Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Much like the 2007 model year, which has a higher number of complaints, owners are reporting that their engines are running out of oil awfully quick. As in, 1 quart every 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains that’s with the “normal” operating range of the 2AZ-FE while owners maintain that’s complete BS.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,206 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Camry wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Camry Owner Comments

problem #13

Aug 252014

Camry

  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving home on route 287 near the route 23 South exit. I began to change lanes to use the exit. As I started to move into that lane, the car in front of me hit a piece of blown tire from a truck. I did not see this and I hit it. The tire ripped off the right rear of my back bumper panel. Luckily the person inback of me missed the tire. It was not until I got home that I found the damage to the car. I was lucky that I did not have an accident or lose contrrol of my car. I am very angry becaue if I report this to my insurance, it will increase my rates and I will get a surcharge. T I am respectfully asking the department of highway safety to aid in the repairs to my car. It is the dept responsibility to clear the areas on a regular basis. This is a very dangerous area of increased trucking and should be top priority.

- Pompton Plains, NJ, USA

problem #12

Feb 012011

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2008 Toyota Camry. Consumer states accident occurred due to tire blow out and brake failure

- Bloomingdale, OH, USA

problem #11

May 072011

Camry

  • 15,000 miles
Pep boy replaced my flat tire with futura 2000 lte tire size P215/60tr16 for my car in Nov. 2009. I drove about 15000 miles by may of 2011. The tire crack open at sidewall on the free way on 5/7/2011. I did not hit any bump. No nails on tire. I am concerned about the possible defect of tire.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #10

Apr 252011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 35,374 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased Bridgestone turanza tires from Toyota in December 2010. Today, 4/25/2011, while driving at 65 or 70 mph (no debris or potholes) the tire failed and caused a blowout. Tire's dot number: Obx8pm6-3710. 215/60R16 only about 5000 miles had been driven since the tire was first installed. Went to dealer and replaced the tire for free. Toyota did not know why the tire failed, but both road side assistance and the dealer did not find any evidence of puncture or road related damaged. This is not a Toyota issue, but I believe that Bridgestone should do a recall if its tires are failing after only about 5000 miles. I have 3 of the same tires plus the replacement turanza tire on my car which I am extremely uneasy about now. I would like to see an investigation into this matter by Bridgestone and gov.'t regulatory agencies. I am very lucky that I wasn't killed today.

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #9

Apr 122011

Camry 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Toyota 2008 Camry le Bridgestone turanza EL400 P215/60/R16 tire cupping problems. In 5000 miles cupping problems was noticeable. By 15,000 miles it was quite severe. In the 25,000 miles the cupping problem was so bad the tires had to be replaced.

- New York, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Apr 122011

Camry 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Toyota 2008 Camry le Bridgestone turanza EL400 P215/60/R16 tire cupping problems. In 5000 miles cupping problems was noticeable. By 15,000 miles it was quite severe. In the 25,000 miles the cupping problem was so bad the tires had to be replaced.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #7

Sep 152010

Camry

  • 13,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Premature wear of all 4 Bridgestone tires with approximately 13,000-14, 000 miles. Tread was significantly below regulatory limits, but not bald, yet the mileage was very low. All tires had been regularly rotated (approx. Every 4,000 miles), and when tested were in alignment. Contacted the Toyota dealership, which stated that they only warranty tires for 12,000 miles, or 1 year. Then contacted Bridgestone and was given a case number, and an appointment with the local Firestone dealership. The gentleman at Firestone confirmed that the tires were abnormally worn and made a recommendation to his boss that at least 3 of 4 tires be replaced at no cost to me. The next day, I returned and at first the manager was somewhat difficult, but after he had insisted on testing the alignment and finding that it was close to perfect, his tone changes and he couldn't have been nicer. He authorized the replacement of all tires, which had to be ordered, as Toyota only permits substitutions with the same, or one grade lower speed rating, and the dealership did not have V-rated tires in stock, but the next day I once again returned and one hour later drove away with brand new tires. N.B. if you do not regularly rotate, balance, and if-needed align your tires, Bridgestone/Firestone will not replace.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #6

Apr 102009

Camry

  • 14,000 miles
In approx Apr 2009 I experience accelerate pedal, I went to slow the car down easing on brake because I was coming to a intersection and could not stop and tried to push on brake that did not work had to switch to neutral because brake was not working I was on dry land and it was like I had no control of the car, when I took it to have oil changed no one said anything and it was like oh well.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #5

Feb 012010

Camry

  • 15,000 miles
My 2008 Toyota Camry le tires are going balled after only 18000 miles on it which is becoming extremely dangerous to handle the car in wet weather.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #4

Nov 222009

Camry

  • 23,994 miles
Safety issue with my 2008 Toyota Camry hybrid I have 2008 Toyota Camry hybrid. It is extremely unstable on snow. The car skid a lot on snow and brakes are not very efficient on snow. My car has skidded several times and I am worried about me and my family's safety. I reported the matter to Toyota on their website on Nov. 26, 2009. Toyota responded back on Dec. 3rd via email saying that they have opened a file (#0912105992/ incident: 091126-000277) and a case manager will contact me. Till date no one has contacted me. I spoke to go Toyota, centennial Colorado based Toyota dealer personnel and he said I should pursue the matter directly with Toyota. He acknowledged that they have received complaints about poor performance of Toyota's hybrids in snow. I am really upset about Toyota's handling of the case as no one has contacted me so far. In fact they were quick enough to even send me a customer satisfaction survey on how was their response without even contacting me. To be on the safer side I changed my tires with high quality Michelin tires. The oem Bridgestone tires were very poor on snow from day one of my purchase of Camry hybrid. On Nov. 22, 2009 while I was traveling with my family I had a narrow escape when my Camry skidded and hit the sidewalk. At that time it had barely started snowing with less than 1 inch of snow on the ground. The car could not even climb a small slope on the road while other cars were passing by without any problems. This incident has made me nervous about driving my car on snow. After tire change the stability has improved but I still feel that braking and stability is big issue with Toyota Camry hybrid. This model is not mentioned in current recalls but I would request NHTSA to investigate the stability of Toyota hybrids on the snow. - best regards.

- Highlands Ranch, CO, USA

problem #3

Jan 212010

Camry

  • 22,241 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2008 Toyota Camry le which was purchased in Oct 2007. The car currently has 22241 miles. It has had mainly highway miles (about 20miles) a day and already in two years, the tires (Bridgestone turanza EL400-02) size 215/60/16 have almost no tire tread left. The usual warranty on these tires should be 50K miles. Contacted both Toyota and Bridgestone and nobody is willing to help out. Several complaints on all forums regarding this tire can be found online, but still both companies are playing the blame game, Bridgestone and Toyota know that they have been using these sub-standard parts. I will have to now replace the tires and pay out of my pocket for something which a new car owner should not (so early in the cars life), else it is a safety hazard on the road. I hope this complaint is looked into (several other complaints on forums) and not ignored. Both Toyota and Bridgestone need to stop cheating and putting customers in danger.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #2

Aug 052009

Camry

  • 19,873 miles
2008 Bridgestone turanza EL400 P21560R16 94V original tires on my 2008 Toyota Camry hybrid today mileage is 19873 2/32 and 3/32 left on all 4 tires tire pressure and rotations timely these are the worst tires I have ever had poor wear, should last at least 30K miles.

- Keedysville, MD, USA

problem #1

Jan 162008

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 700 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Camry. While driving 40 mph, one of the toyo tires blew out. The following day, a second tire blew out as well. The dealer replaced the tires. The tire size and line were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 700.

- Torrance, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?