Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 Camry used to be adorned with our “Seal of Pretty Good” but that was before an alarming number of complaints started rolling in for excessive oil consumption.

Owners are being caught off-guard with how quickly their cars are running out of oil. No leaks, no spills, just 1 quart of vanishing oil in as little as 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains this is “normal” for the 2AZ-FE engine, even though they issued a TSB for the problem in August of 2011.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
65 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
21 / 2
Average Mileage:
20,357 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 4 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #129

Sep 022009

Camry

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was pulling into a parking spot at a high school. I backed up and then put the car in drive, and it took off on me (sudden acceleration) with my tires squealing hitting the car in front of me and knocking that car out of park. That car rolled across the parking lot and went through a fence, and came within inches of hitting the school.

- Oxford, OH, USA

problem #128

Mar 192010

Camry

  • 11,000 miles
While stopped at a traffic light, the engine of my 2009 Toyota Camry raced uncontrollably. While keeping the car braked, I shifted first to neutral and then to park, during which time the engine simply continued to accelerate further. Once in park, I turned off the ignition and everything shut off. After this, I was able to get the car to the dealer (champion Toyota, philadelphia, pa), which performed the recall repairs (gas pedal and computer reprogram) immediately.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #127

Mar 182010

Camry

  • 37,055 miles
My 2009 Toyota Camry. Until today, I thought this might be a big hoax, but it happened today at 2:55 pm on my way to work. My car accelerated without warning. I fortunately was only traveling on a side road for a brief moment and was able to hit the brakes and shift into neutral and then stop the car. About 2 weeks ago I had the "recall" correction completed. Never had an issue prior to this "correction".

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #126

Mar 182010

Camry

  • 55,255 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Wednesday March 17, 2010 I took my 2009 Toyota Camry to my local Toyota dealership in chester, va to have my vehicle serviced due to the recent recall issue. This morning while driving to work I noticed that when I let off the gas pedal, my car accelerates just a bit and/or sticks just for a few moments and then decelerates. The vehicle was doing this prior to the service, and is still doing this after the vehicle maintenance was completed yesterday. I feel that whatever "fix" Toyota is performing on the recalled vehicles is not working. I feel it is not a mechanical issue, I feel it is an electronic issue. I have read that others are having the same issue with the "fix" Toyota is issuing for their vehicles. I am at a loss of what to do since Toyota doesn't seem to have a reliable "fix" for the recalled vehicles yet. I don't know what this information will accomplish, but I just wanted to put it out there just in case it is helpful. Thanks, concerned Toyota customer.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #125

Mar 312009

Camry

  • 30,000 miles
I own a 2009 Toyota Camry hybrid purchased new 4/3/2008. At the end of March, 2009, I had the first of four (thus far) accelerator runaway events. I was able to stop the car by applying extremely hard brake pressure with both feet, taking several seconds to stop the car as it fish-tailed wildly on the road. A couple of days later, it happened again. My car was at the dealership 4/3/2009. They told me this accelerator runaway was caused by my floor mat causing the gas pedal to stick. I removed the floor mat. Approximately 6 weeks later, the accelerator runaway event happened twice more. The floor mat was not in the car. I have called Toyota, been treated like I was delusional and then as the public outcry/press releases began later in 2009, contacted Toyota again. I finally got my scheduled recall (at my persistance--the dealerships never called me to schedule this) then after I requested details of the planned recall changes, I found out after my appointment they said my vehicle qualified only for them to cut down my gas pedal. No shim assembly to the gas pedal and no software update as I was told "you already have the most current software". really?! my now mutilated gas pedal allows my foot to constantly slip off of it while driving as it is so small. I am scared of my vehicle as there was never a warning pre-accelerator runaway & there is no "fix" either. Not that I would trust Toyota at this point. I have copies of all service tickets, including the 4/3/2009 ticket with my complaint of the gas pedal sticking" written on it. This is available to you as well as a detailed four page letter outlining every step of my events. I sent an email & rec'd a response from you, titled notification of case change/case escalation, case no. [xxx]. I called in & spoke with a representative and he gave me a case no. Too. Telephone call case #[xxx]. please advise my next step. Thank you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #124

Mar 142010

Camry

  • 37,000 miles
This past Sunday 2-14-10 at about 6pm I nearly lost my life when my vehicle accelerated unexpectedly fully climbed up the alleviated side walk and crash into the building that's when it finally came to full stop although my foot was on the brake and fully depressed down I'm thankful their was no one standing right in front of the parking space that entered into words can't describe the fear and anxiety that I felt at that time and now. Let me please informed you that I've already performed all the recall issues that iwas told involved my vehicle immediately at this point I don't know what to do please help me I've often experience a lost of power with my vehicle when I enter the interstate although I depressed the acceleration to catch up with current traffic the vehicle does not responded sometimes it felt like it shot off. After reporting it to my dealer during a routine scheduled visit I was told the problem was with the software and that there was an update one available was install to cure the problem.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #123

Mar 042010

Camry

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Traveling about 15mph when the car suddenly accelerated and hit a vehicle in front of me. First time this incident occurred to me.

- Haddonfield, NJ, USA

problem #122

Feb 022010

Camry

  • 21,000 miles
We leased a 2009 Toyota Camry from performance Toyota on June 22 2008 on one occasion while my husband was pulling into krogers in w chester the car accelerated when he had his foot on the brake. The next day we took the car to performance Toyota and they gave us a rental. The next day they called and said the car was fixed. I did not feel safe in this vehicle and told them so but they reassured my husband and I that the car was safe. This was on 2-3-10. On 2-9-10 the car accelerated again at the fairfield mercy hosp. And about 15 min later at a stop sign in our subdivision. The next day I took the car back and told them to keep it but they said it was a lease and I could not let it there so I purchased a 2010 Toyota Camry which also was a disaster.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #121

Apr 152009

Camry

  • 6,000 miles
Uncontrollable acceleration for my 2009 Toyota Camry for 20 seconds. No accident.

- South Hamilton, MA, USA

problem #120

Mar 092010

Camry

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While driving out of a parking lot the vehicle suddenly surged forward without warning. Prior to the recent failure, the vehicle was repaired according to recall NHTSA campaign id 09V388000 and 10V017000, vehicle speed control, accelerator pedal. The current and failure mileages were 36,000.

- Ingleside, TX, USA

problem #119

Feb 142010

Camry

  • 23,516 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While driving 25 mph on normal road conditions and approaching a traffic light, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and lunged forward when the brakes were applied. The contact was able to cease the acceleration of the vehicle and stated that the failure would occur in every instance of vehicle operation. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 10V017000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal); however, the remedy failed to correct the safety defect. The authorized dealer has been notified to schedule an appointment. The failure mileage was 23,516 and the current mileage was unknown.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #118

Oct 122009

Camry

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. The contact parked the vehicle in the residence garage. The engine remained running with the gear shifter placed in the park position. Immediately after the driver exit the vehicle, there was an unintended surge of acceleration. The vehicle crashed into the trash cans and garden cart that were in the garage. The vehicle engine was turned off. There were minor damages to the front bumper and front driver side door. The vehicle was taken to a collision center for the body damage estimate. The vehicle has not been repaired at this time. The failure mileage was 9,000.

- Rotonda West, FL, USA

problem #117

Mar 102010

Camry

  • 16,553 miles
I had the recall work done the weekend before this incident for the accelerator pedal and shut off switch for the brake pedal. I was pulling into a parking spot with my foot on the brake pedal, then the car tried to accelerate on its own and lurching forward.

- Enon, OH, USA

problem #116

Jan 202010

Camry

  • 17,500 miles
I was driving my 2009 Toyota Camry xle on a las vegas street on January 20, 2010 going 40-45 miles an hour when it suddenly accelerated on its own. I attempted to slow down by putting my foot under the gas pedal and after the 4th try, it worked and started to slow down. It is one of the years and models recalled by Toyota.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #115

Mar 062010

Camry

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While the contact was driving 25 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. The contact was able to apply the brakes in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 11000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #114

Jul 162009

Camry

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. When the contact drives the vehicle approximately 30 mph he noticed that it began to hesitate and suddenly accelerate without warning. Also, when the vehicle is driven from a cold start or in the morning the contact noticed that the vehicle will momentarily continue to accelerate after he had taken his foot off of the accelerator pedal.the vehicle had not been diagnosed by the dealership at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 8000, the current mileage is 9000.

- Prattville, AL, USA

problem #113

Jan 232009

Camry

  • 16,967 miles
I rented a 2009 Toyota Camry from enterprise-rent-A-car. On January 23, 2009, at approximately 7:30 a.M., I was the belted driver of the subject 2009 Toyota Camry. I was driving at a safe rate of speed, proceeding eastbound on cardinal drive in woodbridge, Virginia. As I reached the intersection of cardinal drive and jefferson davis highway, the Camry suddenly accelerated at a high rate of speed and I was unable to stop the vehicle by braking. The Camry impacted a 2005 Dodge Caravan that was attempting to make a left hand turn from neabsco road onto southbound jefferson davis highway. As a result of the collision, I suffered a loss of consciousness and sustained serious injuries, including a traumatic brain injury, as well as neck, back and leg injuries.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #112

Feb 242010

Camry

  • 26,000 miles
On 2/24/10 recall was performed on 2009 Camry Toyota at orland park, il. Toyota reshaped gas pedal, added reinforcement metal bar in gas pedal, removed padding under the carpet near the gas pedal to prevent interference and reprogrammed computer. The vehicle is now so loud due to outside noise and vibrations under my feet that I hear and feel everything hitting my wheels and under carriage. This is horrible. Something needs to be done. I this purchased vehicle because of its luxurious ride and performance, it has been ruined.

- Matteson, IL, USA

problem #111

Mar 092010

Camry

  • miles
On March 9, 2010 I took my 09 Toyota Camry in for the floormat recall and to have the cruise control looked at for an acceleration issue. When the cruise control slows down it will kick into about 5,000 RPM's for about 10 seconds and put me at least 10 mph over the speed I set it to. (which is usually when I turn it off!!!) when I picked my car up at the end of the day I noticed that my gas pedal has been shaved off at the bottom making it very short and difficult to drive with plus my floor mats had not been modified as I was told they should have been. I was also told that the problem with my cruise control could not be duplicated but to bring my car back if I have problems in the future. I was then told that it is 'normal' for Toyota cars to rapidly accelerate with the cruise control on (at 5,000 rpms"?? really??")and that a 5-8 mph difference in the speed you set the cruise control at is also 'normal'. I just looked up the kbb on my car and think I might be able to get out of it without a loss. I am seriously considering it.

- Crawfordville, FL, USA

problem #110

Mar 052010

Camry

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while stopped at a traffic light, the vehicle accelerated. The contact was able to put the vehicle in neutral, with his foot on the brake, which made the vehicle stop accelerating. The vehicle was taken to the dealer the day before the accelerator failure for diagnostic and testing due to the recall. The dealer repaired the vehicle the day before the accelerator pedal defect. The vehicle was taken a second time to the dealer the day after the accelerator failure for dianostic and testing. The dealer could not duplicate the problem the second time. The approximate failure mileage was 11000. The approximate current mileage was 11000.

- Encino, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?