Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,022 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #173

Jun 112007


  • 5,000 miles


Purchased a 07 Camry from down East Toyota in Maine 6-2-07 noticed next day a dangerous hesitation problem with car, called det service dept 2-4-07 with complaint I was told to drive for a week so car could learn driving habits, so I did. Pulled into traffic several times that week and few times the car would hesitate and jump forward, on 6-11-07 called det service dept again because that morning trying to pull out of driveway car hesitated jumped forward almost hitting a ups truck, very dangerous!! while talking to service dept this time I was told that driving the Camry for a week would not help the hesitation problem but not to worry because like the 07 V6 Camry they had to pull all off the lot for transmission problems when and if Toyota comes up with a fix they would let me know. I traded the Camry back in because of the dangerous hesitation problem and lost $7000 in ten days"? when I questioned kevin kelly the general mgr I was told by him that he did hold a gun to my head to buy the Camry or to trade it back in, and nothing I could do about loosing $7000 because he can do as he wants. The salesman don scott told us that the Saturday he sold us our Camry he sold three and two have come back because of this problem, tracy simpson at paper signing told us that she also heard of this problem. With being told no fix for a dangeous problem like this, trading a car back in 10 days losing $7000 is just wrong!!! now to this date three tsb's out for this dangerous problem that becomes normal when tsb fail to fix problem. Is this dangerous hesitation problem related to the socalled floor mat turned to gas pedal problem?? just not right for det or Toyota to keep getting away with this??"

- Hermon, ME, USA

problem #172

Jun 102007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry which was purchased brand new. While traveling 5 mph and up and depressing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle slowly picked up speed and would often hesitate. The dealer could not duplicate the failure and advised the contact that the vehicle was operating according to the manufacturer's specifications. There was an open recall on the vehicle (NHTSA campaign id number: 10V017000, vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal) and the related repair was performed. The failure persisted. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that since the recall repairs were performed on the vehicle they would not assist any further. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was approximately 50,000. Updated 5/10/10 the consumer stated the vehicle would hesitate upon acceleration. There was a delay when attempting to accelerate. Updated 09/16/10

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #171

Feb 172010


  • miles
I have 2007 Camry. While driving between 40 and 60 mph, when I peddled the accelerator the car does not pick up/accelerate. The RPM goes from 2000 to 4000 RPM, and after a couple of seconds of delay car picks up. It's very dangerous, especially, while merging onto a freeway where there is no shoulder lane and you have to merge in really fast. The dealer said it's a problem with the software and they updated the software in my car. I still have the same problem and it occurs frequently in winter. I went to the dealer recently and they said there is nothing wrong with the transmission, it's just the way 2007 models are. In other words, they made a piece of junk in 2007 and now they can not do anything about it. I am hoping to see the recall for this issue soon.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #170

Apr 162009


  • 18,000 miles


As I was pulling into the curb to park, my 2007 Toyota Camry accelerated and crashed into a building in quakertown, pa. I put it into reverse and stopped the car. Damage to the brick building was extensive. Property damage amounted to $14,500 and auto damage at $750. Replacement parts were installed in the auto. Brickwork and interior damage was taken care of.

- Harleysville, PA, USA

problem #169

Oct 222007


  • 500 miles
The new 2007 Camry has always had an uneven acceleration and slowing. It is as though the transmission is always "searching" for the correct gear. As a result, the engine is always changing speeds. During the initial repair, the service manager stated that they have "a lot" of these types of complaints and said the software was updated. On subsequent repairs I was told the same thing and that Toyota could not repair the problem that the 2007 Camry had. When I asked about serious damage to the transmission or accidents I was told that I have a warranty. I E-mailed Toyota but did not receive a response. I believe this is a potential safety issue and am uncomfortable driving the vehicle.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #168

Jan 152010


  • 36,000 miles
Transmission issue on 2007 Toyota Camry - when accelerating sometimes the transmission will just rev up and the car just hesitates to get up to speed.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #167

Jan 152010


  • 65,000 miles


I have a 2007 Toyota Camry and I feel a vibration between 40 and 42 mph, particularly during highway driving. I have the tires rotated and checked on a regular basis and the road conditions are smooth and dry.

- Trinity, NC, USA

problem #166

Feb 022010

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,800 miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Camry SE V6. I have experienced since the day I bought it where I can be driving along and when I slow down, the engine will rev and the tachometer will go up to around 4,000 RPM and then what seems like 30 seconds or more, the gears will finally catch and the car will go and all this results in a jerk like reaction giving me a whiplash feeling. It can happen at any speed and the latest experience happened when I was going around 55 mph, on the highway which was very full with traffic. It was very frightening not to mention a main concern as to if the car were to lose power, I would have to somehow coast to the side of the highway and where I was there wasn't much room to pull over.

- Alameda, CA, USA

problem #165

Dec 152007


  • 28,900 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. When the contact attempted to drive the vehicle up an incline at a low speed of 5 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate and the engine was non- responsive. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who informed the contact that the failure could not be reproduced. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 28900. Updated 3/17/10 the consumer stated the failure occurred after a full stop on S steep incline. When she removed her foot from the brake, and the apply the gas, the vehicle would not move. The vehicle had to be in neutral and then returned to drive. Updated 07/01/10.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #164

Sep 092009


  • miles
2007 Camry xle. Problems with hesitation when accelerating. The dealership just blew me off when I explained the problem. Acted as if this was never a problem with Camry. Also have had problems with steering column's radio controls - when pressing the appropriate buttons, nothing would happen or, when seeking stations that were programmed in, the down or up buttons would jump to other stations not programmed. Since this problem is erratic, nothing was done by dealer. Problems with the outdoor temperature gauge - at times, it would take 15-20 minutes before the temperature would change to the correct one. Example: It read 77 degrees when it was actually in the mid-90S. Dealership did repair this last summer but now, it is reading seven+ degrees off the actual outdoor temperature. The final problem with this car is that the paint is chipping off of the frame area below the doors of the car. This has never happened with any previous car I have owned. Dealer attributed it to the fact that this car is the sport version so it rides lower. First Toyota I have owned and it looks like it may be my last.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #163

Jun 222009


  • 17,000 miles


Vehicle retains cruise control speed in memory even after applying brakes and stopping. Goes back to cruise control speed instead of responding to gas pedal and Ram into the vehicle in front. Vehicle revs up and down for no reason when in cruise control even when traveling on flat terrain/freeway. Complaints to local Toyota dealer did not help until the accident, did an upgrade to the software which has helped but little, problem still remains.

- Rensselear, NY, USA

problem #162

Jun 152009


  • 23,480 miles
I was driving down an open road at a moderate speed (about 40 mph). The vehicle suddenly began to accelerate. I stepped on the brake pedal but this only caused the engine to rev. I continued to press on the brake pedal with a great deal of force and was eventually with difficulty able to bring the vehicle to a stop even though the engine continued to be revving very high. I put the car in park and turned off the engine. After waiting for a few seconds, I turned the vehicle back on again. The engine was still revving out of control. I turned the vehicle back off and waited a few seconds then tried again. The engine was still revving very high. On the third or fourth try of this cycle, the engine finally started normally. I was then able to drive away at a normal speed. I took the vehicle to a Toyota dealer on 6/18/09. They checked it with a scan tool and did a road test but could not find anything wrong with the vehicle. This was a one-time event and has never happened again. The dealer said that the problem was likely caused by a floor mat but I find this simply impossible to believe. I checked the pedals after stopping the car and they were not obstructed in any way.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #161

Jul 172009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,553 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 50 mph the vehicle would not accelerate. Also intermittently the vehicle will accelerate without application of the accelerator pedal. The dealer was contacted, but no assistance was provided. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 47553. The current mileage was 50001. Updated 03/04/10. The consumer also stated the vehicle was very slow when she attempted to accelerate onto the highway. It would hesitate and then kink up to 80 mph. There was condensation in the headlights. Updated 06/14/10.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #160

Nov 012007


  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry purchased new in 2007. He stated that the vehicle would hesitate upon acceleration. When driving up a hill, the accelerator pedal was depressed to the floor and the vehicle would not accelerate. The vehicle drove as if it was low on fuel. The dealer could not duplicate the failure; however, he updated the computer module. The failure persisted. The current and failure mileages were under 28,000.

- Salem, VA, USA

problem #159

Nov 012006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 5 miles
I have a 2007 Toyota Camry that I purchased new. Since new the automatic transmission hesitates when the car is slowed to about 20mph and when you try to accelerate nothing happens for a few seconds before it resumes. The dealer said they cannot do anything about it and that's the way a "drive by wire" transmission works. I called the Toyota hotline and got nowhere. I seems that I am not the only one with this complaint. The internet is loaded with dissatisfied owners. I think Toyota should be made to address this problem because it is a safety issue. I've bought at least twenty new Toyota over the yrs and never had a problem like this. It occurs all the time.

- Marlboro, NJ, USA

problem #158

Sep 232009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
2007 Toyota Camry 4cyl 5sp - hesitates upon normal acceleration - ongoing.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #157

Jun 252009


  • 35,787 miles
Had accident in 2007 Toyota Camry. Vehicle hesitated as I had accelerated to go around a truck to avoid hitting it. This car hesitates about 2 to 3 seconds before taking off. When car does take off it goes to fast and can make a driver lose control. This car also shakes or vibrate when you accelerate to speeds of 60 to 65mph. Steering is a problem when car hesitate then takes off, this is when you can lose control. Passing and changing lanes can be a problem when acceleration is needed. This car can be very dangerous. There's nothing wrong with the speedometer, I guess it's the transmission or whatever part that controls the car take off speed.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #156

Aug 212009


  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry ce transmission problems - hesitation with 4 cylinder engine. Upon accelerating to merge in traffic on interstate, transmission hesitated on the on ramp which almost caused another vehicle to rearend my vehicle. I was going approximately 40 - 45 mph prior to acceleration when my vehicle hesitated causing my speed to decrease considerably. In turn, the vehicle following me at about a car length and a half back came close to rearending my vehicle. This hesitation has occurred numerous times since I purchased the vehicle. Spoke with the dealer on several occasions as well as Toyota motor Corp and was told that it is a known problem with no fix. This is a huge safety risk and should be corrected or the vehicle recalled. Thank you for your time and consideration.

- Ashland, VA, USA

problem #155

Jun 112009


  • 30,000 miles
2007 Toyota Camry 4 cylinder randomly hesitates on take off. Causes a hazard when entering heavy traffic from a stop or near zero acceleration point. Also drags and seems to pull on engine when in a coasting situation. It first did this around 6800 miles. Dealer did a software update to correct the issue. Now it's doing it again at 30, 000 miles and dealer says there's nothing they can find wrong.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #154

Apr 282008


  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle shut off twice while driving various speeds. While the vehicle was stopped and about to make a left turn, the engine revved and the vehicle did not move. Suddenly, the transmission engaged and the speed drastically increased. The contact sped through a traffic light. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they reset the computer. A couple of weeks later, the vehicle revved up again and accelerated. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer once again and they rechecked the computer, but found no failures. The dealer could not duplicate the failure and offer further assistance. The failure mileage was 32,000.

- Torrington, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?