Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,896 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Oct 012013

Camry 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles


2007 Toyota Camry. Consumer writes in regards to right front axle and tires replaced on vehicle at low mileage.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #26

Apr 202013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 105,500 miles
On 4/20/2013 was driving I95 from pa to fairfield university, ct on the last leg of the trip to fairfield cars were merging on to I95 I was looking to merge into the left lane looked in my mirror their a tractor trailer, next I decided to stay in the lane I was in, next thing I know the car spun around at least once maybe more, I was looking at a guard rail at one point, got it under control, an than was going straight. I saw a smoke or something near the tires after I got under control. I am not sure what happened to this time. Sunday I went had four new tries put on as a safety precaution, the road way appeared dry but it had rained Friday night, we were in ct around 8:30.

- Warrington, PA, USA

problem #25

Apr 122013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Kumho tire. Left front wheel. The tread separated and the treaded part broke causing extensive damage to the left fender, fender lining, left body panel below both doors, the front bumper, the left headlight electrical system and possibly other front end damage. Driver did not hit anything on the freeway and was able to come to a safe stop without hitting anything else. This, and the other three tires on the car were purchased from discount tire on 08/04/2010, and they only have about 41,000 miles on them.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #24

Apr 102012


  • 86,750 miles


I was driving in my neighborhood and notice my car flat. These were relative new tires. Found out that a tire weight puncture my tire and ruined my almost new tires. Not anything sharp. Not a nail. Not a spike but a flat weight destroyed my tire going 30 miles an hour.. ridiculous. Contacted cooper tire and said it was not the tire debris can ruin a tire. If that the case in Florida cars would be all over the place with flats. Cooper tire should have resisted the weight and only would not unless it was defective.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #23

Sep 082012

Camry 6-cyl

  • 79,400 miles
I was traveling on the highway yesterday when my left front tire blew out(or what I thought was a blow out). I was in heavy traffic and was, by the grace of god, able to keep the car in control. When I was able to pull over, I found that my tread had completely separated from the tire and when it peeled away, it took part of my bumper away. I get regular maintenance on this car. I just purchased it a year ago.there was no indication of a problem, no noise, no "light" nothing. Just boom.

- Piedmont, OK, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

Oct 022010

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
I took my 2007 Camry for 25,000 (at 23,000) miles service. I was told that I needed new tires. I questioned it and was told you have to take some responsibility, too I take my car in consistently do pretty much what is suggested to me as part of preventive care and I have all the bills to prove it, mentioned this to the service person, and talked to manager and was told that yes I needed the new tires. This was "normal" wear and tear. I sure was not ready for such a large expense. As I was researching for what kind of tires to buy, I found that many 2007 Camry owners have had the same problem! also I found that there is a leakage problem with the Bridgestone tires, and checking my service bills, I see that I had taken my car in to have the pressure lights checked, because I would add air to my tires and few weeks after I would have the light come on again. All this is documented and now I am furious that I was not told of this problem. Thankfully, I am not on the highway driving ant 55+ miles an hour, as I work near my home. I hate to think of the outcome. When I have taken my son back to school, is when the pressure light would come on most often. Now it all makes sense! since I took the car in, the pressure lights have not come on, I now wonder if that option has been disabled? obviously, I have not yet changed the tires, as it is very expensive to buy all four at the same time. I was hopping the dealer would give me a break.

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #21

Sep 142009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry with Michelin energy mxv4 tires, dot#HN49, size 215/60/R16. During inspection an authorized technician stated that all 4 tires had dry rot. A mechanic from the Michelin tire dealership confirmed the previous technicians diagnoses. The failure and current mileages were 17000. Updated 01/05/10 updated 01/06/10.

- Flushing, NY, USA

problem #20

Nov 132009


  • 39,400 miles
On 7/22/09, I had four new tires replaced on my 2007 Toyota Camry (le) at pep boys #430 located on 260-310 rte 73, N. berlin, NJ 08009 ph # (856) 719-0770. The new tires were cornell 1000 radial P215/60R16 M+S 94S. During wet pavement the tires spin on the road (when I am stopped at a red traffic light and try to move when it turns green, even at the slowest acceleration speed possible) and on an exit ramp the car loses control at the minimum speeds. I am concerned about safety of others on the road, myself and property damage due to these tires unsafe behavior. This happened several times between July and Nov. 2009 but I was not sure that the defective tires could be the root cause for the car's behavior. I have talked to the service mechanics at the store where these tires were installed and so far no help is provided to correct the deficiency.

- Atco, NJ, USA

problem #19

Oct 212009


  • 29,000 miles
Vehicle has 29000 miles. All tires are worn out and had to be replaced per Toyota dealer inspection. Bought 4 tires at Bridgestone (original tire manufacturer). Bridgestone said all 4 struts are leaking and might have contributed to the premature tire worn out. Toyota's response is: Warranty is 3 yrs or 36000 miles which ever comes first, and vehicle turned 3 yrs in July 09. Therefore it is not under warranty. It is quite a coincidence that all struts started leaking right after vehicle turned 3 yrs and therefore not under warrant any more even though vehicle still has 6000 miles to reach 36000 miles.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #18

Jul 052009


  • 68,113 miles
I was on my way to work I was going at a speed of 45 -50 miles per hour;all of a sudden my car started spinning out of control. The car landed in a ditch on some huge rocks. It was raining at the time of the wreck but I never agreed or felt like the car hydroplaned. There is know real explanation for the car spinning out of control other than what I believe to be the tires. Not sure if it was traction, tread or blowout. The car has been declared a total loss.

- Harvest, AL, USA

problem #17

Jan 082009


  • 9,000 miles


I have a 2007 Camry le, . vehicle has 14,500 miles. About 1 yr ago started noticing undue wear and shallow tread on all 4 tires. Note, only selling dealer has done maintenance on this car including tire rotations, alignments, etc. In Jan '09, brought car for oil change; svceman said the car needed 4 new tires; actually wrote on their inv #793696 'customer declines tires'. I questioned how this could be, why no tread left, mileage at that time was 12125; said, ' Florida roads are very hard on tires.' I've lived here for 20 years, third Toyota, never had this problem before. Dlr detailed inspection report of Jan 8, 09 w/ diagram states all four tires had 3/32" or less tread. Car has warranty; my daughter bought me the car, purchased full svce contract for three years, ins carrier won't listen. I am 63 on June 22, have multiple sclerosis, ss income only, cannot afford tires and on principle should not have to. Searched web for info about this issue; too voluminous to read. How can all four tires on a vehicle with 12125 miles, never involved in an accident, never hit anything have virtually no tread left" I'm about ready to go directly to southeast Toyota headquarters in atlanta with the help of legal aid. One entry on the web actually said, why doesn't Toyota charge another 2 or 3009 and put decent tires on the car. If these cars are sold in the state of Florida, doesn't someone have the responsibility of supplying the vehicle with compatible equipment" over the past months I've become aware of other '07 Camry in parking lots, etc.; have actually pulled over to look at tires. Without exception, if Bridgestone, some of the tread depth look lower than mine. In closing, this certainly cannot be the first you are hearing of this issue. Using Jan '09 as he incident, that is when the verbal and written report was given to me by the selling dealer. At 9593 mi tread was less than 5/32. Also, failure location box only provides for one tire, is all 4.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #16

Jun 082009


  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The vehicle has Bridgestone turanza EL400 tires, size 215/60R16. The vehicle would not pass inspection due to the wear in the tires and loss of tread. The VIN was unknown. The current and failure mileages were less than 22,000.

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #15

Feb 212009


  • 25,233 miles
We purchased the vehicle in 2007 and it was original equipment tires. The car tires were fine the first winter. The next winter in 2008 I started noticing the car was having issues when there was very little snow on the drive way or road. The car was slippery and the front two tries just had problems. This winter I almost would have been ran over by another car while this car tires just would not move and slipped and was in between two lanes. I finally changed the tires when I had 2500 miles only in my car. My husband called Toyota dealer and spoke with them and they blame bridestone. I had to get the car on the road side and the police had to remove my car as it was unable to be driven. I hope you look at the tirerack website for other people having the same kind of issues. The tires just get stuck and don't budge. Also please do something about this. This is a rip off to consumers to change tires when the car is just 2 yrs old. Thanks.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #14

Feb 242009


  • miles
I bought a 2007 Toyota Camry brand new and had it 2 days when needing to take it back to the dealership for a front end problem. The subframe bolts were loose and needed to be tightened and aligned. I have worn out 3 sets of tires in 2 years. The car only has 50K miles on it. All different brands of tires used and the first 2 wore out at 18,000 miles but the last wore out at around 5,000. It has been on an alignment rack 3 times and each time needing small adjustments. The car also has a binding noise upon turning the wheel to the left. Called dealerships and they will do nothing or even confirm that there is a problem with car. I am disguised. I have spent over $1000 on a car that is still new. Help with all the money Toyota is making they should be held accountable and have a recall on the issues and reimburse owners. I do not expect to put hundreds of dollars out on a new vehicle.

- Pottsville, PA, USA

problem #13

Feb 212009


  • 30,000 miles
Email sent to Bridgestone tires on Monday Feb. 23,2008 at 6:45pm from there website tires in question are:: P215/60R16 turanza EL400 I have a 2007 Toyota Camry that has approx. 31,000 miles on it. I took it in for service and have been told my tires are down to the wear belts. I'm like what!! you have to be kidding me, I have to purchase tires at 30,000 miles.I took it to harrelson Toyota in rock hill SC. They tell me the same thing. I was then advised to call Toyota of California and file a complaint.( I have done that) they advised that I call Bridgestone. (I'm sending this email to you)I dont feel like with a new car I have had since last Jan. I should be buying tires, because they are down to the wear belts. Kinda like you wouldnt expect to have to replace you tv after watching it for one year and it goes out even though you use it everyday. My point is I shouldnt be buying another set of tires at 30,000. I think Bridgestone should replace my tires. I am 40 years old and the only person that drives this car, because my kids are to young to drive. So with this being said, I have copied this email and saved it to my files. I will be contacting geico insurance co and letting them know of this problem in the event I have a blow out, and have damages I am and will hold Bridgestone accountable.(safety of my kids and myself). I have also filed a complaint with the better business bureau and with NHTSA. I will pateintly wait for a voucher from you to replace my tires. If I dont hear from you by April 1,2009. I will seek legal action at this time. Thank you! -susan J. smith

- Chester, SC, USA

problem #12

May 312006


  • miles
I noticed shortly after purchasing my new 2007 Toyota Camry that the car hesitated on acceleration. I originally thought that it was because it was new. I also own a 1993 Camry, which has never given us a problem. Besides gas and oil changes this car still runs well. Had I known that this newer model was going to be scary to drive I would have never purchased it. Like so many others, I was told by the dealer that there was nothing wrong with my vehicle. It continues to hesitate when you need to accelerate quickly, in reverse it flies out of the garage even when not pressing on the gas...I refuse to let my 16 year old drive it and firmly believe that there is a design problem. Ps I also had to have my tires changed after only a few thousand miles, they were completely worn.

- Biddeford, ME, USA

problem #11

Oct 222008


  • miles
When I purchased my 2007 Camry le it came equipped with Bridgestone turanza el 400 02 tires. I have followed the recommended service and brought the car to my dealer for servicing. At 24000 miles the tires tread was worn to under 2/32nds of an inch and the tires are completely unsafe to drive on. I filed a claim with an authorized Bridgestone dealer which was denied on the basis that the tires are original equipment. I have received no compensation from either the Toyota dealer or Bridgestone. No tire that has been properly maintained should have such a short tread life. This is unacceptable.

- Flemington, NJ, USA

problem #10

Sep 272008


  • 12,157 miles
I purchased a new 2007 Toyota Camry in May 2006. I have had the tires, Bridgestone turanza el-400, rotated regularly since purchasing the car. I have problems with the tires squealing upon breaking and noticed that the tire treads are wearing prematurely. I took the car to the dealer where I purchased the car and a Bridgestone dealer who advised that the tires were not wearing evenly but they could be replaced at a fee of over $400. I presently have 12,300 miles on my car and the tires need to be replaced.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #9

Aug 132008


  • 17,000 miles
I had a blowout on the interstate at 55mph. No notice just blew out, did not hit anything. Tire replaced at my expense.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #8

Apr 242008

Camry 4-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota with only 14,000 miles on it is already out of alignment and wearing the inside of the tires. I thought that I had a defective tire because of the thumping noise and was told by the dealer that it was because I did not rotate the tires. I had rotated the tires 1 time during the 14,000 miles and the rear tire was "cupping" the same as the front tire. This proved that the alignment was bad probably from the factory. I talked with the salesman at the dealer and he said that I should probably have an alignment done every 6 months. I have never had to get an alignment done on a new car until I bought new tires. They did not offer me anything even though the car is still under warranty. I feel that this is a safety issue due to the fact that if I were someone who was not aware of what was going on with my tires due to improper alignment from the factory and the tire would wear on the inside (as mine are) where it is not noticeable there could be blowout of the tire resulting in a serious accident and even death. I would like to see Toyota issue a recall on all 2007 Camry for front end alignment or else reimbursement for those who have had to get their vehicle aligned (as I am about to) due to the fact the dealers are unwilling to warrant this work. I have read consumer web sights and there are a lot of these cars with the same problem. Please, in the interest of safety, make Toyota accountable for this failure of design.

- Alliance, NE, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?