If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 Camry used to be adorned with our “Seal of Pretty Good” but that was before an alarming number of complaints started rolling in for excessive oil consumption.

Owners are being caught off-guard with how quickly their cars are running out of oil. No leaks, no spills, just 1 quart of vanishing oil in as little as 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains this is “normal” for the 2AZ-FE engine, even though they issued a TSB for the problem in August of 2011.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

7.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$827.00
Average Mileage:
69,906 miles
Total Complaints:
85 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (47 reports)
  2. replace engine block (10 reports)
  3. situation was not fix. I was told to get a new car (9 reports)
  4. rebuild engine (7 reports)
  5. toyota says 1.1 qts. per 600mi is normal (7 reports)
  6. starting the excessive oil consumption test (5 reports)
2009 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #65

Jul 232011

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,367 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Oil consumption is unbelievably bad on this car. Toyota must do something about this!!! I only noticed after I started doing my own oil changes. The oil light will blink when I touch the brakes after an oil change and a few thousand miles. POS!

- , Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #64

Feb 082015

Camry LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 153,000 miles

I am religious about changing my oil every 4,000 miles even on a 2009 Camry. I started burning through oil about a year ago. I have replaced the valve gaskets twice and am now adding oil every 2000 miles. I have an apt to have the car looked at again this weekend and am now seeing that this is not my driving, but at major Toyota issue.

I am interested in a class action.

- , Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #63

Nov 272014

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

My 2009 Toyota Camry Le has a problem of excessive oil consumption, I really don't know what to do with it. The Toyota Company has to take the responsibility to fix the problem.

- , Toronto, OntarIo, canada

problem #62

May 052013

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2009 Toyota Camry has been using a quart or so of oil about every 3000 miles. I have had 2 different oil consumption test done at two different dealerships and told the same thing, that this is considered normal by Toyota guidelines. I have 1 month left on my extended warranty and don't know how to get them to fix the problem.

- , Rocky, Face, USA

problem #61

Jan 012013

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles

Excessive oil usage, get regular oil changes, oil light comes on 2,000 miles before next oil change is due.

- , Garnerville, NY, USA

problem #60

Jun 192011

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,340 miles

Need to add oil every month. It is getting progressively bad. Took to dealership today 12/13/2014. They want me to come back when I put 1000 miles to see how much oil I am consuming. I will follow up and report back.

Update from Dec 20, 2014: I started seeing this issue arround 27000 miles. Now I have about 65500 miles. I have to add 2- 2.5 quarts of oil between Oil changes which I at 4-5 K. Presently doing oil consumption test with Toyota dealer. Have contacted Toyota customer service. They are giving my standard line of warrartycoverage is 5 /60 miles which ever comes first.

Update from Jan 9, 2015: 1/9/2015. Dear all . I got the following response regarding my complaint for "excessive oil consumption" form Toyota customer service.

According to our system, your 2009 Toyota Camry is potentially eligible for the following Customer Support Program, CSP: ZE7 Certain 2007 to 2009 Model Year Camry Extension of Warranty Coverage for 2AZ Engine Oil Consumption

In the interest of customer satisfaction, Toyota is offering a Warranty Coverage Extension (CSP) for 2AZ Engine Oil Consumption for a period of:

The Primary Coverage offers warranty enhancement until October 31, 2016, regardless of mileage. After the Primary Coverage period ends, the Secondary Coverage is applicable for 10 years from the date of first use or 150,000 miles, whichever occurs first.

Please be advised that damage incurred from abuse, a crash, vandalism or other non-warrantable causes are not covered by the New Vehicle Limited Warranty or this Warranty Extension. The owner notification will commence in mid-December, 2014 and will be mailed over two months.

As there is no way to verify a warrantable concern until the vehicle is inspected, some dealers may charge a diagnostic fee on items that the owner feels should be covered under warranty. This fee will not be charged if the warranty coverage (CSP) applies. If the condition or cause is found to be a non-warranty covered item the diagnostic fee will be the responsibility of the customer.

Please continue to work with your local dealership to have the vehicle inspected and the condition verified.

- , Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #59

Feb 092013

Camry SE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,211 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tried of putting oil in car weekly. Please suggest what I need to do.

- , Sherwood, AR, USA

problem #58

Dec 082014

Camry LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,600 miles

Piece of crap... using oil like everybody else says. Complained and at first it cost 50 dollars for oil consumption test. Complained and got Donnie to do at no cost. Now 3 weeks in row. losing oil..

See what they do is fill the oil a quart over when doing oil changes. So when it does use it, and the person realizes its using oil, IT DOESN'T LOOK AS BAD..... Still complaining until I get satisfied.

- , Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #57

Sep 012014

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles

After purchasing my Camry in late August, 2014, with 87,000 miles on it, I discovered it burns about 1 to 1.5 qts of oil in between oil changes at 4-5,000 miles. I have not found any leaks whatsoever. It is annoying to have to add oil but my bigger concern is just whether there is any damage being done in the engine? I mean, where is the oil going? Is it leaking into the cylinders and burning with the gasoline combustion?

- , Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #56

Oct 062012

Camry 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,244 miles

This really unbelievable and not acceptable, how can an engine consume oil at 100000km, that if it didn't start before and I didn't know about. Also, how can that not be a major problem and requires recall when thousands of Camry's have this issue. This is complete rip off and hope that someone starts class action lawsuit against Toyota!

- , London, ON, canada

problem #55

Jan 152011

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota manual says 1.1 quart of oil per 600 miles is the level that they will address the oil consumption problem. My 2009 Camry was consuming a quart every 1,000 miles, a nuisance and minor expense. Buyers should know this and make their own decision.

- , Houston, TX, USA

problem #54

Jun 012014

Camry V4

  • Manual transmission
  • 135,000 miles

2009 Toyota camry bought new and maintained at the dealership I bought it from. The one time I didn't bring the car to the dealership I was told there was barely any oil in the car. Started checking it and noticed it was burning oil, nothing leaked. After bringing it into the dealership I was told to replace engine or just keeping adding oil. Called Toyota corporate and vented to them as well and they told me since my car is out of warranty there's nothing they can do. I bought the Camry new because I thought they were a dependable vehicle, boy was I wrong...never again!

- , Hanover, MN, USA

problem #53

Jun 042014

Camry SE 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,100 miles

went into dealer for 75000 mile service and was told as I was checking out that my oil was about 1 qt low. never had this happen in the past, but now I'm due for 80k service and I checked my oil last week..low again. now I have read info online and think this is not an isolated issue. wth?

- , Troy, OH, USA

problem #52

Oct 012011

Camry 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

I just want it fixed, it is too annoying to keep adding oil before it reaches the miles for next oil change.

- , Surrey, BC, canada

problem #51

Sep 152014

Camry LE 4cly

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,130 miles

Went to Toyota at 99123 miles, told them I had to add 3 quarts of oil during the last oil change cycle. Was told they had to do an oil consumption test. Did that, it used 21/2 quarts of oil in the next 5000 miles. Called the dealer who told me they need to do another test, but he also told me that Toyota said using a quart of oil every 1000 miles was normal. The car has a lifetime warranty on the engine, but if the car didn't use I quart of oil in 1000 miles there was nothing he could do for me.

Using 5 quarts of oil between oil changes is CRAZY!!!!!

- , Haw River, NC, USA

problem #50

Jun 192014

Camry LE 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles

My 2009 Camry is out of warranty. as soon as I went over the 60,000 miles I took it to the dealer and they notice that it is consuming too much oil.they made me drive for 12,000 miles to confirm it.am not sure what to do because toyota said they cannot help in anyway.

- , Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #49

Apr 122014

Camry LE 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,345 miles

Bought my Camry new in DEC 09'. I started using Amsoil 0w-20 at 2000 miles. I put on about 12,500 miles a year. I do the extended oil change with Amsoil and new Toyota oil filter twice a year. Around 30,000 miles I had to add about 3/4 of a quart at about 6000 miles or when I changed the filter, it has progressively gotten worse. Now at 77,000 miles I am adding 1 1/2 quarts every 1000 miles. I don't care if you pay $10000 or $100000 for a vehicle it should not have this kind of oil consumption. T

oyota knew all along this would happen with these engines. This is my 4th Camry and I have been very satisfied till now with Toyota. You can't even trade it off without losing $ because everyone knows there's a problem! Toyota has really stuck it to the owners of these cars and eventually they will pay for it thru loss of sales.

- , Omaha, NE, USA

problem #48

Aug 102011

Camry SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,525 miles

We purchased an 09 Camry that was 2 yrs old with 62,000km. I've had Toyotas for the past 20 years and have sworn that there is no better car manufacturer than Toyota; maybe with the exception of Honda.So when this car starting burning oil at an alarming rate at @ 75,000km and was told by the dealer that it is normal, I can see that Toyota is not taking responsibility for manufacturing defects unless their life threatening or may cause death. On your site and others the reviews on this particular model are scathing and I would think that Toyota should, ethically and morally, fix the many problems that people report. I'm stuck with this car until the engine needs replacing; I cannot afford to buy another one because I am now on a disability and I planned on keeping this car like the previous 2 Toyotas I owned (Corolla and Tercel) - both of which never burned a drop of oil nor blackened the dipstick.

Once the engine goes, we will invest in a more reliable car, most likely a Honda Accord, and as far as Toyotas' are concerned, this shall be our last.

For the diehard fans of Toyota products, I only wish success with whatever models you purchase but if you would complain more than the rest of us, then maybe Toyota would be forced to repair their mistakes.

Brakes don't last long on this particular car, there is now an electrical (possible computer)problem with the ABS engaging during dry road conditions, the driver's door clunks because the catch is lower than the latch, and the trunk latch broke 2 weeks ago and need replacing at a cost of $428.00 with $346.00 of that cost for the simple trunk latch.

That's about it for now until I add another liter of oil for this week (200,000km) on engine but my 04 Corolla has 360,000km on it and still churning well and burns NO oil.

Done ranting and raving for now; at least until I stop by my local Toyota dealership and tell them how much their Camrys suck.

- , Tiverton, Nova Scotia, canada

problem #47

Nov 042013

Camry LS 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,302 miles

This pc of garbage burns oil at 88000 km, engines knocks , valve noise. It is my 1st Toyota and my Last !!!!

Suspension too soft, vibrates in rough roads, rides like a boat! Alignment problem, my brake light bulb was out and dash board had no indicator light to let me know ----- my neighbor saw that and told me the light was out .

My old 1978 Accord had an indicator light. Sham of you !! Cup holder too small to put any thing in. Mirrors does not fold, no heated mirror for winter icy conditions. My 2000 Accord runs better with 300,000 km - no knocking, burns oil after 140,000 km not 88,000 km, never had alignment done, still able to let go my hands in straight road. Camry had alignment done, still needs 2 hands! DO you think I am going to buy another Toyota!

- , Toronto, Ontario, canada

problem #46

Jun 052014

Camry 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

Car loses oil so often and toyota says this is normal, but its not. bad car overall, have had many issues.

- , Pope Valley, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?