Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,022 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 6 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #93

Jul 102007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 30 mph and merging in traffic, the vehicle hesitated for a couple of seconds before it accelerated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they reprogrammed the computer, however, this did not correct the failure. The VIN was unknown. The current mileage was 2,500 and failure mileage was 10. Updated 10/24/07.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #92

Mar 162007

Camry 16-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 25-45 mph, the transmission surged periodically. The dealer was unable to determine the cause of failure. The vehicle drove 18 miles per gallon in city driving only. The failures have not been corrected. The current mileage was 1,700 and failure mileage was 15.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #91

Sep 252007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
I purchased a 2007 Camry 4 cylinder in Sept 2006. This is the 6th Toyota I have owned and is by far the worst reforming. I have 8000 miles on the car and have had problems with the transmission since the initial purchase. The car is not safe to drive as it presently performs. It significantly hesitates when accelerating such as when entering a highway or changing lanes on the interstate. There is a noticeable 1-2 second delay from the time the accelerator is depressed and the car begins to accelerate. In addition, when in cruise control, the transmission seems to be searching for the correct gear with the engine revving up significantly as it downshifts while going up an incline. I have been back to the dealer 5 times and had the NY regional Toyota rep drive the car. The transmission solenoid has been replaced, and a corrective tsb has been performed twice. I have also called Toyota in California. The car still does not perform properly and is hazardous to drive. The response from the dealer and Toyota has been "the car is performing as designed".

- Boonton, NJ, USA

problem #90

May 312007


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Since the purchase of 2007 Camry le, we have noticed hesitation upon acceleration, especially from a complete stop. This is extremely dangerous when trying to cross traffic or merge into traffic. Hesitation also noted on deceleration. Dealer made aware, stated that this is normal for the car. I don't believe that.

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #89

Sep 182007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,542 miles
2007 Camry 4 cylinder hesitates and could case an accident. Car has been reprogrammed and reported to Toyota customer service with no additional help.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #88

Feb 012007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 250 miles
Car downshifts on small hills while using cruise control. Car hesitates at times and has poor acceleration as the transmission searches for a gear. This lasts for seconds, creating a safety hazard. The problems were resolved with a tsb issued 8/2/07 but the problem came back after a few days. It seemed Toyota's "learning" drivetrain re-learned all the problems.

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #87

Jun 202006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Car hesitates badly and cruise control downshifts constantly.

- Harrisburg, NC, USA

problem #86

Sep 142007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
I purchased the Toyota Camry 2007 le automatic in May 07 from lakeforest Toyota in gaithersburg md. It has only 2,980 miles on it. The vehicle experiences loss of power when turning in intersections. This occurs mainly on right turns follows stops at stop signs and traffic signals. When starting into a turn, the car occasionally fails to respond to the accelerator. You can press the pedal to the floor and the car may not respond or only barely respond. This leaves the vehicle stuck in the intersection with approaching traffic. Performance is inconsistent with this problem occurring sometimes and not other. It has happened to me several time. I consider this a very serious safety problem that is likely to cause accidents and fatalities. Frankly, I'm afraid to drive the car. I had one experience where another vehicle has to slam on their brakes and stopped within a few feet of my car when Camry failed to respond to the accelerator. I won't make a turn unless I have two to three time as much open road as I did in my prior vehicles. Toyota is aware of the problem. The problem reported on wcnc in Lincoln county North Carolina on Sept 13, 2007.

- Gaithersubrg, MD, USA

problem #85

May 072007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,060 miles
My wife and I purchased a 2007 Camry le, 4-cylinder, 5-speed from Toyota of orange in orange California. Ever since our test drive we've experienced lack of acceleration (hesitation) from a stop or after slowing down to turn or proceed, shifting problems (constant up and down shifting at certain speeds; car not sure which gear to be in and feels like the car is surging) and unable to use the cruise control due accelerating too quickly due to downshifting and then overshooting the set speed. Some of these symptoms are sporadic; you never know if the car is going to move or not when stepping down hard and quickly on the gas pedal. Sometimes it "red-lines" before accelerating, other times there is barely any response at all. Reported it to the dealer 3 times, had the software updated without noticeable improvements. EG036-07 is the latest ECM update, . we would never have purchased this vehicle if we had only researched the car beforehand on the internet. Me and my wife could never get used to the gas pedal because the car responded differently every time. One day my wife came from work and attempted to park the car into a spot on the parking structure, she pressed the gas pedal and the car accelerated really fast driving through the wall almost into the community pool. I have stopped making payments on the car since the car is sitting in the garage and very upset with Toyota since I reported the problem to the dealer 3 times and called Toyota Corp on the phone and received no help.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #84

Aug 182007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,011 miles
Our 2007 Camry hesitates when accelerating from a stop or accelerating from a low speed. The situation has occurred several time both before and after the computer was reset.

- Lenoir, NC, USA

problem #83

Dec 012006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Car hesitates when pulling out into traffic. To try overcoming the sluggish situation, I will push on the accelerator, then, when it catches up, the car will shift gears and surge. This is not a good feeling. I complained to the dealer. They put a revised program into the computer. That made it worse. They went back to the original computer program and the problem has been with the car since I bought it, December 2006. I have gotten many stories about how the car will adjust itself. The intentions may be good but the results have been terrible. I have owned 7 Toyota's and this is the first time that I have had a complaint, and it's a big one. It happens every day. The only day it doesn't happen is when it is parked all day.

- Lincolnton, NC, USA

problem #82

Sep 162007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
I purchased my 4 cyl 2007 toy. Camry le in 8/06. I felt this was an investment much like my other 2. however, by the 1st oil change I discovered the problem of hesitation and stalling when accelerating from a stopped position. After a complaint to the service department, I was told they could "recalibrate" the transmission and fix the issue. I allowed the adj. To be performed. The issue was improved for a couple of weeks but much to my dismay returned within a couple of weeks. Once again, I complained to my dealer and was told that "it was just the way the new Camry was made to achieve better gas mileage and that if I wanted more power, I should have bought a 6 cyl." The salesman that sold me the car, offered the solution of me purchasing a turbo booster for the car. The cost estimated in the thousands. This was not an option. The problem worsened in the winter months, causing me many instances of close calls. On one occasion I made a legal right turn on red when it appeared the path was clear, a driver suddenly changed their mind to come straight into my lane behind me. I looked in my rearview mirror, saw the oncoming car, pressed the gas and the car went no where, simply coasted down the on ramp. I pressed the gas pedal to the floor and after a few seconds the car kicked into gear, redlined in rpms and finally took off allowing me to get out of the other driver's way. There have been too many other instances to discuss in this forum, however, this was the worst and most scary. I implore your organization to make Toyota take responsibility for the problem and fix it. The calibration is not a viable solution B/C it does not cure the problem, merely stops the complaint for a few weeks. I have had this car for 1 year now and felt that I had no recourse on the issue any longer until the news reports came out. I have a renewed hope that your concerns will prompt further investigation and acceptable solution to this potentially deadly issue.

- Statesville, NC, USA

problem #81

Sep 152007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles
Acceleration hesitating at every stop, turn, lane change, and any forward movement. That results in slow down and acceleration is applied. Is definitely dangerous!

- Temecula, CT, USA

problem #80

Sep 072007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When starting out, if it is necessary to accelerate quickly, my 2007 Toyota Camry practically stalls before finally picking up speed. It does not happen every time, but when it does it is unnerving, to say the least! it is quite dangerous, and I have come close to being hit several times. Now I just make sure I have an excess of space before I pull out of a side street or parking area.

- Cornelius, NC, USA

problem #79

Sep 252006

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25 miles
I bought a 2007 Camry (6 cylinder) with 6 speed transmission in Sept. 2006. The transmission slips between 3rd and 4th gears when it is cold. It works normally after it has warmed up, although it seems to be somewhat indecisive, especially when accelerating. It has been back to the dealership for normal service three times. It has 15,300 miles on it now. The dealer service department wants to reprogram the computer but does not seem very confident the reprogramming will help. I will try this before I trade it for a new Honda Accord. So far no situations involving safety have occurred.

- Greenville, TX, USA

problem #78

Feb 012007

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
Transmission will sporadically lung between 35 and 40 miles per hour. Transmission was replaced in early 2007 due to hesitation at startup; however, transmission flare still exists with new transmission.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #77

Oct 052006

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8 miles
From day one I had concerns with the transmission performance. It shifts very abruptly, up or down, at low speeds. Hesitation is frequent and slippage occurs when trying to cross an intersection on merge into traffic, causing dangerous situations. I took it to the dealer, who claimed many times that it was normal, I must drive it more for the car to learn my driving habits. I filed a complaint with Toyota, a representative drove the car, and express they would allow me to trade the vehicle, but later did not. After driving 3000 miles, took it back to dealer, now I was told that the car know my driving habits and when I try anything unexpected, it will not respond, this is "normal". also stated that I do not know how to drive this "new" non-wire vehicle, but I have driven for 40 years, and that is now a liability. I got tired of taken the vehicle to dealer, and arguments that end up in being my fault, short comings or lack of understanding; the car is fine and operates as it supposed to. I will just get out of this nightmare as soon as financially possible and will never buy or allow any one I know to buy any other Toyota product (or Lexus).

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #76

Aug 292007

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles
07 Toyota Camry--transmission failures and wind like noise at all times on the driver's side window. The consumer stated there is a transmission failure when shifting from reverse to drive with a 3-5 second pause before drive engages and a sudden lunge. Updated 09/25/07

- Roaring River, NC, USA

problem #75

Aug 242007

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 935 miles
2007 Camry transmission flare.

- Ewing, NJ, USA

problem #74

Aug 222007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,840 miles
Bought 2007 Camry SE on July 23, 2007. Have taken it back to the dealer 4 times for the following transmission problems: 1. transmission "bogs down" or hesitates when attempting to accelerate, for about 2-3 seconds. Re-calibration of the ECM did not help. I have never been in a crash in my 24 years of driving, but within the first 21 days of owning this vehicle, I have caused three crashes to *almost* occur. The transmission hesitates when attempting to accelerate, then when the pedal is pushed down to the floor, it over-compensates and I've almost ran over the person in front of me. The other two times occurred when the vehicles behind me have almost run me over...their vehicles accelerate normally, while mine has a 2-3 second delay. 2. the transmission also seems to be confused when driving between the speeds of 28 to 35, 38 to 42, and 45 to 51. It shifts continually and at this rate, this transmission will be wore out by 37,000 miles (but they won't care, because by then the warranty will be expired). This is clearly an unsafe situation and *someone* needs to do something about it before it causes a fatal crash.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?