Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
55 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
54 / 1
Average Mileage:
50,802 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #64

Jul 232014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle was struck by another vehicle in the rear wheel on the driver's side then made impact with an iron fence head on but the front air bags did not deploy.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #63

Apr 012013

Camry

  • 34,000 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the passenger side dashboard had deteriorated around the air bag area and she was able to see the air bag. The dealer diagnosed that the dashboard needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified failure the approximate failure mileage was 34,000.

- Estero, FL, USA

problem #62

Nov 292012

Camry

  • miles
I had a one car accident & the air bags on the side of the drivers door injured both of my legs. My left leg had the inside cut to the bone & skin ripped off, could not walk for 8 weeks, had plastic surgery. Large indented scar now with swelling of leg, otherwise leg works fine. My right leg has a large hematoma with swelling, no broken skin. The paramedics felt it was the air bags that caused the problem.. car was totaled, make is 2007 Camry, computer would not allow me to put in make of car.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #61

Jul 252012

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dashboard is melting. It is sticky and cannot be undone. Bits come off in fingernails when they strike dashboard in error. Very hard to clean.

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #60

Mar 172013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Driver of 2007 Toyota Camry was struck head-on by Dodge Caravan while traveling at approximately 39 mph. The off-center frontal impact caused moderate to severe damage to the front bumper/hood/engine area/driver side fender with slight to moderate deformation of the driver's compartment. Driver of Camry was fatally injured due to blunt force trauma to the chest which resulted in an aortic tear. Driver's supplemental restraint / steering wheel airbag did deploy, the side air bags did not deploy...updated10/17/14 10/22/14 10/27/14* bf updated 7/22/2015

- Huntington, WV, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #59

Sep 252014

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
I was recently in a car accident in my 2007 Toyota Camry. While making a left turn, I was struck by another car of the driver door the door was badly hit/damaged, yet the airbag did not deploy. As this was a double impact accident, after being struck on the door, the car went straight into a hydrant pole, striking the car dead center and causing extensive damage. Again, the airbags did not deploy. As I am not sure of where the sensors in the front are located, I cannot really say that they should have deployed. However, the impact on the door was sufficient for the airbag to have deployed. The police, emt and towing company all made the same comment...they were concerned that the airbags did not deploy. I also spoke to my insurance claim adjuster who also stated that at the very least, the door airbag should have deployed. He is currently still inspecting my car and cannot comment about the front airbags as of yet. If needed, I do have photos that can be provided. My concern is that had I been driving at a faster speed or had it been a highway accident, the possibility of a fatality would have been that much greater. With that said, I highly recommend that the airbags be investigated to see if there are any other complaints regarding the manufacturing batch. Although my son and I suffered extensive bruising, I am thankful that it was not worse.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #58

Aug 012011

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In my 2007 Toyota Camry, at first (approx. 2011) the dashboard would feel sticky, as if something had spilled on it. However the stickiness could not be cleaned up. It was in fact the material of the dashboard melting. It continues to get worse and spreads across a larger area, to the point that now (2014) the dash cannot be touched without a mark being left in the melted material. It looks wet and is so glossy that the glare is impossible to see through most of the day. This is clearly a manufacturers defect and should be recalled as it is a safety hazard, not just with the blinding glare which impairs vision, but because the passenger airbag is contained inside of the dashboard and the dashboard being melted may affect its deployment.

- Gretna, LA, USA

problem #57

Jun 012013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Dashboard of subject vehicle started displaying signs of a very sticky substance in the summer of 2013. I purchased this vehicle in Dec. Of 2010 with one previous owner.. signs of melting dashboard did not appear for several years past the warranty. Internet search reveals that numerous Toyota owners have experienced this same problem. After dealing with Toyota directly, I was told they would provide a replacement dashboard but that I would have to pay $624 in labor. My position is that this is either a products liability, implied warranty of merchantability, or latent defect issue and has no bearing on an expired warranty. In addition, there may be a safety concern with deployment of the airbag due to deteriorating dashboard, not to mention the possibility of toxic fumes circulating throughout the vehicle. I firmly believe that Toyota should issue a recall due to numerous similar complaints (see tsikot.com/forums/Toyota-cars-talk-80/2008-Camry-sticky-dashboard-89916/ also www.justanswer.com/Toyota/70no2-Toyota-Camry-SE-sticky-dashboard-2007 Camry-how.html and www.howtomake.org/0pvgkmoneyls3W74/Toyota-Camry-sticky-dashboard.html).

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #56

Jul 302014

Camry

  • 125,000 miles
Dashboard has begun to deteriorate. It has a sticky film on it that reflects sunlight into the driver's face. The dashboard has begun to be very sticky and looks like it's going to start to fall apart. More than aesthetically disappointing is the safety issue. The reflection from the defective dashboard makes it difficult to see the road at times.

- Sherman Oaks, CA, USA

problem #55

Jul 092012

Camry

  • 75,000 miles
The dashboard of my Toyota is falling apart. It is a safety hazard as it contains the passenger air bag. Additionally, the glare caused by the shine is very distracting both day and night as sunlight and lights reflect and blind the driver. I believe warranties should cover anything that is a defective part and that's what this is, a defective part, if a part is defective when you manufacturer the car or whether it fails within warranty or out of warranty it shouldn't make any difference." I and other drivers feel the defect is unsafe, and shine a light on the issue with videos taken from their point of view. Now we've learned the safety issues may go even deeper. "because this dashboard has the airbag inside on the passenger side I wouldn't feel safe in a car that had a cracked dash, " explained [xxx]. "anything that would make an airbag go off too soon or go off too late would be very serious." Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cape Canaveral, FL, USA

problem #54

Sep 182012

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag indicator light has been on since at least 9/18/12. Several Toyota technicians stated it was the squib cable in the steering wheel that needs replacement - other Toyota representatives state that it is not the cable. I know the Toyota Tacoma (?) truck was recalled for a similar problem and the defect corrected. I cannot get a straight answer from Toyota if the air bags will engage in a collision - some technicians say it may or may not. The cost to repair was quoted to be somewhere around $680.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #53

Apr 012014

Camry 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
I would like to file a compliant about my dash melting and being sticky. I love this car and the dash looks horrible. I also had tried cleaning it but then the fuzz just sticks to it, try to keep sunshade in it and it sticks to it, bugs stick to it. Please let me know what I can do about this.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #52

May 012014

Camry 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
When I entered my vehicle, the right passenger side air bag cover was hanging down. It is still attached at the bottom, but hanging from the top. I have not recently been in an accident, so there is nothing that I could have done to have this happen. I cannot pop it back into place and am worried should an accident occur, the air bag will not be of any use.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #51

Jan 302014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
I own a Toyota Camry le 2007. I am having problems with the speedometer, tachometer and temperature gauges. While in motion, they will cease to indicate proper readings and drop to zero. At the same time, the ABS and parking brake warning lights turns on and stay for a duration of 10 to 30 minutes. Also the A/C goes off when these two lights turn on.

- Homestead, FM, USA

problem #50

Mar 052013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
On Tuesday 3/5/2013 while driving on a street with no stop sign/traffic signals (I had the right of way) another driver either failed to stop at the stop sign or stopped but did not see me and hit me so hard that my car was totaled ( the battery was actually loosened from the engine). My concern is that none of the airbags deployed. I realize that this incident was more than a year ago but I am concerned that this may be a safety issue with airbags failing to deploy despite heavy impacts (the other vehicle was a larger older work van).

- Ontario, CA, USA

problem #49

Jul 012013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The dashboard in my 2007 Toyota Camry has started melting off, and under the sun's heat it becomes very soft, sticky and bright, and when the sun reflects on the dashboard it causes visibility/safety issues. Also, I'm afraid the airbag under the dashboard may become affected if the dashboard cracks or breaks.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #48

Jan 232014

Camry 6-cyl

  • 101,666 miles
On my 2007 Toyota Camry I have noticed that the front dashboard became very shiny and become very sticky and has since started to deteriorate. The shine coming from the dashboard reflects and causes a harsh glare which makes it very hard to see through the windshield. Also, the passenger side air bag sensor is not working, it remains off no matter what. Not sure if this is related to the dashboard melting but I have searched the internet and have seen several complaints of this same issue.

- Willis, TX, USA

problem #47

Jan 012014

Camry

  • 150,000 miles
The dashboard is disintegrating. The area on the front part of the dashboard (closest to the windshield) seems to be the worse, although the problem is spreading to the entire dash. It is sticky, tacky, shiny and gouges easily. This problem is creating a glare and is dangerous. The dash is basically melting. I worry about the function of the airbags. Recently my airbag light is coming on and then going out for no apparent reason. I fear that the dash will become so unstable that it will cause the airbag to deploy. Please help. I am afraid for anyone to sit on the driver's side of my car.

- Pikeville, NC, USA

problem #46

Oct 182013

Camry

  • 36,000 miles
My daughter was traveling 55 mph on a 4-lane highway in her 2007 Toyota Camry le. A truck behind her attempting to change lanes rear-ended her and caused a chain-reaction crash involving 5 vehicles. The Toyota sustained heavy damage to the back and front of the vehicle and was deemed a total loss. All of the Toyota's airbags failed to deploy. The truck's airbags were deployed as well as the BMW. The SUV's airbags did not deploy (it was an earlier model SUV). My daughter was transported to the emergency room where it was determined that she sustained a severe whiplash injury to her neck and a bruised arm. She later complained of pain radiating down her back. Please refer to recall id #06V096000 - air bags recall date: April 03, 2006. We were not informed of the airbag recall. We received a reply from Toyota suggesting that the impact did not occur in the proper position for the airbags to deploy what is the purpose of airbags if it fails to deploy during an accident and the sensors need to be hit in a certain position? a copy of the Toyota letter may be provided to the NHTSA upon request. Please provide any information concerning collisions where the airbags did not deploy.

- Pearl City, HI, USA

problem #45

Jan 012014

Camry

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving approximately 30 mph and lost control of the vehicle, crashing into an unknown object. The vehicle then rolled over three times. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the left finger, neck, back, and head. A police report was not filed. The contact was not transported to the hospital. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the incident. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Columbia, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?