Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 Camry used to be adorned with our “Seal of Pretty Good” but that was before an alarming number of complaints started rolling in for excessive oil consumption.

Owners are being caught off-guard with how quickly their cars are running out of oil. No leaks, no spills, just 1 quart of vanishing oil in as little as 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains this is “normal” for the 2AZ-FE engine, even though they issued a TSB for the problem in August of 2011.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,775 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Camry electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #15

Dec 042011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The air-tires symbol is on although Toyota changed a tire($236) for me.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #14

Nov 032011

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2009 Camry. Since my gas gauge was continuously reading empty I took it to dealer. The dealer indicate the vehicle was in warranty until March 2012 but that because water droplet were found in the tank the 'sender' had burned out and was not sending the correct gas level to the dashes gauge and that it was not covered by the warranty. I understand the sender should have had some tolerance to some level of liquid humidity and should not have failed. This failure of sender should have been covered by the warranty. They indicated that many pumps had gone bad by water being deposited in tanks of their vehicles but they had no history of replacing senders. The pump works fine and the car runs great, but the gauge in the dash was the only problem. Should it have been repaired under warranty?

- Aguadilla, PR, USA

problem #13

Jun 012011

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Toyota Camry. Consumer states several problems with vehicle to include electrical and mechanical issues the consumer had the vehicle inspected and it was determined there were several components that were defective such as the accelerator pedal, brakes, shocks, exhaust and cd player component and cable burning smell. The consumer is requesting compensation for the body work repairs done to the vehicle after the car accident amounting to $3,890.42. Updated 11/03/11. Updated 12/01/11.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #12

Sep 142009

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my 2009 Toyota Camry in Jun 2009(used) with about 6000 miles. After the first week the clip from the carpet snapped out, and I took it to Toyota for the first carpet recall, then I took it to Toyota for the sudden acceleration recall with the gas pedal, this Friday I am returning it, for the sudden acceleration due to some electrical issue that Toyota is unsure of. I've been paying car notes and have not been able to try my car, for fear of sudden acceleration not due to myself.

- Covington, KY, USA

problem #11

Dec 012009

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Toyota Camry. Consumer states unexplained electrical outages resulting in the inability to gain entry access into the vehicle with remote starter. The consumer has tried to get the vehicle repaired 4 times, but the problem continued. Three of the doors were affected by the problem. Over the course of two months, the doors were inoperable including the front passenger, rear driver and rear passenger side doors.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #10

Jul 152009

Camry

  • 20,000 miles
Complaint: Electronic defect in Toyota Camry 2009 when the garmin gps system is connected to the car via the gas-lighter plug in, the remote key control that locks and unlocks the door does not work. When I unplug the garmin, the remote key fob works fine. I do not have this problem with my 2002 sienna. I noticed the problem within the last 6-8 months. I have been using the garmin with the Camry for over 18 months.

- None, MI, USA

problem #9

Oct 122009

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I want to alert you and any other Toyota owners of a bug in the dashboard that causes the dashboard lights to flash on and off. Flashes are so sudden most people may not even notice. Toyota supposedly corrected after I left the with them for repair. I was notified that it was corrected yet 4 1/2 months later I'm still noticing the same problem.

- New London, CT, USA

problem #8

Mar 162010

Camry

  • 7,073 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry hybrid. The contact stated the vehicle would not start and none of the electrical components in the vehicle operated. The contact assumed the vehicle battery was dead. However, the battery was not recharged because the contact was not familiar with the hybrid vehicle and the battery could not recharged. Additionally, the vehicle radio and the digital console would only operate intermittently. The failure and current mileages were approximately 7,073.

- West Frankford, IL, USA

problem #7

Mar 082010

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,600 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the dome light in the vehicle would not turn on, the radio screen turned "black", the doors would not lock when the ignition was started, and the trunk opened on its own twice. She took the vehicle to the dealer for a diagnostic test on the electrical system and was informed that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle; however, they agreed to replace the radio. The vehicle has not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was approximately 12,610 and the failure mileage was approximately 12,600. Updated 4/22/10 updated 07/09/10.

- Hamden, CT, USA

problem #6

Feb 242010

Camry

  • 31,100 miles
Driving on cruise control at 70mph. Engine shut down and lost all electrical power. Then after about 4 seconds car powered up again on its on & reset cruise. This has happened twice now in a span of 2 months. Brought car to dealer and they said they could not duplicate problem. Checked all connections and codes.nothing showed on scans. I asked about the etc and they said that would not cause the problem I encountered" they said if it happens again and no codes show up or check engine light, there is nothing they can do?" these are the so called tech's words of wisdom.

- Winter Garden, FL, USA

problem #5

Jan 012010

Camry

  • 11,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine stalled while driving 15mph and was towed to Toyota and they could find nothing wrong with car.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #4

Dec 202009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
2009 Camry 4cyl. - when engine was started, with transmission in park, the engine revved to over 4500 RPM without any contact with the gas pedal. Only way to slow the engine was to turn off the ignition. After a few minutes, the engine was started with no issue. Dealer reported "no problem found". owner believes it is a faulty computer or electrical system.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #3

Jan 252010

Camry

  • 35,700 miles
I have a 2009 Toyota Camry. On my way home from work around 10:00 pm on 1/25/10. My car shut off while I was driving. I was driving on a two lane road. While pressing on the accelerator and passing a semi truck. As I pulled back into my lane my car just shut off. The check engine and battery light came on. I pulled the car over to the side of the road.and would not start. When I would start the car and put into drive the car would turn off. Then I waited for about 20 minutes. And tired again and it worked just fine and the check engine light turned off. Next day I took it to the dealer and they advised my there might have been some debris in my gas. I always fill up super. I am filling this complaint because I found out today that they are investigating the electrical throttle control on some Toyota's and thought this might be helpful. Thank you

- Burlington, KY, USA

problem #2

Jan 242010

Camry

  • 19,854 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. Approximately one month ago the the contact stated that her radio display was not visible whenever she started the vehicle. Within a few weeks, the rear power windows began opening on their own. The contact was driving approximately 20 mph when the brakes were engaged; however, the vehicle would not stop which caused her to crash into a vehicle in front of her. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to a body shop who advised the contact that there was also an electrical failure since the vehicle would start. The repair shop made several attempts to start the vehicle and was unsuccessful. The manufacturer advised her that the recall repair will start in April and that she would have to wait until then. The contact stated that the air bags did not deploy. The failure mileage was 19854.

- North Ridge, CA, USA

problem #1

Aug 262009

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,500 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While attempting to accelerate at 40 mph the pedal became stuck. After pulling the floor mat from under the pedal, the vehicle began to decelerate. Prior to the failure when attempting to stop the vehicle would lurch forward. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership. The current and failure mileages were 14500. Updated 12/18/09 the consumer also stated when slowing down for a traffic signal, the vehicle often double shifts and lurches forward. The consumer is concerned there may be a problem with the electronic control system as well as the brake override system. Updated 12/22/09

- Amsterdam, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?