Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Much like the 2007 model year, which has a higher number of complaints, owners are reporting that their engines are running out of oil awfully quick. As in, 1 quart every 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains that’s with the “normal” operating range of the 2AZ-FE while owners maintain that’s complete BS.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
32 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
21 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,936 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

Sep 182009


  • 30,000 miles


I had driven down the alley and was pulling my 2008 Toyota Camry hybrid into the parking place beside our garage behind our house. When suddenly it just accelerated and I crashed into our wooden fence doing about $500 worth of damage to the fence and denting the front right side of the car (we have not had that fixed nor have we gotten an estimate yet). When the car accelerated, I was only about three feet from the garage so I was not able to get the car stopped in time to avoid hitting the fence. Fortunately, the brakes did work and I had been only going very slowly when it happened (I was almost stopped) so I was not injured - just shaken. Thus far it has not happened again, but after hearing about the high speed accidents, we remain concerned about the possibility of this happening again.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #51

Jul 092009


  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry SE. While traveling at speeds of 45 mph in heavy traffic, the vehicle abnormally accelerated to speeds of 70 mph. The contact was able to stop the unintended acceleration without incident. The dealer advised the contact that the floor mats were the contributing factor to the failure. The floor mats were removed from the vehicle but the failure persisted. The contact did not believe that the floor mats caused the failure to occur and notified the dealer with his concerns. The dealer advised the manufacturer of the unintended acceleration with the vehicles but provided no further assistance. The contact confirmed 2 other operators of the vehicle had also experienced the failure. The approximate failure and current mileages were 8,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #50

Mar 042010


  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 45 mph the contact applied the brakes and the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning causing the contact to crash into a nearby vehicle. No one was injured. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic for repairs. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure and current mileages was 22000.

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #49

Mar 122010


  • 33,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. When the contact approached a stop sign she noticed that the engine exhibited an unusual increase in rpms. Prior to the recent failure, the contact had taken her vehicle to the dealership to have the recall repairs performed per NHTSA campaign id numbers 09V388000 and 10V017000, vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal; however, the contact has continued to experience the duplicate failures. The current and failure mileages were 33000.

- Imperial, CA, USA

problem #48

Nov 072009


  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. While driving 25 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. The contact called the dealership and the manufacturer and was informed that there were no recalls associated with his VIN. The contact stated that the vehicle has rapidly accelerated eight times prior to the recent incident. The current and failure mileages were 15,000.

- Fort Yates, ND, USA

problem #47

Feb 222010


  • 0 miles
Random, infrequent engine failure at freeway/highway speeds. At constant highway speeds (steady state speed), car engine dies out and car decelerates (without alert and for no reason). This car has always done this on an infrequent basis since purchased brand new. This happens about twice per month. I phoned the dealership and they said they have to see it/experience the problem. At around 41K miles I brought the car to Toyota for their inspection (this was prior to any recalls on Camry), they cleaned carbon from the engine. This did not stop the problem. About twice per month the car dies out when traveling at a constant highway speeds (for no reason). On 3/5/10 I brought the car back to the dealer ship (it has about 81K miles on it). The car has a valid extended warranty on it that was purchased at time of purchasing the car. Due to random engine failure at constant highway speeds this car is extremely unsafe.

- Crosby, TX, USA

problem #46

Oct 152008


  • 24,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. Whenever the contact puts the vehicle into any gear the vehicle will suddenly surge forward without warning. In order to stop the vehicle the contact had to use more than normal braking power. The contact has noticed the failure since the day the vehicle was purchased.the vehicle had not been diagnosed by the dealership. The current and failure mileages were 24000.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #45

Oct 012007


  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. The contact stated shortly after she brought the vehicle she had the acceleration problem. The contact was on the freeway driving about 50mph when the vehicle accelerated and she could not get it to slow down. The contact stated eventually her vehicle just stopped. The failure mileage was 6,000. The current mileage was 35,000.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #44

Nov 232009


  • 20,500 miles
I was driving my Toyota Camry,2008 model on a dry, flat road in clear, dry weather, going about 55 mph. The road was 2 lanes with no shoulders on either side. I swerved into the left lane to pass a truck but saw a curve approaching and went to swerve back in behind the truck, braking to slow down. As I did the braking, the car rapidly increases speed so I put on brakes harder but the car kept going at speed. There was no room to go right ( no shoulder) in order to avoid crashing into the truck in front of me, so I swerved left, into the on-coming lane. There were no cars in that lane. My car continued to accelerate and it veered across the lane, into a ditch alongside the road and turned over, landing on the roof. The other 2 occupants of the car and myself had our seat belts on and were now suspended from them and unhurt except for minor scratches and bruises. The car was badly damaged and required about $10,000 worth of repairs over a 7 week period. There no other vehicles involved nor was there any peoperty, public or private, damaged.

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #43

Feb 282010


  • 30,100 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I have a 2008 Toyota Camry which has a recall issue. My VIN# is [xxx]. I've taken it in to have the recall error fixed on Feb 15, 2010 but I seem to still have the same problem with the vehicle jumping to accelerate.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #42

Apr 102009


  • 14,000 miles


In approx Apr 2009 I experience accelerate pedal, I went to slow the car down easing on brake because I was coming to a intersection and could not stop and tried to push on brake that did not work had to switch to neutral because brake was not working I was on dry land and it was like I had no control of the car, when I took it to have oil changed no one said anything and it was like oh well.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #41

Mar 032010


  • 42,000 miles
I own a 2008 Toyota Camry that was one of the vehicles recalled. My dealer did provide me with a rental car for three days and repaired the gas pedal on 2/05/10. Today - while out on the highway and starting up a small hill, when I touched the gas pedal - it started revving up really loud, I immediately did what I have been told to do - put the brake on hard and finally the revving stopped. The car then started to drive ok again. I am concerned that -- had I not put the braked on hard - the car would have gone out of control. This is not a normal reaction ! I did call my dealer and plan to take the car back in tomorrow to have it checked again. I travel a great deal and am worried about my safety. I am reporting this in case the unforeseen should happen. Also - to date - there has been no resolution to the car mat issue. Updated 03/09/10

- Lewisburg, PA, USA

problem #40

Jun 012009


  • miles
I purchased my Camry in 2007 from carson Toyota in los angeles. On the second day after purchased my vehicle I already started experiencing electrical problems with my moon roof. On some occasions it would not close properly. Instead of pushing the close button, I had to tap it till it closes completely and careful not to over tap or it would open on its own again. This problem comes and goes and I've had the dealer checked my car back then. Overall, they gave me a hard time, first response I received from their mechanic was "that's how it is" so I argued with him that you don't tap a moon roof button hoping it would close properly. I also spoke to the sales agent who sold it to us and just gave the answer "it's a machine, sometimes it breaks down" which made me upset as I just bought the car a week before and if he told me that then, I would not have sunk $20,000 into it if it would start acting up on the second day! anyway, they checked my moonroof and could not find anything wrong and told me to come back next week if it still didn't work. Unfortunately it stopped and in the past 2.8 years this problem keeps surfacing and disappearing up to now. Then after living with this defect, I had the unfortunate experience of sudden acceleration when my gas pedal got stuck. I have bad back problems but with sudden panic was able to reach down and grab the carpet to loosen the pedal. Since then I have not felt safe in my car and I'm afraid to press on the gas pedal to hard. I'm concerned about the recall as it does not prevent the accelerations from happening and if I hit my brakes on a busy street and the car dies, I'm afraid of getting hit from behind or on the side especially with my son in the car. To summarize: I've had an acceleration and electrical problems with this Toyota. If I may put in a request, Toyota needs to take back this car and refund it's current worth at the time of the recall, so that we can purchase a safer family car.

- Los A, CA, USA

problem #39

Feb 282010


  • 100 miles
I have a 2008 Camry SE which I took in for the floormat and acceleration recalls. The car still accelerates when I first start it. I can drive up to 30 miles an hour with out applying gas. The dealer has worked on the car multiple times and can not solve the problem. Incident date is the last time it happened. It happens every time the car has sat for awhile.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #38

Feb 282010


  • miles
I drive a 2008 four door Toyota Camry le. I have been worried by a hesitation in excelling and slowing when I press and release the gas. I mostly notice this when going between 20 & 45 mph but it has happened at higher speeds (just less often). Primarily at abt 35 mph while holding a steady pressure on the gas you feel the car randomly decel, or feel sluggish, but then when you release the gas you feel the engine pull faster even though your foot is off the gas. The RPM even jumps. I called Toyota in cedar rapids, ia (I don't like the one in cedar falls, they forgot to put oil in my car once when doing an oil change & denied responsibility), the cedar rapids car lot rejected my request for service- stating there is a recall and I will be notified by Toyota when a solution has been found. I then took my car to the place I purchased it (owned by the same people who own the Toyota in cedar falls), they looked it over and abt 30 minutes later told me nothing was wrong with it, & that they didn't notice anything (this problem is hard to miss) that they cleaned the fuel filter & that should solve it. I drove home & the problem right from my exit persisted. Now hearing abt the concerns with Toyota worry I am being ignored on a potentially dangerous issue with my vehicle?...

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #37

Jan 262010


  • 60,000 miles
This is a part of a certified letter I sent to Toyota on Feb. 18, 2010: Report / notice: My 2008 Toyota Camry has exhibited various malfunctions brake malfunction acceleration malfunction on my first incident. I have been driving for over 40 years and have never had a fault accident until last month, 1/26/2010. My 2008 Toyota Camry accelerated forward. I am not sure whether it was caused by the accelerator pedal or the brake malfunction: I had the brake on, accelerator off. Second incident. On Feb. 16,2010, while I was driving at approximately 10 mph coming to a stop light, I pressed my brake pedal. The brake started shaking and making a weird noise as if gears were moving/grinding. It was unlike the antilock brake SRS symptom. I immediately placed my car on park and stopped the car. Thank god that I had enough time/space between my car and the car in front of me: I had started stopping well ahead, as I usually do. When I stopped the car, the car behind me started honking: It was rush hour. When the car in front started moving, I started my car again and drove into the nearest parking lot. I started my car and drove in circles in the parking lot. It return to normal. I am afraid to drive my car now. I am a 59 year old teacher / grandmother and would like to live a little while longer. I have not received my recall letter as promised. Will you please fix: (1) accelerator pedal, (2) brake pedal, (3) carpet problem. Please know that as an american, I am likewise concerned for Toyota's financial losses and hope that you are able to fair well. " approximately 3 days later (I have the paperwork), Toyota called and I went in that day to have it fixed. They stated that my Toyota Camry did not have the problem because it was made in Japan. They worked on it anyway and stated that they had changed the computer to bypass the accelerator pedal. I still am fearful. Please help me make sure it is fixed completely. Thank you

- Rockwall, TX, USA

problem #36

Dec 162008


  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns 2008 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving 25 mph when the road vehicle accelerated, causing the vehicle to hit the guard rail on the side of the road. The contact tried to apply the brakes and the vehicle accelerated instead. The weather was not a factor. The vehicle was repaired by the insurance company. The failure mileage was not available. The current mileage was approximately 42,000.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #35

Oct 012008


  • miles
Intermittent gas pedal hesitation and then super quick acceleration, especially dangerous when entering highway. Also occurs in local traffic. Contacted Toyota in Jan., 2008 and was told issue couldn't be duplicated - my driving. Contacted dealer at least 3X then escalated to Toyota customer experience in Apr. 2008. Last contact in June 2008 when auto was "fixed" pursuant to tsb 0068-08. Trouble was blamed on calibration in the computer. Car was somewhat better but there was a later incident in fall of 2008 when I accelerated over a speed bump in a parking lot and was turning left into a parking space. Car shot forward went through hedge and out into busy state route 25A. Accident avoided by continuing left turn onto berm where brakes finally worked. Did not report as there were no injuries or property damage. Also thought I could have been to blame as Toyota had been "fixed" and I had been advised a number of times before the "fix" that computer responds to individual driver's actions.

- East Northport, NY, USA

problem #34

Apr 102008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while driving 20 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into another vehicle. No one was injured during the crash. The vehicle suffered damage to the entire front end. The contact complained to the dealer about the vehicle surging own its own before the crash numerous times. The dealer performed a diagnostic test and found nothing wrong with the vehicle. The contact also stated the vehicle vibrates when it's idle. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and the dealer did not find a problem through the diagnostic test. The failure mileage was 5,000. Updated 05/20/10. The consumer stated she has to put the gear in neutral in order to decrease the vibration. Updated 09/28/10

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #33

Oct 162007


  • 25 miles
I had purchased Toyota Camry le 2008 model and with just 25 miles on the 3rd day of purchased, my car experienced sudden acceleration at signal which caused me to hit the car in front. My brand new car crumpled. The car was towed and later repaired. I had to pay for the deductible, rental car and also have a car which is shown in carfax as accident-involved.

- Katy, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?