CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 Camry used to be adorned with our “Seal of Pretty Good” but that was before an alarming number of complaints started rolling in for excessive oil consumption.

Owners are being caught off-guard with how quickly their cars are running out of oil. No leaks, no spills, just 1 quart of vanishing oil in as little as 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains this is “normal” for the 2AZ-FE engine, even though they issued a TSB for the problem in August of 2011.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,376 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #62

May 242016

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive engine oil consumption. Only 1 liter of engine oil came out during my last engine oil change at 65,000 miles even after I put in a liter at 64,500 miles because the red low engine oil pressure light came on and I checked the dipstick to see that almost no engine oil was in my car. I'm currently at 67,000 miles and the red light came on again, so I added one more liter of engine oil after checking the dipstick and practically nothing registered. I need to get it fixed, but the Toyota dealer says nothing is wrong with my car/VIN, so I can't get the necessary parts even if they have them in stock. I called the 1-888-270-9371 Toyota customer assistance center and the representative said there's nothing she could do. Would like to fix the problem before my engine blows up.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #61

Dec 012015

Camry

  • miles
Excessive oil consumption.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #60

May 182016

Camry

  • 141,000 miles
Excessive oil consumption

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #59

Mar 092016

Camry

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2009 Toyota Camry is consuming an excessive amount of oil. During my last regular oil change, the dip stick was dry. I asked the technician to ensure there were no leaks and everything was tight and he assured me it was. I began googling the issue and learned this is a common problem with my year/make/model. It is consuming oil at an alarming rate.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #58

Feb 122016

Camry

  • 151,000 miles
Starting in 2013 I was having problems with oil usage. Of course I was told it was a random issue and not happening to other vehicles. My engine blow in Jan 2014. I had to pay to replace it because it wasn't under warranty. Around August of 2015 I get a letter about the oil consumption. I took it to my local dealer for the test, of course my engine failed the test. We scheduled to have the parts replace in Sept 2015. The work was completed and it had a engine noise which I was told was normal. In Feb 2016 my engine blew again !! I took it back to the dealer and was told they did nothing wrong !! how ?? it was fine, just using oil up until they took it apart and fixed the problem !! now they refuse to do anything because it was not the original motor !! but I had the same problem with the original motor and they did nothing then either !! so I have a car sitting in storage that cant be driven and they want to nothing !!

- Windsor, PA, USA

problem #57

Mar 152016

Camry

  • 56,000 miles
Vehicle has excessive oul consumption. We received notification from Toyota of the problem.

- Pine Hill, NJ, USA

problem #56

Mar 012016

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive oil consumption

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #55

Jan 112016

Camry

  • 135,500 miles
The "low oil pressure" light flickered briefly a few days ago, then again the evening of 1/10/2016. I had my cousin check the oil level morning of 1/11/2016. He said it was extremely low. I went to the service place that changes my oil. He had to add 3 quarts of oil and said I needed to keep a close check on it. I am very diligent in my oil changes and maintaining my car. This has never happened before.

- Russellville, AL, USA

problem #54

Nov 242015

Camry

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while at an independent mechanic for a routine oil change, the technician discovered that there was excessive oil coming from the engine. As a result, the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000....updated 02/19/16

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #53

Oct 032014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 76,427 miles
At 76427 (3865 miles after oil change) the oil light came on and the dip stick was dry. I took in to mcquire Toyota and they started a phase 1 oil consumption test. At 1300 miles I took it back, they only added 1 quart of oil, it passed their test. Then after 2499 miles the oil light came on again and the dip stick was dry. They told me there was nothing they could do about it. I constantly check the oil because I am afraid that the oil will go dry and the engine will blow. I think that this problem will only get worse. After 2499 miles my oil light should not be coming on and the dip stick should not be dry. Toyota's oil consumption test may look good on paper, but it doesn't work in real life. I am 63 tears old and I have never had a vehicle where this happens. I am concerned that this all is going to damage the engine, so I have to keep a close watch of it. Thank you.

- Newfield, NY, USA

problem #52

Sep 222015

Camry

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving and my car's low engine oil light came on. I brought it to Toyota and this employee helped me pour in 2.5 quarts of oil. This is in between the maintenance scheule. After getting an oil consumption test from Toyota, the employee told me that Toyota's standard is that we can lose a quart of oil for every 1200 miles. I brought my car back to them after 1,000 miles. They said that my car passed the test, I noticed that they added a quart of oil to my car. This is so not normal! I just received the extended warranty notice a couple of weeks ago. It defeats the purpose of notifying us if Toyota denies that our cars have the oil consumption problem. This powerful company is bullying everyone. A lawsuit does not help get our cars fixed. Please recall the cars. Otherwise, you are letting Toyota get away with bullying behavior. Thanks!

- San Carlos, CA, USA

problem #51

Nov 192015

Camry

  • 79,800 miles
Water pump fail on 79800. Start make crank noise and then antifreeze star spill all over.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #50

Jul 072015

Camry

  • 59,792 miles
Ran some errands in the vehicle. Was running perfectly. Got home and shut the vehicle off to unload groceries and when it was started back up to park in the barn it blew a head gasket. There were no warning lights that came on prior at all prior to this event. Took to Toyota dealership and it was diagnosed with cylinder #2 misfire, rough idle, white smoke coming out exhaust which was caused by the blown head gasket.

- Danville, IN, USA

problem #49

Nov 012015

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Oil level low for 2009 Toyota Camry serviced within recommended service intervals. Oil change by dealer 06/08/13 at 62,444 miles. Oil change by jiffylube 02/22/14 at 67,433 miles, reporting oil level 1 quart low on arrival. Oil change 09/27/14 by dealer at 71,774 miles. Oil light on ~06/29/2015 followed by oil change by jiffylube 07/01/15 at 76,277 miles, reporting oil level 1 quart low on arrival. Oil light came on 10/30/2015 then check engine light on 10/31/2015. Stopped by jiffylube 11/01/2015 at 78,035 miles to learn oil level was once again 1 quart low. Fluids topped off by jiffylube. However, check engine light remains on. Please let me know if other such reports exist, if this has been identified as an issue, is being tracked and next steps. Thank you.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #48

Aug 222015

Camry

  • miles
Oil change done June 22,2015. Went to local mechanic to check all fluids before drive to tampa. Oil level very low. Had oil added on August 22,2015. On October 27, 2015 I noticed a red light on left side of dashboard saying maint reqd.google says time for oil change. Sticker from toyato says next oil change 95,330 miles, im only 94,100 or close. Is there a recall. I contacted Toyota customer service and was told that there was an oil problem, windshield wiper and sun visor problem, which I had not recognized the oil problem. I thought the dealership had just neglected to put the right amount of oil in doing the oil change. Prior to problem I received possible recall notice for something else. Campaign # id#15V577 reference # 878051. I will be calling Toyota (autonation) in pinellas park about problem. The light comes on whenever I start up the engine and stays on for about 2 to 3 minutes while driving.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #47

Sep 082015

Camry

  • 94,500 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While driving at 60 mph, the vehicle lost power. The accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to accelerate. Upon further inspection, the contact noticed coolant leaking from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle had previously been inspected by an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the water pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and was towed to the contact's residence where the water pump was replaced by an independent mechanic. Afterwards, the vehicle failed to start. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 94,500.

- Birmingham , AL, USA

problem #46

Jul 032013

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter to senator cornyn on behalf of constituent re Toyota defect letter for his Toyota model. 2009 Toyota Camry. The consumer stated Toyota sent him a letter regarding an excessive use of oil defect with his vehicle. The consumer stated he spent several months trying to work with Toyota concerning the repair. He submitted all the necessary documents Toyota requested. But in the end, they denied his claim, due to lack of documentation. The consumer has since had the vehicle fixed, at his expense.

- San Angelo, TX, USA

problem #45

Sep 162015

Camry

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Camry. While driving at 65 mph, the engine stalled. The vehicle was taken to a dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 78,000.

- North Ridge, CA, USA

problem #44

Sep 092014

Camry

  • 119,000 miles
Engine oil dries up after some days after oil change without any leak or anything. It is happening so many times that I made sure and checked engine oil and after 20 30 days there will be no oil in engine and the engine warning do not come on. There is no leak uder the car. I made sure by putting cardboard under car so if ther is drip I can see. I checked with so many mechanics last 3 years no one knows why this is happening.

- Monroe, NJ, USA

problem #43

Aug 182014

Camry

  • 65,000 miles
The car uses an excessive amount of oil. The problem started around 45,000 miles and continues to get worse. Toyota knows about the problem, and has sent me a tsb. Under the tsb they will top off your oil, seal up any way that oil goes in or out and you drive 1000 miles and they measure the oil to see if you have lost a full quart. I have never in my 40 years of driving had a car that lost that much oil. Toyota is avoiding taking care of their customers. They should be forced to fix it. They know they have bad pistons.

- Palatine, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?