Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,022 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 4 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #133

Apr 302007


  • 1,000 miles


I purchased a 2007 Toyota Camry le in April of 2006. There is a hesitation when attempting to accelerate. It's a major safety concern when attempting to enter a highway or pass another car. When I press the acceleration, the car hesitates and after a few seconds it accelerates.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #132

Apr 292007

Camry 4-cyl

  • 15 miles
I purchased a 2007 Toyota Camry le in April 2007. There is a hesitation when attempting to accelerate. It's a major safety concern when attempting to enter a highway. When I press the acceleration, the car hesitates and after a few seconds, it will jerk forward.

- Needham, MA, USA

problem #131

May 012008

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
My transmission hesitates at @35mph. Toyota says it's a no-fix. It is a dangerous situation to not know when this will happen. It's bound to cause an accident at some point. This is a constant situation since I bought the car in June 2006, and it now has 32,000 miles. It occurs constantly.

- Burlington, MA, USA

problem #130

Apr 252008

Camry 4-cyl

  • 14,196 miles


When pressing the accelerator petal the car doesn't pick up speed from a stop. It is delayed. Another incident occurred when I was stopped at a traffic light the car went it to neutral. But the final straw was when I had parked on my drive way(4/25/08) which is sort of a incline I had put my car in park and as a extra safety precaution I pressed my emergency brake upon doing so the car malfunctioned and switched gears and rolled down my driveway pulling me under as I stepped out the car and running over my foot crushing it. When the car was taken to the dealership that said there must have been a computer error which they then reset the system.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #129

Mar 312008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have Toyota Camry le 4-cyl for approx. 1 yr now and it constantly hesitates when I am driving or if I am at a stop and try to pull off. My car have been in 3 accidents because my car fail to acelerate when needed from a stop sign. I have gotten to the point I am constantly looking in my rear view because I am so afraid I am going to get hit from the back of my car. I have called the dealer on numerous occasions and was told it has something to do with the relay system of some sort, but no problem that is the way the '07's operate. There definitely should be some type of recall by now. What is it going to take for me or someone else life.

- Ft Washington, MD, USA

problem #128

Dec 012007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Camry, and I am having transmission problems. When I give my car a little gas it hesitate and then out of know where my car takes off. Or when I am driving it seems if I am driving a 5 speed. I have to give my car more gas in order for it to go to the next gear. I should not be able to feel my car shifting gears.

- Mabelvale, AR, USA

problem #127

Aug 012006

Camry 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles


I have had my computer "software" re-installed 2X to attempt to fix a lack of acceleration. Several times (making a left turn) while starting from a stop, the car will hesitate for 2-4 seconds, giving approaching cars enough time to come close to hitting my car. This has happened numerous times. I am afraid to drive this car and am not in a financial position to trade it in yet or sell it outright. I owe too much on the loan yet to do so, making it a difficult decision with my family/children. I have noticed that the slow acceleration is more so in warm weather. It doesn't seem to flare-up over wintertime. Coincidence? I also wanted to mention that the last time my software was re-set, on the way home, the engine began ro race and it felt like a brick was on the gas pedal. The engine raced for about 10 seconds and then felt like it "shifted" back to normal RPM's. I was going down a hill when this happened.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #126

Nov 152006

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
I purchased a 2007 Toyota Camry, V-6, in July 2006. In November 2006, I started having problems with the transmission. Very often, when the transmission shifts from 2nd to 3rd gear, the transmission hesitates, the tachometer jumps around 1500 and the car does not move for a short time. This happens on a daily basis. I have had the car into the dealer, 4 or 5 times, and have gone on test drives. When the problem happened, I was told that's the way the transmission works. I have called Toyota on two separate occasions. I have been told that there is no software update or tsb for this problem. The last person I spoke with (last month), told me it is a design flaw, but Toyota has not done anything to correct the problem. I consider this a safety issue, since I don't always get the acceleration that I need. Consumer reports reported on this problem in their December 2007 issue. They received negative information from readers about the V-6 transmission. I have been told by Toyota that there is nothing they can do at this time.

- Granada Hills, CA, USA

problem #125

Mar 082008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
2007 Toyota Camry le, 5-speed, 4-cylinder has a drivetrain problem. When moving slowly from a stop, attempting to pull into traffic requiring rapid acceleration results in no response/acceleration from the engine. The car can take up to 5-seconds to respond. This is highly dangerous and I wonder why I haven't already been killed in this car!! there is a major problem with acceleration. Toyota simply says "that's the way it works, it's trying to anticipate your actions." This is an unacceptable answer. The transmission I am told is a controlled electronically and Toyota apparently has screwed up the software. This is a dangerous car.

- North Scituate, MA, USA

problem #124

Nov 162007

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
We own a 2007 Toyota Camry SE and honestly don't know what to do at this point, our experience has been terrible. Approximately November of 07, I was driving down the conejo grade in camarillo, California and started to feel like I was losing control of the car, I couldn't steer it and hit the brakes really hard to come to a stop without hitting any other vehicles. The car was towed to Toyota who explained that the transmission needed to be replaced and the reason why I couldn't steer my car was something to do with how the transmission rotates the wheels and one wheel was pointed towards the right and one was where it should be. I could have been killed or hurt someone else and I was very upset especially after hearing that I wasn't the only one this has happened to. At this time I was told that my brakes were warped and I had to pay $180 to fix them, apparently when I hit my breaks real hard to try and stop the car without crashing I warped the breaks. This wasn't under warranty. I received the car back approximately a week later and was told they put in a new transmission. When I left the dealership the engine still didn't feel right it was lunging. So I brought the car back and they did a test drive with me in the car and of course it didn't do it. I have had off and on issues and now my maintenance light is on, after being at the dealership for the last 10 days with other issues. I have no trust or faith at this point with them. Most of all, the car doing it's own driving with the transmission and the failing of mine could have killed me or someone else. How many complaints need to be made before someone gets hurt. The 2007 Camry is a problem, and honestly I'm afraid to drive it at this point.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #123

Feb 112008

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,200 miles


I purchased a 2007 Toyota Camry on December 24, 2006. On Monday, February 11, 2008 I shifted the car into reverse and put my foot on the gas, the car didn't move. It revved but didn't move. I shifted to drive and second with the same result. I brought the car in to Toyota in hempstead, NY on Feb. 18. they fixed it by "reprogramming the computer, : and returned the car to me, saying it was fine. The problem occurred again on Saturday, February 23. I asked about getting a new transmission because I have read a lot of information that this particular transmission is bad. I would like Toyota to recall and replace all of these transmissions. I would hate to have an accident or for anyone else to have an accident because of a transmission malfunction.

- Howard Beach, NY, USA

problem #122

Apr 192007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Camry transmission bolts, jerks, snap your body and at 40 miles an hour with foot off of gas pedal continues to keep moving at almost same 40 mile hr speed for many blocks. Dangerous because brake pedal has to be pushed harder than normal in order to stop car from moving. Many 2007 Camry's have similar problems if you will just check internet reports.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #121

Feb 152008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1 miles
The car hesitates un-expectantly when trying to accelerate. This is an on going problem and is random. Several times this condition has nearly cause an accident. Dealer cannot fix problem but acknowledges it is a problem.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #120

Aug 192007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160 miles
Transmissions pauses before engaging.

- Lebanon, MO, USA

problem #119

Dec 012007

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle hesitated and the RPM's decreased when shifting gears. In addition, the failure would occur at various speeds. The dealer stated that an electronic programming issue caused the failure. The contact stated that they updated the programming; however, the failure continued to occur. The dealer stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. In addition, the computer may need to be replaced. As of February 1, 2008, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The failure mileage was 10,000 and current mileage was 13,000. The VIN and engine size were unavailable.

- King, NC, USA

problem #118

Nov 262006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 10 mph, the vehicle hesitates at intersections or while idling at stop signs. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer approximately ten times. The dealer replaced the cpu on the computer and the vehicle operated normally for approximately one week. The contact stated that within ten key turns, the vehicle reprogrammed itself and he must disconnect the battery to reprogram it to its original setting. The failure remains uncorrected. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 200 and current mileage was 10,000. Updated 02-12-08 the dealer stated replaced instrument panel assembly, A/C vent closest to steering wheel is loose, and hesitation between first and 2nd gear. Updated 02/12/08

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #117

Jun 272007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65 miles
Purchased 2007 Toyota Camry 4 cyl. Have had trouble with the car accelerating speed. Has happened over a dozen times. In October was on a residential street - car accelerated and I swerved to miss boy on bike (damage to bumper) hit curb. Also, when trying to merge from stop will hit pedal - hesitation car does not move - have almost been hit 3 times. Have had car back to dealership - they pretend they have not heard of any problems. Shortly after purchasing my car they had a meeting for all new car owners. Five couples reported the same problem. When I called in December for a check into this problem (have been in touch with toyta - who also deny knowing of any problems - contacted them because I did not want car - afraid to drive) - the manager said he had heard of no such complaints. Reminded him that myself and five other new car owners had complained to him at the meeting. Toyota is going to have big problems - must have told managers to deny any problems!!!!! as they themselves are doing. How many people have to be in an accident. I have told my family that if I am in a fatal car accident - I want them to sue Toyota. Afraid to drive car. Had car to dealership - since the two problems I stated only happen sporadically - they said they test drove car and saw no problems. Don't know how far they test drove - mileage at pickup was the exact same as drop off reading. Car had same problems on the way home - can you help me and any other Toyota owners. Can't afford to trade in car. Please help me - what can I do.

- Carnegie, PA, USA

problem #116

Jan 072008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Ongoing problem with my 2007 Camry sedan le I am feeling and hearing vibration and noise coming from underneath the seat this has been back and forth to dealership and reported to Toyota motor sales, the dealer and motor sales told me that this is normal with these types of cars. I find this hard to believe I have researched on consumer reports and found alot of problems with the transmission. I need this resolved and need to know if it the transmission shouldn't this be covered under my warranty? I know Toyota does not want to hear this complaint as it would interfere in there great report on how they are a great gas saving car, but what will it take to have this resolved hopefully not a fatality.

- Stoughton, MA, USA

problem #115

Jun 012007


  • miles
Severe hesitation in throttle and transmission of the 2007 Camry causing near T-bone accidents when you give it gas and go nowhere. Also when traveling, when you give it gas to get into another lane, you go nowhere for a delayed period then all of a sudden you launch forward after its too late almost running into cars in front of you. Appears as if the transmission is confused. Many near accidents because of this. Contacted Toyota who agreed to "flash" the computer or reset it. This reset helped at first, at take off only, however now is back to what it was doing before. Contacted Toyota again and was told that there is nothing they can do. This is very dangerous...

- Spanaway, WA, USA

problem #114

Dec 262007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50 miles
2007 Camry hesitation. Fixed twice so far at dealership. Dangerous in traffic, occurs all of the time.****

- Plantation, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?