Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Much like the 2007 model year, which has a higher number of complaints, owners are reporting that their engines are running out of oil awfully quick. As in, 1 quart every 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains that’s with the “normal” operating range of the 2AZ-FE while owners maintain that’s complete BS.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
32 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
21 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,936 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 5 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Apr 172009


  • 16,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the accelerator pedal in her vehicle was out of control. She was driving at approximately 20 mph onto a ramp and the vehicle just began to speed up to at least 35 mph. When she tried to use the brakes, she felt as she were pressing on air. She turned the vehicle toward a tree but before it crashed into the tree, she got out of the vehicle. A police report is available. The vehicle was not destroyed. She was told by other occupants in a vehicle behind her that her brake lights were flashing as if she were using her hazard lights. The manufacturer advised her to write a letter regarding the failure; however, a claims manager told her that the manufacturer could not assist her and the vehicle was operating normally. The current mileage was approximately 21,000. The failure mileage was approximately 16,000.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #11

Nov 142009


  • 34,500 miles
I own a 2008 Toyota Camry and have noticed that the vehicle accelerates by itself.

- Beaumont, CA, USA

problem #10

May 132007


  • 37,477 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. When driving on an incline with the cruise control activated, the vehicle will suddenly increase speed without the drivers control. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership. The current and failure mileages were 37477.

- Natick, MA, USA

problem #9

Jan 102009

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. When attempting to accelerate at 50 mph, the vehicle hesitated and then began to accelerate past the intended speed. After repeated brake application she was able to decelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and all of the tires were replaced. After the repair the failure resurfaced. She took the vehicle back to the dealer, and the technician completed a software update. He then added that the rotors were out- of- round and thus needed to be turned. None of the repairs have remedied the failure. The technician then concluded that because they could not duplicate the failure, they could not provide a remedy. She inspected her vehicle and noticed that the clips did not properly secure the cover to the air filter housing. The failure mileage was 17000. The current mileage is 31,000. Updated 2/22/10 the consumer stated the vehicle lacked power. The dealer recalibrated the ECM and transmission. Updated 07/09/10.

- Palentin, IL, USA

problem #8

Jun 022009


  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. While driving 40 mph the vehicle accelerated without intention four times. After repeated brake application the vehicle decelerated to the intended speed. The dealer was notified and the consumer was told the bring the vehicle in. The failure mileage was 15,000. Updated 11/20/09 the service manager looked at the drivers side of the carpet and said there was nothing wrong, but placed two ties at the edge of the carpet. Updated 11/20/09

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #7

Feb 082009


  • miles
I own a 2008 Toyota Camry. While driving on the expressway, the accelerator pedal became stuck. Thankfully, it was an early Sunday morning and there were very few cars on the expressway. I couldn't figure out what was going on at first when I took my foot off the gas and the car wouldn't slow down. I then thought to move the floor mat out of the way and the gas pedal became disengaged. This occurred again, however, and I took the floor mat out of my car. I thought it could have been the floor mat until I recently heard about the reports of other Toyota owners and their experience with this problem (especially the family that was killed as a result of their gas pedal sticking). Furthermore, I never received a notice from Toyota regarding this problem. A friend of mine made me aware of it. I find this appalling. I also find it appalling that Toyota is excusing itself from blame and is shifting it to the vehicles' owners.

- Hazel Crest, IL, USA

problem #6

Nov 152008

Camry 6-cyl

  • 9,051 miles


I have a 2008 Toyota Camry V6. Early one morning I took the car to a wash and on the way back home pulling away from a stop sign the gas pedal stuck to the floor with the accelerator wide open. It took a good half block of stomping accelerator and brake to clear. Longo Toyota told me they never heard of the problem and could not find anything wrong with car.

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #5

May 212008


  • 6,300 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. While driving 60 mph to pass another vehicle, the contact's vehicle surged to 80 mph. She depressed the brake pedal, but the vehicle would only decelerate to 60 mph. She attempted to shift the vehicle into neutral, which also did not help slow the vehicle down. She then attempted to shift into second gear, but this failed as well. Whenever she released the brake pedal, the vehicle would surge back to 80 mph. She pulled over and activated the hazard lights while attempting to maneuver through other gears. She placed both feet on the brake pedal, which slowed the vehicle down to 40 mph, but did not stop the vehicle. The contact drove around the corner to another highway and attempted some shifting maneuvers, but the failure persisted. She called 911 for assistance and they instructed her to shift the vehicle into park and turn off the ignition, which abruptly stopped the vehicle. Smoke then flowed into the vehicle. The contact exited the vehicle and noticed that all four tires were smoking. She waited for 911, who informed her that the vehicle was not safe to drive. A police report was filed. The hubcaps on the vehicle were hot. Someone in the service department at the dealer suggested that she must have had the floormats under the accelerator pedal. The contact inspected the vehicle and stated that the mats were not under the pedal. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they checked the motor. They informed the contact that nothing was wrong with the vehicle, and insisted that the failure was caused by the mats. The current and failure mileages were approximately 6,300. Toyota blamed the floor mats for the sudden acceleration of the vehicle. However, the police officer stated the floor mats were no where near the gas pedal.

- Lindstrom, MN, USA

problem #4

Feb 222008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 526 miles
Purchased 2008 Toyota Camry 2/5/08 from stoltz Toyota Scion of dubois pa 814-371-3333. After driving for 3 wks I started to note unexpected acceleration & deceleration at 20-50 mph also acceleration when putting on the brake at 25-35mph at these time the tach would jumping back & forth I felt very unsafe & called the dealer svc dept 2/22/08 they set up an appt for 2/25 during the svc tech's test drive the car didn't do any of the above. He said they would call Toyota tech in California to see how to fix the problem & would get back to me. I had not heard back by 2/28 so I called for an update because the car is still doing the above & I am feeling more unsafe. After talking with the person whom answered the phone she said she would talk to her svc manager as it could take up to a week before California would get back to them. On 3/3 the asst svc manager called me & we discussed the problem & he set up an appt to bring in the car on 3/7. still feeling very unsafe & that the dealership did not take the issue seriously I E-mail on 3/5 the salesman I bought the car from expressing how unsafe I felt & detailed the problem & also that I was now noticing at about 40mph that the car acted like a manual transmission that need to shift down the next day 3/5 the asst manager called me @ & that he was sending someone to pick up the car right now. The asst manager kept me update with phone calls on 3/6, 3/7 they where still trying to figure out what was going on as during test drives the car had not accelerated. But would continue to test it. I also told the asst manager about the reviews on that's where the same problems on 3/12 he called again that one of the test drivers had experienced the acceleration & had identified other shifting problems. On 3/14 the service manager called telling me that Toyota. Didn't have a fix for the problem & that they could not fix my Camry. That Toyota says it is "operating to factory specs, right now.

- Johnsonburg, PA, USA

problem #3

Nov 112007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. The engine races when the vehicle is started. When the contact places the vehicle into gear, it lunges forward. The vehicle also hesitates when picking up speed after decelerating. An authorized dealer informed him that the computer was designed to work in that manner and there were no solutions to repair the failure. The speed was unknown. The failure mileage was 15 and current mileage was 3,000. Updated 01/29/08. Updated 01/29/08

- Palm City, FL, USA

problem #2

Nov 242007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 650 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle hesitated. The vehicle would then surge forward and became difficult to control. The contact stated that there was an occasional three second hesitation before the vehicle would begin to move when the accelerator pedal was depressed. Toyota stated that they were unaware of such failure. The current and failure mileages were 650. The consumer stated the cruise control was unreliable even on a slight slope with downshifting. The vehicle would also hesitate to move from a stop. Updated 12/31/07

- Liver More, CA, USA

problem #1

Oct 012007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. While driving 10 mph, the vehicle hesitates during acceleration. The failure prevents the contact from changing lanes because the vehicle will not gain speed. The failure has caused near crashes. The dealer installed new hardware in the vehicle. The repair helped approximately 40%, but the vehicle still hesitates. The current mileage was 2,150 and noticed the failure mileage at 100. The consumer stated car will not start until the third try. Updated 12/12/07

- Hialeah, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?