pedal with a new one if I wanted to wait for it in and that they would replace the older all weather floor mats and clean the carpet. This did not happen for me I now have the same dirty floor that I had before I took it to them and now I'm riding in a rental car because since they put the reinforcement bar on my car the check engine light has come on and I'm afraid even more to drive the car I took it to the dealership and they told corporate that I would have to pay them to check out the car and my manual says that if this light comes on that it is the electronic throttle, the dealership told me it could be up to 200 different things and that unless I pay for this they would not do anything to assist me I can write a letter to the claims department but there is no guarantee that they will reimburse me for my rental or for fixing the vehicle, also that my floor mats are now aftermarket mats and the will not do anything to them either nor my floor please do something they are not fixing these vehicles and are not standing by there word I can not afford to pay anymore money to get this vehicle fix and detailed and I have no other means of transportation. The people at corporate say they are sticking by the dealership and I need to pay to get this fixed!

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #238

Mar 092010

Camry

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately 2 mph into a parking space. While shifting gears into the neutral position the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated. As a result the vehicle struck several traffic warning signs and continued to travel which resulted in the vehicle becoming airborne and crashing into an embankment. The contact sustained injuries to the left elbow. A police report was filed for the incident. The vehicle was completely destroyed. The vehicle was towed to a collision center. The failure and the current mileages were 10,000.

- Newington, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?