Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Much like the 2007 model year, which has a higher number of complaints, owners are reporting that their engines are running out of oil awfully quick. As in, 1 quart every 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains that’s with the “normal” operating range of the 2AZ-FE while owners maintain that’s complete BS.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,334 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Camry brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Mar 192016

Camry

  • 85,540 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The crash happened in a parking lot on March 19th, 2016. I had entered into the parking spot, by turning right. The car had come to a complete stop and my foot was on the brake pedal. Suddenly I heard a loud revving noise and before I could even react to it, the car had jumped on to the walkway of the building. Since I had stopped, my foot was on the brake pedal and even though I was pressing on it really hard, the car didn't stop. It slowed down a little bit for a fraction of a second, but then accelerated itself again, jumped ahead once more, went through the awning of a business suite in the building and hit a light post. The airbags didn't deploy. The car was totaled. As, I had turned right to enter into the parking spot, the steering wheel was still turned to the right and the car turned right and went parallel to the cinder block wall of the building, instead of going straight and hitting the wall, which could have turned fatal for me and my child. This vehical had been recalled earlier. I had received the recall notice from Toyota in early 2010 for "potential floor mat interference with accelerator pedal (safety recall 90L)" and had it repaired in May 2010, from a local Toyota service center.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #30

Apr 152016

Camry

  • 38,500 miles
Sudden brake failure due to brake booster leak/malfunction. Many other same complaints on same part failure for same Camry on internet blogs. Toyota refused any responsibility despite car having less than 40,000 miles!

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #29

Feb 252016

Camry

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 25 mph, the master, brake, electrical control brake, ABS, and vsc slip indicator warning lights illuminated. In addition, a check vsc system error message appeared on the instrument panel. The contact mentioned that the brake pedal was difficult to depress and the brake lights failed to illuminate. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000. Updated 04/19/16

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #28

Jan 222016

Camry

  • 133,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Toyota Camry hybrid all sudden after 2 minutes of driving, had all of its warning lights on (like ABS, engine...) and with the vcs warning text across the dash board. It was very hard to control the vehicle to pull it off the road. I am not sue what is happening, but god forbid if this thing happened on the highway, I would have been in accident. The card was in no drivable and constituted a huge hazard. A car must never be allowed to lose power suddenly while driving. Scary experience and must be looked by the relevant authority to compel Toyota to investigate and may be recall those hybrids.

- Woodbuty, MN, USA

problem #27

Jul 102015

Camry

  • 66,073 miles
The speedometer suddenly stopped working, my ABS/brake light came on and then ac suddenly went out. Toyota stated I needed a brake actuator. The repair cost $2615. My question to them is why was there a recall for the same part on the2008 Toyota Camry hybrid. I have never had or heard of a repair on this part. Of course, my warranty had expired.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #26

Jul 182015

Camry

  • miles
While this vehicle in the dashboard the RPM keep on flapping up and down, speedometer stayed still in the lower position, the A/C keep on turn on and off on its own and the ABS and brake light came on and stayed

- Las Vegas , NV, USA

problem #25

Feb 032015

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2008 Camry le and in earlier this year I noticed the ABS and brake lights on the dashboard come on intermittently, tachometer bounces up and down and speedometer shows 0. this keeps happening intermittently. Unlocking and re-locking the door locks resets to normal but only lasts so long. Like some many other people who complained about this, I am concerned about paying $3-4 K. a local Toyota dealer mechanic said he'd never seen a brake actuator on a Camry go bad. Really. I would hope Toyota will do the right thing and have a service campaign to resolve this. Just like the one they have going for the hybrid Camry in the same model year range. Updated 9/25/15 updated 3/23/2016

- Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #24

Jun 032015

Camry

  • 102,337 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. While driving at 65 mph, the speedometer decreased to zero. In addition, the ABS and parking warning lights illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the ABS control module and the actuator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 102,337.

- Upper Marlboro , MD, USA

problem #23

May 042015

Camry

  • miles
The ABS and brake light comes on every time after an oil changed my dash board is melting.

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #22

May 052015

Camry

  • 88,000 miles
ABS & brake light comes on randomly while driving my 2008 Camry. When this happens, speedometer drops to 0 and A/C is shut off. I took it to a Toyota dealer to check the problem. They diagnosed it as an ABS actuator problem and quoted $2500 for replacement. I surfed internet and found that 2007-2011 Camry hybrids had exact same problem covered by Toyota using warranty extension. However, this is not covered. I called Toyota customer service and they said my VIN number is not in the range so it will not be covered. Failure to fix this part is going to be a safety concern because it can lead to brake failure. Case # opened with Toyota is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #21

Mar 182015

Camry 4-cyl

  • 76,464 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving or idling, brake and ABS light get lit and speedometer is not working, odometer is jumping up and down and heat needle is intermittently going normal/cold. The mileage meter is not working and this all goes away when those lights either reset on their own or some other way not known to me how. While driving, not knowing how fast this vehicle going is very dangerous, I am a female and I drive most so the time during nights and I am very worry if something happens. I went for Toyota service and they mentioned that the root cause of this situation was that I did not bring my car for maintenance with Toyota in the first two years which is not true. I want to know if Toyota is not doing something on this regards, I do not have that quantity of money to correct the situation and they mentioned that if it is not corrected I will have an accident because the brakes will fail.

- Gurabo, PR, USA

problem #20

Feb 122015

Camry

  • 139,300 miles
Car has ABS, brake warning, vsc, and master brake warning lights on. From what I have researched this could be potentially dangerous.

- Decorah, IA, USA

problem #19

Nov 032014

Camry

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. While making a right turn, the brake pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to respond causing the vehicle to crash into a fire hydrant and street sign. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #18

Nov 012011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
When applying the brakes at highway speeds (more than 50 mph), the car violently shakes. The car's brakes were replaced and the rotors turned twice since first incident. I've been running this car this way for more than 40K miles since first incident. I am not the only one having this brake and warped rotor problem according to the internet.

- Walnut, CA, USA

problem #17

Oct 232014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 87,601 miles
The issues started with both the ABS and brake lights coming on every so often. The lights would come on for about a 30 seconds to a minute and then turn off. This would happen maybe once or twice a day. Then they began to turn several times throughout the day for longer periods of time. When the ABS and break lights are on, the speedometer and odometer falls to zero, and the temperature gage jumps up and down. The ac also begins to blow hot air when these lights are on and the car begins to shake when idle. It is very unsafe when the speedometer is not working and you cant tell how fast you are driving. It is also an issue when the other gauges in your vehicle are not working as you cant tell if something else is seriously wrong (for example, you cant tell if your car is actually running hot or cold because the temperature dial jumps up and down). I have researched this issue and there are a lot of people out there experiencing this same issue. I also reported these issues to Toyota and shared with them my research and they basically aren't going to do anything about it.

- National City, CA, USA

problem #16

Oct 022014

Camry 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Check engine warning light was on. When step on brake pedal, air came out underneath feet and car will not stop immediately. Have to slow down and put more pressure on brake pedal all the way down. It's scary to drive on. Asking the mechanic, he said that was the brake booster pump problem.

- La Palma, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 042014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 66,685 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the ABS and brake warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. In addition, the speedometer would drop to zero and the rpms revved up. The dealer diagnosed that the ABS brake actuator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The vehicle's model year was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 66,685. Updated 12/03/14 updated 10/1/2015

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #14

Dec 282013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 45,753 miles
12/28/13 - elsrode ave. Baltimore, md 21214, side street next to our house. [xxx], wife, was parallel parking this vehicle driving in reverse. Vehicle had unintended acceleration. Brakes did not work. Vehicle went up a set of cement steps and stopped for a second, but then accelerated in drive down steps into street. Again brakes did not work. [xxx] drove vehicle into an alley and hit a stone wall where it stopped. Engine was smoking. In reverse and in drive, [xxx] had her feet on the brakes. The brakes did not work. This was witnessed by her son, [xxx], who was the front seat passenger. [xxx]. suffered fractured ribs and bruised legs. Passenger, [xxx], was not injured. Vehicle was totaled by insurance company. Toyota inspected vehicle on 2/24/14 who said " based on our inspection of your vehicle it was determined that it was not the result of any type of manufacturing or design defect". information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #13

Aug 242011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
My brakes needed replacing at approx. 40-44K miles. My belts/water pump broke/cracked at approx 50K miles. The mechanic said the water pump, if it ever broke at all, shouldn't break till min. 100K miles. I am about to take the Camry to a mechanic to check engine racing and grinding front passenger side window motor. This car has been a money pit with awful visibility. I've spent many thousands on this car before it reach 50K miles.

- Metairie , LA, USA

problem #12

Aug 262013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 87,699 miles
In summer of 2013, power steering pump failed on 2008 Toyota Camry. Car was very difficult to steer, turn and park but had to be driven, though unsafe to drive, for 3 days while pump was ordered and replaced. In the week before the power steering pump failed, the engine was found to be burning oil and had to be rebuilt. During this same month (August, 2013), the gas cover could not be opened to refill the gas tank while out of town, requiring a temporary cable fix by an out-of-town dealer. In the summer of 2014, the anti-lock brake system (ABS) actuator failed, also causing loss of speedometer, temperature and tachometer functions. ABS actuator part was ordered and replaced. Then a week later, the brake booster failed (check engine light on multiple times), leaking when brake was depressed. These are just the major safety failures of this 2008 Toyota Camry, which has had other problems, purchased new in 2007 and maintained by the same dealer. This car is not safe or reliable to drive.

- Nashville, TN, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?