Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,131 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Jan 072015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles


The accelerator would not work even with acceleration. The engine is on but the accelerator pedal would not work.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #24

Nov 182013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 134,455 miles
Started my car, noticed oil lamp came on then off. Proceeded to drive and oil lamp light flashed again. Oil light came on at least a total of 5 times. Came to traffic light, came to a soft stop to observe traffic before attempting to turn right. Car then shut off and all indicators were on, such as, battery, engine light, oil light, and air bag. I proceeded to restart car. No problem with restart, oil light never came on again. I took car to Toyota dealership service department to find out why vehicle shut down and due to fear! Toyota employee told me they would do a diagnostic on my vehicle free of charge to find cause of shut down. Please note, I did an oil change Oct.15, 2013 and Nov 18, 2013 car shut down! after arriving at a Toyota dealership to have my car checked to find out why it simply shut down, then all of a sudden there was no time to do a check to find out what caused my car to shut down without warning. The manager gave me a very simple reason as to why and what caused it to shut down. Manager told me I have an oil leak inside the engine of my car. Manager stated I didn't have to buy a new engine, but I needed to do a 100-500 oil dip stick check. Why was the dip stick down to nothing in the first place" why was there no oil in my car" technician never put oil in my car. Toyota is responsible for damage to engine as a result of their mishandling of vehicle and making false statements regarding me. Toyota is responsible for stress on of my Toyota 2007 Camry engine. My life and that of others at risk because of Toyota..

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #23

Sep 032012

Camry 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
2007 Toyota Camry. Consumer writes in regards to check engine light illuminating. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, where a diagnostic test revealed the charcoal canister needed to be replaced at a cost of $ $607.90.

- Groveport, OH, USA

problem #22

May 022011

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


2007 Toyota Camry. Consumer writes to express discontent regarding poor mileage and acceleration issues the consumer stated the engine idles very high and running hot. The consumer stated he recently hit another vehicle, when it accelerated out of control.

- New Hartford, NY, USA

problem #21

Mar 192010


  • 44,000 miles
I have a 2007 Toyota Camry. My Camry has accelerated on many occasions, hundreds of time, often times, daily. It has never caused an override problem, but the rpms do go up immensely. It is not the gas pedal, I can assure you, because I keep my foot on the pedal to see if that is the problem. My brother in law, a car mechanic guru assured me it was the new motor synchronization, so I never reported the problem to my local dealer. I had a 2005 Camry, this never happened to that vehicle. There has never been an accident, but almost daily, it does accelerate. These people that have the acceleration problem, it is real, as far as taking over their vehicle, could be.

- West Chazy, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

Mar 142010


  • 52,047 miles
Car does not respond immediately when the accelerator pedal is depressed. This happens intermittently. I fear that it is related to the electronic throttle problems reported in Toyota Camry. I have a 2007 model. I have not had an accident as a result, but I've had a couple of close calls in the past year.

- Falcon Heights, MN, USA

problem #19

Sep 172009


  • miles


I own a 2007 Toyota Camry I had a accident in the vehicle on September 17, 2009 in jackson, tn. I told the officers and the insurance company that I tried to stop but was unable to I also told them that something was wrong it would not stop until I went into a ditch. Two days later Toyota did a recall on the floor mats. I found out about the floor mats this year in February 2010. I contacted Toyota and found out that they had the wrong name as being the owner and said they would get me the recall information mailed to my home. The company did send me the information I called the local Toyota dealership her and they told me I could bring my vehicle in. It states on the papers that Toyota will replace the pedal with a new one if I wanted to wait for it in and that they would replace the older all weather floor mats and clean the carpet. This did not happen for me I now have the same dirty floor that I had before I took it to them and now I'm riding in a rental car because since they put the reinforcement bar on my car the check engine light has come on and I'm afraid even more to drive the car I took it to the dealership and they told corporate that I would have to pay them to check out the car and my manual says that if this light comes on that it is the electronic throttle, the dealership told me it could be up to 200 different things and that unless I pay for this they would not do anything to assist me I can write a letter to the claims department but there is no guarantee that they will reimburse me for my rental or for fixing the vehicle, also that my floor mats are now aftermarket mats and the will not do anything to them either nor my floor please do something they are not fixing these vehicles and are not standing by there word I can not afford to pay anymore money to get this vehicle fix and detailed and I have no other means of transportation. The people at corporate say they are sticking by the dealership and I need to pay to get this fixed!

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #18

Jan 032009


  • 40,000 miles
I own 2-2007 Camry. 1. already when to the dealer for the recall for one of the cars. I still feel stick pedals and some acceleration, not too mayor but I feel it in highway as well in stop sign. The other car (this one have a big problem I feel more the problem in this one more than the other)will be in the dealer 3/17/2010 to try to fix the problem. I hope and this will work cause we're afraid of driving this cars. A).-gas pedals and brakes.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #17

Feb 072010


  • 30,000 miles
I have a 2007 Japanese-made Camry. I bought at a premium (well above invoice and above msrp because servco Hawaii does not give discounts) thinking I was paying for a reliable and well-made vehicle. I have had other Toyota but none with as many problems as this vehicle. And, with all the news of accelerator problems, I would like my problems checked and not be charged for it. I do not like the idea of having to pay $103 (1hr labor) X 3 different accelerator issues + another $103 to see why there is the smell of gasoline coming from the A/C vent. 1. when stepping on the accelerator, I will get no response... I continue to depress the gas, still no response. Then finally, the car will thrust forward violently. This has been mentioned to Toyota Hawaii dealer several times saying it was normal for drive by wire vehicle and that it will take some getting used to. 2. when accelerating slowly, the car will rev high without the automatic transmission upshifting.. I have to depress the gas more and the car will rev even higher before upshifting. 3. on 2 different times, the car has revved and jumped forward while not in gear. The first time was at an intersection. I shifted into neutral with the P-brake on and it felt as if someone hit my car from the rear. The car jumped into the busy crosswalk about 2 feet until I hit the brake pedal and shifted it back into drive. Another time was at the drive-thru window in park. The car didn't move but jerked violently. Both were on flat surfaces. 4. when under heavy acceleration, the car sometimes give off the smell of gasoline. It is not exhaust fumes but smells of raw gasoline. A/C in recirculate mode. I also have been having numerous other quality problems with excessive rattling of trim and door ajar alarm going off for no reason.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #16

Feb 102010


  • 88,332 miles
On Feb 10, 2010 my 07 Toyota Camry accel pedal stuck on me, 5 days after the recall was done on it. It revved from 2000-4000 rpms, I had to brake hard for it to stop and regain control. Took it into Toyota, they looked at it, returned the car and told me "nothing was wrong." On March 4, 2010 it happened again, this time it accelerated from 20 mph to 40 mph in a split second, and I almost hit the car in front of me. Again I had brake hard to gain control of my vehicle. Toyota again looked over my car, and again came up with nothing wrong with my car. So that is two times after the recall was completed that my has accelerated. It also did accelerate before the recall.

- Roy, WA, USA

problem #15

Aug 282009


  • 38,785 miles


I have a 2007 Toyota Camry which has a sticky gas pedal. It suddenly accelerated while I was slowly pulling into a parking spot. My car received minor damage to under carriage and front spoiler as dirt and debris became deeply embedded.

- Kerhonkson, NY, USA

problem #14

Feb 172010


  • 30,000 miles
Toyota Camry recall was "corrected" last month, as to the accelerator pedal issue. The acceleration now seems more erratic than before. I do not believe it was a pedal problem, rather an electronic one. I have not taken the car on the open road but am scheduled to do so soon. I am 72, if I should have a problem, I'm sure that Toyota Corp. Would attribute it to my age or some other excuse. The pedal is not consistently responsive on acceleration, seems to have a delay at times, then suddenly kicks in. It is inconsistent enough that the dealer can test it and find nothing wrong. I would like an outside evaluation before something serious happens to me or to other owners in the same situation.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #13

Mar 282008


  • miles
The gas got stuck on our 2007 Toyota Camry and the car accelerated on its own. We informed our dealer when we went for the scheduled oil change, and they insured that everything was ok. Now, with the new Toyota developments, we went back to a dealership to receive the modifications on my gas pedal. But they said that my gas pedal model is one that does not have any problems and does not need any modifying. They did claim to have sanded down the pedal to prevent it from getting stuck under the floor mat, and they also said that they installed new software that would override the gas pedal when I slam on the brakes if it did ever get stuck and begin to accelerate freely. When we asked for information about this software, none could be provided. Also, when we spoke to our original dealer, they denied that we ever reported this incident.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #12

Feb 262010


  • 58,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Camry had the recall fixes for the gas pedal and mat interference completed last week. As a result of that "repair" there is a strong gasoline smell, and the vehicle idles very fast in reverse and the cruise control does not disengage properly. Also the check engine light traction control and check vsc control lights come on, we contacted the Toyota on Friday and said it was not related to the "repair" and that it would clear by itself, it has not.

- Sherrill, NY, USA

problem #11

Feb 032010


  • 20,000 miles
I lease a 2007 Toyota Camry. I experienced sudden acceleration when driving up a hill. Because I was on a hill I gave the car a lot of gas. However, the gas pedal seemed to go further than I intended and the car began to accelerate. I placed the car in neutral and hit the breaks, which stopped the car without incident. I had to tap the gas pedal a few times to get it to disengage. Toyota applied the gas pedal recall 'fix' a few days later. However, I am concerned that they have not correctly diagnosed the problem. It seems to me that the gas pedal went down further than I pressed it, meaning there may be some electronic or other problem rather than 'sticking.' I know you have many such complaints, but I think it is important to determine if Toyota's remedy is adequate. Thank you.

- Hartsdale, NY, USA

problem #10

Dec 052007


  • 3,000 miles
We bought 2007 Camry in July of 2007. My wife drove it to work and got an accident on 12/5/07. When she exited highway, she used gas then used brake to reduce the speed. The brake did not work. The car sped out of control and hit the side of hill. The car was roll over to one side and totaled. My wife was badly injured and was sent to hospital emergency room. She got some cuts in her head by the broken window and she had to stay at home for about 2 weeks before going back to work.we believed something wrong with the car brake or gas pedal. And when the car hit the side of hill, none of car safety air bags came out. The car was totaled and paid by our insurance. But this accident gave her a long time fear and bad feeling when she passed that place. We hope we can join the Toyota class action lawsuit. Please give us some suggestions. Thanks!

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #9

Jun 202006


  • 1 miles
We bought a 2007 Camry from gresham Toyota in June 2006. We immediately had throttle problems. Problems included: 1. stepping on the gas pedal and having the engine rev up to high RPM's but not going anywhere. This condition has happened on 2-3 occasions per week. This condition would happen across a vast array of conditions. You would start to merge into highway traffic and it seemed the transmission would disengage. Nearly causing many accidents(near misses).at other times you would pull away from stop sign and as you entered the intersection the engine would rev at high RPM's and the car would go no where. Leaving you sitting in the intersection with traffic bearing down on you.. unable to do anything. No response from the car! 2. other times you would be driving along at 30-40-50 mph and the car would wildly accelerate out of control for no reason. Again many harrowing life threatening events since we have owned the car. Upon reporting these safety issues to our local gresham Toyota they denied their was a problem. After numerous complaints to the assistant service dept manager he admitted Toyota had a software problem with their electronic system and were working on fixing it. To date Toyota has done nothing to fix our car. It is scary to even drive to the store. You are N ever sure when the next life threatening event will randomly occur. Toyota has put all customers in harms way and needs to be punished severely for their careless disregard for human life. Continues to this day!

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #8

Mar 162009


  • 17,000 miles
I bought my Toyota Camry brand new from ed morse Toyota of delray beach Florida in Aug 2007, it was a brand new 2007 Camry le, six cylinder, I reported on numerous occasions at the dealership that the car would stop or hesitate, they never fixed the problem, today on 3/16/2008 at 11:02am the hesitation contributed to me having a severe accident and was reported to fhp report# fhpl090ff014673 I had brought in the vehicle for hesitation issues on 10/17/2007,11/28/2008, 2/25/2009.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

Jun 082007


  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry bought brand new from local dealer. Vehicle hesitates on acceleration making it scary to pull out into moving traffic. Dealer explained that this is normal since the accelerator is not a mechanical linkage but a "fly by wire" set up and rapid acceleration confuses the computer. Vehicle also locks its own doors for no apparent reason.

- North Vernon, IN, USA

problem #6

Nov 022007


  • 5,000 miles
Hello, when my car is full fuel I can hear the fuel move and cause noise when I press the brake.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?